10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V36, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

JohnLai
post Nov 7 2018, 07:07 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 7 2018, 04:38 PM)
update...!

unifi guys came, tests... tplink ac1200 can do 800-820mbps - with his laptop.

i think i couldnt get becos the device i used rated giga maxed out at 650.

i have no other device with gigaport for LAN.

the guys were nice, change the router to dlink dir842 (he took back the tplink) - this one also did 820, wifi a bit stronger.

so... when somebody says he/she can't get 800mbps LAN, first question gotta be "what device"! biggrin.gif
btw, do u know if this dir842 can serve as repeater or AP?

just thinking longer term how to make use of this dlink 842 and my asus 1300uhp.
rolleyes.gif Didn't I ask you on your laptop CPU model etc?

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 7 2018, 05:11 PM)
It is your laptop that is limiting the speed then. Interesting. DIR842 can definitely serve as an AP or repeater probably.
whistling.gif

JohnLai
post Nov 7 2018, 08:04 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(leezhijiang @ Nov 7 2018, 08:01 PM)
Just researched, technically VDSL can reach 300 Mbps

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VDSL
Don't waste your time.

Based on TM past performance with ADSL2+ (which technically supports up to 24Mbps downstream), TM only ever offers 8Mbps max (except those 'underground' uncapped account rolleyes.gif )

So, what make you think TM will implement 300Mbps when the default vdsl2 router given by TM only support VDSL profile 35A only?
JohnLai
post Nov 7 2018, 10:57 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 7 2018, 10:23 PM)
hmm... u read wrong.

2 diff devices... but never mind...
Ya kah?

Nevermind lah, the idea is to disable spectre mitigation in first place.

Too much CPU time spent on hardware interrupts caused by older spectre microcode resulting in slow speedtest result.
JohnLai
post Nov 8 2018, 10:14 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Nov 8 2018, 09:59 PM)
after much complaints lodged via mcmc since Sept...i finally got my Turbo today (Miri, Swak)

but to my dismay...i only got upgraded to 500Mbps instead of 800Mbps ! Currently paying rm189, checked on my unifi dashboard and the perpetual discount becomes rm130 only...what is freakin tm trying to do ?
Yo, rare to see another Mirian here.

Anyway, TM never promised 800Mbps turbo for 100Mbps.....it is clearly 'UP TO 800Mbps'. console.gif
JohnLai
post Nov 10 2018, 10:02 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 10 2018, 09:39 PM)
I suggest you read the 1st page, 1st post, green text, for list of compatible router for your speed. Your router does not support the 500Mbps speed via wired and wireless connection, so don't bother asking further. Get a better router.
Tenda AC10U AC1200 can support turbo just fine via wired. blink.gif
JohnLai
post Nov 11 2018, 01:01 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Nov 11 2018, 02:51 AM)
I happen to have a non TM DIR842 as a spare AP that I have yet to deploy, not for my own personal use.

So I set it up for a test.
- btu to router using ugreen cat 7 rounded cable
- from router to my 2011 desktop pc using ugreen cat 7 flat cable

Using the latest available MY firmware:

Had to reset to factory defaults though because last time I already changed some settings on it since it was meant to be an AP and not the main router.. tried to reconfigure it but I wasn't getting full speed so decided to reset and that worked.

this is the default QOS page, before resetting to factory defaults I adjusted the speed here and dragged the card to give my pc highest priority to see what sort of speed I will get.. it was maxxed at 200Mbps ish, LOL

Deleted my pc from the QOS list, and somehow the speed is still limited. Restarted the router, and upon checking my pc is still in the QOS list
I recall someone saying on the DIR850L there is a glitch similar to this  sweat.gif
QUOTE(Rei7 @ Nov 11 2018, 03:00 AM)
So mostly you just factory reset and test the speed without changing much is it?  hmm.gif
Guess i'll try again tomorrow
QUOTE(cannavaro @ Nov 11 2018, 03:03 AM)
The VLAN settings were disabled, had to manually turn it on and picked unifi profile
yeah pretty much like what you said, entered my unifi credentials using the wizard, connect and test  laugh.gif
Correct to all above, one MUST press the reset button at the bottom of the unit.

CANNOT simply click "Restore To Factory Default Settings" at webui. This will not restore the NAT acceleration.

This particular 850L QOS issue is really annoying.
After full reset via the button, DON'T TOUCH the QOS settings.
JohnLai
post Nov 11 2018, 09:52 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(siawyent @ Nov 11 2018, 09:51 PM)
Just got Turbo-ed to 300mbps, but the perpetual discount added RM10.  So, do I expect less RM10 from my current bill?

Anyone has additional discount after turbo?  The bill amount you are paying before and after turbo is it the same?
Nope, TM increased the base price by RM10. The additional RM10 discount is meant to offset the base price increase.
JohnLai
post Nov 12 2018, 03:39 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(cybercrew @ Nov 12 2018, 03:03 PM)
Just got upgraded from 100mbps to 800 mbps.

Hardware spec as below :

Huawei HG8240w
Asus RT-AC55UHP

Tested on wired connection Cat 5e, Hitting max 350 MBPS
Tested on Wifi @ 5 ghz 1 meter from Router. Hitting max speed approx 290 - 300 MBPS.

Not sure if this is due to cable issue.  Just ordered Ugreen Cat 6 cable.. will test it out and update here..

btw, do you guys think it could be cable or my BTU or router ?

Router i used to have QOS enabled.. matching my previous 100mbps speed. So disabled QOS now.
is NAT should be enabled or not ?
350Mbps even with QOS disabled with AC55UHP? Current firmware has issue with NAT acceleration. Please use beta firmware posted by Asus Representative below.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=90551212
QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Oct 11 2018, 10:27 AM)
Hi All,

For those who are using RT-AC58U or RT-AC55UHP router and have trouble getting the high speed using LAN, you can try updating the beta firmware below. Do let me know is you have any problem with the firmware.

https://www.asuswebstorage.com/navigate/s/B...8A1EEFE35D1B98Y

JohnLai
post Nov 12 2018, 03:47 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(cybercrew @ Nov 12 2018, 03:42 PM)
thanks buddy.. upgraded ther firmware and now its reaching 570 mbps on wired..

So to enjoy full speed i need to upgrade my router right ?
Good. Now then.....570Mbps on wired after upgrading firmware?
Must be SPECTRE microcode problem. yawn.gif
Please search around about this.
JohnLai
post Nov 12 2018, 08:04 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(nonameNo @ Nov 12 2018, 07:52 PM)
Thanks. Change cable and restart router. Able to get between 20 to 28mb/s. But on speedtest or tm speedtest, cant get 800mbps. getting around 500 to 600mbps.
500 - 600Mbps? This one probably either CPU limitation caused by Spectre microcode or heat related problem. dry.gif
JohnLai
post Nov 12 2018, 08:10 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(nonameNo @ Nov 12 2018, 08:09 PM)
meaning from router perspective? i didnt switch off my router all these while except restart it.
Your PC/Laptop perspective. mega_shok.gif
JohnLai
post Nov 12 2018, 08:25 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(nonameNo @ Nov 12 2018, 08:15 PM)
using desktop - alienware. unless the network card got issue.

now my torrent speed back to normal 2.3 to 2.4mb/s capped.
doh.gif Doesn't matter alienware or whatever pc it is. As long as up-to-date win10 = confirm will have single CPU core maxed problem with LAN data transfer which limit max speed to 500-600Mbps unless if your CPU clock is high enough to offset the 'protection' penalty.

JohnLai
post Nov 12 2018, 08:29 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(nonameNo @ Nov 12 2018, 08:27 PM)
not really. found out the root cause. my switch - the port that im using got issue. when i switch to another port, then the speed increase straight away. time to change to new switch.

thanks for the guidance and tips.
Oh?
TM Speedtest increase up to 800Mbps?
JohnLai
post Nov 12 2018, 08:31 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(nonameNo @ Nov 12 2018, 08:29 PM)
yes, both tm and speedtest increase to almost 800mbps.
Good for you. Guess your CPU is powerful enough. nod.gif

Don't think too much about the stuff I wrote. The less you know, the better. laugh.gif
JohnLai
post Nov 13 2018, 02:00 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Nov 13 2018, 01:39 PM)
noob question:

for 500Mbps (maybe can upgrade for cheap to 800Mbps in future), if i am using asus rt-ac86u as router, which wifi adapter is suitable to pair:
1. asus usb-ac68
2. tp-link t4uhp

appreciate your advice...thanks
Both nope. It is impossible to reach 500Mbps with those two.

For asus usb-ac68:
https://www.digitalcitizen.life/reviewing-a...pter-looks-bird
This reviewer is using ASUS RT-AC88U router

See for yourself.
JohnLai
post Nov 13 2018, 03:53 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Nov 13 2018, 02:08 PM)
the reviewer didn't mention how much wifi speed he is getting on ac68 wifi adapter...or maybe i missed out ?

ac68 specs on 5Ghz theoretically should be able to reach 1300Mbps right ?
Read second page of the review? bangwall.gif
JohnLai
post Nov 13 2018, 07:11 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Nov 13 2018, 06:45 PM)
Call up TM asking why my speed won't reach beyond 500Mbps, they told me the way they upgrade customer's speed is by upgrading them incrementally i.e. from 100Mbps to 300Mbps, monitor the stability, upgrade to 500Mbps, monitor and then 800Mbps and monitor. Reason being according to the cs, if the line cannot sustain high speed then customer will only get the sustained speed but regardless will need to pay the same.

So, mine stuck at around 500-600-ish.

Any advice appreciated.

*Thanks to Rizvanrp for taking some time to look into my issues. Appreciated bro.
First, does your unifi.com.my display 800Mbps package?
Cause a lot of 100Mbps subscribers were turbo-upgraded to 500Mbps instead of 800Mbps.....

Second, you might have legendary microcode issue on your laptop i7-8750H over wired......

Third, not sure if it is your router NAT acceleration not working or whatever......it may be possible for ARM Cortex A9 Dual-Core 1.4Ghz to reach 500-600Mbps without CTF, but any higher will require CTF.......
JohnLai
post Nov 13 2018, 07:21 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Nov 13 2018, 07:14 PM)
Yep, turbo 800 shown in my bill and the dashboard. Microcode not present on both my desktop and laptop. As for the speed test, tested using both mikrotik Gr3 and tplink C3150v2.

ARM Cortex A9 Dual-Core 1.4Ghz?
Oh?
You sure?

Please run this
http://rweverything.com/downloads/RwPortableX64V1.7.zip
Go to Access ---> CPU MSR.
Post both your laptop and desktop CPU ID and PATCH ID.
JohnLai
post Nov 13 2018, 08:09 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Nov 13 2018, 08:03 PM)
Yeah, I think so, at least that what InSpectre software showed me.

What does this do?

desktop (i5-4690k):

Laptop (i7-8750H):

Don't trust that inspectre tools. It is outdated.

By the way, why did you post CPU cache stuff instead of CPU ID and PATCH ID? sweat.gif

RWEverything = show cpu + memory stuff

JohnLai
post Nov 13 2018, 08:19 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Nov 13 2018, 08:16 PM)
Oh..here is the CPU ID and PATCH ID.

Desktop:
[attachmentid=10103450]

Laptop:
[attachmentid=10103451]
desktop = yup, legendary microcode issue.

laptop = oh damn, also same legendary microcode issue.

My condolences. console.gif

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.2245sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:40 AM