10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V36, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

JohnLai
post Nov 4 2018, 01:48 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 4 2018, 01:39 PM)
With the amount you are spending, just downgrade to 129 and enjoy yourself. You spent way too much of unnecessary money and yet said no disposable income. I am speechless with the way how you managed all these things.
Those stuffs were done last year before I got lay off at beginning of year 2018 sad.gif ............

Plus, I don't spent much....LAN cable installation and neighbours' router = neighbours paid for it.

Technically, I only pay RM130 total per month for both unifi accounts + seedbox/vpn combo.

Jimat kan? brows.gif

JohnLai
post Nov 4 2018, 02:01 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 4 2018, 01:52 PM)
If you pay RM 129, you get to enjoy everything yourself and no need those subscriptions. Lagi jimat kan? brows.gif
But 100Mbps vs 500Mbps = huge difference considering those neighbours are not bandwidth savvy....

1 seedbox/vpn = 2 houses = 2 accounts = total expense RM130. rclxms.gif

If not sharing = (RM129 + 129) X 1.06 tax = RM273.48 even more expensive. shocking.gif Plus no sufficient fund for seedbox/vpn....

House B neighbours probably will agree to continue sharing too.

Maybe I will discuss with them about downgrading to RM139 300Mbps assuming if it is available next year....... tongue.gif

So....those who don't have sufficient fibre port or stingy/poor with money....might wanna consider my method..... brows.gif

JohnLai
post Nov 4 2018, 02:12 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Nov 4 2018, 02:00 PM)
oh my. isnt the latency bad?
anyway why dont u throttle them? throttle them for fun and ask for more $$ haha
I don't throttle them, no reason to do so.......france latency is quite bad.
Worst = 300ms above
Most of time = 100-150ms
Best =70-80ms -->very rare

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 4 2018, 02:06 PM)
If you are using alone, why still wanna maintain two accounts? Of course terminate one la.

Well, unless you are earning money from doing all these, else I really don't see the point of doing all this shitty work for your neighbours. Anyway, the choice is yours so long you are happy.
One can consider I am earning 'benefit' from it instead of $ hmm.gif
JohnLai
post Nov 4 2018, 03:25 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Nov 4 2018, 02:19 PM)
why not get those google cloud server? their international latency is awesome, even to china! u can try mudfish.net to get a feel of all the providers
France hosting is cheaper in term of speed and hdd space..... sad.gif , latency isn't important for my case.
Most critical = dmca stuff..... innocent.gif
JohnLai
post Nov 4 2018, 03:40 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(solarmystic @ Nov 4 2018, 03:38 PM)
AFAIK, I think it's all or nothing when it comes to unifi's VOIP service. Terminating UNIFI will terminate the phone service too.

And in certain areas with extensive UNIFI coverage, TM is no longer laying down any new copper, so unless you requested not to cut the copper line before subscribing to UNIFI, I don't think you can ask them to restore it.

I could be wrong about this however, but that is what I was told for my area, which is T.T.D.I.

I think they will eventually want to migrate to an end to end all fiber network for all customers. Save a lot of cost that way, and don't have to worry about copper line theft.

But there are still dumb thieves cutting off fibre cable thinking it is a copper cable..... doh.gif
Happen frequently in Sarawak.
JohnLai
post Nov 4 2018, 07:05 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Nov 4 2018, 05:48 PM)
how cheap? u use vultr?
anyway singapore is really lax about piracy! some of their isps (eg m1 axiata) even have installment plans for android boxes and encourage torrenting, and advertise no throttling. lol

anyway seedbox impt is high throughput, latency doesnt matter lol...
https://www.online.net/en/server-dedicated/start-2-s-sata

icon_rolleyes.gif
JohnLai
post Nov 4 2018, 07:44 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(th3game @ Nov 4 2018, 07:35 PM)
So it is doable la ya? Will survey things first..looks like can do biz here as so many students live near my area..hehe ( ͡° ͜� ͡°)
........Honestly.... I think you seriously misunderstood how wireless work..... sweat.gif

You can't profit from it.
JohnLai
post Nov 4 2018, 08:17 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(dino89 @ Nov 4 2018, 08:05 PM)
Hi Sifus

Would like to ask does Unifi support ipv6? How to configure my internet to use ipv6? Currently using TP Link C2300 router

Advanced --> IPV6 --> Internet Connection Type : PPPoE ---> Tick "pppoe same session with ipv4" ---> expand 'advanced' ---> Get ipv6 address : SLAAC ---> Prefix delegation : Enable --> DNS address : type in google or cloudflare ipv6 dns servers ip address here (optional) ---> SAVE ---> Moving to LAN---> Assigned type : SLAAC+Stateless DHCP --> SAVE

Reboot the router, wait 5 minutes, voila, done

JohnLai
post Nov 4 2018, 08:25 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(dino89 @ Nov 4 2018, 08:23 PM)
Thanks! Will give it a go later and see
BTW possible to "undo" this and revert back to IPV4?
Just slide/swipe the IPv6 indicato left to disable it.
JohnLai
post Nov 4 2018, 08:55 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(dino89 @ Nov 4 2018, 08:50 PM)
Just finish setting up my ipv6
Thanks for the help!
Good to hear that.

As for the warning : console.gif
TP-Link has funny ipv6 behaviors.
If you modify any wifi settings (including guest), ipv6 will stop working for 30 minutes to 1 hour.
If you disconnect and reconnect pppoe via web interface, same as above.
If you mess with ANY setting that normally require connection restart.....well, unless if you wanna wait 100 minutes (as per radvd.conf).......better off reboot the router and wait 5 minutes for ipv6 to work......
JohnLai
post Nov 4 2018, 09:03 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(dino89 @ Nov 4 2018, 08:58 PM)
Hah? How about updating router firmware sweat.gif
Just saw there is an update for my c2300 router
-.- rule no 1, you better know your unifi login and password before you try to update the firmware. Some firmware update from tplink tend to reset everything back to default/nothing.

rule no 2, after you type in those pppoe login etc......SET THE DAMN VLAN at NETWORK ---> IPTV/VLAN correctly before complaining pppoe can't connect.

Oh, you better update your firmware asap. yawn.gif

QUOTE(Doraku @ Nov 4 2018, 08:59 PM)
Woah what OS do you use for your routing server?
Win7 and openvpn. Why? blink.gif

Route command is quite useful.

EDIT: Argh, damn forgot to multiquote

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Nov 4 2018, 09:06 PM
JohnLai
post Nov 4 2018, 09:05 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

DELETE.

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Nov 4 2018, 09:06 PM
JohnLai
post Nov 4 2018, 09:16 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(dino89 @ Nov 4 2018, 09:14 PM)
No worries i have kept my unifi login and password brows.gif

U mean at Network > IPTV need to change the mode to Malaysia-Unifi? I was stuck here yesterday wondering why i couldnt connect to internet although already follow all the steps biggrin.gif
Yes......so now you know the reason. Need to set VLAN tagging before the pppoe can connect. rclxs0.gif

I assume you don't have problem reaching turbo speed on speedtest?
JohnLai
post Nov 5 2018, 01:13 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(arrsoo @ Nov 5 2018, 11:32 AM)
you din sell your "guarantee able to get full speed" troubleshooting skill to them?
laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Ain't my job or responsibility after the 'discount' stunt they pulled. tongue.gif

QUOTE(dickybird @ Nov 5 2018, 11:43 AM)
How did the meeting with house B go?
House B = successful as well. icon_rolleyes.gif
Funny that one neighbour from House B area actually went to TMPoint and tried to get his own line (unsuccessful). His 'story' matches with my 'good luck on getting vacant fibre port' resulting in the other two saying, 'nevermind lah, we just continue to share and pay on time as usual'.
JohnLai
post Nov 6 2018, 07:51 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 6 2018, 03:15 PM)
likely just poor seeds.

big or small files, i get up to 20MB/s.

dunno if that is the cap... somebody also reported 20 or 25 limit, am i right?
How many active connection? TCP or UDP?
And what is your PC CPU and OS?
JohnLai
post Nov 6 2018, 08:01 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 6 2018, 07:55 PM)
default settings, i never touch them.

windows 10, 64bit.
Torrent client? Qbittorrent? Set the connection to TCP only.

Your PC CPU model?
Windows 10 version? 1809, 1803 or 1790?
JohnLai
post Nov 6 2018, 08:14 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(insidemycloset @ Nov 6 2018, 08:07 PM)
Yes I did, someone told me to do that few pages back. I even scanned for Microcode problem too. Also updated the LAN drivers on all 3 PCs.

2 of the PCs have decent Gigabit PCIe network cards.

I'm 99% sure that the problem is on their side.
QOS is disabled for your 850L?

300 - 350 Mbps down = means NAT acceleration is not working.
Make sure nothing is in the QOS boxes, save and reboot the router.
JohnLai
post Nov 6 2018, 08:31 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 6 2018, 08:30 PM)
so many questions... biggrin.gif

maybe u shud tell what u use... we'll tell u what's wrong! tongue.gif
I rather teamviewer into your system and check everything. tongue.gif
JohnLai
post Nov 6 2018, 08:39 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(insidemycloset @ Nov 6 2018, 08:36 PM)
Nope QoS is disabled, boxes are empty.

I only used QoS few times before, Back when I was on 30Mbps unifi.
I think you better do a full reset of the router.

Make sure you know your unifi login, wifi password and setup the VLAN tagging first.

Read some weird case where NAT acceleration isn't automatically re-enabled for 850L after QOS is used and only reset can somehow fixes it (without touching the QOS after reset).
JohnLai
post Nov 7 2018, 03:19 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(insidemycloset @ Nov 7 2018, 01:57 PM)
Thanks for all the replies guys, the problem is solved.

TM Technician came earlier, I asked him to reset the router but the speed is still below 350Mbps.

After an hour of testing and failing. He then decided to change the router with a new 850L for RM53 cuz the warranty has expired. I asked for another model of router but that's the only one available.

With the new DIR 850L, Now I'm getting more than 800Mbps on cat6, and it once maxed out at 877Mbps.. since we don't really use wifi in this house, I guess ill be sticking with this one for a lil bit more.
Oh? How did he reset the router? Must press the button in reset hole.....

Anyway, since you can get full speed on new 850L, DON'T EVER TOUCH that QOS menu!

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.2074sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:25 AM