as of the above, how to cure migraine? i don't know how it feels actually..asking on behalf of a friend of mine.
How to cure Migraine?
Jun 5 2007, 02:00 AM, updated 19y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
5,417 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Bear Hill, Malacca |
as of the above, how to cure migraine? i don't know how it feels actually..asking on behalf of a friend of mine.
Jun 5 2007, 02:01 AM
386 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
I seen somewhere before stating if you suffer from migraine theres no cure...only painkillers work
Jun 5 2007, 02:03 AM
painkillers? wouldn't it cause side effects? really no cure at all?
Jun 5 2007, 02:14 AM
603 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
painkillers not good for kidney.
dun think got cure. |
Jun 5 2007, 02:21 AM
so painkillers are out of the question... what other ways to "kill off the pain" ? |
Jun 5 2007, 02:33 AM
2,109 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Damansara Damai, PJ |
have more sex. releases tension. ask your friend to relax more....
This post has been edited by loki: Jun 5 2007, 02:34 AM |
Jun 5 2007, 02:40 AM
...not really the answer i was hoping for... but i can accept the relax more part..
Jun 5 2007, 04:10 AM
619 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Brühl, Nordrhein Westfalen, Deutschland |
usually aspirin works, but only if you dont have pre-existing gastritis...
but there are side effects tho, just like every other medicine |
Jun 5 2007, 07:22 AM
54 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
try PANADOL (paracetomol) no side effect pain killer..
the best medication ever.. not even to your stomach.. but plezz not too much panadol or consume panadol with alcohol it might damage your liver.. (and the effect is fatal) u might die.. <-- if too much la.. 1 or 2 tablets is okay.. but its best to know why you got the migrain n avoid it.. prevention is better than cure.. |
Jun 5 2007, 08:24 AM
2,529 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Kota D'sara |
Avoid dairy products especially cheese when you feel the pain is coming. Oily food is a no no too. Aromathrerapy using Lavender essential oil helps. During pain, an ice bag will help ease it. Only resort to pain killers or medicines if the pain is really unbearable. I'm taking Ponstante either 250MG or 500MG. And yes, there is no cure for migraine. The only thing to do, is to prevent it from a healthy diet and quality rest time.
This post has been edited by phoenix: Jun 5 2007, 08:25 AM |
Jun 5 2007, 01:58 PM
ok, aromatherapy is used during the pain time or anytime?
Jun 5 2007, 02:04 PM
772 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Derng Cale Sir Punk |
-pick a comfortable sleeping position,
-get a good neck support pillow, -start to bath from leg and wet other areas upwards, -take 2 tablespoon of honey in the morning, -wash face often - not to clean it, but to cool the facial area, -always prepare a small towel - wet lightly with water and dap lightly on the forehead when it attacks.... ...i'll add more if i got some... |
Jun 5 2007, 02:13 PM
16 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
there is no cure for migraine, this only cure is if u can't stand the pain, go die.. :S no offense though, u can only minimize the pain and try not to stress alot..
Jun 5 2007, 02:23 PM
4,081 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
my fren also always got migraine..... anyway to reduce it? she say she will feel better after vomit... is it got any side effect if vomit?
Jun 5 2007, 02:35 PM
978 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
First of, there is no universal cure for migraines.
There are a lot of causes. You should find out the cause first and then use the appropriate remedy. Simply picking one after another out of the whole list is not such a good idea. You can obviously alleviate the pain by taking pain killers and hope the migraine cease by the time the pain killers wear off. Otherwise consult a doctor. Taking pain killers continuously is not good. |
Jun 5 2007, 02:48 PM
Jun 5 2007, 03:20 PM
QUOTE(hunt2sp @ Jun 5 2007, 02:04 PM) -pick a comfortable sleeping position, thanks for the input!-get a good neck support pillow, -start to bath from leg and wet other areas upwards, -take 2 tablespoon of honey in the morning, -wash face often - not to clean it, but to cool the facial area, -always prepare a small towel - wet lightly with water and dap lightly on the forehead when it attacks.... ...i'll add more if i got some... btw, how does honey help in this case? |
Jun 5 2007, 03:26 PM
Hmm... Some report says honey does help one to sleep better. So maybe honey can calm you down? Not sure though.
Jun 5 2007, 03:36 PM
but he said 2 tablespoons in the morning.... or should it be at night? before sleep?
Jun 5 2007, 03:39 PM
Guess we need hunt2sp to clarify. I also don't know. I only know that when I got insomia or cannot sleep, honey works.
This post has been edited by phoenix: Jun 5 2007, 03:40 PM |
Jun 6 2007, 04:07 AM
1,567 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
visit chinese doctor
Added on June 6, 2007, 4:08 amput some needle into head This post has been edited by advanced: Jun 6 2007, 04:08 AM |
Jun 6 2007, 07:10 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
52,874 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jun 6 2007, 11:04 AM
54 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
Jun 6 2007, 01:45 PM
Jun 6 2007, 01:59 PM
OK... That is something new. Wonder how metal will react to honey. Hmm...
update: Can't find any info on the reaction between metal and honey. Anybody? This post has been edited by phoenix: Jun 6 2007, 03:09 PM |
Jun 6 2007, 03:58 PM
2,979 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: www.twitter.com/bebeelim |
honey does help me when i am migraine
if there is no honey nearby ice cream works for me as well not too much 1 to 2tablespoon of honey will be sufficient or 1 scoop of ice cream |
Jun 6 2007, 04:00 PM
5,237 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Stary Oskol |
Jun 6 2007, 04:06 PM
Jun 6 2007, 04:08 PM
So fast? Works even faster than painkillers. For me, even painkillers will take at least 45 minutes to come into effect.
Jun 6 2007, 04:09 PM
5,237 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Stary Oskol |
QUOTE(phoenix @ Jun 6 2007, 04:08 PM) So fast? Works even faster than painkillers. For me, even painkillers will take at least 45 minutes to come into effect. sugar is the body's first choice of energy source...so of cos it's fast. when you get admitted to hospital, they drip you with glucose also wurt... that's what keeps you alive even when you're not eating. This post has been edited by King83: Jun 6 2007, 04:11 PM |
Jun 6 2007, 04:13 PM
QUOTE(phoenix @ Jun 6 2007, 04:08 PM) So fast? Works even faster than painkillers. For me, even painkillers will take at least 45 minutes to come into effect. i dun consume pain killerseven panadol it can make me sleep 1 whole day even i take 1tablet QUOTE(King83 @ Jun 6 2007, 04:09 PM) sugar is the body's first choice of energy source... maybe thats why laso of cos it's fast. when you get admitted to hospital, they drip you with glucose also wurt... that's what keeps you alive even when you're not eating. i am not sure either |
Jun 6 2007, 04:34 PM
so 2 tablespoons of honey in the morning and night on a plastic or wooden spoon eh? hope it helps . take it on daily basis or ..erm, when the attack is on?
Jun 6 2007, 04:36 PM
5,532 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Jun 6 2007, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(Naka7a @ Jun 6 2007, 04:34 PM) so 2 tablespoons of honey in the morning and night on a plastic or wooden spoon eh? hope it helps . take it on daily basis or ..erm, when the attack is on? best is practice everyday lodosent mean on wood , plastic or metal as long as u eat can already normally i eat when there is attack i am super bz no time to go prepare |
Jun 6 2007, 10:23 PM
eating so much of honey daily won't cause diabetes?
Jun 7 2007, 10:43 AM
QUOTE(Naka7a @ Jun 6 2007, 10:23 PM) no one ask u to get artificial honey tat was make by sugar n honey extractget 100% pure honey 100% of pure honey is okay if u eat 4 tablespoon per day it wont cause u diabetes unlike breveges like coke and pepsi honey is good for health and most important is drink enough of water sometime lack of water in ur body system will make u dun feel well as well |
Jun 7 2007, 09:39 PM
59 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(phoenix @ Jun 5 2007, 08:24 AM) Avoid dairy products especially cheese when you feel the pain is coming. Oily food is a no no too. Aromathrerapy using Lavender essential oil helps. During pain, an ice bag will help ease it. Only resort to pain killers or medicines if the pain is really unbearable. I'm taking Ponstante either 250MG or 500MG. And yes, there is no cure for migraine. The only thing to do, is to prevent it from a healthy diet and quality rest time. Listen to this guy. Prevention is better than cure.But occasionally they will come to bother you. What I do is, when the I get the vision blur ( early sign of migrain is coming) I would take 1 pill of Ponstan, then I would take another pill after 30 min or when the pain started to kick in. That was what I did when the attacks were unbearable few years back, now the pain not as nasty like it did(still annoying thou). Now, I only take 1 pill if I really needed it. Its really easy to get painkiller from clinics, just say you have migrain and have been taking it previously, pay the sum and go. Next time I want to try honey and Ice cream as well. This post has been edited by mkyo3: Jun 7 2007, 09:42 PM |
Jun 8 2007, 12:49 PM
Even if I know migraine is coming, I won't take Ponstan. I try not to resort to painkillers. Will try more "natural" ways in trying to cope with it, like ice bag, sleep, etc... Unless really cannot take it already, only will I pop in a Ponstant 500MG.
Jun 8 2007, 01:41 PM
QUOTE(phoenix @ Jun 8 2007, 12:49 PM) Even if I know migraine is coming, I won't take Ponstan. I try not to resort to painkillers. Will try more "natural" ways in trying to cope with it, like ice bag, sleep, etc... Unless really cannot take it already, only will I pop in a Ponstant 500MG. i rather take it by eating something more health conscious den take pain killer |
Jun 8 2007, 08:47 PM
48 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Jun 5 2007, 02:23 PM) my fren also always got migraine..... anyway to reduce it? she say she will feel better after vomit... is it got any side effect if vomit? yea...i puke a lot durin migraine attacks...painkillers won't work at all because i will puke it out after a few minutes...just have enough sleep n drink lots of water.... This post has been edited by mumuz: Jun 8 2007, 08:48 PM |
Jun 9 2007, 06:51 PM
QUOTE(mumuz @ Jun 8 2007, 08:47 PM) yea...i puke a lot durin migraine attacks...painkillers won't work at all because i will puke it out after a few minutes... ic..... thanks.... btw, does honey do anmy good for u? thinkin wanna buy her some pure honey... but dsamn, too many kind of pure honey leh....just have enough sleep n drink lots of water.... |
Jun 9 2007, 08:31 PM
lowyat82, the thing is...if she is having migraine, n she is the vomity kind like me, nothing works...whatever goes in will comes out in minutes...lol....i've tried even teh halia (an indian aunty told me its effective...) but i still have to rush to the toilet 10 mins later...
Jun 9 2007, 08:38 PM
625 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
improper sitting and sleeping posture will cause migraine too...
As for me i try to get my neck massaged and take painkiller then go sleep. Relieving the blood flow my massaging the vessels help |
Jun 9 2007, 08:40 PM
1,015 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
actually when the migraine hits you, nothing actually works...you just have to let it run it's course
the trick is prevention, or at least reduction of symtpoms - you know when it is gonna hit you - so quickly pop some effective painkillers or anti-migraine meds, then at least it won't be so bad and if you know what triggers off the migraines, try and avoid it at all costs |
Jun 10 2007, 12:40 AM
QUOTE(mumuz @ Jun 9 2007, 08:31 PM) lowyat82, the thing is...if she is having migraine, n she is the vomity kind like me, nothing works...whatever goes in will comes out in minutes...lol....i've tried even teh halia (an indian aunty told me its effective...) but i still have to rush to the toilet 10 mins later... wa.... then how????? y some people got migraine and some people dun???? then all her life also need to live wit migraine????but i thnk she not always vomit, but after vomit, she sure feel lot lot better.... |
Jun 10 2007, 09:15 PM
lowyat82: i'm not to sure y some ppl suffer from migraine n some don't...if i'm not mistaken, heredity is on of the factors...
i got it when i was very very young...i used to tell my mom my head hurts when i was like 6 but they would never believe me...haha... anywayz, like what others say just try to prevent it cuz there's really no cure...some things trigger migraine, so she has to know herself.... |
Jun 11 2007, 01:11 PM
Migraine is different from normal headaches. For people who don't suffer migraines, it's very difficult for them to understand the pain. So if the pain is too severed, it might be helpful to go the doctor for advice and better, for a scan. Will never know what's in the head.
Jun 28 2007, 02:11 AM
73 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: setapak |
i used to have migraine when i was small..till now even.but on lesser occasion now.normally i'll take chocolates...esp dark chocolates..cuz, dark chocolates will induce the release of dopamine,a kind of hormone to ease the pain.or i'll take ice-cream.havent tried the honey trick b4...does it really work?
Jun 28 2007, 02:25 AM
2,006 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: KLANG |
so whats the major diff of migraine and giddiness / headache
Jun 28 2007, 03:53 PM
in a short analogy i can say a minor headache normally will occur for about 30 minutes average, with a lower level of pain and felt all around ur head..
migraine instead, is a 3-4 hours of pain, felt in that 30 minutes time, all at once, at its own specific attack-areas...and sometimes u wish that u can prick a big hole in ur head to release out the pain or open up ur skull... i can equally refer to the scene of Brandon Lee's "The Crow" in the ending fighting scene, where he grasp the bad guy's head and let that guy feel the 3 hours of pain, all at once.... |
Jun 28 2007, 06:32 PM
975 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Perth, Oz |
maybe u could try pop in 2 panadols and eat something, then drink lots of water. it might be caused by dehydration. and ive learnt about some massages but i cant exactly explain it here where u can press on the pressure points behind ur head and ur back... u could try google it or ask some pros
Jun 29 2007, 03:07 PM
73 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: setapak |
but then...even sumtimes the massage dun really work.the pain just keep coming.sometimes i woul dhave migraine at the back of my neck..and wat i would do is keep on hitting it wif my fist...haha.
Jun 29 2007, 03:13 PM
honey does works
i do take chocolate & ice cream can say i take all sweet stuff |
Jun 29 2007, 11:14 PM
25 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: kuala lumpur |
do more exercise.. because ur hormon not stabil.. hmm.. dulu i pun sering migrain.. then doc prefer i diet n exercise more.. mgrain ni sebab pemakanan n stress juga.. so.. u kena think what is the best for ur self...
Jun 30 2007, 12:03 AM
4,897 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
try to use hair dryer on yr head
coz the heat will reduce yr migrane this info i read from magazine |
Jul 5 2007, 10:30 PM
290 posts Joined: May 2005 |
you may want to try out xango. PM me if u want more info..
Jul 6 2007, 01:11 AM
777 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: mars |
Stop staring at the computer monitor so much
I used to suffer massive headaches (not sure whether they're migraines or not), turns out I just needed new glasses |
Jul 6 2007, 10:51 PM
2,816 posts Joined: May 2006 |
Figure out what's causing the migraine attacks, stop it there. This isn't always possible as triggers such as stress are sometimes unavoidable in life. People who say, "don't take pain killers, they're bad for you" have probably never had a bad migraine attack.
There are preventive medications which reduce the severity and frequency of the attacks, they didn't work for me but I know many who have had good results from the meds. |
Jul 7 2007, 10:38 AM
1,982 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
hi guys ..
have enough rest + drinks a lot |
Jul 17 2007, 06:57 PM
18 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
hi guys,
i used 2 suffer from migraine 2 yrs ago, i cant stand very stressful environment or from cold to hot places or vice versa...this will cause me 2 feel a bit giddy then some head pain and then puke... migraine is mainly related to stress and mind u not only work stress... anything that stresses up ur body...from work, noise, light, weather etc... d best way to get rid of migraine is by having a good blood flow especially around ur neck and brain area.... i've been taking a supplement that has has actually helped my migraine of 2yrs and now 'touch wood' i've never had a migraine attack since last july2006! CHEERS! |
Jul 19 2007, 09:25 AM
30 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Puchong |
QUOTE(Naka7a @ Jun 5 2007, 02:00 AM) as of the above, how to cure migraine? i don't know how it feels actually..asking on behalf of a friend of mine. Hi gal, I myself suffer from migraine for many years, doctors told me there's no cure. But recently I was told by my Yoga teacher that a breathing technique (a practice) can cure migraine, it's called Kapalabhati. For more details, you can visit this site: http://www.abc-of-yoga.com/yoga-and-health...or-migraine.asp And since I started Yoga, the occurance of migraine on me has cut down. Hope that helps. |
Jul 24 2007, 06:11 PM
451 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Planet Earth |
go for acupuncture. may help in their own way......
Jun 2 2010, 09:20 AM
100 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
I use Osim u-crown,help to reduce little bit.
Jun 7 2010, 11:18 AM
108 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(Naka7a @ Jun 5 2007, 02:00 AM) as of the above, how to cure migraine? i don't know how it feels actually..asking on behalf of a friend of mine. To help the person, need to know a few information:-1. Can I know is that person male or Female? 2. Age? 3. Does the migrane happen at I side of the head or chage location at time? 4. Does the person take food like "timun", "Salted Vegetable", etc... |
Jun 7 2010, 11:05 PM
1,809 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
I used to hv migraine last time, when I was younger, but I got out of it. Now sometimes hv occasional headache, but nowhere near the pain last time..
I guess you will need to determine, each time when migraine arises, is there any cause? (eg: stress, under the sun too long etc). If so, try to avoid the cause. But then again, I doubt there's a universal cure. Hopefully your friend will just get out of it one day. Meanwhile, try to prevent doing things that will give cause headache, even minors one. |
Aug 2 2010, 11:27 PM
41 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
Does your friend consume coffee a lot? My migraine reduced a lot after i stop drinking coffee. Please not even a sip!!! I tested and triggered my migraine badly..
Aug 3 2010, 12:02 AM
553 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
Do Tai-Chi
Aug 3 2010, 10:18 AM
1,104 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
yoga do help me in migraine, maybe you can have a try.
Aug 16 2010, 08:33 PM
469 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Cyberjaya |
Hmm how do we tell if its migrane or not? Lately i always having a headaches and pains right around my eyebrows area. Cant think, cant sleep, dunno what happens to me. Is this migrane? Even if i close my eyes it wont go away. This happens like everyday. When i wakes up in d morning i feel tired, and headache.. After took my shower then only it reduced a bit.
Aug 16 2010, 08:46 PM
41 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(izdyharz @ Aug 16 2010, 08:33 PM) Hmm how do we tell if its migrane or not? Lately i always having a headaches and pains right around my eyebrows area. Cant think, cant sleep, dunno what happens to me. Is this migrane? Even if i close my eyes it wont go away. This happens like everyday. When i wakes up in d morning i feel tired, and headache.. After took my shower then only it reduced a bit. Sometimes toothache can cause this similar problem.. I never experience migraine everyday, the worst i had is only 3 days continuosly. |
Dec 28 2010, 08:22 AM
1,491 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Pattaya,Thailand Status: Online |
you can try Vasograin tablet (im trying it now)
my dad bought from India but here cost roughly rm16-20 (30 tablet). but ok,you will feel drosy,but its effective. Its India manufacturer but you can get it at Pharmancy or any reputable Clinics. Some to prove : http://www.google.com.my/#hl=en&biw=1024&b...b0ea66d860d098c |
Dec 28 2010, 02:31 PM
40 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: My World |
Maybe you can consider to take nutrition supplement by Nutrilite.
My friend do have migraine too, then I advice her to take nutrition supplement, as our body need nutrition to works and repair/replace bad cells in our body. After few months, she thanks me and said the migraine never come back to her. I personally also take this nutrition supplement, and it give me back my health. It is a good thing to share. This nutrition supplement provide us all the nutrition needed by our body daily, and it has 75 years of history in researching health and nutrition. For more information, you can google around and do a research about it. [Edit] More to add Nutrilite Nutrilite History Nutrilite Health Institude This post has been edited by bobbycnc: Dec 28 2010, 02:41 PM |
Jan 5 2011, 05:28 PM
108 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(Naka7a @ Jun 5 2007, 02:00 AM) as of the above, how to cure migraine? i don't know how it feels actually..asking on behalf of a friend of mine. Actually, migrane can be tackles, it takes quite a while.1. Does this happen to a male or female? 2. Which part of the head does the migrane happen? 3. Does it move from 1 location to another? I've recommend something to one of my female friend and after taking for quite sometime, her migrane become better. |
Jan 30 2011, 09:06 PM
802 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Amsterdam |
migraine scuks big time..
thank god, i got it only during school time.. i still remember the pain..its like whole body got paralyzed cant stop feeling like your head gonna explode try practice healthy life by playing sports and eat healthy food.. works for me.. |
May 2 2012, 03:45 PM
373 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
QUOTE(RayT @ Jul 17 2007, 06:57 PM) hi guys, I suffered migraine attack and it has been three weeks now. The last time i suffered from migraine attack was in 2009/2010. i used 2 suffer from migraine 2 yrs ago, i cant stand very stressful environment or from cold to hot places or vice versa...this will cause me 2 feel a bit giddy then some head pain and then puke... migraine is mainly related to stress and mind u not only work stress... anything that stresses up ur body...from work, noise, light, weather etc... d best way to get rid of migraine is by having a good blood flow especially around ur neck and brain area.... i've been taking a supplement that has has actually helped my migraine of 2yrs and now 'touch wood' i've never had a migraine attack since last july2006! CHEERS! Doctor prescribe me with cafergot and ponstant. But for me cafergot works while ponstant i barely feel any difference in reducing the pain. I would like to know which supplement do you take in helping out with migraine? Please recommend. In addition i would like to seek for any traditional remedial for migraine. Or perhaps any herbal that could help stop this migraine? |
May 2 2012, 03:51 PM
1,104 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(leechers @ May 2 2012, 03:45 PM) I suffered migraine attack and it has been three weeks now. The last time i suffered from migraine attack was in 2009/2010. try to do some yoga, meditation could helps oso.Doctor prescribe me with cafergot and ponstant. But for me cafergot works while ponstant i barely feel any difference in reducing the pain. I would like to know which supplement do you take in helping out with migraine? Please recommend. In addition i would like to seek for any traditional remedial for migraine. Or perhaps any herbal that could help stop this migraine? |
May 4 2012, 09:28 AM
757 posts Joined: May 2012 |
May 4 2012, 12:02 PM
1,001 posts Joined: May 2012 |
May 4 2012, 12:25 PM
579 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: in limbo land... |
QUOTE(leechers @ May 2 2012, 03:45 PM) I suffered migraine attack and it has been three weeks now. The last time i suffered from migraine attack was in 2009/2010. From the information I have gathered all these while on migrain be it from books, internet or medical practitioners, there is no cure for migraine. Doctor prescribe me with cafergot and ponstant. But for me cafergot works while ponstant i barely feel any difference in reducing the pain. I would like to know which supplement do you take in helping out with migraine? Please recommend. In addition i would like to seek for any traditional remedial for migraine. Or perhaps any herbal that could help stop this migraine? What one can do is prevent it from happening, and if you have migraine attack, how to alleviate the pain so you can still function normally. Important thing is to find the cause of your migraine attack. Not everyone is the same, but the most common cause will be stress. I for one also suffer from migraine. I'm fortunate that I have pinpoint out the cause of my attack, lack of rest/sleep and stress. Lack of rest/sleep can be settled easily, just have to manage my time better but stress is another issue. Ever since I moved down to work in KL last year, I have suffered 3 attacks and with this 3, the pain is so intense I puke. It never happen before when I get migraine attack. Haih... |
May 4 2012, 04:59 PM
373 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
QUOTE(neuroticmind @ May 4 2012, 12:25 PM) From the information I have gathered all these while on migrain be it from books, internet or medical practitioners, there is no cure for migraine. As for me i could tell that lack of excersise and over eating might be the cause. I love curry and all the spicy food. Not to mention i live in pearl of the orient and this is food paradise. Too difficult not to over eat. I dont feel any migraine for the last two days except for today i got the attack. And just last night i had supper of two burgers. And the next morning i suffer the attack. What one can do is prevent it from happening, and if you have migraine attack, how to alleviate the pain so you can still function normally. Important thing is to find the cause of your migraine attack. Not everyone is the same, but the most common cause will be stress. I for one also suffer from migraine. I'm fortunate that I have pinpoint out the cause of my attack, lack of rest/sleep and stress. Lack of rest/sleep can be settled easily, just have to manage my time better but stress is another issue. Ever since I moved down to work in KL last year, I have suffered 3 attacks and with this 3, the pain is so intense I puke. It never happen before when I get migraine attack. Haih... QUOTE(kurlei18 @ May 4 2012, 03:37 PM) Will give it a try. From internet i read about feverfew and riboflavin that is good to reduce migraine attack. But i dont know about the price and where to get it |
Jul 24 2012, 11:46 PM
2 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
To overcome migraine, visit www.goodmigrainetreatment.com.
Watch the testimonials part. |
Jul 24 2012, 11:59 PM
1,184 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: UEP Subang Jaya |
QUOTE(Naka7a @ Jun 5 2007, 02:00 AM) as of the above, how to cure migraine? i don't know how it feels actually..asking on behalf of a friend of mine. IMO migraine is just a symptom . Most probably your friend don't drink enough plain water and his body is in the state of dehydration . Cure : drink plenty of plain water everyday .. |
Jul 25 2012, 01:38 PM
10 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
Drink more water, avoid caffeinated drinks, sleep early.
The most important is to maintain a healthy lifestyle. |
Jul 25 2012, 04:34 PM
1,009 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Shah Alam |
I once bought an app that said can cure migraine by only using my handphone sound. Wtf was i thinking????
Jul 25 2012, 06:33 PM
286 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
1. propanolol
2. amitriptilline 3. flunarizine if only drinking water can cure migrain. |
Jul 25 2012, 10:43 PM
169 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Try triptans eg sumatriptan. It's the only drug that is specifically for abortion of migraine. It's not a painkiller and it has minimal side effect.
I've been suffering from migraine for many years...painkillers hv no more effects on me but luckily discovered this new drug...eh it's not actually new coz there r already generic in the market. Ori brand like imigram cost around rm14 a tab! |
Jul 25 2012, 10:48 PM
997 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
Jul 25 2012, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(stevengan88 @ Jul 25 2012, 10:43 PM) Try triptans eg sumatriptan. It's the only drug that is specifically for abortion of migraine. It's not a painkiller and it has minimal side effect. Sumatriptan does not prevent migrain. What you need is prophylaxis against migrain.I've been suffering from migraine for many years...painkillers hv no more effects on me but luckily discovered this new drug...eh it's not actually new coz there r already generic in the market. Ori brand like imigram cost around rm14 a tab! 1 propanolol 2. amitriptilline 3. flunarizine. |
Jul 25 2012, 11:53 PM
5,867 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
QUOTE(Zeliard @ Jul 25 2012, 11:32 PM) Sumatriptan does not prevent migrain. What you need is prophylaxis against migrain. I will see zip zap lights and blind spot in the eyes 20min before the pain comes, if I take the above prophylaxis upon seeing the zipzap lights, do you reckon it will prevent the pain and abort the migraine ?1 propanolol 2. amitriptilline 3. flunarizine. |
Jul 26 2012, 02:05 PM
U are having aura, typical of migraine attacks. Yes u might benefit from either of the drugs.
Jul 27 2012, 09:37 PM
5,867 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
Jul 31 2012, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 27 2012, 09:37 PM) There are many commercial name for the drugs, each different depending on the drug company releasing it. What matters is the name of the drug, not the brand.This post has been edited by Zeliard: Jul 31 2012, 03:31 PM |
Aug 3 2012, 02:04 AM
8 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
Aug 24 2012, 12:40 AM
45 posts Joined: Mar 2012 From: Under the Bridge |
exercise more and take up yoga and meditation class? hmmm
Sep 19 2017, 05:45 PM
7 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 27 2012, 09:37 PM) http://www.baizigui.com.my/qiang-qi-ling-capsule.html Hey all, I like to ask if any of you have experience in trying this product before ? does it help or any side effect? |
Sep 19 2017, 11:01 PM
724 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(Naka7a @ Jun 5 2007, 02:00 AM) as of the above, how to cure migraine? i don't know how it feels actually..asking on behalf of a friend of mine. me n my cousin have really bad migraine. caffeine from coffee seems to help. have u tried drinking 2 cups of coffee every day for 1 week? also some migraine medication has caffeine in it. |
Sep 21 2017, 12:44 PM
QUOTE(gamestotal @ Sep 19 2017, 11:01 PM) me n my cousin have really bad migraine. caffeine from coffee seems to help. have u tried drinking 2 cups of coffee every day for 1 week? also some migraine medication has caffeine in it. Yeap, I tried it does reduced. But I can't take much as I couldn't sleep for that night . So have to rely on medicine -.- |
Sep 23 2017, 04:18 PM
4,998 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
Exercise will help a migraine sufferer withstand and deal with the problem but don't cure the problem.
Sep 26 2017, 09:23 PM
76 posts Joined: Apr 2017 |
My migraine got better after seeing a chiropractor. Migraine can be caused by many things you just have to find out what it yours. Mine is due to spine issue.
Sep 28 2017, 10:28 PM
41 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Guys, try magnesium oil.
Jan 26 2018, 04:59 PM
6 posts Joined: Sep 2017 |
QUOTE(Skytea83 @ Sep 21 2017, 08:33 PM) I know this product, it works for me. I have been taking this medicine since 2013 from a local Chinese Doctor nearby Lukut, PD. I stay nearby Port Dickson, Ini product Qiang Qi Ling sell nearby pharmacy tak ?I was having the same like you since I was young, and almost every week get migraine attack. I even been to hospital doctor and get the prescription medicine but it doesnt cure me completely. Worse is those pharmacy pain killer makes me lost my appetite, weight gain and I need to increase my dosage after few months. |
Feb 24 2018, 12:49 AM
2,669 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
![]() |
Feb 25 2018, 03:55 AM
237 posts Joined: Jan 2017 |
no cure
find the trigger then avoid them if its cheese, avoid cheese if its emotional stress, then reduce the situation that gets you there saw some old wive's tales up there and supplements etc.. believe me if peppermint or lemongrass suffice, then you wont have neurologists and anti-migrainous meds and hospitals and ED wont be burdened by migraine attacks, and if they come we would have used pepperments and lemongrass and stuff |
Mar 5 2018, 01:33 AM
2,364 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: malaysia |
Get your eyes check, make sure its not triggered by poor eyesight.
There is migraine lens available in market to help relieve and prevent migraine attack. |
Mar 6 2018, 11:31 PM
5 posts Joined: Oct 2017 |
Migraine is just a name for a certain recurring headache and there a loads of different causes and therefore not one single cure, but lots of it. Migraine can be caused by strress, weather, eyes and so on... You hjust have to talk to a doctor. You will most likley need to do a proper migraine diary to find out what the reasons for your migraine are.
In the future the maybe some Nootropics which could be useful, but most of them have not been researched well enough to actually take them safely, so we will need to be patient. This post has been edited by MasterP: Mar 7 2018, 06:30 AM |
Mar 7 2018, 03:22 AM
4 posts Joined: Mar 2018 |
I use to suffer a lot from migraines and I know that is the worst to go through. For me there wasn't much of a cure precisely. But I do know that certain foods could help ease the pain, and also rest, no loud sounds around or bright lights. Its a phase that I go through and it'll go away slowly.
Mar 8 2018, 05:34 AM
5 posts Joined: Mar 2018 |
A hot shower usually works for me!
Mar 8 2018, 10:32 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
201 posts Joined: Feb 2018 |
Mar 8 2018, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(vaz2795 @ Mar 7 2018, 03:22 AM) I use to suffer a lot from migraines and I know that is the worst to go through. For me there wasn't much of a cure precisely. But I do know that certain foods could help ease the pain, and also rest, no loud sounds around or bright lights. Its a phase that I go through and it'll go away slowly. so what are the food? |
Mar 9 2018, 08:27 PM
70 posts Joined: Nov 2017 |
try acupuncture if you are not scared of needles
Mar 9 2018, 09:11 PM
595 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur |
It depend how serious la ..
My doc ask me to rest my eyes and dont stare PC too long by taking a break in between .. Stress and sleep may also contribute besides the fluorescent / LED lights if too bright .. |
Mar 11 2018, 12:19 PM
2,364 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: malaysia |
Apr 18 2018, 03:18 PM
102 posts Joined: Feb 2018 |
Migraine is usually one sided headache but the pain is more extreme than a normal headache. You may feel nausea &/or giddiness. Out in the hot sun for too long or even sitting under spotlights or having bright lights shine at you can trigger such attacks. Most times painkiller can stop it but not necessary cure it though. Food like cheese, chocolate, cucumber or caffeine is a big no no. Take care ya!
Apr 19 2018, 03:07 PM
25 posts Joined: Jan 2018 From: singpapore |
A migraine is a big issue it may happen to produce of gas in the human body, one should digest his food properly do no need to take tension just remain cool and eat food properly.
Apr 22 2018, 10:07 PM
Apr 23 2018, 10:40 PM
QUOTE(Jayne K @ Apr 23 2018, 04:51 PM) #sharingiscaring #foodforthoughtit does work though based on this article https://beautymunsta.com/magnesium-oil-for-...aine-headaches/ |
Jun 6 2020, 11:53 PM
i used to go accupunture treatment last time. but no longer going since I start taking a herbs supplement. It works good for me. you can try to purchase the medicine at lazada. Just search "Mygreenmed Qiang Qi Ling" .
![]() https://www.lazada.com.my/products/mygreenm...JcOTwd&search=1 |
| Change to: | 0.0468sec
5 queries
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:06 PM |