> Putrajaya in talks with Grab to help ferry MRT

SUSLumiaaa
post Oct 9 2018, 08:55 PM, updated 8y ago

172 posts

The government is in talks with homegrown e-hailing company Grab to provide complementary transport services to commuters, the finance minister's political secretary Tony Pua revealed today.

“Now we have new ventures, new innovative digital technologies like Grab, who can help us defray the cost of some of the public transport expenditure.

“Why should you provide feeder buses if you can work with Grab?

“They can actually arrive and give door-to-door delivery from the MRT to commuters' homes at a reasonable price, and at a cost that will be cheaper than us (the government) supplying feeder buses,” he told a panel during the 'Malaysia: A new dawn' conference in Kuala Lumpur.

Pua further explained that the government was interested in pursuing similar public-private partnerships in government projects, especially those involving infrastructure.

“These are all openings and these are all avenues that the current government is exploring in order to manage our fiscal deficit and our debt.
"And at the very same time, solve many of our problems," he said.

Met by the press after, the Damansara MP confirmed that the government was indeed “in discussions” with Grab over the matter, but offered no further details.

Besides Pua, the 'New Malaysia: Forging ahead together' panel also comprised Setiawangsa MP Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad, Bersatu policy and strategy bureau chairperson Rais Hussin, and former minister Rafizah Aziz.

The panel was moderated by Merdeka Center programme director Ibrahim Suffian.

https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/446624?ut...medium=facebook

This post has been edited by Lumiaaa: Oct 9 2018, 08:57 PM
EatFriesEggs
post Oct 9 2018, 08:56 PM

91 posts

Stupid move
SUSazhan82
post Oct 9 2018, 08:58 PM

316 posts

Dafuq did I just read..
Tony Pua has gone bonkers?

inb4 Tukar Crony baru Pua...
hirano
post Oct 9 2018, 09:00 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,333 posts

Feeder bus, cost rm1-2 to consumers

Grab mahai rm5-10 minimum to reach nearest mrt
Phoenix_KL
post Oct 9 2018, 09:00 PM

156 posts

rm5 per km. lol
Orzie
post Oct 9 2018, 09:01 PM

335 posts

LOL, good luck "ferrying" the passengers during rush hour
Seriously WTF?

Might as well ask the gov officials to pakai Grab, can save lots of money on transportation too
Duperaider
post Oct 9 2018, 09:03 PM

257 posts

I have always maintain the fact that Tony pua is not a very smart person
gogocan
post Oct 9 2018, 09:03 PM

485 posts

Feeder bus how much? Grab how much?

Later Grab agree RM 1 but nobody pickup also no use.
wild_card_my
post Oct 9 2018, 09:04 PM

6,562 posts

they should make more covered side walks, large enough that plenty of people can use them without crowding issues, no puddles, and with good CCTV and patrolmen for security

If I can think of this, why can't Tony Pua?
gogocan
post Oct 9 2018, 09:04 PM

485 posts

If use grab might as well straight to your destination
malibuchong
post Oct 9 2018, 09:05 PM

124 posts

cut cost ler tu!
:3mushy:3
post Oct 9 2018, 09:05 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

Now the reality of running a government sinks in. Deep.
Phoenix_KL
post Oct 9 2018, 09:06 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(Orzie @ Oct 9 2018, 09:01 PM)
LOL, good luck "ferrying" the passengers during rush hour
Seriously WTF?

Might as well ask the gov officials to pakai Grab, can save lots of money on transportation too
I did but none of the 'new' malaysia did it.
s@ni
post Oct 9 2018, 09:06 PM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,842 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Oct 9 2018, 09:00 PM)

Thats not how they calc.. gomen give lump-sum money..

Whether people use it or not,its another story.
gogocan
post Oct 9 2018, 09:07 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(malibuchong @ Oct 9 2018, 09:05 PM)
cut cost ler tu!
Indirectly hinting govt no longer want to subsidize feeder bus cost..
ganz
post Oct 9 2018, 09:07 PM

Livin' Ain't No Crime
1,139 posts

later

newspaper misquote me...
ganz
post Oct 9 2018, 09:08 PM

Livin' Ain't No Crime
1,139 posts

QUOTE(gogocan @ Oct 9 2018, 09:07 PM)
remember one menispesto (if still valid) to provide 10, 000 buses plus monthly pass..
kelvinfixx
post Oct 9 2018, 09:09 PM

1,588 posts

LULZ tony grow stupid after become part of the gouvernment. All lobby by big ocmpnay interest.

Feeder bus is the way to go.
hirano
post Oct 9 2018, 09:10 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,333 posts

QUOTE(s@ni @ Oct 9 2018, 09:06 PM)
Thats not how they calc.. gomen give lump-sum money..

Whether people use it or not,its another story.
People will use. But how will grab and gov ensure that drivers will always accept such request? Grab Drivers now perangai cibai like taxi drivers
malibuchong
post Oct 9 2018, 09:10 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(gogocan @ Oct 9 2018, 09:07 PM)
correct!
dato K
post Oct 9 2018, 09:11 PM

43 posts

Stupid tony pua

Bnyk mkn oink2
ganz
post Oct 9 2018, 09:12 PM

Livin' Ain't No Crime
1,139 posts

QUOTE(malibuchong @ Oct 9 2018, 09:10 PM)
correct!
n further give hint that rapidkl bus will go to graveyard soon..
SUSFall guy
post Oct 9 2018, 09:16 PM

123 posts

Free. Kek. The driver no need pay for petrol ar?
gogocan
post Oct 9 2018, 09:18 PM

485 posts

Maybe can deal sell protiga cheap cheap to grab driver in return for cheaper fee.
acbc
post Oct 9 2018, 09:19 PM

9,041 posts

After killing off Gamuda, now they trying to kill RapidKL.
Abc001
post Oct 9 2018, 09:20 PM

Kesian la pemandu bus RapidKL

All will be jobless soon
SUSFall guy
post Oct 9 2018, 09:20 PM

123 posts

If driver don't mind oklor. Hahaha. Can't wait to see Grab FB comments.
wild_card_my
post Oct 9 2018, 09:23 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(boobie @ Oct 9 2018, 09:18 PM)
I hope they can adopt China cctv system...crime rate drop a lot due to facial recognition camera
They use combination of good hardware (camera) and software (facial recognition) and did well as you said. Feels scary and it can invade people's privacy, but it is China we are talking about here

Privacy and security are exclusive to each other, you can lean towards one or compromise, but you can't have both.
techfreakguy
post Oct 9 2018, 09:23 PM

36 posts

And I thought Grab, under the new government, should be investigated in doing monopoly by obtaining Uber?
SUSFall guy
post Oct 9 2018, 09:24 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(techfreakguy @ Oct 9 2018, 08:23 AM)
And I thought Grab, under the new government, should be investigated in doing monopoly by obtaining Uber?
Sorry ar, this Malaysia, not stinkapore.
billylks
post Oct 9 2018, 09:27 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Oct 9 2018, 09:00 PM)

This!

Unless for special reason grab will be rm2 max if stop at mrt Station.
silent_stalker
post Oct 9 2018, 09:30 PM

852 posts

Bus to reduce cars on the road. And he wants to increase it. Kejadahnye. Not to mention the cost.

Grab management already reached his pocket is it
ReoAyanami
post Oct 9 2018, 09:34 PM

13 posts

Maybe he is talking about low volume areas where buses can't break even. I used to stay in an area where I can't even find the bus stop
SUSnasiputih
post Oct 9 2018, 09:36 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Oct 9 2018, 09:04 PM)
they should make more covered side walks, large enough that plenty of people can use them without crowding issues, no puddles, and with good CCTV and patrolmen for security

because talking is easy.
doing is much much harder.
billylks
post Oct 9 2018, 09:36 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(boobie @ Oct 9 2018, 09:35 PM)
Rm1max ok la
Liddis kompem I untung since my condo is near to mrt Station!
wild_card_my
post Oct 9 2018, 09:38 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(nasiputih @ Oct 9 2018, 09:36 PM)
because talking is easy.
doing is much much harder.
Yeap, Tony Pua taking the easy route. it is much harder to plan for the things that I said than to just ask uber to start ferrying the passengers which is really a dumb area.

Im not impressed with Tony Pua for this.

haha I turned your words around.
tokdukun
post Oct 9 2018, 09:39 PM

376 posts

No need cakap berlapik la, feeder bus is a huge blackhole eating govt's money. The fare probably can't even cover the diesel cost alone. And each bus costs hundreds of thousands of ringgit, you're looking at a E-keras, 5-series everytime you see a Volvo bus Jom naik MRT. Maintenance also much higher, koyak la govt's pocket.

So he wants Grab to replace the role of feeder bus, let someone else pay for car, maintenance etc.
wild_card_my
post Oct 9 2018, 09:42 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Oct 9 2018, 09:39 PM)
No need cakap berlapik la, feeder bus is a huge blackhole eating govt's money. The fare probably can't even cover the diesel cost alone. And each bus costs hundreds of thousands of ringgit, you're looking at a E-keras, 5-series everytime you see a Volvo bus Jom naik MRT. Maintenance also much higher, koyak la govt's pocket.

So he wants Grab to replace the role of feeder bus, let someone else pay for car, maintenance etc.
public transportation is always a money-losing venture. it helps the country to have cheap public transportation though. btw, why isn't Anthony Loke the transportation minister handling this "logistics" issue?
EatFriesEggs
post Oct 9 2018, 09:43 PM

91 posts

Mini bus la, like HK
SUSLumiaaa
post Oct 9 2018, 09:46 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Oct 9 2018, 09:42 PM)
public transportation is always a money-losing venture. it helps the country to have cheap public transportation though. btw, why isn't Anthony Loke the transportation minister handling this "logistics" issue?
tony pua spew shit

he thinks he is a minister
wild_card_my
post Oct 9 2018, 09:47 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(Lumiaaa @ Oct 9 2018, 09:46 PM)
tony pua spew shit

he thinks he is a minister
MRT is under min of finance if im not mistaken. Tony Pua is "special officer" for LGE

So he thinks he's in charge. Btw why the hell is MRT under min of finance. Change to Anthony Loke's ministry laaaaah
kelvinfixx
post Oct 9 2018, 09:49 PM

1,588 posts

QUOTE(albertmost @ Oct 9 2018, 09:30 PM)
Why everyday sure got stupid announcement from PH ministers. They are minister or joker?
Because no money, so they are trying to be smart, some time tooo smart.
kelvinfixx
post Oct 9 2018, 09:50 PM

1,588 posts

QUOTE(EatFriesEggs @ Oct 9 2018, 09:43 PM)
Mini bus la, like HK
Yah, bring back the mini bas, ev type.
ganz
post Oct 9 2018, 09:51 PM

Livin' Ain't No Crime
1,139 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Oct 9 2018, 09:47 PM)
MRT is under min of finance if im not mistaken. Tony Pua is "special officer" for LGE

So he thinks he's in charge. Btw why the hell is MRT under min of finance. Change to Anthony Loke's ministry laaaaah
soon.. but why only grab? where persatuan teksi?
kelvinfixx
post Oct 9 2018, 09:51 PM

1,588 posts

QUOTE(boobie @ Oct 9 2018, 09:51 PM)
Need to ask bijan...MRT corp was under MOF and sole signatory is MOF aka Bijan
NO need to ask, wanna songlap.
wild_card_my
post Oct 9 2018, 09:53 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(ganz @ Oct 9 2018, 09:51 PM)
soon.. but why only grab? where persatuan teksi?
Or MyCar. They are OK. Cheaper than grab at times.
pikacu
post Oct 9 2018, 09:54 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

there's a good in this,but majorly bad news

dadurtyz
post Oct 9 2018, 09:57 PM

658 posts

I smells current government is too stinky, i almost fed up already with all of them
jenniferjen
post Oct 9 2018, 10:05 PM

410 posts

I would pay max rm2 from my house to station via grab
If the rest gov subsided then i am ok with grab

Any more than rm2 tak payah lar....
tokdukun
post Oct 9 2018, 10:48 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Oct 9 2018, 09:42 PM)
But in Malaysian context, bus is the worst money-losing venture. Railway not as terrible, I've heard LRT was even making profit, even since before the fare was raised a year or two ago, kampung2005 may be able to answer this better.

Bus, no way la, collect rm1, 2, diesel cost also can't cover. Yet, the govt is the one having to bear all the costs.

And why not Anthony Loke? Because Prasarana is owned by MoF, and Tony Pua works in it. Anthony Loke doesn't sign the chequebook, he can argue to keep feeder bus or hold discussion with Grab, but MoF as the one who spends the money would rather him look into other more cost effective option.
adamhzm90
post Oct 9 2018, 10:57 PM

1,386 posts

So mr Tony,

When will gov end MEX highway concession?

Dalam video bukan main sembang lebat
wild_card_my
post Oct 9 2018, 11:00 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Oct 9 2018, 10:48 PM)
But in Malaysian context, bus is the worst money-losing venture. Railway not as terrible, I've heard LRT was even making profit, even since before the fare was raised a year or two ago, kampung2005 may be able to answer this better.

Bus, no way la, collect rm1, 2, diesel cost also can't cover. Yet, the govt is the one having to bear all the costs.

And why not Anthony Loke? Because Prasarana is owned by MoF, and Tony Pua works in it. Anthony Loke doesn't sign the chequebook, he can argue to keep feeder bus or hold discussion with Grab, but MoF as the one who spends the money would rather him look into other more cost effective option.
You know that people who ride LRT are complaining that the fees are expensive right? if you squeeze the middle income (who use these public transportation networks) you squeeze the working class.
SUSLumiaaa
post Oct 9 2018, 11:03 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Oct 9 2018, 10:48 PM)

gov hospital and schools dont make a profit

why must mrt lrt make big profit?
RicoT
post Oct 9 2018, 11:06 PM

200 posts

If taking Grab cost the same as taking feeder bus, why not?

RM1-2, see which Grab car driver kena this type of ride.

This post has been edited by RicoT: Oct 9 2018, 11:07 PM
Abc001
post Oct 9 2018, 11:08 PM

QUOTE(EatFriesEggs @ Oct 9 2018, 09:43 PM)
Mini bus la, like HK
Still expensive, why don't just like Thailand's songtew or Indonesia's angkut and let it run by private owner.
SUStikaram
post Oct 9 2018, 11:08 PM

10,722 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Oct 9 2018, 10:00 PM)

5 rm devided 4 org tu seorang 1.25 jer boss

khk1987
post Oct 9 2018, 11:09 PM

257 posts

Oppo always smart.
Once convert into gov... Speechless.

This post has been edited by khk1987: Oct 9 2018, 11:10 PM
yeezai
post Oct 9 2018, 11:11 PM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

QUOTE(gogocan @ Oct 9 2018, 09:03 PM)
Feeder bus how much? Grab how much?

Later Grab agree RM 1 but nobody pickup also no use.
No pick up will drop rating ..driver die die must take one ...
Intimidated
post Oct 9 2018, 11:14 PM

499 posts

Lol looking at the replies here

Reminds me of when Uber and Grab started promo war

Aunties and uncles were amazed that they only pay RM5 for RM18 journey

How can like that???? Driver lose money!!!! Petrol expensive!!!!

Well, breaking news, Uber/Grab actually pays the driver full amount, regardless of your promo fare price.

So think of this as promo code. Except, it’s built into your Grab app, autodetects destination/pick up location, checks that you are Malaysian (through eventual implementation of signing up with IC), if it all works out then voila you get promo fare instead of the full fare

Driver still gets paid the full amount - government subsidise the balance of your fare

Which is a better gauge of usage or wastage through data collected, than dumping money into bus and seeing nothing
SUSLampazhi
post Oct 9 2018, 11:17 PM

221 posts

^
NXJ lulz
empyreal
post Oct 9 2018, 11:28 PM

2,036 posts

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Oct 9 2018, 09:39 PM)

Am surprised that youre okay with the privatisation of public services, especially since it looks like its going to be subsidised and is being done via direct negotiations.

Kinda like ipp, i suppose.

Im personally okay with privatisation. However, im not sure if grab's model can ensure efficient service. How many cars would be needed to carry the same number of people on a bus? How can they ensure that theres enough drivers at the same location at the same time to make sure that riders who just got off dont have to wait 30 mins to get a ride?
MrBlackie33
post Oct 9 2018, 11:28 PM

Shhhhhhh
834 posts

facepalm

hwt
post Oct 9 2018, 11:29 PM

34 posts

This is not new. I think it was suggested during Najib's era.

The government just pays for promotions. I guess this is how some origin and destination specific promotions were funded.

By limiting the distance and the origin and destination, the promotional fare may be 1 MYR. The government pays the rest, which may be 5 MYR. Or the latter is capped at 5 MYR, with the passenger paying the rest.

With a quota of say 100k trips a day, 5 days a week, the cost to the government is about 130 million MYR a year. Not a big amount. Supply can be dynamic to meet dynamic demand, because it is intrinsic. This is harder to achieve with buses.

People usually do not complain too much when they cannot get a promotion. When they are out of luck, they just look for an alternative for that trip.

Buses may still operate. May be one trip an hour during peak periods. The fare may be cheaper or zero. People can choose to pay 50 cents for a bus trip or take the bus free if they see one coming.

This post has been edited by hwt: Oct 9 2018, 11:55 PM
powerlinkers
post Oct 9 2018, 11:41 PM

652 posts

The most intelligent people in the entire world are part ruling PH government...
Ichibanichi
post Oct 9 2018, 11:45 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(empyreal @ Oct 9 2018, 11:28 PM)
Am surprised that youre okay with the privatisation of public services, especially since it looks like its going to be subsidised and is being done via direct negotiations.

Im personally okay with privatisation. However, im not sure if grab's model can ensure efficient service. How many cars would be needed to carry the same number of people on a bus? How can they ensure that theres enough drivers at the same location at the same time to make sure that riders who just got off dont have to wait 30 mins to get a ride?
What is your input to help gomen or prasarana to reduce the feeder bas expenditure and at the same time increase mrt ridership?

It is still in negotiation level and everyone of us don't even have the feeder bus ridership number.

Most of malaysian being brain dead with tongkat syndrome. When tongkat is being remove, they just become zombie chasing anything which make the loudest noise.

bcombat
post Oct 9 2018, 11:47 PM

998 posts

they should negotiate with taxi association instead of grab. lol
SUSweyyt
post Oct 9 2018, 11:55 PM

88 posts

Pls get real planners and engineers to make the policy

Not some idiot politicians doh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by weyyt: Oct 9 2018, 11:56 PM
Artak
post Oct 10 2018, 12:01 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Oct 10 2018, 01:00 AM)

the problem is the "consumers" are mostly banglas when the money was originally planned for citizens.
Kampung2005
post Oct 10 2018, 12:17 AM

Proudly Kampungite, will always be one.
3,028 posts

The issue of poor bus ridership has various causes, there is no single major reason for this issue.

Example:

A) Poor bus frequency, either caused by human factor or simply there is no dedicated bus lane
B) Poor urban development which contributes to less convenient access to bus shelter

I think if bus servce is frequent, predictable and has priority over automobile traffic at traffic light, maybe this would improve experience for bus commuters and consequently, more would be tempted to take bus.
kuci_mayong
post Oct 10 2018, 12:20 AM

808 posts

If bus have real-time tracking would be good, users will know how long the bus take to arrive.
tokdukun
post Oct 10 2018, 12:24 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Oct 9 2018, 11:00 PM)
You know that people who ride LRT are complaining that the fees are expensive right? if you squeeze the middle income (who use these public transportation networks) you squeeze the working class.
Yet the ridership continues to increase, your point?

You know that the new govt bitch all the time about rm1tril debt, no money, no money. Some things gotta give, and here, it is feeder buses.

Inb4 but got money for perotiga.

QUOTE(Lumiaaa @ Oct 9 2018, 11:03 PM)
gov hospital and schools dont make a profit
why must mrt lrt make big profit?
Because hospitals and schools are blackhole la why the rest not as much. Everything also wanna blackhole, gg la national debts and liabilities reach rm2 tril soon. In terms of priority, public transportation would have lower rank than medical and education to receive govt aide to keep them operational.

QUOTE(empyreal @ Oct 9 2018, 11:28 PM)

I'm just rationalising Tony Pua's train of thought. Many said he becomes Maslan, but i saw straightaway he's saying govt no money to run feeder bus. Tak payah berlapik la, no money is the issue.

Personally i have a more bizarre idea. I saw in Indonesia, they convert unser kijang to like a mini bus, and they charge iirc 2k rupiah per trip. So it's like a bus, but kijang is dirt cheap compared to a bus, and there's so many of them, frequency nor capacity is an issue.

So maybe instead prasarana could buy and run way more vans, use hiace or some china 18 seater vans to run around instead of expensive, underutilized buses. In fact, i think there already is a service like this, the cyberjaya dts iianm, they have a few buses and vans. Vans would be cheaper to buy and run, and easier to go into residential areas, perfect to replace feeder buses. Cyberjaya dts is fully private service iianm, they're quite pricey, but cheaper than driving and just as convenient.

This post has been edited by tokdukun: Oct 10 2018, 12:26 AM
SUSM4A1
post Oct 10 2018, 12:29 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

Macam maslan pulak
kingmafia
post Oct 10 2018, 12:48 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(azhan82 @ Oct 9 2018, 08:58 PM)

Dafuq did I just read..
Tony Pua has gone bonkers?

inb4 Tukar Crony baru Pua...
Save cost

For the goverment
psycho1
post Oct 10 2018, 12:56 AM

37 posts

Monthly pass for public transport is the way to go. Tax incentive for companies who provide monthly pass instead of fuel/ parking allowance to their employees.

Government must work hand in hand with private companies to get the best result. Grab is a silly idea, it will caused even worse traffic and i dont think grab is able to cope with such huge volume of passengers.
SUStsunade
post Oct 10 2018, 01:01 AM

2,063 posts

anyone got full details of this plan of Tony's? or just typical pancut awal bashing?
SUSLumiaaa
post Oct 10 2018, 01:02 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(tsunade @ Oct 10 2018, 01:01 AM)
anyone got full details of this plan of Tony's? or just typical pancut awal bashing?
Typically spew shit without details
Eurobeater
post Oct 10 2018, 01:08 AM

Kancil Dorifto!
1,190 posts

Feeder bus bukan budaya kita
billylks
post Oct 10 2018, 01:57 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(boobie @ Oct 9 2018, 09:37 PM)
Condo near to mrt?rm0.50 for you
Not that leh.

I mean if I balik shopping klcc I set grab destination to mrt Station, but actually near my home, can get rm1 ka? Lol
empyreal
post Oct 10 2018, 06:24 AM

2,036 posts

QUOTE(Ichibanichi @ Oct 9 2018, 11:45 PM)
What is your input to help gomen or prasarana to reduce the feeder bas expenditure and at the same time increase mrt ridership?

It is still in negotiation level and everyone of us don't even have the feeder bus ridership number.

Most of malaysian being brain dead with tongkat syndrome. When tongkat is being remove, they just become zombie chasing anything which make the loudest noise.
While innovation is great, sometimes a solution becomes the drfault solution because its the best one thus far.

For most of early working life, i did rely on the trains, feeder buses and taxis most days of the week. As far as i saw, there were long queues for both buses and cabs. Making the queue for buses disappear and replacing it with what is essentially the new version of cabs just makes me imagine 30, 40 people at the station simultaneously trying to book a ride.

Of course, thats assuming the rider has a phone that can run the app. I have no idea whats the solution if the rider is a bit on the poor side and only has a less-smart phone.

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Oct 10 2018, 12:24 AM)
Yet the ridership continues to increase, your point?

You know that the new govt bitch all the time about rm1tril debt, no money, no money. Some things gotta give, and here, it is feeder buses.

Inb4 but got money for perotiga.
Because hospitals and schools are blackhole la why the rest not as much. Everything also wanna blackhole, gg la national debts and liabilities reach rm2 tril soon. In terms of priority, public transportation would have lower rank than medical and education to receive govt aide to keep them operational.
I'm just rationalising Tony Pua's train of thought. Many said he becomes Maslan, but i saw straightaway he's saying govt no money to run feeder bus. Tak payah berlapik la, no money is the issue.

Personally i have a more bizarre idea. I saw in Indonesia, they convert unser kijang to like a mini bus, and they charge iirc 2k rupiah per trip. So it's like a bus, but kijang is dirt cheap compared to a bus, and there's so many of them, frequency nor capacity is an issue.

So maybe instead prasarana could buy and run way more vans, use hiace or some china 18 seater vans to run around instead of expensive, underutilized buses. In fact, i think there already is a service like this, the cyberjaya dts iianm, they have a few buses and vans. Vans would be cheaper to buy and run, and easier to go into residential areas, perfect to replace feeder buses. Cyberjaya dts is fully private service iianm, they're quite pricey, but cheaper than driving and just as convenient.
The pursuit for cutting costs is good, but that shouldnt excuse the need for logic or accountability.

Its like saying youre going to sell the fourth wheel of your car. "There's three more wheels," is the excuse. Sure itd raise some money, but in the end you lose out more because it just makes the entire car useless. The proposed solution created more problems than it solved.

The concern here is that this may cause the same scenario. Buses during peak hours are already packed and often late - introducing another random element in that you dont know whtehr theres a grad driver around is one such additional problem.

Plus, why just deal wjth grab - theres a few other hailing services, and of course, taxi drivers. Im pretty sure this last group is going to make some noise of the govt decides to basically subsidise their competitors at the last place taxis seem to operate.

Vans are a good idea, but again, reliability. Having prasarana replace its less busy routes (or less busy times of the day) with vans might be valid.

This post has been edited by empyreal: Oct 10 2018, 06:25 AM
SUSjoe_star
post Oct 10 2018, 06:34 AM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

Smart move, so can scrap feeder bys & replace with protiga grabcar

Lol
ashburn98
post Oct 10 2018, 06:36 AM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

QUOTE(Orzie @ Oct 9 2018, 09:01 PM)

Ron2828
post Oct 10 2018, 07:19 AM

108 posts

Mrt area sure jam like hell...one feeder bus to be replaced with 30 cars.

And i dont think there is enough drivers too coz half will probably quit next year due to stricter regulations.Plenty of grabshare to/from lrt incoming for remaining drivers (nightmare)

This post has been edited by Ron2828: Oct 10 2018, 07:21 AM
ganz
post Oct 10 2018, 07:48 AM

Livin' Ain't No Crime
1,139 posts

QUOTE(Elon Musk @ Oct 10 2018, 01:31 AM)
Are there that many GRAB drivers to fulfill the demand of users though? Imagine one taman got 500 requests. Got so many GRAB?
high demand low supply.. that the answer...:-)
frossonice
post Oct 10 2018, 07:56 AM

336 posts

Just reintroduce Bas Mini back. Let a few companies run the same line. They can fight for customers like it used to be.

More chance to gesel2 summore.
sickx
post Oct 10 2018, 08:24 AM

:)
1,232 posts

later we'll see grab drivers camping at mrt stations.

just like taxi drivers LMAO
Chowda
post Oct 10 2018, 08:31 AM

98 posts

This seems like a half baked idea pushed onto Grab. I hope they say no...
ganz
post Oct 10 2018, 08:32 AM

Livin' Ain't No Crime
1,139 posts

if grab fare is cheap enough like feeder bus.. why not
iwubpreve
post Oct 10 2018, 08:34 AM

1,829 posts

is true. use wallet8 code to discount RM8
tokdukun
post Oct 10 2018, 08:43 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(empyreal @ Oct 10 2018, 06:24 AM)
While innovation is great, sometimes a solution becomes the drfault solution because its the best one thus far.

For most of early working life, i did rely on the trains, feeder buses and taxis most days of the week. As far as i saw, there were long queues for both buses and cabs. Making the queue for buses disappear and replacing it with what is essentially the new version of cabs just makes me imagine 30, 40 people at the station simultaneously trying to book a ride.

Of course, thats assuming the rider has a phone that can run the app. I have no idea whats the solution if the rider is a bit on the poor side and only has a less-smart phone.
The pursuit for cutting costs is good, but that shouldnt excuse the need for logic or accountability.

Its like saying youre going to sell the fourth wheel of your car. "There's three more wheels," is the excuse. Sure itd raise some money, but in the end you lose out more because it just makes the entire car useless. The proposed solution created more problems than it solved.

The concern here is that this may cause the same scenario. Buses during peak hours are already packed and often late - introducing another random element in that you dont know whtehr theres a grad driver around is one such additional problem.

Plus, why just deal wjth grab - theres a few other hailing services, and of course, taxi drivers. Im pretty sure this last group is going to make some noise of the govt decides to basically subsidise their competitors at the last place taxis seem to operate.

Vans are a good idea, but again, reliability. Having prasarana replace its less busy routes (or less busy times of the day) with vans might be valid.
I think you're confusing full bus service and feeder bus.

Those rapidkl bus can be considered full bus service that goes to stops further away from any rail station, some start from Klang and goes all the way to KL. These may get packed during peak hours, and wherever possible, i think they should be double decker buses to maximise capacity. Still huge money pit and as i see it, Prasarana wanna minimise bus service where there's rail coverage so they need to expand more rail network eg with LRT3, they can stop Klang-KL bus route and instead switch to provide feeder bus for Klang people to go KL and vice versa. But wherever no rail coverage, bus service will have to maintain.

Feeder bus are just local bus service to ferry people from their home to nearest LRT/MRT station. Why need full size Volvo, Scania bus for this? Capacity needed is much smaller, vans may have sufficed.

Tony Pua talks about Grab, but the final on the ground operations are to be handled by Anthony Loke, APAD and Prasarana, pretty sure taxi and other hail riding app will be invited to create competition and choice for consumers.
yhtan
post Oct 10 2018, 09:44 AM

8,651 posts

Everyday complain no money, but end up propose this idea to cost government more money, what type of stupid suggestion is this.

The cost to maintain bus vs cost to subsidize grab, of course i agree for cost to maintain bus, at least coverage is wider and target for everyone. Whereby grab only target limited crowd, later u will see a lot of people abuse this promo code for sure.

empyreal
post Oct 10 2018, 10:05 AM

2,036 posts

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Oct 10 2018, 08:43 AM)
I think you're confusing full bus service and feeder bus.

Those rapidkl bus can be considered full bus service that goes to stops further away from any rail station, some start from Klang and goes all the way to KL. These may get packed during peak hours, and wherever possible, i think they should be double decker buses to maximise capacity. Still huge money pit and as i see it, Prasarana wanna minimise bus service where there's rail coverage so they need to expand more rail network eg with LRT3, they can stop Klang-KL bus route and instead switch to provide feeder bus for Klang people to go KL and vice versa. But wherever no rail coverage, bus service will have to maintain.

Feeder bus are just local bus service to ferry people from their home to nearest LRT/MRT station. Why need full size Volvo, Scania bus for this? Capacity needed is much smaller, vans may have sufficed.

Tony Pua talks about Grab, but the final on the ground operations are to be handled by Anthony Loke, APAD and Prasarana, pretty sure taxi and other hail riding app will be invited to create competition and choice for consumers.
Thats predicated on the basis that a reliable system is necessary to maximise the use of the lrt/mrt itself. I think the main issue would be not to burden the people who could least afford it, and to not reduce the efficacy of some other moving part by tweaking this or that.

But i agree with your earlier suggestion to optimise routes. Less utilised areas would be better served by smaller vehicles.
oucheev
post Oct 10 2018, 10:10 AM

433 posts

QUOTE(empyreal @ Oct 10 2018, 10:05 AM)
Thats predicated on the basis that a reliable system is necessary to maximise the use of the lrt/mrt itself. I think the main issue would be not to burden the people who could least afford it, and to not reduce the efficacy of some other moving part by tweaking this or that.

But i agree with your earlier suggestion to optimise routes. Less utilised areas would be better served by smaller vehicles.
Time is a factor. The current feeder buses are too big to be efficient. If you use feeder bus, the waiting time will be much more longer. A more viable option is copy HK minibus which is slightly bigger than a van for shorter distance travel into housing estates.
SUSM4A1
post Oct 10 2018, 11:02 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(ganz @ Oct 10 2018, 08:32 AM)
if grab fare is cheap enough like feeder bus.. why not
later jam giler dun complain laugh.gif
1 ppl car..... vs 1 bus 20 ppl
ganz
post Oct 10 2018, 11:06 AM

Livin' Ain't No Crime
1,139 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Oct 10 2018, 11:02 AM)
hahahaa.... dont argue with new government brows.gif
tokdukun
post Oct 10 2018, 01:26 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(empyreal @ Oct 10 2018, 10:05 AM)

It would depend on what kinda deal they're making with grab and others.

As i said from the start, i don't see why need full size bus just to provide local routes from residential areas to nearest rail stations. Grossly overkill to me.

But ultimately, the issue of limited funding is the main crux here. Sadly something has to give. Continue current feeder bus service, govt bleeds hard. Tighten the belt, commuters will have to fork out more for grab instead, unless they intro some scheme eg where users pay rm2 max, any higher, the driver can claim from grab, grab claim from govt, i dunno.
Tigerr
post Oct 12 2018, 08:25 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Oct 10 2018, 11:02 AM)
Got grab share ma. They can kumpul 4 passengers per car n normally travelling distances within taman area is not too far. Better than currently lots of grab car driver complaining driving in the city with long pick up distance n jam but with a 5-6 fares.

If profitable. There will be grab cars available n it also can give the people who live around taman to have a part time job ferrying people to fro the stations.
zhou.xingxing
post Oct 12 2018, 08:28 AM

:3
1,863 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Oct 9 2018, 09:04 PM)

msia govt is cursed. once u in power, ur mind not working well liao
matkewl
post Oct 12 2018, 08:32 AM

124 posts

If I pay RM 1 to my house to MRT station in feeder bus 10km, how much it will cost for GRAB 10km? for sure the minimum fare for grab right?

0.0322sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:31 PM