> Putrajaya in talks with Grab to help ferry MRT

tokdukun
post Oct 9 2018, 09:39 PM

376 posts

No need cakap berlapik la, feeder bus is a huge blackhole eating govt's money. The fare probably can't even cover the diesel cost alone. And each bus costs hundreds of thousands of ringgit, you're looking at a E-keras, 5-series everytime you see a Volvo bus Jom naik MRT. Maintenance also much higher, koyak la govt's pocket.

So he wants Grab to replace the role of feeder bus, let someone else pay for car, maintenance etc.
tokdukun
post Oct 9 2018, 10:48 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Oct 9 2018, 09:42 PM)
public transportation is always a money-losing venture. it helps the country to have cheap public transportation though. btw, why isn't Anthony Loke the transportation minister handling this "logistics" issue?
But in Malaysian context, bus is the worst money-losing venture. Railway not as terrible, I've heard LRT was even making profit, even since before the fare was raised a year or two ago, kampung2005 may be able to answer this better.

Bus, no way la, collect rm1, 2, diesel cost also can't cover. Yet, the govt is the one having to bear all the costs.

And why not Anthony Loke? Because Prasarana is owned by MoF, and Tony Pua works in it. Anthony Loke doesn't sign the chequebook, he can argue to keep feeder bus or hold discussion with Grab, but MoF as the one who spends the money would rather him look into other more cost effective option.
tokdukun
post Oct 10 2018, 12:24 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Oct 9 2018, 11:00 PM)
You know that people who ride LRT are complaining that the fees are expensive right? if you squeeze the middle income (who use these public transportation networks) you squeeze the working class.
Yet the ridership continues to increase, your point?

You know that the new govt bitch all the time about rm1tril debt, no money, no money. Some things gotta give, and here, it is feeder buses.

Inb4 but got money for perotiga.

QUOTE(Lumiaaa @ Oct 9 2018, 11:03 PM)
gov hospital and schools dont make a profit
why must mrt lrt make big profit?
Because hospitals and schools are blackhole la why the rest not as much. Everything also wanna blackhole, gg la national debts and liabilities reach rm2 tril soon. In terms of priority, public transportation would have lower rank than medical and education to receive govt aide to keep them operational.

QUOTE(empyreal @ Oct 9 2018, 11:28 PM)
Am surprised that youre okay with the privatisation of public services, especially since it looks like its going to be subsidised and is being done via direct negotiations.

Kinda like ipp, i suppose.

Im personally okay with privatisation. However, im not sure if grab's model can ensure efficient service. How many cars would be needed to carry the same number of people on a bus? How can they ensure that theres enough drivers at the same location at the same time to make sure that riders who just got off dont have to wait 30 mins to get a ride?
I'm just rationalising Tony Pua's train of thought. Many said he becomes Maslan, but i saw straightaway he's saying govt no money to run feeder bus. Tak payah berlapik la, no money is the issue.

Personally i have a more bizarre idea. I saw in Indonesia, they convert unser kijang to like a mini bus, and they charge iirc 2k rupiah per trip. So it's like a bus, but kijang is dirt cheap compared to a bus, and there's so many of them, frequency nor capacity is an issue.

So maybe instead prasarana could buy and run way more vans, use hiace or some china 18 seater vans to run around instead of expensive, underutilized buses. In fact, i think there already is a service like this, the cyberjaya dts iianm, they have a few buses and vans. Vans would be cheaper to buy and run, and easier to go into residential areas, perfect to replace feeder buses. Cyberjaya dts is fully private service iianm, they're quite pricey, but cheaper than driving and just as convenient.

This post has been edited by tokdukun: Oct 10 2018, 12:26 AM
tokdukun
post Oct 10 2018, 08:43 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(empyreal @ Oct 10 2018, 06:24 AM)
While innovation is great, sometimes a solution becomes the drfault solution because its the best one thus far.

For most of early working life, i did rely on the trains, feeder buses and taxis most days of the week. As far as i saw, there were long queues for both buses and cabs. Making the queue for buses disappear and replacing it with what is essentially the new version of cabs just makes me imagine 30, 40 people at the station simultaneously trying to book a ride.

Of course, thats assuming the rider has a phone that can run the app. I have no idea whats the solution if the rider is a bit on the poor side and only has a less-smart phone.
The pursuit for cutting costs is good, but that shouldnt excuse the need for logic or accountability.

Its like saying youre going to sell the fourth wheel of your car. "There's three more wheels," is the excuse. Sure itd raise some money, but in the end you lose out more because it just makes the entire car useless. The proposed solution created more problems than it solved.

The concern here is that this may cause the same scenario. Buses during peak hours are already packed and often late - introducing another random element in that you dont know whtehr theres a grad driver around is one such additional problem.

Plus, why just deal wjth grab - theres a few other hailing services, and of course, taxi drivers. Im pretty sure this last group is going to make some noise of the govt decides to basically subsidise their competitors at the last place taxis seem to operate.

Vans are a good idea, but again, reliability. Having prasarana replace its less busy routes (or less busy times of the day) with vans might be valid.
I think you're confusing full bus service and feeder bus.

Those rapidkl bus can be considered full bus service that goes to stops further away from any rail station, some start from Klang and goes all the way to KL. These may get packed during peak hours, and wherever possible, i think they should be double decker buses to maximise capacity. Still huge money pit and as i see it, Prasarana wanna minimise bus service where there's rail coverage so they need to expand more rail network eg with LRT3, they can stop Klang-KL bus route and instead switch to provide feeder bus for Klang people to go KL and vice versa. But wherever no rail coverage, bus service will have to maintain.

Feeder bus are just local bus service to ferry people from their home to nearest LRT/MRT station. Why need full size Volvo, Scania bus for this? Capacity needed is much smaller, vans may have sufficed.

Tony Pua talks about Grab, but the final on the ground operations are to be handled by Anthony Loke, APAD and Prasarana, pretty sure taxi and other hail riding app will be invited to create competition and choice for consumers.
tokdukun
post Oct 10 2018, 01:26 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(empyreal @ Oct 10 2018, 10:05 AM)
Thats predicated on the basis that a reliable system is necessary to maximise the use of the lrt/mrt itself. I think the main issue would be not to burden the people who could least afford it, and to not reduce the efficacy of some other moving part by tweaking this or that.

But i agree with your earlier suggestion to optimise routes. Less utilised areas would be better served by smaller vehicles.
It would depend on what kinda deal they're making with grab and others.

As i said from the start, i don't see why need full size bus just to provide local routes from residential areas to nearest rail stations. Grossly overkill to me.

But ultimately, the issue of limited funding is the main crux here. Sadly something has to give. Continue current feeder bus service, govt bleeds hard. Tighten the belt, commuters will have to fork out more for grab instead, unless they intro some scheme eg where users pay rm2 max, any higher, the driver can claim from grab, grab claim from govt, i dunno.

0.0198sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:38 PM