QUOTE(Matchy @ Dec 18 2020, 04:43 PM)
Yes you should. Can you test by connecting directly to modem?TIME [OFFICIAL] TIME Fibre Broadband™ v4, Experience the ONE TRUE 2Gbps
TIME [OFFICIAL] TIME Fibre Broadband™ v4, Experience the ONE TRUE 2Gbps
Dec 18 2020, 05:21 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
2,378 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
Dec 19 2020, 08:43 PM
QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Dec 18 2020, 08:17 PM) update on my problem time for you to limit his port. :-p LOLI was having lower download speed than what I was supposed to get 1gbps connection and getting only 300mbps and this morning 100mbps. solved apparently my cheeky bastard of a lil brother gets a hold of the port setting and limit my connection to what I've expected, I was furious before then because I pay good money for TIME to install about 35 meter of ethernet cable right to my room and getting speed thats about 10% of my actual sub to TIME. what I did on my dir882 dlink router, I go to Advanced-Port Settings and change speed of my connection and then change the router password to bugger off the sneaky shit, now all is well again. thanks for the help, and hope this post help others too if they were in my predicament aswell. good that you found the root cause, else you might be cracking your head. |
Dec 20 2020, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(T3NET @ Dec 20 2020, 12:27 AM) I did test by turning off all the AP units (I have 3 covering the property) and was only able to attain shy of 280M wirelessly while im about the living room area within 2 to 3 meters away from the router. Later in the day, technical support came and tried their best at optimizing the 3 AP locations for the setup but still failed to attain even 200M from these APs. Dissatisfactory report filed but further than this I'm not sure what could be done as the other fact about this entire bundle from Time is that this 2 in 1 router/ont does not have a readily available WAN port for me to install a 3rd party router without having to go through some further tinkering. Does Time still provide the usual ONT together with a regular router like before rather than these poorly marketed gimmick of a mesh? If these came free I'd not complain, but I paid quite a heft getting these 3 units. Is this mesh integrated with modem in it? (i doubt so)Are you getting good speed on wired connection at the main mesh node? (if yes, then your wireless connectivity in between mesh nodes need to be checked, see what is the optimal position to place them) |
Dec 22 2020, 06:10 PM
QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Dec 22 2020, 05:04 PM) first day using time.. had a strange issue where while I was working with my colleague the Webex screen sharing suddenly disconnected, and one of my work apps also disconnected. which router you using?Didn't have this issue with unifi before. What should I do? contact Time? For browsing I notice some websites suddenly end up keep spinning (white page) and take a longer while to load. Doesn't happen often, maybe once a while.. anyone experience this before? did you perform basic troubleshooting? (using LAN, reset router...etc?) usually disconnection doesnt. |
Jan 2 2021, 10:49 PM
QUOTE(vknight @ Jan 2 2021, 10:04 PM) Hi change the channel on 2.4G. sometimes can be due to interfenceJust moved to Time - 500 package. First 2 days I was getting 400+ for both 2.4G and 5G. Suddenly I am getting less than 100 for 2.4G. and for 5G I am getting around 400. Anyone knows why th suddenly drop in speed for 2.4? |
Jan 11 2021, 12:09 PM
QUOTE(topix @ Jan 11 2021, 11:39 AM) Hi, Over the LAN getting less than half of 500Mbps is peculiar.Just get new 500mbs last week. So far can get 320mbs - 380mbs on 5ghz & 55-75 mbs on 2.4ghz. Is this consider good? Also lan speed, download = 220mbs, upload = 500mbs. Wondering why download speed lower. I also have mesh node but speed via node lower. Test 5ghz on node and get 190mbs. Lan produce slight better results of 200mbs for download and 370mbs for upload. What is the acceptable speed via node? Also shout out to @yeapch01 for assistance in registration and deals. Thanks. Try few other methods, change server, change LAN cable, change laptop used for testing. Let us know what you getting. By the way, results you get over mesh node is hard to justify. But getting 200Mbps over mesh node is quite good. Try to play around different channels and test during different time of the day. See if you are getting better results. |
Jan 23 2021, 10:32 PM
Jan 29 2021, 03:09 PM
QUOTE(lemonade93 @ Jan 29 2021, 12:23 PM) Hi all, first question i would ask is your budget. I just got TIME installed in my condo, 100mbps with the standard white HG8145V5. But the signal strength in my other rooms are terrible. Whats the cheapest way to get signal in my other rooms? 1. RM250 for the OmniMesh + installation 2. Sendiri beli my own Mesh Node (But which do i get?) 3. Buy my own router? second question is how big is your house and how many big walls from room to your router. |
Feb 19 2021, 08:26 PM
QUOTE(walkibe @ Feb 19 2021, 07:10 PM) Greetings everyone.. this question has probably been asked many times, but hope you can bear with me i never used TIME products.Does it make sense for me to take the Essential Booster pack (which comes with 2 unit of Huawei WA8021V5), using one node as the router? Would appreciate some advise, thanks! I bought my own asus routers as mesh wifi and even at the remote end of my home, i can get 260 out 0f 500Mbps (cost me around 1.4k for both routers) |
Feb 20 2021, 02:04 PM
May 2 2021, 07:52 PM
QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Apr 30 2021, 10:57 PM) Horrible... Time does DNS proxy. Use your own router.No matter what DNS you use, they will proxy to Time DNS server. https://dnsleaktest.com/what-is-transparent-dns-proxy.html Only way to prevent this is to do DNS over HTTPS. In case anyone wants to know. https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/firefox-dns-over-https I have no issues, mine always points to google |
Aug 13 2021, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(research @ Aug 12 2021, 11:48 AM) Hi. Story continue. direct cable connection from modem, how much speed you getting?Today TIME contractor come upgrade my 500mbps TIME package with HUAWEI Edge ONT. Speed test below 200mbps both using Mac Pro & Huawei 30pro: ![]() Contractor said it is 'memang macam ni'. Can advise how do I further verify this? check the optical signal that coming to your home. |
Sep 1 2021, 11:32 AM
Sep 1 2021, 12:06 PM
QUOTE(sexysarah1992 @ Sep 1 2021, 11:50 AM) I was using the stock tplink ec230 router. Placed the cooler under the router then no more disconnection. better router performs much superior. give asus router a try next time you upgrade.Now changed to tplink ax73 with the same cooler underneath. The signal strength is miles better than ec230. |
Nov 3 2021, 11:33 PM
QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Nov 3 2021, 10:20 PM) Hi all, I’m currently on 100mb Time. Recently my house added a android TV box. I don’t know if it’s related but I’m having buffering here and there while streaming shows on my PC. The TV box, my parents use them. I wonder if it’s related? But I thought 100mb package would be quite enough. It can due to the device itself (for tvBox, sometimes can be due to the source you streaming from).If other devices working fine, it cant be the broadband speed related. |
Nov 10 2021, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(EUPH0RIA @ Nov 10 2021, 01:52 PM) Does that mean my main router should be placed in the networking box? Cuz it's currently in the living room You need to place a switch at the place where all LAN cables from rooms are located.From your router pull one LAN cable to your switch. (if all LAN cables from room is coming near to your router, then you can place the switch there too) |
Nov 10 2021, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(EUPH0RIA @ Nov 10 2021, 03:50 PM) https://imgur.com/KLmleCR That black thing is called patch panel. so that black thing isn't a switch? dang that sounds complicated, i think i'll just use ethernet cable from living room to bedroom at 3rd floor LOL Since all your devices are at one place. Just get one switch (maybe 8 port switch) 1) the blue cable from router connect to switch (one port) 2) from patch panel port to switch port (for each room make one connection to switch) Then all will be working. All rooms will have internet. (with you current configuration, you only will have internet at one room) |
Nov 22 2021, 07:11 PM
QUOTE(snowcrash @ Nov 22 2021, 06:58 PM) Hi guys, I've been using TIME for a couple of years now, and am thinking of taking up the "free" recontract offer to the Essential Booster pack. I've currently got the TP LInk 1200 router, with the recontract will they provide a new router +2 mesh nodes, or is it just the 2 mesh nodes? I think they will give you 2 mesh units. 1 works as router and one as node. If it's just the 2 mesh nodes, will I get to continue using the TP Link 1200 as a router as well, or is that not a good idea? |
Nov 23 2021, 10:23 AM
Nov 24 2021, 06:22 PM
| Change to: | 0.0379sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:09 PM |