Review Xiaomi 70Mai Pro, A new discreet dashcam

TSblurjoey
post Dec 2 2019, 11:16 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Calveez @ Dec 2 2019, 11:04 AM)
OMG, mine didnt get the updates. Must have been cheated by the seller in lazada (telling me is International version)
Where can I get the FW files from?
Not only you that the app didn't detect the firmware update. Read got a some people got and some didn't get the update.

The international version is the interface has English UI and can choose other languages. China version is Chinese UI.

You'll need to ask 70mai as I can't find also laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
TSblurjoey
post Dec 10 2019, 11:03 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Hookes @ Dec 10 2019, 10:26 PM)
DIY Installation guide on vehicle without Airbag at the side.

You can create a new thread for your installation video as this is a "review and guides" section instead of posting the same video in 2 of my reviews doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

Can post in here also: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4763761

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Dec 10 2019, 11:04 PM
TSblurjoey
post Dec 18 2019, 02:36 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(maestrox_69 @ Dec 18 2019, 11:01 AM)
Hi Joey. May I know how to reset the dashcam? tried 5 click on the power button while dashcam is on but nothing happened. My cam screen is not showing any OSD but the screen is on. Buttons all no response.

This happened after updating to 1.0.7. I suspect the fw file i downloaded got corrupted maybe due to unstable connection or because my car battery current not stable and not enough to support the cam while updating.

Appreciate your advice. Thanks!
Hm... Looks like you have bricked your 70mai Pro after flashing fw.

This need to ask in dashcamtalk forum. I think read somewhere got a way to unbrick it.
TSblurjoey
post Jan 6 2020, 01:24 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(kanson1995 @ Jan 6 2020, 11:40 AM)
Hi guys, I been using 70mai dash cam pro for the past 1 month. The camera works fine.

The only problem that I encountered is when I turn off the engine the camera is not going under parking surveillance mode sometimes and the my car push start button light is blinking and I not able to lock the car doors.

Note: The parking surveillance mode is enabled On in the dash cam settings.

Please help me to solve this issue guys, thanks.

Below is the video of my car push Start button light keeps blinking ๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ‘‡

[attachmentid=10390356]
Did you hardwire the 70mai Pro? If yes, is it hardwired correctly?

TSblurjoey
post Jan 7 2020, 12:13 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(kanson1995 @ Jan 6 2020, 10:53 PM)
No bro, I did not hardwire my dash cam.
I donโ€™t know how to do it. :/
My car is Perodua Bezza X (Auto).
So you're using the USB charger via the ciggie port? If the 70mai Pro is unplugged from the ciggie port and the push start button is back to normal?
TSblurjoey
post Jan 7 2020, 07:55 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(kanson1995 @ Jan 7 2020, 03:10 AM)
Yes youโ€™re right bro, I connected the usb cable to the cigarette charger.

Yes correct, when I unplug the dashcam the push button is back to normal.
Do you have another USB charger to test with?
TSblurjoey
post Jan 7 2020, 11:21 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(kanson1995 @ Jan 7 2020, 10:54 AM)
I think I have to do hard wire for my dash cam.

But I donโ€™t know how to do it sad.gif

I watched so many YT videos but nothing helps.

Do I need to buy the car buck line for hard wiring the dash cam?
If you're not using the parking mode then no need to use the hardwire kit.

Also, the 70mai has a small built-in lithium battery for the parking mode.

By right the USB charger should not affect the push start button.
TSblurjoey
post Jan 7 2020, 03:56 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(kanson1995 @ Jan 7 2020, 03:48 PM)
Do you know how to do the hardwiring for the dashcam?

I really need help on this.
I DIYed on my car using Youtube. Can find lots of videos on Youtube to learn laugh.gif
TSblurjoey
post Jan 25 2020, 08:27 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Jan 25 2020, 05:53 PM)
nice review.. helps a lot ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘ just started use today ๐Ÿ˜…
Thanks. Enjoy the 70mai Pro.
TSblurjoey
post Feb 5 2020, 02:45 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(xperiaVuser @ Feb 5 2020, 02:29 PM)
Just bought one to replace one of my dashcam, which is a yi dashcam bought in 2016. The yi dashcam still records videos flawlessly and keeps date and time correctly, but I think some electronics is failing. It keeps restarting many times before completely turning off. So that's a good 3 years plus, close to 4 years which is very good for a dashcam powered using lithium polymer battery.
It all mostly depends on luck. You were lucky laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
TSblurjoey
post Feb 7 2020, 09:53 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(xperiaVuser @ Feb 6 2020, 11:44 AM)
That's why I went ahead and purchase another dashcam powered by lithium battery. If always park for long hours under hot sun, then it's a good idea to get a supercapacitor one
Yes if can park indoor 90%+ of the time and not drive a lot in the sun also, can get lithium battery dashcam.
TSblurjoey
post Feb 10 2020, 10:28 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(nokia6280 @ Feb 10 2020, 09:24 AM)
Brother blurjoey, any comment for Xiaomi 70MAI Rear Mirror Car Recorder Dashcam D04 1600p Full HD Dashboard Camera?

I planning to install to one of my car that's without reverse camera.
Here's my review: https://jwtechreviews.com/2019/11/22/70mai-...mirror-dashcam/
TSblurjoey
post Feb 10 2020, 04:13 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(nokia6280 @ Feb 10 2020, 03:43 PM)
Thanks bro.. during your test you have installed the backup camera? Do you know how it's work and how the dashcam knew that a card is reversing? Any idea?
I didn't use the rear cam. Usually, there is an extra red wire that you need to wiretap to the reverse light.
TSblurjoey
post Mar 12 2020, 03:42 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Mar 12 2020, 02:41 PM)
anyone know what is the good positioning for this 70mai pro? i bought 1 but without GPS.. i mount at near to rearview mirror stack there..
Lens at top center is the best location if possible
TSblurjoey
post Mar 12 2020, 04:32 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Mar 12 2020, 03:45 PM)
okok.. the electrostatic i take out can reuse?
I never use the electrostatic film. You'll need to test and see.
TSblurjoey
post May 24 2020, 10:39 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(billychong930518 @ May 24 2020, 08:25 PM)
Hi guys,

Anyone can recommend where to buy 70mai pro cheaper a bit?
Lazada or Shopee now got Raya sales...
TSblurjoey
post May 26 2020, 02:36 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(billychong930518 @ May 26 2020, 12:48 PM)
Okay, then you guys got use the 24 hours parking mode?
Is it necessary to purchase the additional wire kit to connect to the battery?
Do take note that the 70mai parking mode is "only records after impact". So it won't show the before the impact. Only after.

The internal battery of the 70mai can last some time as it only records after an impact is detected.

It's not true parking mode like those on dashcams like Thinkware and Viofo. Those will record 10 seconds before and after the impact/motion is detected.

But it's better than don't have at all.
TSblurjoey
post May 26 2020, 06:31 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ May 26 2020, 04:39 PM)
but i see 70mai pro can do hardwire for timelapse video, is it for that function? the adas function dunno is it becos i it cant see my car head, so it cannot gauge car in front is moving. I tried wan stick the black color area where the rear miri stick to, but that area macam abit porous so the electrostatic film macam cannot stick there.. maybe need to move abit to the top right but it will become not very in the middle.
I don't remember seeing the option for the 70mai to do timelapse parking mode. Timelapse mode yes but not sure if it is for parking mode or not.

Try to see the video and adjust so that some of the bonnet is visible.

The ADAS on the 70mai is annoying to the max with its false alarms. Only the ADAS on Thinkware is the most accurate.

TSblurjoey
post May 27 2020, 07:03 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(jimmy.soo @ May 27 2020, 05:15 PM)
How does that timelapse mode works?
You'll need to test as I don't have the 70mai Pro anymore.

It may be a timelapse mode for the normal drive.
TSblurjoey
post May 27 2020, 07:32 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

70mai 4K dashcam is coming soon

11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:07 AM