Review Xiaomi 70Mai Pro, A new discreet dashcam

TSblurjoey
post Jun 24 2019, 11:08 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(tender @ Jun 24 2019, 10:19 PM)
Hi, no disrespect to anyone here. I see a lot of people worrying about the Malaysian heat and all. Worrying about lithium battery dying in the heat and go for other brands with supercapacitor before anything happens is a good consideration, but not a priority. It should not be the deciding factor. My friends Xiaoyi dashcams are still working after 1-2 years. The built-in battery is probably there for parking mode. Even if the battery fails, the settings will still be saved in the Rom, like your cellphones won't need to be reset every time the battery goes to 0%. With a dead or weak battery, the dashcam may still run on the car power source. It will very likely not be the battery that brick your dashcam, the microSD, software, circuits may fail sooner. looking at the photo of the Xiaomi 70MAI PRO battery, it is very unlikely that a bulky cylindrical cell battery will explode. Thinner and more compact batteries (note7) have the likelihood of shorting and exploding. I always get fat power banks with connected cylindrical cells for that reason.

The more important factor to consider is the camera lens, software (firmware whatever) and built quality. Having tested Xiaomi products, mi-bands, phones, Roborock, wifi CCTV camera, I kinda trust its frequent software updates and build quality. Sony xxx is a good lens. Better go for brands like Xiaomi and Papago, or even Xiaoyi which was ditched by Xiaomi a few years back rather than little known brands like mini0906. my Xiaoyi CCTV camera is still alive after 3.5 years. I know little about dashcams, mini0906 is probably a famous brand in the dashcam world but just do a search in Amazon and you can see it's rather notorious. with lots of bricked units right after the warranty period.

I would definitely go for Xiaomi 70MAI PRO rather than other no-name brands, be it supercapacitor, double camera, whatever, Amazon reviews show far too many mini0906 lasted for less than 6 months, not a good sign. I am tempted to go for GPS tracking, rear cam, double cams, reverse cam, music players, ADAS, GPS navigation, and all the goodies too. But just think what do you really need in a dash cam? Just a good front cam, at about 120-degree angle for optimum clarity. 

Having said that, am really tempted to try out mini0906 for all its goodies.
If your friend's Yi dashcam doesn't shut down immediately after engine off then the battery is still good. My previous Yi dashcam lasted 2+ years, till the unit immediately off itself when I off the engine.

Battery which can't hold a charge anymore can't save the last video file and the settings. Saw a lot of dashcams which uses battery have these issues. Bloated batteries and Leaking was also common. Only a few cases of the battery exploding.

If you didn't know, Xiaomi actually gets other manufacturers for their products, hence Xiaomi Yi (Yi actually ditched Mi cause Yi wanted to be independent from Mi), 70Mai, Roborock, Amazfit (Mi band is by Amazfit), etc... So Xiaomi doesn't manufacture any of the products they sell with their brand on it.

Also, Yi dashcam doesn't have parking mode function.

Mini dashcams all these while has problems since the early days with the mini08xx series. Today still the same. So if you asked me to choose Mi or Mini, I would go for the Mi more.

I agree that not all will want the fancy parking mode or GPS or ADAS or wifi, etc. Yes you are also right, the most important is the lens and the Sony sensor used but using a super capacitor or a battery should be put into considerations unless you want to change dashcams every other year then it's fine.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jun 24 2019, 11:19 PM
TSblurjoey
post Jun 27 2019, 09:43 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(mypalm79 @ Jun 27 2019, 08:48 PM)
Guys.. For the collision setup... What does high or low mean? High meaning to say only high impact only start recording or high in term of sensitivity and record even with low impact?
High sensitivity = less strong impact will trigger but sometimes the lightest impact will also trigger.

Low sensitivity = strong impact only will triggers.
TSblurjoey
post Jun 28 2019, 11:58 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Nova_Ghost @ Jun 28 2019, 11:06 AM)
Planning to get 70Mai Pro for my car.
How do you guys stick it & ensure the leveling is good? Scared stick it, later senget2...  doh.gif
Previous Cam use suction cup, easy to adjust... sweat.gif
Need good hand eye coordination to stick laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
TSblurjoey
post Jul 1 2019, 03:41 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(NXaqua @ Jul 1 2019, 12:02 PM)
RM270+ without GPS module.
Seller just informed to send back to them for warranty claim.
And it is in English language.

So not sure it is international version or not.
Anyway it is a imported set as  Mi outlet at Queenbay is not selling.
English language = international set
Chinese = China set
TSblurjoey
post Jul 11 2019, 01:24 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Jul 11 2019, 01:02 PM)
Can it be used as a rear dash cam? Buy 1 for front and 1 for back?
Can.
TSblurjoey
post Jul 11 2019, 04:28 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

Just saw this new firmware update for English version 70mai Pro with GPS mount.

TSblurjoey
post Jul 17 2019, 03:32 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(askaayaa @ Jul 17 2019, 03:11 PM)
Where to get this in malaysia?, already  call many distributor don't have it...huaa
Try Lazada and see
TSblurjoey
post Jul 25 2019, 04:37 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(askaayaa @ Jul 25 2019, 04:08 PM)
Hoe to overcome the auto delete video record in this device? Not more than 24hours it's will delete everything
See what size micro SD card you are using. Also, the dashcam will overwrite old files first when the micro SD card is full.

16GB about 1-1.5 hours of video. 32GB about 2-3 hours. 64GB about 5-6 hours. 128GB about 10-12 hours.
TSblurjoey
post Jul 28 2019, 11:46 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Wang @ Jul 28 2019, 02:25 AM)
I'm interested to buy 2 units of 70Mai Pro. One for the front and the other one for the rear of my Perodua Kenari.

But I got questions.

Can the supplied USB cigarette charger powered up 2 units of 70mai Pro simultaneously?

I see in photos the manufacturer marked the first USB slot as the power source for the 70mai Pro. What about the second USB slot? Will the dashcam work if I use the second slot?

And the maximum storage is 128GB?
I never used the included USB car charger before but I'm using Aukey 4 ports USB car charger. 1 port with QC3.0 for charging my S9+ and the other 3 ports I used to power my dashcams for testing.
TSblurjoey
post Jul 28 2019, 02:31 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(tancyew @ Jul 28 2019, 12:44 PM)
hi @blurjoey, I'm keen on getting this. Do you think accessory shop helps to install if I purchase separately online?

Is the GPS module worth buying?
Usually you'll pay them and they'll accept but also depends if they know how to install or not.

The GPS mount mostly for the speed markings and the ADAS function. Depends if you need the functions or not.
TSblurjoey
post Jul 28 2019, 07:01 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Wang @ Jul 28 2019, 04:17 PM)
So your USB can power up all the dashcams and your phone in one go?

The max SD card for 70Mai Pro is 128GB?
No problem. Car accessories shops are more than happy to install it for you even though the dashcam is not bought from their shop. They will just charge you for the installation labour.
Max is 64GB according to specs but you can test and see if a 128GB can work or not.

Just make sure they know how to install it and not cut any wires.
TSblurjoey
post Aug 1 2019, 02:10 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(askaayaa @ Aug 1 2019, 01:26 PM)
I see..thanks bro, what i found out, that the video only record 1 minutes per video until occupy the size of storage we put into. For mine, just for trial i put 32 gb. Then switch a day with another memory card. The problem is, this device don't accept microsd that level less than level 10.
Get Samsung Evo Plus cards. Very value for money. Can get original in Lazada and Shopee. Looks for a reputable seller like Mono Digital, Ookas, etc.
TSblurjoey
post Aug 1 2019, 10:22 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(mns @ Aug 1 2019, 09:31 PM)
Hi all sifus, is it possible just to wired up the power@battery (red) and ground (black) only? Because it should power up the dashcam in both situation during parking (ignition/engine off) and driving right?
3 wires don't work that way. 3 wires will detect when the engine is off or on then use the proper ACC or BATT fuse to power on the dashcam.

If you use the 2 wires, it will record non-stop even when the engine is off. Quite dangerous as the dashcam will overheat due to non-stop recording.

70mai Pro is not true parking mode dashcam as it will record the incident when the g-sensor is triggered. It' not like Korean dashcam with buffered parking mode which is recording without saving, when motion or impact is detected then it will save 15 seconds before and 15 seconds after the trigger.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Aug 1 2019, 10:26 PM
TSblurjoey
post Aug 2 2019, 11:18 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(jetblast @ Aug 2 2019, 05:32 AM)
GPS mount is also required if you want the park function. It's not only for ADAS.
GPS mount is not needed for the parking mode.

I don't have the GPS mount and hardwire kit and the parking mode still working.

GPS mount is for the ADAS features, sync time and detect travel and speed you're driving.

Wonder where you got this wrong info from.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Aug 2 2019, 11:20 AM
TSblurjoey
post Aug 5 2019, 11:20 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(weidasdnbhd @ Aug 5 2019, 11:11 AM)
hi guys

(1) wanna know what is the function of xiaomi 70mai pro wifi hotspot? let say if i already enabled wifi hotspot and installed the app on my phone, and my brother
drove away my car where the 70mai pro installed on it, can i just simply use the 70mai app on my phone to see what the 70mai pro record? or it must be within a distance to operate the 70mai app? sorry i know this is a stupid question.

(2) i put an electrostatic sticker on the windscreen, and then stick the camera mount on it. Can i simply peel off the sticker and then put on the another part of the windscreen? or i need to use another new sticker?
1. Only your mobile phone that has the 70mai app can connect to 70mai Pro when using its hotspot. You cannot view when someone else drove the car with the 70mai Pro far away.

2. If not mistaken, you'll need to use another sticker or get those clear road tax sticker which does the same as the electrostatic sticker
TSblurjoey
post Aug 5 2019, 11:57 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(weidasdnbhd @ Aug 5 2019, 11:41 AM)
thanks to TS for prompt reply. I know this 70mai pro can operate up to the temperature 60 degree. But i used to park my car under the sun when working. can i always bring the camera away with me when i leave the car and install back when i drive the car home? i know it sounds crazy, but i just buy it, dont want this camera "die" so early.
p/s : i dont use the parking mode
The 70mai Pro can be easily removed from the mount. Slide up if not mistaken.

But scared you might forget to put the 70mai Pro back up when you get in the car or take it down.
TSblurjoey
post Aug 6 2019, 09:20 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(vickyrao @ Aug 6 2019, 03:05 PM)
Thought they claim can use Timelapse recording for parking mode. I have this installed but not able to locate the function actually. Checked online, seems possible but cant locate the settings.
According to 70mai website only impact triggered parking mode. No timelapse parking mode.

https://www.70mai.com/en/dash-cam-pro/

No such settings means don't have the feature.

QUOTE(vickyrao @ Aug 6 2019, 03:15 PM)
Problem with this though, the GPS location and Speed is not visible on the downloaded video. It can only be viewed on the app while streaming the video. Unless i am doing something wrong.
That's correct. Only on the app can view. Downloaded don't have the speed and GPS info. This need 70mai to put into the next firmware if they want to.
TSblurjoey
post Aug 7 2019, 03:54 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(vickyrao @ Aug 7 2019, 09:19 AM)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=puzewpjKFEI&vl=en

It is possible. Also most of the sellers are claiming to have it as well. Unless somehow its a function which is removed.
Read the comments. This video is edited on Final Cut Pro to be a timelapse video.

There was no timelapse parking mode in the first place. Those sellers don't know what they are selling.

Even in the 70mai Pro guide you posted writes only impact triggered parking mode. Nothing about timelapse parking mode.

But there is a new model coming soon - 70Mai Mini

I saw in the picture got state timelapse parking mode. Have to wait for actual release then will know.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Aug 7 2019, 04:39 PM
TSblurjoey
post Aug 20 2019, 10:19 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Ultima @ Aug 20 2019, 08:35 PM)
Can 70mai pro powered up by powerbank?

Spec stated input 5v 2a, so most powerbank got 5v 2a output.
Can but not recommended
TSblurjoey
post Aug 20 2019, 11:46 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Ultima @ Aug 20 2019, 11:11 PM)
If for juz recording while driving, its ok right?
Why don't just use the USB car charger to power the dashcam?

I find it a hassle to use a powerbank. What if you forgot to take the powerbank and left it in the car? What if you forgot to power on the dashcam and have an accident?

11 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0361sec    1.09    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:53 AM