Honda City Gen 6.0/6.1 V10

mushigen
post Nov 30 2018, 01:51 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(2feidei @ Nov 30 2018, 01:46 PM)
How tall are you?

I am 175cm, I got the usual, 7 inch dark film, and it does not block my vision at all. In fact, it serve me very well blocking sunlight when facing the sun in morning or evening.

Perhaps, u should first adjust your seat height first.
I am glad to hear this. I have not installed it yet as I wanted to gather feedback from owners here. I was wondering why the manufacturer did not tint this section or at least darken it a bit.
mushigen
post Nov 30 2018, 02:32 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(2feidei @ Nov 30 2018, 01:57 PM)
Cost cutting measure?  biggrin.gif Or, it just personal preference, as some dislike their windscreen have 2 different tone of colour  laugh.gif

Anyway, I suggest, before u decide to put it or not, why don't u go to the car showroom, try cover top part with piece of paper about 7 inch wide  biggrin.gif  (better if u have friends driving same car who had put the strip), see it bother u or not, even after u adjust the height of the seat.

Then, only u decide to put or not......nothing beat self experience
Ha, I did that using my palm on my own car. It felt ok to me but I thought it does not hurt to gather feedback.

QUOTE(legendaryNOKIA @ Nov 30 2018, 02:15 PM)
Yup bro. Dont understand
Perhaps the idea of sticking the Hybrid emblem is to park at the special lots, nothing to do with showing off?
mushigen
post Nov 30 2018, 02:40 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Nov 30 2018, 02:37 PM)
IIRC, City has blueish tint at top edge of windscreen. If that is a bother for you, I suggest just cut the dark tint height ngam-ngam to cover the blue part. Then you can maximise ur vision.
My FL City does not have any factory colour tint. It does not bother me, in fact I wish it had such tint.
mushigen
post Nov 30 2018, 09:59 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Nov 30 2018, 04:05 PM)
No lah, us hybrid drivers will glide quietly by in EV and snigger at V spec drivers when we think about how many more km per litre we are getting.
And we will laugh at you when your DCT jerks during low battery reserve.

QUOTE(legendaryNOKIA @ Nov 30 2018, 06:43 PM)
Lol is to show off and equal to show off at hybrid lot
In English pls...
mushigen
post Nov 30 2018, 10:00 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Nov 30 2018, 06:02 PM)
question is no one here know to do mod lo.. haha
And whether you dare to let him do it.
mushigen
post Nov 30 2018, 10:08 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(2feidei @ Nov 30 2018, 03:16 PM)
Hahah....u give idea to many V spec owners, me inclusive, to park in special lots  laugh.gif

The duck tail spoiler and side mirror indicator are dead giveaways for those in the know.
mushigen
post Nov 30 2018, 11:21 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(AureusX @ Nov 30 2018, 10:31 PM)
My guy asked me if I wanted the strip when I did the tint and I did not think twice about saying yes. I am a short person so the tint is a life saver.
My old Hyundai Tucson did not have the strip and it was blinding me every time. Had to keep putting the visor down. I thought it cause it's a tall car so more likely to kena the shine. Mana tau, kena the exact same thing in my father's Vios.
So yeah, I immediately said yes to the strip and did not regret a single thing. It doesn't block the vision at all. If it does, try adjusting your seat a little, like what the others said.
I've decided to go for it. Thank you for your reply.

QUOTE(dickybird @ Nov 30 2018, 10:33 PM)
Well, only if you can catch us. That CVT is all noise and no go. Lol
Actually, the bumi mimpi cvt is not bad at all, what with the rpm actually dropping when speed increases. It didn't take long for me to get used to it and actually liking it, compared to conventional 4 speeder. The advantage is most obvious when overtaking on NSE.
mushigen
post Dec 1 2018, 01:33 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Dec 1 2018, 10:59 AM)
china there already mod their city/jazz kaw kaw, cruise, paddle, ac touch panel etc
But AEB wor... Not scared?
mushigen
post Dec 1 2018, 02:29 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Dec 1 2018, 02:19 PM)
My experience with this CVT is acceleration from standstill is pisspoor, even losing out to Axia when going pass tolls. cry.gif  Maybe cuz I have ECON mode on all the time. I felt that pushing the car pass 3.5k~4k RPM will create harsh engine noise, so I don't try to kawkaw accelerate.
Econ mode really nerfs it kaw2. Even my wife sitting beside can tell the car seems sluggish.
I've seen the tacho hitting 3k but car was sluggish on Econ mode.
mushigen
post Dec 1 2018, 08:51 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Dec 1 2018, 07:04 PM)
Ironically Econ mode all the time gives me worse FC because the lack of torque made me rev higher. Now I just switch Econ on when in traffic and turn it off when I get on the highway. FC is back to 21+. In all Econ mode it was, 18-19. Terrible.
I was thinking the same.
3000rpm yet car moves like a turtle having constipation.
One thing ECON mode does is it trains the driver to have gentle pedal control, because hearing the engine roar while not picking up speed proportionately is painful to bear.

Macam Keisuke with his pedal control training in Initial D.
mushigen
post Dec 6 2018, 04:57 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(yoong_y89 @ Dec 6 2018, 03:57 PM)
What is the average price for the car carpet in accessories shop?
I was quoted RM90, iirc. But not sure of the quality as there are thick and thin type. But do bear in mind that the carpet, at least mine, slides around, especially the driver's side because of the shape.
mushigen
post Dec 6 2018, 10:31 PM

4,954 posts

Anyone installed Locktech brake pedal lock? I installed and would like to seek your opinion/understanding:

1. Does the brake pedal neutral position become higher after installing locktech? The first thing I realised was my right foot hit the right side of the brake pedal when I moved my foot from accelerator to brake. I don't remember the brake pedal being so high, but I've only had the car for 3 months.

2. My right shoe toe section tends to hit the locktech body when I move my foot from accelerator to brake pedal. The locktech has no more room to adjust upwards, as it is very near the bottom plastic part of the steering side.
Is this just a matter of getting used to? I wear regular shoe size 8 or 9.
mushigen
post Dec 7 2018, 08:16 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Dec 7 2018, 09:16 AM)
I never use locktech but Aorto, almost similar design, just the locking mechanism is different. Both installed at the same area. I never hit the lock since use for 4 years. The brake pedal height is higher than the throttle pedal.

Thank you for your input. I'm considering removing it due to safety concern. Will monitor for a few days.
Prior to installing, I did ask for feedback and it was all good.
I had a peep at the lock today, there is no room to adjust anything as the bracket sits nicely and is secured by the brake pedal bottom mounting bolts.

QUOTE(ZeyD @ Dec 7 2018, 02:09 PM)
Hi all, anyone having the same problem as mine? Water in the lamp?
I have no such issue.
mushigen
post Dec 8 2018, 10:45 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Dec 7 2018, 10:33 PM)
Let say i have passed the 5 years warranty.

So i after this i want to send my honda city to SC sticking to strictly MILEAGE and not time based eg. 6 months or 10000km or whichever earlier concept,  this will be okay right?
No experience on this but I'm sure it's your choice, bro. I've heard of ppl sending their newly acquired used car for servicing, only to be told the mileage on record does not tally (odo tampering). But the general servicing gets done too.

And I'm sure they will gladly welcome you to service your 20-year-old Honda despite last servicing at SC being 17 years ago.

An SA told me the dealers make more money from servicing rather than selling cars.

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Dec 7 2018, 10:39 PM)
Warranty is 5 years with unlimited mileage. Since 5 years is up, means no more warranty remaining. Why still return to SC for servicing?

In any case, yes, you can follow mileage then since Honda has nothing to stop you doing that anymore.
I think his car is low mileage type (hence the question of following mileage instead of interval). I feel it makes little difference in terms of cost, for the peace of mind and makes it easier to sell, if mileage is 10k a year.
mushigen
post Dec 8 2018, 11:50 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Dec 8 2018, 11:15 AM)
You can still service based on mileage, but why want to do it at SC? There's no more encumbrance of warranty in case shiet happens. Doing it outside in a trusted pomen can save a lot of money. And as for reselling, there is no difference to them between continue servicing at SC or pomen, as long you can show servicing receipts. That's what I was told when I traded in my Persona, I kept and showed them my servicing records & receipts (even those done at pomen) are following the mileage schedule and they gave me a very good price for my car because of that.
Keyword: trusted pomen, which not many of us are lucky to have.
I've met my fair share of lousy mechanics who don't know what they are doing, and charge customers for their trial and error. And most of them have no qualms chopping their customers, especially regular customers.
Unless you are a car person, I'd think the SC is not a bad option despite the higher price.

Actually, i think you'd get a *lower* price if you had serviced at SC because they'd have a higher chance of being discovered for odo tampering. And do you think they appreciate the service records?

mushigen
post Dec 8 2018, 04:02 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Dec 8 2018, 12:26 PM)
Let me give you a real case, one 2nd hand dealer who didn't ask for my service records, quoted me 20% lower RV for my Persona as compared to the dealer that had ask me proof for my servicing history. Still think service records & receipts, even those done outside, is not important?
Let me quote you real cases too. All the dealers which I sold my cars to did not ask for service records. They did check gb, and signs of kereta sambung and accidents.

I don't recall writing anything about service records not important. I did mention servicing at SC makes it easier to sell the car as in the case of the bro who asked the question about servicing at SC after warranty expires.
However, if your car has high mileage, out of warranty and you service at SC, you might get lower value when you sell to dealers - because it makes it easier to detect odo tampering.

Hope it's clear now.

mushigen
post Dec 8 2018, 04:04 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Dec 8 2018, 11:52 AM)
Important to keep your service booklet and receipts if possible. That's what the glovebox is for since we don't usually wear driving gloves. Lol
True. But you will realise dealers will never provide the next buyer with these receipts because the odometer will most likely be adjusted.
mushigen
post Dec 8 2018, 06:57 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Dec 8 2018, 04:26 PM)
That's on the dealer, my keeping a detailed service history is to ensure a better selling price from the dealer.
If I was buying from a private seller, I'd want to see the service history. But that's me.
Service history will definitely be important for private buyer. No doubt about it. Better if maintained at SC.

Imo, if the car has high mileage, service history is meaningless to the dealers as odometer will be adjusted. One dealer I sold my car flatly declined my offer to provide him with service records/bills from outside workshop. He was more interested in when I last sent it to the SC and at what mileage.
But that's just my opinion and experience and everyone is free to believe in whatever he chooses to believe in.
mushigen
post Dec 8 2018, 08:24 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Dec 8 2018, 07:49 PM)
What they do with the car is no longer my business. All I want is the best price they can give me. Keeping a service history helps that.
Your opinion just made me swear of buying second hand cars forever unless it's a dealership approved used vehicle.
As I said, if you think showing the dealers your service records gives you a better price, you should continue doing it. It's your personal opinion and we are talking about your ride. No question about that.

It's like the "debate" about whether changing aircon filter ourselves will void warranty.
I believe it will, but I'm not going to try to make other owners think so if they choose to DIY.

My opinion on used car odometer tampering is derived from personal experience. Mileage of the cars advertised were reduced without fail, and the new readings were always higher than mileage during last servicing at SC.
It is a fact that buying used cars is risky and odo tampering is par for the course in this business. Please do not tell me you only realised this after reading what I wrote today.

Cheers.
mushigen
post Dec 8 2018, 09:18 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(unknown @ Dec 8 2018, 09:02 PM)
My City 2014 get weird problem, The reverse sensor constant beep sound non stop when i put reverse gear, i confirm behind is empty. I tot my sensor is faulty, and i find out not.

The sensor constant beep sound happen on morning or afternoon and night back to normal, night time the sensor can detect back and beep sound back to normal.

Anyone same problem before? My car no more warranty, so need ask opinion before send back to SC.
From what I read here, this is quite a common issue with reverse sensors, and it costs about RM250 to fix if out of warranty, iirc.

I'd try to get it fixed outside.

27 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.6462sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:45 PM