Honda City Gen 6.0/6.1 V10

mushigen
post Dec 9 2018, 02:39 PM

4,954 posts

Info sharing:
My 3 month-old City has sulphate build up on the battery positive terminal. Cleaned it a few weeks back, and it re-appeared.

So, I removed the battery, cleaned up the terminals with baking soda solution and applied silicone grease on the terminals and the leads.

Made few discoveries:

1. The tiny stock battery is really heavy, comparable to standard sized one.

2. I disconnected the battery for a total of 45 minutes. Only the clock got reset to 1am, the radio station presets and bluetooth connection were intact.

3. The car alarm did not activate - no siren and doors were not locked - upon re-connecting the battery.

mushigen
post Dec 10 2018, 08:55 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(unknown @ Dec 10 2018, 12:30 PM)
I'm looking for Honda specialist workshop to check my reverse sensor, Anyone have good and reasonable price to recommend me? location KL or PJ .

Thanks,
Wouldn't an accessory shop be more knowledgeable on this?
mushigen
post Dec 16 2018, 01:09 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(danthe0 @ Dec 15 2018, 02:16 PM)
After 15% discount
0w20 RM41.99 /L. x3.8L = RM135.63
0w30 RM196.35 4L.

Hingan 0w30 RM160 / 4L.
0w20 price should be 160 based on the info given.

mushigen
post Dec 18 2018, 10:08 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(sonicmaster @ Dec 18 2018, 05:29 PM)
I read that many are boycotting honda and will sell off their car. But anyone really will sell your car  even the car is fine just because of a lady? Just wondering.
Oh please, Malaysians are not so stupid. Barking dogs usually don't bite.
mushigen
post Dec 19 2018, 08:02 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(Boykidz93 @ Dec 19 2018, 04:17 PM)
I feel that even V Spec city, the sound system is still bad.  bangwall.gif
True, even for non-audiophile like me. Also, I notice the radio reception is quite poor.

QUOTE(unknown @ Dec 19 2018, 07:43 PM)
I have same problem too. My car take outside service already, ( 4 years old ) but not sure still can claim warranty or not. I read some post at FB, say can claim warranty for sensor and void Engine only. not sure true or not.

I try call Honda SC, no one pick my call .
I'd call Honda Malaysia hotline.
mushigen
post Dec 20 2018, 11:04 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(danthe0 @ Dec 20 2018, 09:27 PM)
Correction:
Acc mode -> breathing red flash
Engine start -> constant red
Correct. I just checked it earlier.

This post has been edited by mushigen: Dec 20 2018, 11:04 PM
mushigen
post Dec 21 2018, 09:34 PM

4,954 posts

Guys,
How often do you top up your coolant expansion tank? I read in previous version threads about coolant loss, so I bought one bottle of Type 2 coolant to stand by. Never did I expect my coolant level to drop so fast. 4 months and 5k km, this is the level now. In all my previous cars, I never had to top up any coolant.

QUOTE(boxer07 @ Dec 21 2018, 02:35 PM)
gatal gatal go buy Caltex Techron Concentrated Plus and pour into my City , and fuel up with petron (wechat discount) + caltex fuel , can feel instant increase of power ... car easily accelerate and feel the umphhh
Haha, a few weeks ago, I bought one bottle to stand by, but my mileage is only 5,000km after 4 months. Hopefully it won't go bad when it's time to use it tongue.gif
mushigen
post Dec 22 2018, 10:33 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(boxer07 @ Dec 22 2018, 07:48 AM)
ur coolant still within min level . don't need to top up. don't think it was around max level . .

no need to worry . its normal
How often does your coolant expansion tank level reach the min line?

It was at the max line when I got the car. The manual says to top up with coolant, and to check for leakage if there is excessive topping up requirement, or something like that. What is considered excessive is not stated.

Need to top up to max line before sending for servicing, in case they top up with tap water.
mushigen
post Dec 22 2018, 02:40 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Dec 22 2018, 10:50 AM)
For me, I can't really remember but probably I have to top up in 2 years or so. And that also not yet reach min. The bottle of coolant I bought till now also not even left half bottle yet. Still more than that.
Thank you for your reply. Glad to know it does not consume coolant the way some cars do engine oil.

There are only 2 ways to lose coolant:
1. Leakage into engine or external leakage
2. Evaporation from expansion tank, which should be minimal.
mushigen
post Dec 22 2018, 08:58 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Dec 22 2018, 03:49 PM)
If ur car only 4 months old, then its not normal to lose so much in such a short time. There might be leakage somewhere. See on ur garage floor if there is leakage cuz the coolant water is coloured, so easily can spot.
That's the problem. I'm not able to detect any coolant leak externally.
I thought maybe there was air trap in the radiator during assembly, so once this air is vented out via expansion tank, the coolant level should drop a bit but stabilise, not keep dropping.
In my previous cars, radiator and coolant flushing, and even replacement of the whole radiator did not cause coolant loss over months.

mushigen
post Dec 22 2018, 08:59 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Dec 22 2018, 06:42 PM)
Santa came early for me. Hehe. My mods ready for Christmas day install after replace my axle beam.
[attachmentid=10144165]
I see resistors...for signal light?
mushigen
post Dec 22 2018, 09:59 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Dec 22 2018, 09:28 PM)
Better bring back to SC and get them to check. If it leaks into ur engine, then really jialat.

Yup. For the signal lights below it.
Yup, guess I'll top it up to the max line and monitor from there.
mushigen
post Dec 25 2018, 02:20 PM

4,954 posts

I feel for you. It doesn't help that accident claim procedure in Msia sucks.
mushigen
post Dec 30 2018, 05:12 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(safe118 @ Dec 30 2018, 01:31 PM)
Yeah..still thinking whether its an essential accessory to buy and whether it serves with good purposes apart from looking more stylish.. brows.gif
I'll never put the visor at driver's side because I don't like to have my view blocked, especially if the visor is dark. The A pillar is bad enough.
mushigen
post Dec 30 2018, 11:04 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(aku_ker @ Dec 30 2018, 05:44 PM)
Hi guys my city v spec will have continuous  sound when driving slow or on uneven road, it's not the sound of the brakepadts more like something loose on the driver side. Any thoughts?
Does it sound like something is vibrating at high frequency and it appears at certain engine RPM? I have this sound, for example, when going uphill where the RPM is a tad higher than normal.

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Dec 30 2018, 07:51 PM)
[attachmentid=10149313]
I see a City having this type of visor. It has cutouts at front to prevent blocking the view and it has a sleek thin shape that matches the rear door visor. I have been looking for this type but so far no luck.
Looks nice.
mushigen
post Jan 2 2019, 05:55 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(yang90 @ Jan 2 2019, 07:00 AM)
My friend is Vios owner, when he sit on my new city, he complaint that City is uncomfortable and bumpy especially on uneven road...is it normal and anyway to improve?
A few factors involved. He complained as a driver or passenger?
Front seat or rear?
City seems to have stiffer suspension.
mushigen
post Jan 4 2019, 11:29 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 4 2019, 09:56 AM)
Wife's City is at about 80k+ mileage and the brake pads has never been replaced. Recently drove it and it doesn't seem to bite at all ._.

Wonder if you guys replace aftermarket or use back original part?
Brake pad wear depends on your driving pattern and braking habit, so it doesn't mean they must be replaced at certain odo readings.

My only experience with worn brake pads was when one of the inner brake pads got totally worn off, leaving metal to metal contact, which gave out a loud metallic scraping sound.

Imo, the pads should not lose their bite when wearing out, so it's probably best to have them checked. Don't ignore the rear brakes too.
mushigen
post Jan 4 2019, 02:09 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 4 2019, 11:49 AM)
Compared to my Civic, I just need to tape a bit then the brakes bit pretty hard. I remember the City was like this when new, now like can press it very deep in. Asked the service manager, brake pads replacements are about RM500+ from Honda (not including labor yet). Holy...!

Or I'm suspecting is the the fluid instead.

From what you described (especially when you compare it with the feeling when it was new), it's either you have air pocket in the brake fluid, or the brake booster is defective or your brake pump is leaking/not functioning well so that it does not generate enough force to clamp the pads onto the rotors. When was the last time you changed brake fluid? You might want to replace it or bleed the brake fluid lines or both.

QUOTE(dickybird @ Jan 4 2019, 01:05 PM)
Did you feedback to SC people about the mushy brake feel? Maybe they could adjust the gap between pad and rotor?
My hybrid brakes probably will feel different because of the energy regeneration but I don't feel I have to stand on the brakes to get it to stop.
Previous car, the Myvi OEM pads were horrible, they felt soft and lacked bite. After 50k km, swapped out the OEM pads for mixed ceramic pads (iinm), change the rotors also and new braided steel brake lines. The brake feel was much more positive.
I used to change my brake pads of my bikes, and from what I see, I don't think it's possible to adjust the gap between pad and rotor. The piston moves to push out the pad so that it touches the rotor. When there is not enough force to push the piston out, you do not get enough reactive force between the pad and rotor surface, causing less friction generated.
mushigen
post Jan 4 2019, 02:18 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 4 2019, 02:11 PM)
Suspecting air pocket... looking back at the bills I think about 60k had changed the brake fluid... maybe its the brake pump issue hmm. Shall go back to SC in thsi case... sekali is brake pump faulty and if I change third party cannot claim  bangwall.gif
Please keep us updated for learning purpose, ya. And I'd do it ASAP if I were you.
mushigen
post Jan 4 2019, 02:38 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(ericong77 @ Jan 4 2019, 02:24 PM)
Seriously, I really hate that Vios rear fog lights, really annoying.
I wish City had rear fog lights. Useful when travelling in very bad weather.

27 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.3575sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:49 PM