79 posts

Reliability
ZM Fong
post May 6 2019, 07:56 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(onthefeet @ May 6 2019, 07:21 PM)
I see, but if ignore the requirement to run Linux and weight limitation,what else would you recommend. Be it gaming laptop or ultrabook because i am trying to have multiple options so i can compare all of them afterward. Thank you. biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Then I would prefer gaming laptop more since you get more performance. Got many sales now due to 8th gen clearance

All with CFL i7:
Lenovo Legion Y530 81FV00M8MJ (1050TI, 144Hz), 81LB001GMJ (1060, low sRGB)
Commandos Glock 5
Asus GL503GE
Illegear Raven, Raven Lite - low sRGB IPS only
HP Omen 15-DC0093TX - low sRGB IPS
Dell G7 7588 - low sRGB IPS, a bit bulky

Thin and light:
Illegear Onyx Lite
Commandos Katana 5 (promo RM3999)

Will not recommend some 9th gen models for now until I get more info
ZM Fong
post May 6 2019, 08:02 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(skem1989 @ May 6 2019, 07:37 PM)
Reliability
Then get premium business laptop:
Lenovo Thinkpad T490, T590, T480s, T480 20L5S15K00, T580, X390, X280 20KFS1H300
Dell Latitude 7390, 7490
HP Elitebook 830/840 G5

No preference on battery life?
prasys
post May 6 2019, 08:25 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 6 2019, 08:02 PM)
Dell Latitude 7390, 7490
HP Elitebook 830/840 G5

I agree with ZM Fong - you need to buy a business laptop. You'll get support for 5 years , if something broke down you can easily replace it

Business laptops are meant to last since companies purchase like every 3-5 years
TTMCD
post May 6 2019, 08:29 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 4 2019, 12:18 AM)
Get this spec:
i5-8265U, W10 Home, 8GB RAM (dual channel recommended if you don't need upgrade in future), 500GB HDD, no SSD (add later), FHD IPS, iGPU, optional backlit keyboard and fingerprint reader, 65W adapter, Intel 9260
Tq Sifu, want to ask i5 and i7 got huge different mah? if future want to use photoshop, will i7 perform better? thinking of choosing i7-8565U, since now discount for this E590 i7-8565U is 47.7%

This post has been edited by TTMCD: May 6 2019, 08:32 PM
ZM Fong
post May 6 2019, 08:40 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(TTMCD @ May 6 2019, 08:29 PM)
Tq Sifu, want to ask i5 and i7 got huge different mah? if future want to use photoshop, will i7 perform better? thinking of choosing i7-8565U, since now discount for this E590  i7-8565U is 47.7%
In most cases, no different. i7 ULV only slightly better in single core performance and has slightly more L3 cache. I would choose i5 ULV
prasys
post May 6 2019, 08:42 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(TTMCD @ May 6 2019, 08:29 PM)
Tq Sifu, want to ask i5 and i7 got huge different mah? if future want to use photoshop, will i7 perform better? thinking of choosing i7-8565U, since now discount for this E590  i7-8565U is 47.7%
If you can afford it , why not - go for it anyway - your money lol

However there is just slight boost in performance
onthefeet
post May 6 2019, 08:51 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 6 2019, 07:56 PM)
Then I would prefer gaming laptop more since you get more performance. Got many sales now due to 8th gen clearance

All with CFL i7:
Lenovo Legion Y530 81FV00M8MJ (1050TI, 144Hz), 81LB001GMJ (1060, low sRGB)
Commandos Glock 5
Asus GL503GE
Illegear Raven, Raven Lite - low sRGB IPS only
HP Omen 15-DC0093TX - low sRGB IPS
Dell G7 7588 - low sRGB IPS, a bit bulky

Thin and light:
Illegear Onyx Lite
Commandos Katana 5 (promo RM3999)

Will not recommend some 9th gen models for now until I get more info
Thank you for the list. Btw, what do you think about the custom built laptop like Illegear,commandos,aftershock,etc. I am not against them but the reason i asking this is because i don't have any purchasing experience with any of them. So, I may have some doubt and low confidence toward their build quality, aftersale customer service and etc. And also once someone told me this when i asked about the Illegear,:

"There's a reason you can't prebuild laptops like a desktop or tower. Most laptops by big companies are engineered to perfection being thin and light, amazing build quality etc. You can't get these trairs from "custom laptops" where they take existing components and slap them into a shell".

I mean, it is true that with that price, the spec is so attractive, but is it really worth buying it?

This post has been edited by onthefeet: May 6 2019, 08:51 PM
TTMCD
post May 6 2019, 08:54 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 6 2019, 08:40 PM)
In most cases, no different. i7 ULV only slightly better in single core performance and has slightly more L3 cache. I would choose i5 ULV
QUOTE(prasys @ May 6 2019, 08:42 PM)
If you can afford it , why not - go for it anyway - your money lol

However there is just slight boost in performance
OK TQ BOTH SIFUS smile.gif

This post has been edited by TTMCD: May 6 2019, 08:57 PM
ZM Fong
post May 6 2019, 08:59 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(onthefeet @ May 6 2019, 08:51 PM)
Thank you for the list. Btw, what do you think about the custom built laptop like Illegear,commandos,aftershock,etc. I am not against them but the reason i asking this is because i don't have any purchasing experience with any of them. So, I may have some doubt and low confidence toward their build quality, aftersale customer service and etc. And also once someone told me this when i asked about the Illegear,:

"There's a reason you can't prebuild laptops like a desktop or tower. Most laptops by big companies are engineered to perfection being thin and light, amazing build quality etc. You can't get these trairs from "custom laptops" where they take existing components and slap them into a shell".

I mean, it is true that with that price, the spec is so attractive, but is it really worth buying it?
Depends on model actually. They are ODM resellers (Clevo, TongFang, Quanta) which means that they are 'real' manufacturers of laptops (in fact most laptop brands don't manufacture their own laptops). For customer service, Illegear and Level51 (Aftershock) are reputable so I don't see any problem on this.

'Most laptops by big companies are engineered to perfection being thin and light, amazing build quality etc. You can't get these trairs from "custom laptops" where they take existing components and slap them into a shell". Well IMO this is not entirely true
skem1989
post May 6 2019, 09:50 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 6 2019, 08:02 PM)
Dell Latitude 7390, 7490
HP Elitebook 830/840 G5

As long average battery life should be ok... as long the laptop lighweight and thin enough to carry to site.

How about illegear battery performance?
prasys
post May 6 2019, 10:34 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(skem1989 @ May 6 2019, 09:50 PM)
As long average battery life should be ok...  as long the laptop lighweight and thin enough to carry to site.

Again once you go gaming laptop you are not gonna get super long battery life - average can be anything

for some people 2hrs is okay. My question to you is do you wish to remain unplugged for long and do you wish to charge the computer via USB-C PD powerbank or not ?
ZM Fong
post May 6 2019, 11:04 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(skem1989 @ May 6 2019, 09:50 PM)
As long average battery life should be ok...  as long the laptop lighweight and thin enough to carry to site.

Like I said, premium business laptop is the most suitable one if you want better reliability
Passers-A
post May 6 2019, 11:41 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 6 2019, 12:20 PM)
Any preference on weight and battery life? Mind low sRGB display?
No, don't mind
ZM Fong
post May 7 2019, 12:53 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Passers-A @ May 6 2019, 11:41 PM)
No, don't mind
1650:
Illegear Raven - low sRGB IPS*

1050TI:
Illegear Onyx Lite
Commandos Glock 5
Lenovo Legion Y530 81FV016UMJ - low sRGB IPS
Dell G7 7588 (8750H+1050TI) - low sRGB IPS, a bit bulky
Illegear Raven Lite - low sRGB IPS

Not including some 9th gen models due to lack of info/reviews
skem1989
post May 7 2019, 07:24 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ May 6 2019, 10:34 PM)
Again once you go gaming laptop you are not gonna get super long battery life - average can be anything

for some people 2hrs is okay. My question to you is do you wish to remain unplugged for long and do you wish to charge the computer via USB-C PD powerbank or not ?
I think will go for business laptop.... as long as can use autocad without lag

prasys
post May 7 2019, 08:47 AM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(skem1989 @ May 7 2019, 07:24 AM)
I think will go for business laptop.... as long as can use autocad without lag
Are you rendering or viewing , viewing it's pretty fine - even MX250 can pump it well
skem1989
post May 7 2019, 09:45 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ May 7 2019, 08:47 AM)
Are you rendering or viewing , viewing it's pretty fine - even MX250 can pump it well
Viewing and adjusting floor plan layout only...
prasys
post May 7 2019, 09:46 AM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(skem1989 @ May 7 2019, 09:45 AM)
Viewing and adjusting floor plan layout only...
That's fine - since you are not doing hardcore work
skem1989
post May 7 2019, 09:50 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ May 7 2019, 09:46 AM)
That's fine - since you are not doing hardcore work
Any recomendation laptop from u?

155 Pages « < 132 133 134 135 136 > » Top