Notebook Recommendation Thread v.31, Need To Buy Laptop... Please Come In

TTMCD
post Apr 23 2019, 12:20 PM

124 posts

Budget: RM3000 - RM3500
Usage : iTunes to backup iphone, Watch Youtube , Office Work (using Microsoft Word, Excel file), browsing web
Requirement: Must can install the latest version of iTunes , if possible Able to run Photoshop cause future might need this

* Something Fast & Multitask Friendly. (Wont lag when opening a lot of tab of program)

* Laptop's Ram upgradability

* Got Service Centre at KL, don't want to get caught out not being able to service it under warranty if needed.

* I don't require touch screen or 2-in-1. Would appreciate any suggestions, thanks!

This post has been edited by TTMCD: Apr 23 2019, 01:42 PM
TTMCD
post Apr 23 2019, 02:16 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 23 2019, 02:04 PM)
https://store.illegear.com/game-ready-perfo...gear-raven.html

Illegar Raven ? For RM 3k , you get a decent GPU - works well with eSports

Anno 1800 - might work if you crank down the settings

Unless you want it to be even cheaper...
My take is to pick up a good MacBook Pro 2012/2013 model and upgrade it. The reason being is that iTunes on Windows is pretty much !@#@$

If you use iPhone a lot - i mean a LOT - consider getting a mac for the synergy - not sure if you can pick up a new mac for under 3.5k , i have not been keeping touch with it
I see, TQ for your suggestion, but Apple MacBook not in my consideration, im not sure whether other laptop can use latest version of iTunes or not if can use then no need worry bout iTunes, Do You have any other suggestion TQ

TTMCD
post Apr 23 2019, 06:35 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 23 2019, 04:42 PM)
Mind low sRGB display? Any preference on weight, battery life and display size?
I dont mind bout the weight, if posibble battery life can use up to 4 hours is better but not priority.

(My current laptop is ACER MODEL MS2343 / Aspire 4755G Year 2011 Manufactor with Screen/Display14 inch HD LCD 16:9, 1366 x 768 pixel, glossy)

Above column is my current laptop hope can upgrade for my future laptop on display size and sRGB display. TQ

TTMCD
post Apr 23 2019, 06:42 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 23 2019, 04:27 PM)
Then anyone would do - you can look at similiar suggestion for that price range

Seriously - if you are an iTunes/heavy iPhone user - consider getting Mac. I am an ex-mac , ex-iphone user , so I know about this
i not sure whether i am heavy iPhone user or not, iphone mostly use on take photo, whatsapp, wechat, facebook, messenger... but the main problem right now is my current iPhone has system problem need to connect iTunes to activate it, but unfortunately my current year 2011 laptop cant install new version of iTunes that's why is important to have laptop that can install new version of iTunes

This post has been edited by TTMCD: Apr 23 2019, 06:49 PM
TTMCD
post Apr 24 2019, 01:52 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 23 2019, 10:57 PM)
Lenovo Thinkpad E490, E590, E490s, E480, E580 customize - opt for 3 yr warranty upgrade
Lenovo Ideapad 530s 14 81EU00NRMJ/ SMJ/ TMJ/ UMJ
Acer Swift 3 SF314-54-55JD / 57FD / 59T5 +RAM
Lenovo Yoga 520 81C80016MJ / 17MJ +RAM
Lenovo Ideapad 320s-14IKBR 81BN0071MJ / 81BN0072MJ +RAM+SSD

I only include those with >6 hrs battery life, otherwise there will be too many options to choose from
TQ for your Recommendation!
TTMCD
post Apr 24 2019, 01:55 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 24 2019, 08:44 AM)
Windows 10 should work.....unless you are on 7 or iTunes really needs a new CPU....
my laptop is Win 10 now, for iTunes lastest version cant install not sure what is the problem... Thanks
TTMCD
post Apr 24 2019, 06:07 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 23 2019, 10:57 PM)
Lenovo Thinkpad E490, E590, E490s, E480, E580 customize - opt for 3 yr warranty upgrade

I only include those with >6 hrs battery life, otherwise there will be too many options to choose from
Hi, want to ask +RAM +SSD on the behind meaning what? add on?

AND i check two of the model at levono website, Thinkpad E590 RM2829 realtek wireless 8822be 2x2 VS Thinkpad E580 RM2839 intel dual band wireless-ac 3165 , Price and other Spec Thinkpad E590 is better than Thinkpad E580 , The only thing im want to find out is
(realtek wireless 8822be 2x2 ac VS intel dual band wireless-ac 3165 ) Wireless card is it intel one better/faster?

tq

This post has been edited by TTMCD: Apr 24 2019, 06:30 PM
TTMCD
post Apr 25 2019, 10:14 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Apr 24 2019, 06:49 PM)
For wireless adaptor. The intel 3165 is a 1x1 module. Theoritical speed can hit 433Mbps. 2x2 module can hit theoritical 866Mbps. 99% of the time, Intel wireless adaptor has better drivers from the rest like Atheros, Realtek and Broadcom.
i see, thank for you explanation smile.gif
TTMCD
post Apr 25 2019, 10:17 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 24 2019, 07:44 PM)
Yes add those upgrades after purchase

Intel 3165 - slower speed but driver more stable
QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 24 2019, 10:27 PM)
Both of it are okay , tw for E580 you can change to 2x2 adapter also. Again for your daily use it would be alright

1x1 module will grant you to 433Mbps , in actual world 80Mbps etc..If your Internet speed is like 800Mbps Unifi , maybe not but if it is < 100Mbps ..it's fine also

Opt for E580 (cheaper) and pimp up on SSD and others. I know some of us would say install outside , if you are lazy like me , just get it installed
I disagree , Broadcom does it way better - especially if you use broadcom router like me. Intel is okay-ish..so far no problem but it's okay-ish
Noted Tq, for the reply and explanation smile.gif
TTMCD
post Apr 27 2019, 05:21 PM

124 posts

My First Post on this thread:

Budget: RM3000 - RM3500
Usage : iTunes to backup iphone, Watch Youtube , Office Work (using Microsoft Word, Excel file), browsing web
Requirement: Must can install the latest version of iTunes , if possible Able to run Photoshop cause future might need this

* Something Fast & Multitask Friendly. (Wont lag when opening a lot of tab of program)

* Laptop's Ram upgradability

* Got Service Centre at KL, don't want to get caught out not being able to service it under warranty if needed.

* I don't require touch screen or 2-in-1. Would appreciate any suggestions, thanks!

-------------------
Post that answer ZM Fong Question:

I dont mind bout the weight, if posibble battery life can use up to 4 hours is better but not priority.

(My current laptop is ACER MODEL MS2343 / Aspire 4755G Year 2011 Manufactor with Screen/Display14 inch HD LCD 16:9, 1366 x 768 pixel, glossy)

Above column is my current laptop hope can upgrade for my future laptop on display size and sRGB display. TQ
---------------------

Thanks for All Suggestions

for my usage and Requirement Should i choose :
Hardrive SSD instead of HDD or Both of them
Processor i3 / i5 / i7 8 Generation
RAM 8GB(4+4) DDR4 / 8GB DDR4

No sure bout Dummy Hard Disk Drive, How much Storage for it?
TTMCD
post Apr 27 2019, 09:28 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 27 2019, 05:36 PM)
Get a SSD. If you want more storage then get another HDD or bigger SSD (not all models have 2.5 inch+M.2 combo)

Go for i5 8th gen

RAM must at least 8GB, if got dual channel better (not all models have 2 RAM slots)

What do you mean by dummy hard drive?
TQ for reply

On the website it state Hard Drive : Dummy Hard Disk Drive
https://www.lenovo.com/my/en/laptops/thinkp...0/p/22TP2TEE580

2.5 inch+M.2 combo is for Bigger SSD or for Second Hard disk?

This post has been edited by TTMCD: Apr 27 2019, 09:30 PM
TTMCD
post Apr 28 2019, 02:23 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 27 2019, 05:36 PM)
Get a SSD. If you want more storage then get another HDD or bigger SSD (not all models have 2.5 inch+M.2 combo)

Go for i5 8th gen

RAM must at least 8GB, if got dual channel better (not all models have 2 RAM slots)

What do you mean by dummy hard drive?
QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 27 2019, 11:05 PM)
Dummy disk drive probably means hard disk bay and cable are included

My suggestion is to get 4GB RAM and 500GB HDD. Then upgrade RAM and SSD by yourself. Remember to opt for 3 yr warranty
Tq for your suggestion.

and for the reply "4GB RAM and 500GB HDD. Then upgrade RAM and SSD by yourself" if can upgrade one will choose this first, but this propose is to save cost right?

And

To fulfill the requirement (models have 2.5 inch+M.2 combo) , ( models have 2 RAM slots) , the below your previous suggestion laptops also got right?

This post has been edited by TTMCD: Apr 28 2019, 02:26 PM
TTMCD
post Apr 29 2019, 10:48 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 28 2019, 02:40 PM)
Yes, the upgrades in Lenovo website are too expensive

E490s and 530s 14 don't have 2.5 inch bay. 530s 14, Yoga 520 and 320s 14 don't have 2 RAM slots, SF314-54 only has 1 RAM slot but has another soldered RAM (dual channel is possible)
Oh i see, tq very much
TTMCD
post May 1 2019, 11:56 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Apr 28 2019, 10:50 PM)
Not sure if this will work for you but you can try "NIGHT" at the ecoupon (after 10pm).
Ok Thanks
TTMCD
post May 2 2019, 07:06 PM

124 posts

Hi ZM Fong, i interested on 15.6" Screen , Screen is bigger and come with Extra Number Pad on right hand side,
Above Yellow Hightlight is 15.6" Screen but i3- 8th generation,

1) should i upgrade to i5- 8th generation on levono website itself, since you suggest RAM and Storage upgrade myself,

2) suggestion to not upgrade at Lenovo Website because Lenovo Website charge higher on Upgrade, AND upgrade myself to save cost but what to do with the previous installed one (RAM/HDD/SSD), (Sry for Silly question)

This post has been edited by TTMCD: May 2 2019, 07:09 PM

TTMCD
post May 3 2019, 10:24 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 2 2019, 08:48 PM)
1. Yes
2. Get the default spec - I believe it's 4GB RAM and 500GB HDD. Then add RAM and SSD by yourself after you get the laptop
TQ Sifu,

i am thinking upgrade to i7- 8th generation instead of i5 8th since they have offer, any opinion?
https://www.lenovo.com/my/en/laptops/thinkp...ENMY1/customize?

any idea below which one better?
256GB Solid State Drive,M.2 2242, NVMe,TLC
256GB Solid State Drive,M.2 2280, Opal,TLC

TQ

This post has been edited by TTMCD: May 3 2019, 11:20 PM
TTMCD
post May 6 2019, 08:29 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 4 2019, 12:18 AM)
Get this spec:
i5-8265U, W10 Home, 8GB RAM (dual channel recommended if you don't need upgrade in future), 500GB HDD, no SSD (add later), FHD IPS, iGPU, optional backlit keyboard and fingerprint reader, 65W adapter, Intel 9260
Tq Sifu, want to ask i5 and i7 got huge different mah? if future want to use photoshop, will i7 perform better? thinking of choosing i7-8565U, since now discount for this E590 i7-8565U is 47.7%

This post has been edited by TTMCD: May 6 2019, 08:32 PM
TTMCD
post May 6 2019, 08:54 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 6 2019, 08:40 PM)
In most cases, no different. i7 ULV only slightly better in single core performance and has slightly more L3 cache. I would choose i5 ULV
QUOTE(prasys @ May 6 2019, 08:42 PM)
If you can afford it , why not - go for it anyway - your money lol

However there is just slight boost in performance
OK TQ BOTH SIFUS smile.gif

This post has been edited by TTMCD: May 6 2019, 08:57 PM
TTMCD
post May 17 2019, 01:17 PM

124 posts

Hi just bought a new Lenovo laptop, thx for all SIFUs previous suggestions , now the new laptop just open box, want to ask should I charge the battery first before use or direct open using battery or the “power line”

This post has been edited by TTMCD: May 17 2019, 01:18 PM
TTMCD
post May 18 2019, 04:44 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 17 2019, 02:25 PM)
Which model you buy? Actually you can start using the laptop aldy, usually I would plug in charger. Suggesting charging all the time if possible (can cap battery capacity using conservation mode)
I See, so i plug in all the time, after shut down, need unplug or not ya?

i bought Lenovo E590 smile.gif thx for your suggestion...

This post has been edited by TTMCD: May 18 2019, 04:47 PM

0.1007sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:02 AM