TTMCD
post Apr 25 2019, 10:17 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 24 2019, 07:44 PM)
Yes add those upgrades after purchase

Intel 3165 - slower speed but driver more stable
QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 24 2019, 10:27 PM)
Both of it are okay , tw for E580 you can change to 2x2 adapter also. Again for your daily use it would be alright

1x1 module will grant you to 433Mbps , in actual world 80Mbps etc..If your Internet speed is like 800Mbps Unifi , maybe not but if it is < 100Mbps ..it's fine also

Opt for E580 (cheaper) and pimp up on SSD and others. I know some of us would say install outside , if you are lazy like me , just get it installed
I disagree , Broadcom does it way better - especially if you use broadcom router like me. Intel is okay-ish..so far no problem but it's okay-ish
Noted Tq, for the reply and explanation smile.gif
wilsonsin
post Apr 25 2019, 10:39 AM

34 posts

1. Budget : < rm5k or around
2. Usage : working, programming, youtube, fb, not gaming
3. Requirements : portability, ultra book, light/thin, longer battery life, can flip, can detachable like microsoft surface book is better
ZM Fong
post Apr 25 2019, 02:11 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(wilsonsin @ Apr 25 2019, 10:39 AM)
light/thin, longer battery life
Max weight in kg and min battery life in hours?
Mind low sRGB display and non-upgradable RAM?
wilsonsin
post Apr 25 2019, 02:26 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 25 2019, 02:11 PM)
battery: 8 hours
weight: no fix
display and ram slot is optional, got then better, if not does not matter
i think display usually is 13.3

thank you
wilsonsin
post Apr 25 2019, 02:27 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 25 2019, 02:11 PM)
battery: 8 hours
weight: no fix
display and ram slot is optional, got then better, if not does not matter

thank you
zaztheman
post Apr 25 2019, 03:56 PM

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 24 2019, 07:43 PM)
Can consider Thinkpad E490 / E480, E590 / E580
Thanks. looking into it as well.

What are your views on Thinkpad L series 380 / 480? L series or E series better?

I'm not using laptop on daily basis, usually 3-5 days/week and not playing games, is it worth to buy Thinkpad T480?
prasys
post Apr 25 2019, 05:19 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(zaztheman @ Apr 25 2019, 03:56 PM)
Thanks. looking into it as well.

What are your views on Thinkpad L series 380 / 480? L series or E series better?

I'm not using laptop on daily basis, usually 3-5 days/week and not playing games, is it worth to buy Thinkpad T480?
Okay , here is the simple thing

E series = Consumer series - Basically you get okayish build quality with their good keyboard + trackpoint

L series = It's a step-up from E series. You get some of the things from the expensive thinkpad like better build quality , MIL spec , spill proof

T series = Legendary series - It's best of the best that one can afford and to buy

So to be honest it depends how long you want the laptop to last. If you want it to be super long , consider T/L series. If you are on a budget , E series would do the trick
ZM Fong
post Apr 25 2019, 05:24 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(wilsonsin @ Apr 25 2019, 02:27 PM)
Mind low sRGB display? (less vibrant colours)
diaBoliQu3
post Apr 25 2019, 08:15 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 25 2019, 05:19 PM)

E series = Consumer series - Basically you get okayish build quality with their good keyboard + trackpoint

L series = It's a step-up from E series. You get some of the things from the expensive thinkpad like better build quality , MIL spec , spill proof

T series = Legendary series - It's best of the best that one can afford and to buy
So to be honest it depends how long you want the laptop to last. If you want it to be super long , consider T/L series. If you are on a budget , E series would do the trick
So I read that E is just a consumer series with Thinkpad label. While L is more like 20% of the T series, which makes me wondering if its really worth it getting E4xx over the Ideapad, Swift 3, Matebook or Spin series.

Read that E series is improved now, and consumer series is improving too? But when I search Thinkpad quality equivalent, people still recommend Thinkpad. laugh.gif Any explanation for this?
ZM Fong
post Apr 25 2019, 10:17 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Apr 25 2019, 08:15 PM)
So I read that E is just a consumer series with Thinkpad label. While L is more like 20% of the T series, which makes me wondering if its really worth it getting E4xx over the Ideapad, Swift 3, Matebook or Spin series.

Read that E series is improved now, and consumer series is improving too? But when I search Thinkpad quality equivalent, people still recommend Thinkpad.  laugh.gif Any explanation for this?
True, E series is consumer series, but the build quality is still good compared to other good consumer models
prasys
post Apr 25 2019, 10:31 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Apr 25 2019, 08:15 PM)

Read that E series is improved now, and consumer series is improving too? But when I search Thinkpad quality equivalent, people still recommend Thinkpad.  laugh.gif Any explanation for this?
E series is just improved over normal consumer laptop. It's for prosumers and want the legendary Thinkpad look and feel + the keyboard

L series is more like 60% of it . The reason why people say get Thinkpad is that you can easily upgrade some of the things yourself without voiding the warranty and plus you can find spare parts easily to replace it. It's designed for enterprise use - so you know companies dont change laptop every 2 years
ryukidoreoh
post Apr 26 2019, 02:22 PM

22 posts

Need help to make a decision.

Illegear Prodigy
Illegear Rogue
Level 51 Forge 15.

All are using latest 9th gen CPU. Prodigy and Rogue come with GTX1660ti, while Forge 15 is paired with RTX2060. The price and weight are fine.

Which models has better build and thermal?

Thank you.

wilsonsin
post Apr 26 2019, 02:58 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 25 2019, 05:24 PM)
Mind low sRGB display? (less vibrant colours)
a bit, but nvm
spec and price is main concern
zaztheman
post Apr 26 2019, 03:15 PM

QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 25 2019, 05:19 PM)

Thank you sifu!

this definitely will help me clear my mind cool2.gif
ZM Fong
post Apr 26 2019, 03:50 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(ryukidoreoh @ Apr 26 2019, 02:22 PM)

Need help to make a decision.

Illegear Prodigy
Illegear Rogue
Level 51 Forge 15.

All are using latest 9th gen CPU. Prodigy and Rogue come with GTX1660ti, while Forge 15 is paired with RTX2060. The price and weight are fine.

Which models has better build and thermal?

Thank you.
Wait for reviews first. Both Illegear models use TongFang chassis while Forge 15 is Clevo NH57. If I have the time I'll do reviews on them
ZM Fong
post Apr 26 2019, 03:53 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(wilsonsin @ Apr 26 2019, 02:58 PM)
a bit, but nvm
spec and price is main concern
13 inch+convertible+good display:
Lenovo Thinkpad L390 Yoga, L380 Yoga - upgradable RAM
HP Spectre x360 13-AE089TU / 13-AP0044TU
Lenovo Yoga 730 13 customize (can configure 16GB RAM)
Acer Spin 5 SP513-53N-52HJ, SP513-52N-58QD
diaBoliQu3
post Apr 26 2019, 07:23 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 25 2019, 10:17 PM)
True, E series is consumer series, but the build quality is still good compared to other good consumer models
Thank you for conforming this. I'll try to customize the L series first and compared with other laptop that you recommended in the previous post. For unknown reason, I'm really hooked by the Thinkpad although I admit the design is quite boring when compared to others.

QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 25 2019, 10:31 PM)
E series is just improved over normal consumer laptop. It's for prosumers and want the legendary Thinkpad look and feel + the keyboard

L series is more like 60% of it . The reason why people say get Thinkpad is that you can easily upgrade some of the things yourself without voiding the warranty and plus you can find spare parts easily to replace it. It's designed for enterprise use - so you know companies dont change laptop every 2 years
Thank you for detail explanation regarding L series > E series in your previous post too. What you mentioned above really make sense to me.

The reason I'm very fussy this time because my previous Inspiron 5437 caused me quite issue. The plastic casing suddenly crack few months out of the factory. Somehow I admire their superb warranty service, they replace the casing on the spot after complaint. Then the CPU fan stop working after few years causing overheating issue. Not sure if its my fault for swapping the RAM which I done many times in other laptop and computer, there's an electrical spark + fire + smoke at the power plug slot. doh.gif

And that's how I kinda interested with business series laptop. But again I'm typing this from my wife's old Asus A43S. It's thick, bulky, heavy, and the OEM battery last less than 2 hours, still it served me well and proved me consumer laptop is not that bad considering luck is on our side. laugh.gif Ironically, I used to avoid Asus due to the slow service at Kuching, but that was years ago. hmm.gif
ZM Fong
post Apr 26 2019, 07:56 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Apr 26 2019, 07:23 PM)
snip
Business laptop design is boring, but they have better QC except for low end models like Thinkpad E (Not as good as before though, even high end business laptops will have QC issues. Still better than consumer laptops)
diaBoliQu3
post Apr 26 2019, 08:18 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 26 2019, 07:56 PM)
Business laptop design is boring, but they have better QC except for low end models like Thinkpad E (Not as good as before though, even high end business laptops will have QC issues. Still better than consumer laptops)
Noted... I don't mind the design as long I can get a decent build, and maybe on par spec or a tad below. I think QC is beyond our control.

BTW may I know what do you mean with above line? Referring to E series or generalized to business laptops.

This post has been edited by diaBoliQu3: Apr 26 2019, 08:20 PM
ryukidoreoh
post Apr 26 2019, 08:47 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 26 2019, 03:50 PM)
Wait for reviews first. Both Illegear models use TongFang chassis while Forge 15 is Clevo NH57. If I have the time I'll do reviews on them
Ok. Thank you.

155 Pages « < 124 125 126 127 128 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:03 PM