2,075 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Sep 23 2021, 12:03 PM)
House type: Landed
Size of house: 2000sqf / 2 storey
Features required: Just reccoemend me the best one
Number of devices connected to WiFi: plus minus 11-12 devices
Internet Speed: 100mbps
Budget:RM500-1000

I just want something that can last long because right now every year got upgrade internet speed
Get deco x20 since it going on sale soon

or for better software experience 2x asus ax55/56u and set up aimesh
MyProLife
post Oct 17 2021, 04:10 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

QUOTE(luminaire @ Oct 17 2021, 02:51 PM)
thinking about getting a new router, is wifi6 backwards compatible? for example i have ps4 fat, old android phones an iphone 6s, can they still connect?

currently living in small double storey terrace, if the signal cant cover all the home, can i just use existing router for internet and use new router for the wifi? maybe ill just put the new router at the stairs for coverage
Yes, should be backwards compatible, however for some Intel wireless ac card models, must update to latest drivers

You can try to get new router to be in Access point mode, where applicable. Alternatively, get mesh wifi system for better overall experience.
MyProLife
post Oct 23 2021, 08:49 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Oct 23 2021, 07:47 PM)
if i were to add mesh nodes downstream of my router (192.168.1.1), do mesh nodes have DHCP server (therefore creating another subnet such as 192.168.2.1)?
No, the competent mesh system should assign mesh satellites/ nodes under the same subnet as main node using main node DHCP (in router mode)

Main node: 192.168.1.1
Satellite node should be 192.168.1.x (same subnet) also
MyProLife
post Nov 16 2021, 08:36 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

After all TUF AX5400 is actually repackaged tufAX3000 with almost identical hardware but different shell. So nothing much special

Asus recently like to repackaged identical hardware with many different shells
Another identical model under ROG branding called Strix ax5400 also using similar hardware but somehow differentiated by additional "look and feel" like Aura RGB lightning

Also the AX82 is another identical one. Neither under tuf or rog but still having gaming oriented features like above models

This post has been edited by MyProLife: Nov 16 2021, 08:38 PM
MyProLife
post Nov 17 2021, 06:38 AM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Nov 16 2021, 09:18 PM)
The TUF-AX3000 and TUF-AX5400 are totally different hardware.

Source: I performed a teardown for both of them in my review.

https://www.blacktubi.com/review/asus-tuf-ax5400/

https://www.blacktubi.com/review/asus-tuf-ax3000/
The board might appear different but basically TUF AX3000 is actually 4t4r design but software limited to 2t2r (can be unlockable to 4t4r by flashing certain firmware version with "assassin mode" so actually is ax5400 class in disguise)
MyProLife
post Nov 26 2021, 09:47 AM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

QUOTE(sinnlig @ Nov 26 2021, 04:12 AM)
Hi guys can recommend Asus router for 3 storey 5000sqft house for 800mbps unifi?

Should I get Asus router on G floor then aimesh on 1F and LG?
ax11000 + 2x XT8
MyProLife
post Nov 26 2021, 01:03 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

QUOTE(sinnlig @ Nov 26 2021, 10:31 AM)
Is that the best or got any cheaper alternative lol. Getting both is quite pricey.
Substitute ax11000 as main router with dual band model is possible. After all dedicated backhaul can be still made with triband mesh node.

So slightly cheaper alternative : at least TUF ax5400/AX82U paired with XT8 x2
MyProLife
post Dec 17 2021, 07:54 AM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

QUOTE(Aivihc @ Dec 17 2021, 02:25 AM)
hi can recommend for 1000sq apartment? just recently move in. before this using wired ( i know its the best) currently still running on stock tm router (more than 3 year, Archer C1200 ahaha).  budget below RM500. usage : less gaming , more on productivity and entertainment. 3 users.
AX73
MyProLife
post Dec 27 2021, 10:33 AM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

QUOTE(desmond1310 @ Dec 26 2021, 07:57 PM)
Hi guys, I am unsure if my question is redundant but i try to fashion it to be relevant anyways:

I am on TIME fiber 500mbps plan.
Current router is Huawei WA8021V5.
Current modem is Huawei HG8240H5.

All the buzz around WIFI 6, i want to capitalize on the OFDMA and MU-MIMO tech and convinced to upgrade now.

What needs to change? The router only? or both router + modem?
May I have a recommendation of what brand and model?

I have my TIME username and password with me. Is that enough to setup with when i get the new WIFI 6 hardware? Or do i need more info?

Does my device needs to support WIFI 6 to make use of the OFDMA/MY-MINO tech? Main phones at home are iPhone XS, Mi 9T Pro, Redmi 10, Huawei Nova 3i (all support WIFI 5 only)

Many thanks in advanced.
1. Just router only
2. OFDMA is just for wifi 6 devices (both client and router) only. MU-MIMO is since AC wave 2, but need at least 4 stream models and also depends on client wireless hardware for support optimally
3. depending on budget. around RM500 can get TP link ax72/73, if above that consider ASUS ax series at least AX82U/TUF 5400

MyProLife
post Dec 27 2021, 10:40 AM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Dec 26 2021, 06:54 PM)
why is motherboard with wifi 6E allowed for sale here but not routers?
in china TP link also started selling wifi 6E router high end models (with luxurious design not found elsewhere like big a** square antennae design)
https://www.tp-link.com.cn/product_2177.html
but China also not open 6E 6ghz spectrum yet. therefore the firmware by default is not enabled, but can change 'country/area' setting to enable that.

if some distro manage to bring in wifi6E router here also I think will disable by firmware from factory
MyProLife
post Dec 28 2021, 03:56 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

QUOTE(Abetterway @ Dec 28 2021, 03:41 PM)
Hi, I am in double storey house, router on ground floor and poor wifi signal at my 1st floor bedroom.

Should i get the deco m4 as ap? Will it improve the signal at 1st floor bedroom?

Thank you.
yes 2x m4 will greatly improve the signal over the ISP router
MyProLife
post Feb 8 2022, 02:05 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

QUOTE(Dark Panda @ Feb 8 2022, 10:37 AM)
Hi all. I have a question regarding setting up TP Link Deco Mesh as router mode.
As normally in AP mode, the mesh will connect to a router and it will become a node to connect with another unit of mesh (1 router + 2 mesh).
But if it is set up as router mode, can it still act as the node to connect with the other mesh unit? (Total only 2 mesh used)
Or is it now I will need to have another 1 more unit of mesh to be the node? (Total 3 mesh: 1 as router and 2 as mesh?)
In router mode is 2-in-one mode for main router node that can still act as the node, you don't need add another router anymore (so only 2 mesh units)

This post has been edited by MyProLife: Feb 8 2022, 02:06 PM
MyProLife
post Feb 8 2022, 08:42 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

QUOTE(nikaizad @ Feb 8 2022, 07:41 PM)
MR tubi, my house is 70x30 (i think). the current router is a DIR850L cylinder, put near the stairs on the 2nd floor, and the reception downstairs living room is slow 20mbps on 2.4ghz. Cannot get 5ghz at the main TV.

Can AX72 fix this problem? if not do you recommend anything better under 500 ringgit.  My unifi plan is 100mbps onlly
Yes of course (unless suboptimal location in double story or condo)

QUOTE(Imhoteppp @ Feb 8 2022, 07:47 PM)
Hi guys. Has anyone find the solution to TP Link Deco Mesh source signal? My 3rd AP always change source signal to the farthest main router and I cant choose the source signal for each AP. Im using Deco M4
Wait for firmware update 1.6
MyProLife
post Feb 13 2022, 05:33 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

QUOTE(sixshot @ Feb 12 2022, 06:56 PM)
Between tplink ax55 n asus rtax 55, which one is better? Both around rm300+
Get tplink if budget just around 300+. Asus at this budget is mediocre
MyProLife
post Feb 20 2022, 03:33 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

Did you try this to troubleshoot

https://www.tp-link.com/my/support/faq/2400/

Also what is the firmware version on BOTH units, you can check from the app

Also check for update again from app. Latest update being pushed days ago
Deco M4(US)_V2_1.5.4_220113
Published Date: 2022-02-14
Language: Multi-languageFile Size: 12.22 MB

Modifications and Bug Fixes:
1. Fixed the bug that Deco loses Internet connection under some ISP lines.
2. Improved system reliability.

This post has been edited by MyProLife: Feb 20 2022, 03:41 PM
MyProLife
post May 4 2022, 10:54 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

Hi sifu blacktubi

I am interested in Xiaomi Mesh AX3000 because it appears to be much cheaper than tp link of similar spec

Is this model ever officially bring in Malaysia? So far only see some xiaomi resellers sell this with mixed warranty between 6 months shop warranty to 12 months xiaomi Malaysia warranty (as one of these reseller claims)

Will this model works with Unifi VLAN and IPTV? Assuming is global version(English language firmware) should works?

Why this model cannot ever found in Xiaomi Global store online? That one big question about the availability

In conclusion will you recommend this model or spend about 50 percent more for TP Link Deco X50 which is from tried and tested brand? If so why?
MyProLife
post May 16 2022, 02:07 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

QUOTE(joequah1 @ May 16 2022, 02:27 AM)
My condo is using single phase.

The studio is my workspace, thus would like to obtain full speed if possible.
For full support of 300mbps and above, consider 3-band mesh models like

Deco M9 plus
Deco X68
Deco X90

Asus XT8
Asus XT12
MyProLife
post May 16 2022, 03:52 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

QUOTE(joequah1 @ May 16 2022, 03:46 PM)
Does wifi 5 and 6 make any difference?
only when your phone/laptops also support wifi 6 AND you are on at least 500mbps subscription
MyProLife
post May 16 2022, 03:59 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

QUOTE(joequah1 @ May 16 2022, 03:56 PM)
I see
My devices do support 6, but since my isp plan is below 500mbps

So getting wifi 5 is OK right
yes its still okay

but the wifi 6 router will has better range
MyProLife
post May 29 2022, 03:01 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

QUOTE(imation1314 @ May 29 2022, 01:51 PM)
Hi All sifus,

May i seek advise which router is enough to cover a 22x75 double storey 2200 sqft with typical layout 3 bed room upstairs , 1 guest room downstairs  ?
I am eying on 2 unit of ASUS ZenWiFi AX XT8, or any other recommendation that is good for a double storey ?

My thoughts is place 1 unit at downstairs living room and another one at upstairs 2nd living room some other details as below:

- Unifi package is 300 mbps not expect 300mbps at every corner but at least 100 to 200mbps with stable wifi connection ?
- 3 people in the house and each have laptops and mobile phones
- Not using smart home system
- Some home appliances may need wifi connectivity : Washing machine, 2 TVs(living room and master room).
XT8 more than enough for your situation

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:58 PM