50 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V20, 5% M2 Amex on weekend spending (NOT ALL)

ClarenceT
post Dec 23 2020, 10:36 AM

14,944 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Dec 23 2020, 10:30 AM)
Any difference?  hmm.gif
Not sure if cross account redemption is still allowed, otherwise you need 10000 TP @ Visa/MasterCard, 10000 TP @ Amex, instead of 20000 TP @ Amex.
ClarenceT
post Dec 24 2020, 05:23 AM

14,944 posts

QUOTE(lowkelvin @ Dec 23 2020, 11:24 PM)
may I know does anyone able to use AMEX for paying bill/reload Prepaid on Shopee?

I have my AMEX card saved into Shopee,
and I'm able to use my AMEX to checkout item.

But when I come to bill payment and prepaid reload,
Shopee always showing "Oppss Payment failed",
in the meanwhile,
Maybank APP pushed notification mentioned that amount is charged
(The transaction didn't PO after 2 days)
You didn't check your available credit limit at M2U Web? Ignore the M2U message.
Amex - Shopee digital goods doesn't work yet, use ShopeePay instead, forget Amex.
ClarenceT
post Dec 24 2020, 04:32 PM

14,944 posts

QUOTE(copterbandito @ Dec 24 2020, 03:33 PM)
Hi, no experience in credit card. Read that for MBB 2 cards AMEX got cash back and 5X points while mastercard only 1X point. So what is the purpose of mastercard since I will be using AMEX for all transactions due to cashback on weekend and more points. Is my logic right?
The bundled cards were born in Feb 2011, when Amex was not widely accepted (Even today Amex is not accepted by some merchants). M2 Visa/Mastercard is the backup card, it was really good at the beginning, when Treatpoint value = 0.5% (now devalued to 0.2%), you hardly found good cashback cards at that time. I earned a few thousand RM from using my M2 Visa (campaigns), +RM50 rebate every month using M2 Amex.

Now you can get a lot of good cashback Visa/Mastercard and e-wallets, so M2 Visa/Mastercard is a junk for some people. However, you can't apply for a stand-alone M2 Amex. If you just want a Amex, then apply for stand-alone Amex, but the card won't give you 5% weekend rebate and 5xTP on weekdays.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Dec 24 2020, 04:35 PM
ClarenceT
post Dec 26 2020, 07:32 AM

14,944 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Dec 26 2020, 07:19 AM)
The interchange fee for credit card transactions paid by merchants should be the same 1.10%, regardless of which credit cards used by customers (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and so on).

If I am not mistaken, the credit card terminals are by default linked to Visa and MasterCard network. If the merchants want to accept American Express credit cards, the merchants need to pay extra fee to their acquirer bank, to link the credit card terminals to American Express network (via Maybank).

If the merchants are willing to pay such extra fee, the credit card terminals from any acquirer bank (not necessarily Maybank) can accept American Express credit cards.

Correct me if I am wrong. As such, the acceptance of American Express credit cards among the merchants is not wide, probably due to extra fee to link the credit card terminals to American Express network, rather than the interchange fee.

For sure, some merchants may have misconception that it is more expensive to accept American Express credit cards, and that is not entirely true, because Bank Negara Malaysia stipulates that the interchange fee for Visa, MasterCard and American Express credit cards is same at 1.10%.
The interchange fee will drop to 0.48% on 1/1/2021.
ClarenceT
post Dec 26 2020, 04:07 PM

14,944 posts

QUOTE(liverpooluc @ Dec 26 2020, 01:38 PM)
Been searched on the thread but not sure if which is the correct info.

If I pay my insurance on weekend with amex (online - payment gateway not FPX or Jompay. Offline over the counter) , would it be entitled with 5% cash back? Otherwise I will just pay it on weekday. Just received the card, planning to to spend 500 in the 20 days to get the 280 cash back .

Etiqa / Etiqa Takaful?
ClarenceT
post Dec 27 2020, 05:42 AM

14,944 posts

QUOTE(liverpooluc @ Dec 26 2020, 09:50 PM)
Prudential
Just curious, Prudential accept Amex now?
ClarenceT
post Dec 27 2020, 08:24 AM

14,944 posts

QUOTE(Wolgie @ Dec 27 2020, 06:59 AM)
Okie. See ur msg.
I faast fast go PRU test payment.
Ipay88..... cannot AMEX.
But if can AMEX, still use boost better, right? as boost consider more then 5% rebate
If you got your Boost credit at >5% rebate from monthly+campaigns and if you use Boost purely on "real spendings" only.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Dec 27 2020, 08:24 AM
ClarenceT
post Dec 27 2020, 06:24 PM

14,944 posts

QUOTE(Anangie @ Dec 27 2020, 06:10 PM)
if i top up shopee pay with amex on weekend, can entitle for 5% cash back for amex?
ShopeePay is an ewallet.
ClarenceT
post Dec 29 2020, 12:22 PM

14,944 posts

QUOTE(notalowyer @ Dec 29 2020, 11:18 AM)
gd morning, i'm new here. I would like to ask abt maybank cc.

Recently i applied 2nd mortgage loan with maybank (300k) and the officer applied for me a so called preapproved maybank2card gold.

The mortgage loan was approved but the credit card isn't. I called the bank and they told me it was rejected but no reason given.. I was wondering why because my annual income is more than 100k per annum, got epf also (20 years working) and only loan with Maybank. Monthly income also more than 9k per month. Never missed a payment. Has anyone experience this?

If i go to card centre apply that would make a different?

*DSR also only show 43%, no any missed payment record on ccris, all show 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
You have 2 mortgage loans, all from Maybank?
(ie Malayan Banking Berhad, not Maybank Islamic Berhad)
You don't have any commitment from other banks?

If your existing commitments are with Malayan Banking Berhad only, you should be able to get a credit card from Maybank (not Maybank Islamic), supposed to be "pre-approved" for a simple reason - "Cross default" clause and backed by securities.
ClarenceT
post Dec 29 2020, 12:35 PM

14,944 posts

QUOTE(notalowyer @ Dec 29 2020, 12:24 PM)
Yes correct. Both mortgage loan from Malayan Banking Berhad (Maybank). Both of them totalled about RM400k for the both loan. The 1st loan approved on 2011 and still paying today without any missed payment..
Talk to the Maybank officer who handled your new mortgage loan or Maybank Card Centre.
I had a bad experience turned down by their robot... based on your income level, you shall apply for M2 Platinum or Premier, the robot might have been programmed to think that you were not suitable to get a M2 Gold card! Only humans at Maybank Card Centre can rectify it. devil.gif

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Dec 29 2020, 12:35 PM
ClarenceT
post Dec 30 2020, 11:47 AM

14,944 posts

QUOTE(notalowyer @ Dec 30 2020, 11:18 AM)
I just talked to the officer that managed my mortgage loan...He said currently i am having 2 loan from different entities which is Malayan Banking Berhad (Maybank) and Maybank Islamic Berhad..I think i signed for conventional loan lol but its okay. But still, since I am having 2 different loan from separate entities, does that affect the credit card rejection? One thing, last time i checked on my CTOS on credit application, i see (2) records, one is the new mortgage loan, another one is unknown (only shown as Maybank) but the amount applied is RM70,000. Is that the credit card CL amount applied? That's why my CC is rejected? The mortgage loan officer doesnt reveal much infomation to me.
You have a secured loan (property) with Maybank (conventional), it is very safe for Maybank to give a credit card. Cross default - if you fail to pay CC debt, Maybank can lelong your property, you are in better position (to apply for a Maybank CC) than most of Maybank CC users (including myself) who only have unsecured credit facility.

Write a letter (email/fax) to Maybank Card Centre for reconsideration, humans will rectify it, hopefully.
(I did it when I was rejected by M2U for an additional card. Within 1 week after I appealed, I got approval and surprisingly my credit limit was increased by 50%).

ClarenceT
post Dec 30 2020, 12:10 PM

14,944 posts

QUOTE(tru.shyne @ Dec 30 2020, 12:05 PM)
anyone know
maybank credit card relief assistance plan
convert your cc into installment plan
have any interest?
if not, is it better than balance transfer
Don't dream.
https://www.maybank2u.com.my/iwov-resources...rium-cc_faq.pdf

Even loan and hire purchase are not interest-free.
ClarenceT
post Jan 5 2021, 10:37 AM

14,944 posts

QUOTE(notalowyer @ Jan 4 2021, 08:06 PM)
Update : After emailing MBB Card Center, I still got rejected despite I've given them the point that I have secured loan with them. Seems like Maybank doesn't want to give me their CC sweat.gif . However, if I try submit new application for Maybank Islamic CC, can I do it or must wait 6 months before applying any CC? Since Maybank Berhad and Maybank Islamic is a different financial identity. I asked the CS about this, as usual their answer is must wait 6 month before applying new card.

Thank you.
You will deal with the same group of people, both Maybank CC and Maybank Islamic CC are managed by Maybankard Centre.

Try another bank!

ClarenceT
post Jan 6 2021, 11:20 AM

14,944 posts

QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ Jan 6 2021, 10:42 AM)
Has anybody signed up for secure2u link to the Maybank2u app. Then unlink Secure2u and uninstall Maybank2u app.
So after that can that can STILL GET SMS NOTIFICATION again.

I called CS today, and he says if I do that I will still get my SMS Notification. SMS is important for CC usage.
I read discussion while back this is not true, once got App we will NOT get SMS Notification anymore. Sometimes CS also can be wrong.

Need to ask since the process can be irreversible.  sweat.gif  TQ  sweat.gif
Move forward to new era... MAE and Mobile data / Wifi always ON...
M2U/MAE notifications, secure2u etc are good. Don't rely on SMS-OTP and SMS notifications, they are no longer so useful, secured and friendly nowadays.

ClarenceT
post Jan 6 2021, 11:26 AM

14,944 posts

QUOTE(Wolgie @ Jan 6 2021, 11:23 AM)
i use Secure2u and fingerprint. Seem very useful and fast.
security future, not really sure. Just use it and check bill everytime.
SMS text messages are not encrypted, so can be hijacked, especially banks are using third-party service provider (eg Maybank - 66628).
ClarenceT
post Jan 6 2021, 11:42 AM

14,944 posts

QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ Jan 6 2021, 11:34 AM)
I trust the app and agree its better.

Just dont trust the phone and myself. If the phone get lost can be really scary.
If you lose your phone, nobody else can use your M2U/MAE App (password/PIN protected), but he/she can read your SMS. brows.gif
ClarenceT
post Jan 7 2021, 07:41 AM

14,944 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jan 6 2021, 08:30 PM)
hard? lol...been applied maybank cc since 20 years. every time got approved without any question....lol
A bit hard for a beginner.
I kena rejected by Maybank, but got approved by Mayban Finance (Maybank Finance just launched CC services in 1999-2000). I could enjoy Maybank CC benefits but I couldn't pay my CC bills at Maybank counters because it was a Mayban Finance account, no Maybank2u and Cash Deposit Machines 20 years ago. Mayban Finance was absorbed into Maybank so I ended up holding a Maybank CC. A few years later, converted to Maybank Islamic Ikhwan CC (Maybank Islamic just launched CC services in 2008-2009). I applied for M2 Visa+Amex and FCB VS when they were launched in 2/2011 and 10/2017 respectively. CL increased by almost 1000% over 21 years. smile.gif
ClarenceT
post Jan 7 2021, 04:55 PM

14,944 posts

QUOTE(alandhw @ Jan 7 2021, 01:32 PM)
Apply via portal? my application via portal always get rejected one.
Looking for manual submission, but couldn't find the option.
https://www.maybank2u.com.my/iwov-resources...onv-AppForm.pdf

e-mail to maybankcardsales@maybank.com.my

ClarenceT
post Jan 8 2021, 07:26 AM

14,944 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Jan 8 2021, 12:53 AM)
Nice, been holding back from swiping on weekdays since most of my makan places only accept cash and I shop mostly on weekends.

Most of F&B places now accept Favepay or ewallets which may give >3% cashback/reward. Majority won't accept Amex, and most of those accepting Amex are not contactless-ready!
ClarenceT
post Jan 8 2021, 08:55 AM

14,944 posts

QUOTE(beebee1314 @ Jan 8 2021, 08:54 AM)
Hey guys. Anyone tried paying stuffs in Shopee using AMEX. My transaction pops out error for trying to pay food deals in Shopee. Anyone with similar issues?
Not ready for digital goods section eg bill payment.

50 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0467sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:50 AM