125 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Bottom

Mountain Biking, ~ version 3.0 ~

konakok
post Aug 25 2007, 09:54 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Aug 24 2007, 08:28 PM)
can sell ur seatpost seperate?

what size is it?
I got a 27.2mm Specialized seatpost X 12inches long,F.o.C. if U are interested.
U only paid for postage from Penang.TQ
akchang
post Aug 25 2007, 03:09 PM

1,441 posts

ober,
wha? ya quittin mtb? well, it was fun riding kemensah with u dude! biggrin.gif hope u r back in mtb action next time !
dickybird
post Aug 25 2007, 07:37 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(Andy Lo @ Aug 3 2007, 01:21 AM)
Oh damn..I chocked on my biscuit after reading Night's reply... Good point! I mean Giant brand bikes are good, but bikes from Giant hypermarket, might break if you take it off-road.
bikes from giant! hahahahahhahahahahahhhahahahhahahhahahhahahahha

Nightstalker1993
post Aug 25 2007, 08:28 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

yay today went to Kiara first time rclxm9.gif

damn it was fun....

minus the leg-crunching uphill climbs,punctured rear tyre and broken chain link doh.gif

tyre puncture lucky got bring spare tube,pump and tyre levers,but the broken chain link was really.... -.-"

at least it broke during the DH section...no need to pedal much laugh.gif

and tested an uncle's bike with XT hydro brakes...

cannot lock the wheel 1 sweat.gif
dickybird
post Aug 25 2007, 09:28 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(Andy Lo @ Aug 11 2007, 10:00 PM)
Yea..at last found my pic of my Lerun bike. Sadly she ran away, erm no, she got KIDNAPED away already... @#%^&...  mad.gif  cry.gif
ah brings back the memories of good old days when things were a lot simpler and cheaper. now, want to change abit also cost few hundred! i tell you everytime i go to my LBS, i sure kena almost rm100!
i had a spez hardrock once in london, use it to commute to work, then one day on the way home go chinese takeaway tapau, it got stolen! now ride my jamis. right down there is my dreambike! once i get a chance i clena and polish my lovely lady Jamis and take pix and show you all.

TSme0wSter
post Aug 25 2007, 09:57 PM

www.me0wster.com
8,537 posts

Envy you all get to go cycling.. My bike collecting dust liao!
myaho2
post Aug 26 2007, 11:34 AM

504 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Aug 25 2007, 08:28 PM)
yay today went to Kiara first time rclxm9.gif

damn it was fun....

minus the leg-crunching uphill climbs,punctured rear tyre and broken chain link doh.gif

tyre puncture lucky got bring spare tube,pump and tyre levers,but the broken chain link was really.... -.-"

at least it broke during the DH section...no need to pedal much laugh.gif

and tested an uncle's bike with XT hydro brakes...

cannot lock the wheel 1 sweat.gif
Wish i could go to kiara someday.....wah....xt hydro got ABS ??? blink.gif btw.....what chain were you using?

Added on August 26, 2007, 11:38 am
QUOTE(dickybird @ Aug 25 2007, 09:28 PM)
ah brings back the memories of good old days when things were a lot simpler and cheaper. now, want to change abit also cost few hundred! i tell you everytime i go to my LBS, i sure kena almost rm100!
i had a spez hardrock once in london, use it to commute to work, then one day on the way home go chinese takeaway tapau, it got stolen! now ride my jamis. right down there is my dreambike! once i get a chance i clena and polish my lovely lady Jamis and take pix and show you all.
Presumably you were not using a u-lock. Made the same mistake last time where i was living in west London. Use a normal lock for my Raleigh bicycle near the broadway & next thing I know....it was gone cry.gif .....never use anything less than a u-lock where in London

This post has been edited by myaho2: Aug 26 2007, 11:41 AM
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 26 2007, 12:49 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(myaho2 @ Aug 26 2007, 11:34 AM)
Wish i could go to kiara someday.....wah....xt hydro got ABS ???  blink.gif btw.....what chain were you using?

Added on August 26, 2007, 11:38 am
Presumably you were not using a  u-lock. Made the same mistake last time where i was living in west London. Use a normal lock for my Raleigh bicycle near the broadway & next thing I know....it was gone  cry.gif .....never use anything less than a u-lock where in London
lol dunno la but he say he regretted buying it and he say the Juicy series is more powerfull than the XT..

but he say some ppl likes it coz it won't lock the wheel sweat.gif

and i'm using a KMC chain...it snapped at a link which i used to open last time -.-"
Andy Lo
post Aug 26 2007, 12:56 PM

2,360 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Aug 26 2007, 12:49 PM)
lol dunno la but he say he regretted buying it and he say the Juicy series is more powerfull than the XT..

and i'm using a KMC chain...it snapped at a link which i used to open last time -.-"
Y ur chain always snap? Something is not right..

I prefer brakes that dont lock, but powerful.. if lock, when you panic sure will endo.

But I think sometimes ppl go fos Shimano because of the brand, and to be sure.. But lately I tried a lot of brakes, the Juicy seems so much smoother.

* Will upload pics of my visit to Dreamwerkz in my next post.
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 26 2007, 01:00 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

i prefer brakes that are powerfull enough to at least lock the wheel....

once u have that,just get used to the amount of braking power u have and then u can control it nicely...

and wad u mean by always snap..

this is hte first time it snapped sweat.gif
myaho2
post Aug 26 2007, 01:25 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(Andy Lo @ Aug 26 2007, 12:56 PM)

I prefer brakes that dont lock, but powerful.. if lock, when you panic sure will endo.

But I think sometimes ppl go fos Shimano because of the brand, and to be sure.. But lately I tried a lot of  brakes, the Juicy seems so much smoother.

I am just curious.....how can you get a hydro brake that doesnt lock the wheel? Granted it will be more powerful than a mechanical disc brake but can't see how you cannot end up locking the brakes once you applied a lot of pressure on the lever. Even a car brake will lock unless it has ABS which i dont think hydro brakes have .

This post has been edited by myaho2: Aug 26 2007, 01:25 PM
ober
post Aug 26 2007, 02:48 PM

1,431 posts

bike collecting dust plus i need the money asap.

will get back with Kona Stinky. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(akchang @ Aug 25 2007, 03:09 PM)
ober,
wha? ya quittin mtb? well, it was fun riding kemensah with u dude! biggrin.gif hope u r back in mtb action next time !
normal problem if it snaps at the same place where u open it. u need the magic link dude. buy it.

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Aug 26 2007, 12:49 PM)

shimano brakes are okay in terms of braking power and weight. juicys, is just too complicated and not many LBS took the seminar to repair avid juicys.

QUOTE(Andy Lo @ Aug 26 2007, 12:56 PM)

But I think sometimes ppl go fos Shimano because of the brand, and to be sure.. But lately I tried a lot of  brakes, the Juicy seems so much smoother.

This post has been edited by ober: Aug 26 2007, 02:48 PM
Andy Lo
post Aug 26 2007, 02:56 PM

2,360 posts

QUOTE(myaho2 @ Aug 26 2007, 01:25 PM)
I am just curious.....how can you get a hydro brake that doesnt lock the wheel? Granted it will be more powerful than a mechanical disc brake but can't see how you cannot end up locking the brakes once you applied a lot of pressure on the lever. Even a car brake will lock unless it has ABS which i dont think hydro brakes have .
Low quality pads are the usual prob. But somtimes dirt, or the common and worst - oil.
Once kena a small bit of oil only the whole brake wont bite anymore.

Last time I was using some cap ayam pads...felt terrible. Like Night said, wheels wont lock. Then I switched to Shimano metal pads now, and they really bite... drool.gif
TSme0wSter
post Aug 26 2007, 03:04 PM

www.me0wster.com
8,537 posts

If you lock your brakes means your pressing too hard.. Common sense rite? Other than that, it means your brakes are not serviced or proper. That's one of the things that hydro brakes overcome. Progressive braking
Andy Lo
post Aug 26 2007, 03:15 PM

2,360 posts

Last time when I was using the cheaper pads, somehow no matter how hard I press, wont lock the wheel. And once was going downhill real fast with my friend, and suddenly braking power lost. I stopped and check, got smoke coming out from the pads! Haha... sweat.gif

But now with proper pads, wheels can lock and during downhill also still stable braking...

I think the equipment does matter when you're talking about going extreme.. Normal riding if use cap ayam pads then just press harder only lor...still will stop. But if rain/mud/high temperature, better get something more reliable.. Too bad that I blamed the DCL levers once for reducing braking power. Haha... Coz now also powerful already. flex.gif

Erm remember once I complained that after a mud ride, my brake pads worn off? somewhre last year we talked about it. But that day after the SP Jamboree, which was much muddier, this metals pads that I'm using now just performed well without wearing off. rclxms.gif

Btw Meow, u using Juicys right? Sure good la...

This post has been edited by Andy Lo: Aug 26 2007, 03:18 PM
TSme0wSter
post Aug 26 2007, 03:56 PM

www.me0wster.com
8,537 posts

I actually feel no difference between braking power of disc and rims when on dry. It's only when it's wet when the rim brakes start to phail on me..
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 26 2007, 07:51 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

and disc hydros have better modulation...

and also discs are less noisy...

when i went down bkt. Kiara my fren kept complaining my brakes are hurting his ears doh.gif
TSme0wSter
post Aug 26 2007, 08:00 PM

www.me0wster.com
8,537 posts

I ride with an air horn near me.. Air horn comes from my friends brakes which are...

* drumroll *

Yea, you guess it, disc brakes!
Andy Lo
post Aug 26 2007, 08:14 PM

2,360 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Aug 26 2007, 07:51 PM)
and disc hydros have better modulation...

and also discs are less noisy...

when i went down bkt. Kiara my fren kept complaining my brakes are hurting his ears doh.gif
Discs are less noisy??? Hmm..depends on brake pads.. Now that i'm using metal, really noisy. Sound like metal rubbing metal. If going downhill on a road, I think can hear from 20 metres away.
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 26 2007, 09:06 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

lol really? sweat.gif

my fren's Shimano Mechanical does not -.-"

and btw..

pedals for sale lol...

got myself a new pair of Tioga BMX Pedals sweat.gif

http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/view_sell.php?id=12078

125 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top