4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Clearing stocks before the coming crash, what have I missed out in the analysis?

markedestiny
post Aug 24 2018, 10:06 AM

764 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 24 2018, 09:53 AM)
Of course your margin of safety need to be large for you not to fear it.
Singtel
UMS
S-reits

Are some of my dividend machine.
how resilient were the S-reits during the 2008 recession?
markedestiny
post Aug 24 2018, 11:10 AM

764 posts

QUOTE(CE|C93 @ Aug 24 2018, 10:51 AM)
If enough investors think as you do, thats when we will have a crash. brows.gif
even technical analysis chart works along self-fulfilling prophecy too laugh.gif
markedestiny
post Aug 29 2018, 10:37 AM

764 posts

I am newbie, just started investing on stock few months back. Being inexperience, I have read up why the previous stock market crashes happened so that I would be caution not to be the one with the bag down along with the plunge

Currently, the market is too optimistic, taking every opportunities to rally and bull even with the slightest hint of easing of trade war tensions, turkey currency meltdown, etc. The previous crashes happened in the midst of positive sentiments and confidence that the market is all good

markedestiny
post Aug 29 2018, 11:52 AM

764 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Aug 29 2018, 10:47 AM)
My 2 cents ...

My personal view is, it is just not the right timing for a beginner to try the stock market near the end of the cycle when most companies are overvalued. The good sifus here can still make money regardless of the market.

Park your money in a safer place (like FD, ASX etc) first.

After the crash, then use the money to get some fair companies at wonderful prices. Study some companies now and get them when the prices are right after the crash.

Cheerio.
I have invested in some shares with PE <10, EPS >15 (value investing) despite my initial intention to keep longer term, have sold off all last month for small profit, keeping only REITs.

I usually read news and article from US/world market for head ups.
markedestiny
post Aug 29 2018, 11:58 AM

764 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Aug 29 2018, 11:44 AM)
I was in your same thought 1 year earlier. And I moved my money out of stock market since mid-last year  biggrin.gif

The market continued to increase, until recently, the stock market backed down.

Stock market has been giving me double digit return before 2018 (div + cap appreciation). I think I would have made double digit this year should I remain in stock market.

But investment is all about risk and return and comfort. Now that my return is much lower (4-6%), but much safer (mostly capital guaranteed). I am now a spectator from the ring side  biggrin.gif

Trust your own instinct and prepare to accept lower return if you are risk averse.

Great thread you started as most threads here are about how to invest, which stock to buy etc. Its an alternative view and reminding people things may go wrong...
So you are the one forumer who exited from the market mid last year, whom I can't recall the nick as I always wanted to ask you why the exit.

2017 was a good year for most investors as compared to this year which is very much volatile...too bad i didn't get started last year

This post has been edited by markedestiny: Aug 29 2018, 02:21 PM
markedestiny
post Aug 29 2018, 02:37 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(Fortezan @ Aug 29 2018, 02:25 PM)
Just a sharing from a global economy outlook workshop organized by a brokerage firm which I attended. According to their panel of speakers, most of them are of the opinion that this bull run will continue at least until the next US presidential election in 2020, reason being DT will do everything in his power to keep the US economy in good shape so that he can get re-elected for the 2nd term. After that, be very careful, the mother of all crash is coming
I'd be surprised if they did not discuss or take into consideration of the possibility of his impeachment, and yet encouraged investor to look far ahead into 2020
markedestiny
post Aug 29 2018, 04:55 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(Fortezan @ Aug 29 2018, 04:42 PM)
Like the trade war, whether the impeachment will be successful is still anyone's guess, but most signs are still showing a continuing bull run. 2020 is not that far ahead either, you'll probably have around 2 years to make the most out of this bull
S&P 500 already broken record, longest bull run since last crash, still can continue? Any good reasons, other than Trumponomics?

As it is, I still think the market is overly optimistic, taking every opportunities to go bullish

This post has been edited by markedestiny: Aug 29 2018, 05:33 PM
markedestiny
post Aug 30 2018, 03:00 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 30 2018, 09:42 AM)
The USD strength, and previous QE money around the globe that flowing back to US + tax cut money + dovish Fed, that resulted the bull keep on charging.

Based on history (which repeating many times) market won't tumbled if they were not making new high. 
So you need the market keep on going up a steep rate, before it can tumble.  laugh.gif
So what's your strategy, will you keep investing to ride the new high? biggrin.gif
markedestiny
post Sep 3 2018, 02:31 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Sep 2 2018, 12:24 PM)
No feedback/comment on my overview? Tolong lah.

Updated one as below. As of now, tempted with 70% probability to sell 90-95% of the shares, keeping some for sentimental reason. Ha.
[attachmentid=10003220]
I've read an article which shares your dilemma but not able to search back the article. Sorry, not able to provide the link.

The scenario is exactly like yours, in expectation of market downturn and when to sell...sell too early, you missed out the gains when the stocks in hand continue to grow; or sell too late, you get caught with your bag of holdings plunging downward.

The writer suggested to get around this, sell 60% of your portfolio and with balance 40%, continue to assess the market situation until you ar sure and confident of your decision, whether to sell all or continue to hold and assess market condition.

Whether or not, this make sense to you, do evaluate your risk appetite and decides for yourself how you want to proceed...your call at the end of the day.
markedestiny
post Oct 2 2018, 09:53 AM

764 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Sep 6 2018, 09:57 AM)
They say Sept is the worst performing month in the global stock market. Please don't take that as the bible truth. Ha. I wonder how many of the past recessions started in Sept.

Not trying to add fuel to the recession is coming fire, ok? Ha.

I am now P90 in selling my shares. Question now is when?

Plan is to monitor the shares:
* sales
* debt
* cash flow
* revenue
* dividend
* intrinsic value
* etc

and sell if one of the above goes out of the norm (on the negative side).

If the above are all OK, then sell when the price drops by more than -2 * std deviation (40 days).

Cheerio.
Quite alot of criteria to consider and monitor laugh.gif

What is your position now?
markedestiny
post Oct 2 2018, 10:34 AM

764 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Oct 2 2018, 10:05 AM)
Yes, too many to keep my eyes on. Only on dividends and price at the moment.

Got the -2*SD graphs in place now. Waiting for the day to jump out! Ha.

Please don't come back and lecture me that no one can time the market. I am not trying to time the market. Just want to know when there are strong signs that the company is not doing well and better get out then.

Cheerio.
I have taken interest in your scenario given that most retail investor would have the need to act, regardless of the timing. biggrin.gif
Will follow your update from time to time.
markedestiny
post Oct 2 2018, 05:09 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Oct 2 2018, 12:31 PM)
You are breaking my no 1 rule, do not blindly follow others. Ha.

Instead of using Excel to do the 2SD monitoring, can use Bollinger chart in most stock software. Don't use one indicator in your decision making. Use at least 2 independent indicators.

Eg
* the sun rises
* now it is bright
then the 2 criteria are met! Not really, one follows the other.

Same with price indicators. So beware!

Cheerio.
I mean I am interested to know how retail investor like yourself react to the scenario in anticipation of a market crash...

My opinion is that when the market really crash, it is without warning regardless of criteria you set for yourself.
markedestiny
post Oct 3 2018, 02:11 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Oct 2 2018, 06:16 PM)
I know what you mean. Good to have some people in the same line of looking ahead. Ha.

Mind sharing which construction companies you have and are not doing well due to ECRL or HSR? PM me the name. Curious to know.

If now it is not doing well, with recession, it will do even worse. Like I have said many times, I do not mean to add fuel to the fire (tiny little smoke at the moment?). Ha.
You might have read about my perspective on investing in p2p notes related to construction industry as whole in P2P thread. As such, I am not keen on construction related stocks in general. Maybe you mistaken me with others who shared about the construction stocks.

Generally I avoid any cyclical stocks if I buy and hold for invest, unless I do short term trading.

markedestiny
post Oct 3 2018, 02:36 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Oct 3 2018, 09:59 AM)
For the ones most likely to suffer a big drop (say >40%), selling them early will generate a bigger cash bucket for later use.

Some may recover later but why waste the x years for it just to break even?

cry.gif  vmad.gif  bangwall.gif
Let's see how much the market drops for S&P 500 since post-world war II.

The last recession 2007 - a whopping 57% drop.

Source: Moon Capital Management

markedestiny
post Oct 9 2018, 01:52 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 9 2018, 10:26 AM)
On average a drop of 20-30% during downturn is "normal", considered that the market has been going up almost non-drop for the last 10 years or so (for US market).

2007 is "whooping" event, that generally may only occur once of twice in one's investment life time.

Even with such history of "plunging", S&P still chunk out handsome gain over the long term, it just indicated long term investment works, provided one invested in right stocks and discipline throughout.
Yes, over long term in the long run, S&P can regain its loss but like Ramjade, I rather be in cash position than to stay invested and wait out/tied up during the the downturn rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by markedestiny: Oct 9 2018, 01:57 PM
markedestiny
post Oct 9 2018, 01:53 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Oct 9 2018, 10:05 AM)
2 strategies :

1. Sell everything, take the cash put in something very safe like FD. But return is low. Downside is what if no correction ? Lose out on dividends and low entry price (ie. expensive to buy back later)

2. Expect the correction, hold on to the portfolio for a few years for it to recover. Still receive dividends. Dividends from eg Reits are still better than FD. Upside is if no correction, return is much higher than money in FD. And entry price is preserved (ie. capital gain).

It is a difficult decision  biggrin.gif
There's another strategy which I have mentioned earlier, sell 60% first to secure at least 60% of your holdings and for the balance 40%, assess the market situation from time to time.
markedestiny
post Oct 9 2018, 01:56 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Oct 9 2018, 12:56 PM)
Instead of selling before the crash or at the highest price, what about shortly after the crash?

Let me finish my Scene 3 graph.
If shortly after the market crashed, which is usually very sudden and abrupt, would you be fast enough to exit and cut loss by then? smile.gif

This post has been edited by markedestiny: Oct 9 2018, 01:57 PM
markedestiny
post Oct 9 2018, 02:15 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Oct 9 2018, 02:08 PM)
Best thing to do is to look at the companies you have invested, see how fast they responded to past crisis. It will not be perfect science but that should be a good guide on how fast each responded to crisis.

Dont time it down to the day or cent.

Also, use 2-3 other parameters to help in gauging whether something is going wrong globally (eg SP 500, copper price, KLCI).

Cheerio.
I don't hold a lot of shares as I was only starting out recently, so it is easier for me to come to decision to exit from the market in anticipation of crash. Once sold, I don't want to regret the decision, there's always another day to buy back in future (after market recovery, of course) biggrin.gif
markedestiny
post Oct 12 2018, 09:47 AM

764 posts

Mini meltdown in the US stocks since Wednesday, is this the start to bigger crash or just another 'traditional' black october occurence...any thoughts?

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...nd=premium-asia
markedestiny
post Jan 8 2019, 09:33 AM

764 posts

Do you all think that we are currrently at the beginning of recession? IMHO, I think so based on what I have read although some analysts beg to differ.

Based on last recession in 2008/2009, by the time the recession was recognised officially, it was over and the market had went upswing. We know that it is not possible to buy at the bottom and if the market stays bearish for longer period, what would be your investment strategy.

I am beginning to pick up some slowly in small quantity, especially reits and dividend growth stocks which have historically able to outperform the market index over the long run and also some stocks which are too cheap to ignore.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0345sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:23 PM