7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Clearing stocks before the coming crash, what have I missed out in the analysis?

Cubalagi
post May 25 2019, 05:17 PM

4,495 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ May 25 2019, 01:31 PM)
If you have been staying in the sideline since 1 year ago then your patience is likely to be rewarded with buying opportunity coming up in the next 6 to 12 coming months
Yes but timing that entry is easier said then done.
Cubalagi
post May 26 2019, 06:10 PM

4,495 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 26 2019, 04:04 PM)
Normally a crash is preceded by a bubble. Is there a bubble? How extend is this bubble? Is this bubble impose systemic risks?
There is a debt bubble globally. Because of low interest rates, there is a lof debt out there n the world. Some thing can prick this bubble say Trade War.?

Cubalagi
post Jun 22 2019, 11:54 AM

4,495 posts

Negative yield means negative interest rate. Means for Borrower u borrow money u get money (instead of paying interest). For lender, U lend money u hv to pay the borrower.

This negative yield bonds is govt issued by countries facing deflation eg Japan, Europe. This is done to stimulate their economy, encourage ppl to borrow money n spend.

For the stock investor this is good, in the short term. In the long term, it's bad for everybody bcoz it's screwed up.
Cubalagi
post Jun 23 2019, 02:27 PM

4,495 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jun 23 2019, 01:36 PM)
Did you clear all your stocks? I saw that u started this thread in August last year.
Cubalagi
post Jun 24 2019, 11:05 AM

4,495 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Jun 24 2019, 09:33 AM)
I think this applies if you are not going to retire soon. Since TS started this thread , if you continued DCA during the high volatility, would have made lots of money as we have reached a few ATH since TS started this thread
I don't think he would hv made loads of money, if he stayed n DCA Not in Malaysian stock market now anyway. YTD KLCI is flat. So chances are he would lose some dividends. N if he DCA using mutual funds, he might be underwater due to the fees.

Of course we don't know wht next 6 month brings. But I think Malaysia stock market nowadays need to be nimble, in and out. Not blindly DCA.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Jun 24 2019, 11:26 AM
Cubalagi
post Jun 24 2019, 11:46 AM

4,495 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Jun 24 2019, 11:28 AM)
I too stay away from KLCI and only currently holding a few local stocks.

Our TS is quite knowledgable and has foreign investments, even I am a not seasoned investor ,but by  constantly buying SP500 or AAXJ will make you good money.

My simple StashAway portfolio is +15% and I started it last November IINM, and top up every week .
I think you are lucky coz Dec was the bottom of the correction, n now both market are at record highs.

But I also think tht those markets can easily fall 50% or more in a recession.KLCI, not so much, coz we already suck.. šŸ˜†

So I hope that Stashaway algo is fast enough if tht happens.. I tried to open a Stashaway account but I wasn't approved coz I hv more than 1 property loans..

Cubalagi
post Jun 24 2019, 12:54 PM

4,495 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Jun 24 2019, 11:51 AM)
Wa, 50% , I too am looking forward for the recession if it comes, looking to buy some good dividend yielding stocks !

But I have added money in when the markets were at previous ATH as well though,Ā  so it all works out for now as SP500 just reached another ATH last week.

Let’s see how the G20 meeting this week goes
Will u hv money at tht point in time tho.. šŸ˜‚

Buying at top is ok for the US market. Life is not fair, they hv wacko President n their market still go up n up šŸ˜† U try that (buy at tops) in Malaysia, Singapore n HK (China) markets.. U cry.

N even for US, will it continue forever? . the day of reckoning will come one day.. In 2008 SnP fell by more than 60% iirc.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Jun 24 2019, 12:58 PM
Cubalagi
post Jun 24 2019, 01:01 PM

4,495 posts

Sorry

S&P fell 56.4% in the last US recession

http://www.nbcnews.com/id/37740145/from/37740147/

Cubalagi
post Jun 24 2019, 01:25 PM

4,495 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Jun 24 2019, 01:10 PM)
Yes, I believe I will hehe, yes it will come one day! Don't dump everything inside, stay disciplined and within comfort level.

So you sold everything and holding on cash now ?
Nope...not all in cash.

My investment portfolio is roughly about 30% dividend stocks in My n SG n another 10% HK/China.. The rest in cash, bonds n gold.

Cubalagi
post Jun 28 2019, 02:06 PM

4,495 posts

G20.. Trump meting Xi tomorrow...šŸ˜…

Cubalagi
post Jun 29 2019, 05:44 PM

4,495 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Jun 29 2019, 05:03 PM)
Good news from today's meeting as well
Disaster averted! For the time being at least.

Monday morning buy HSI Calls.
Cubalagi
post Jul 8 2019, 12:50 AM

4,495 posts

I am currently HOLD. About 40% in Equities. Not buying more n not selling either. Wait and see.
Cubalagi
post Jul 8 2019, 02:14 AM

4,495 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Jul 8 2019, 12:58 AM)
Mind sharing what you're holding? I'm sitting at 20% Equities 80% Cash
Current holding Equities
Maybank (1155)
Bursa (1818)
China-ETF MYR (0829EA)

* counters might change anytime. I tend to take profit (usually too early) but will replace with some other stock. However, overall comfortable with 40% equity exposure atm.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Jul 8 2019, 02:32 AM
Cubalagi
post Jul 10 2019, 03:23 PM

4,495 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jul 10 2019, 01:04 PM)

My gut feel is -1 for the global banks, in general.
Compared to pre Global Financial Crisis, banks are much stronger. Read up on Basel I, Ii and III.

They are keeping higher capital, higher liquidity n better risk management. That's why Banks in general nowadays have lower profit growth. They are required to keep more cash/liquid instruments rather than deploying them more profitably. This has impacted their share price performance. Not just in Malaysia but almost everywhere.

Cubalagi
post Jul 11 2019, 11:07 AM

4,495 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jul 11 2019, 08:40 AM)
Noted and thanks.

Despite the higher reserve requirement resulting from the previous crisis, I don't think it will save them all when the real crisis comes. Like the common myth, too big to fall mentality?

:confused:  cry.gif  doh.gif
Too big too fail is not a myth, post 2008.

Under Basel they are called systemically important financial institutions and are subjected regularly to stress tests by regulators to ensure that they have enough capital in event of a crisis.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Systemicall...ial_institution

You have to accept the fact that Banks have improved a lot terms of capacity to face financial crisis. However tht is also a problem now because they are required to keep too much capital that their profitability suffers.

DB Is a prime example of this. DB is not having lack of money problems. It has too much money, not enough profits. And because in Europe they have negative interest rate, DB has to pay for that cash. With Germany economic. slowdown and trade war, they have problem with giving out loans. U combine the two and u will understand DB problem.

In this region, same challenges DBS, OCBC, Maybank etc..onlynot as bad Asean still have decent growth and interest rate not yet negative.
Cubalagi
post Jul 11 2019, 05:41 PM

4,495 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Jul 11 2019, 05:14 PM)
I think cant go wrong with FANG, been holding since 750s, bought 1 more share at 1700.

Let's see how it plays out during earnings in a couple of weeks
How much equity exposure u have in your investment portfolio atm?
Cubalagi
post Jul 11 2019, 07:39 PM

4,495 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Jul 11 2019, 07:31 PM)
If just pure equities , 17% US, 13% Malaysian equities. Not counting EQ UT and ETFs
If u count?

Cubalagi
post Jul 11 2019, 10:14 PM

4,495 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Jul 11 2019, 08:53 PM)
I think 40% approximately. . Need to check again, outstation now . What about you ?
40% Equities (Asean n China)
15% Bonds (MYR)
10% Gold
25% Cash (MYR)
10% Cash (USD)

Approximate.. Give or take 1-2%.

Investment outlook: A big horrible crash is coming but there is a now a good possibility of a nice big rally esp. for Emerging Markets, just before that.

Cubalagi
post Jul 12 2019, 01:38 AM

4,495 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jul 12 2019, 12:05 AM)
That one is sectoral crash, not as widespread as whole market crash. If sectoral crash is included, then we don’t have ā€œtrendā€ already. The 1987, 1998, 2008 are major and ā€œmemorableā€ crashesĀ  biggrin.gif
The whole Malaysian market crashed from 2q2014-2015. Not just OnG counters.

It didn't look so bad from a Ringgit perspective coz Ringgit crashed too.. But if u look at our market from a USD perspective, it was quite horrible.

Look at the price chart of EWM etf in that period for proof.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Jul 12 2019, 01:40 AM
Cubalagi
post Jul 12 2019, 12:28 PM

4,495 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jul 12 2019, 07:55 AM)
Putting forex into equation will complicate matters. I would look at a stock market from the home currency perspective.

If 1800+ to 1600 is a crash, then KLCI also experience crash last year when we changed the government. +-10% fluctuation is a lot more common. I am sure many market are having +10% just 2019 alone
Forex is not complicated to calculate at all.

When it comes to my financial well being and security I will take forex into account. I just don't wory abt short term fluctuations.

This is because debasement of currency is a real risk to financial long term health. U can take Venuzela as one example..Venuzelans who didnt take Forex into account (vast majority of them) are dirt poor now. Extreme case yah.. Malaysia not close to tht by large margin.. but well.. In the 90s it was USD1: 2.5 thereabouts. Now is 1USD:4+. Long term decline... In USD terms our market is actually cheaper now than it was in the peak of 90s.

When it comes to the big global crisis, usually people will run to the dollar n emerging currencies will fall. But dollar itself will also be de-based because Fed will lower interest rate to zero or negative. To protect against debasement of RM and fiat currencies in general, I make sure I hv USD n gold as insurance. However, in the short term, RM has been gaining vs the USD.

But my nightmare scenario is 2021-2022, global recession. 2023, Umno-PAS coalition wins GE...

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0893sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:51 AM