11 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V34, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

StuartLee2015
post Sep 12 2018, 11:50 PM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(wilson1stop @ Sep 12 2018, 11:46 PM)
shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
OMG, now you just know CAT5 is 100Mbps and CAT5e is 1000Mbps?
Actually, i know already yesterday night... Livechat with TM, TM show me a link where TM site have a table of it. Since the long one is Cat5 that i using to connect from RGX4400 to my pc, i am getting 89 to 91 Mbps..

StuartLee2015
post Sep 12 2018, 11:53 PM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Sep 12 2018, 11:48 PM)
Since you mentioned your cable is cat5 and not cat5e, we can skip that LAN link speed check. Make sure you are using CAT5e cable from I240G to RGX4400 too. Same with LAN cable from RGX4400 to PC's Intel 1219-V

Not much we can do now.
Can you at least ensure CAT5e cable is being used to connect I240G and RGX4400 now?
Let start with fixing your 5Ghz signal first. First, set both 2.4ghz and 5.0ghz wifi channel width to 40Mhz and 80Mhz respectively.
Orient your RGX4400 vertically with the TM logo side facing the direction you wanna focus.
Speedtest your 5ghz smartphone again using TM speedtest server.
Yes, i am sure, 1240G > Cat5e > RGX4400.
there's ' Cat5e ' printed on the blue wire. It comes from the STB box.

Okay. I will set 2.4Ghz on 40Mhz and 5Ghz on 80Mhz.
Update : I have set 2.4Ghz on 40Mhz and 5Ghz on 80Mhz...

next will orient my RGX4400 facing my room....

This post has been edited by StuartLee2015: Sep 12 2018, 11:55 PM
StuartLee2015
post Sep 13 2018, 12:02 AM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Sep 12 2018, 11:56 PM)
Max transmit power too.....
Samsung J7 Pro @ 5Ghz @ 80mhz

I am sitting in front like 10 cm close to router to get connected and max Wi-Fi strength . If I walk away like few steps , it will drop to the last dot of the Wi-Fi icon.

This post has been edited by StuartLee2015: Sep 13 2018, 12:04 AM

StuartLee2015
post Sep 13 2018, 12:08 AM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Sep 13 2018, 12:05 AM)
........-.-.......Just a quick check, how many 5Ghz hotspot detected on your area using the phone through wifi analyzer?
I think only me?

Max 100% power too... channel is 44...

This post has been edited by StuartLee2015: Sep 13 2018, 12:10 AM

StuartLee2015
post Sep 13 2018, 12:11 AM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(wilson1stop @ Sep 13 2018, 12:10 AM)
Not only you, but your phone unable to detect other 5Ghz hotspot.
Hahaha...
StuartLee2015
post Sep 13 2018, 12:13 AM

1,221 posts

5Ghz setting is like in the picture...

StuartLee2015
post Sep 13 2018, 12:17 AM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Sep 13 2018, 12:14 AM)
Hmm.....can you change 5ghz channel to 56, 104, 124,136 and 149? Speedtest again with these different channels.
Check if changing to different 5ghz channel make any difference or not. hmm.gif
Previous horizontal orientation result:
Speed test on Samsung J7 Pro: 60.0 Mbps, upload: 93.5 Mbps ( 5.0 Ghz )

After vertical orientation result:
Download 89.97Mbps , Upload 57Mbps (5.0ghz)

Strange indeed....I wonder why the result kinda 'reversed'  sweat.gif
These test is where i directly sit in front the router achieved speeds... lol...

Oh yes, 5Ghz signal strength is not that weak ( few steps away from router get disconnected and switched to 2.4Ghz ) right?
doens't have any obstacle also. orientation is facing me holding the phone. rclxub.gif
StuartLee2015
post Sep 13 2018, 12:24 AM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Sep 13 2018, 12:20 AM)
Aiyoyo.....try lah...change to different 5ghz channels......directly try channel 149........
Just now used 56, not in range, now using 149, my phone still cannot detect If i just step back few steps from router... rclxub.gif

Different SSID names too....
StuartLee2015
post Sep 13 2018, 12:36 AM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Sep 13 2018, 12:28 AM)
.....I am starting to think maybe your phone has bad signal reception issue. Faulty phone antenna or hardware? Do you have any other phone with 802.11AC wifi chip?  sweat.gif
Impossible so close to the router and can't detect the 5ghz signal.......
I guess so... my sibling have TAB S3, i borrow her's and try.

Update, her's the same, can't detect at all. Wonder what's wrong now.. lol

If this AC is like this, i bet the USB AC adapter will be the same, maybe not...

i have to get very very close, to the router to get 90% signal strength. if i lift the phone away from on top the router, it drop to 40% and if i step a little further, it goes down to 5% and then 0% and it switch to 2.4GHz ( 100% signal strength ) no matter how far i am from router. lol

This post has been edited by StuartLee2015: Sep 13 2018, 12:44 AM
StuartLee2015
post Sep 13 2018, 12:45 AM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Sep 13 2018, 12:39 AM)
That the strange part.
He posted a picture of the distance between his phone and router before 5ghz signal totally vanish here https://forum.lowyat.net/uploads/attach-74/...-1536766044.jpg

The distance is around 2 - 3 meters. Kinda impossible for signal loss to happen at that distance even for 5ghz.
Do you use any sort of phone cover?  hmm.gif
A metal in the phone cover will heavily attenuate or reflect the signal as well.

Try to remove the phone cover...... hmm.gif
no metal cover, a rubber cover only.
StuartLee2015
post Sep 13 2018, 01:04 AM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(Hungry_Wolf @ Sep 13 2018, 12:45 AM)
I notice there is a small fan close to the router. Possible the magnet from the fan causes interference to 5ghz signal?  hmm.gif
Cannot be that serious lo... blink.gif
StuartLee2015
post Sep 13 2018, 01:05 AM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(wilson1stop @ Sep 13 2018, 12:52 AM)
true, so he must test with another wifi and phones...
my phone is rubber cover, nothing else, no flip etc. .

I think i will be getting DIR878 later on, and cat5e or USB AC55 ..
StuartLee2015
post Sep 13 2018, 01:10 AM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Sep 13 2018, 01:08 AM)
Indeed, we had exhausted every possible scenarios and solutions.
It is time to throw in the towel..... wink.gif
hahaha... Pening kepala lol... wonder where's wrong ...
StuartLee2015
post Sep 13 2018, 01:34 AM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Sep 13 2018, 01:13 AM)
Anyway, you will not be able to get 500Mbps with Asus USB3.0 AC55.

You will need 3x3:3 wifi adapter to match your planned DIR-878 purchase.
oh... ? okay, not sure how to check if it's 3x3:3.... on other brands.
StuartLee2015
post Sep 13 2018, 01:46 AM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Sep 13 2018, 01:45 AM)
Set your 5GHz to 20MHz and channel 44.
Test and see if there is improvement.

Also, do you happen to have 2 SIM card for different country in your phone? Remove the foreign country SIM card if there is one
tested what you mentioned on 5ghz... nothing, only can connect if i sit in front of router and need really really close.

My phone is dual-sim, I use local Umobile sim, and i don't think it can affect that since i use wifi.... ?
StuartLee2015
post Sep 13 2018, 10:08 AM

1,221 posts

is it normal for me to get 30 to 40 Mbps on Chanell 1 @ 2.4Ghz of RGX4400 on USB DWA131 (300Mbps)?
unless i plug in LAN Cat5, i get 80 to 90 Mbps...
StuartLee2015
post Sep 13 2018, 11:33 AM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(wilson1stop @ Sep 13 2018, 10:17 AM)
Dude, wifi is half-duplex which mean you only get around 150Mbps if you BTU connected CAT5e to Router.

Don't FANCY what's they write about...
Then i should be getting at least 90 to 150 Mbps since I am already on RGX 4400?

I have seen other people with similar setup on 2.4Ghz get higher than what I get on 2.4 Ghz...
StuartLee2015
post Sep 13 2018, 01:02 PM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(wilson1stop @ Sep 13 2018, 11:38 AM)
then easy la...

Change everything including your router, cable, phone, laptop to get your dreamed turbo-speeds...  rclxs0.gif  rclxs0.gif
RGX 4400 cannot get at least 100Mbps on 2.4 Ghz?

But others RGX 4400 can output 100+ Mbps over 2.4 Ghz?

rclxub.gif
StuartLee2015
post Sep 13 2018, 01:28 PM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Sep 13 2018, 01:16 PM)
Back to your old habits again. Read 1st page, 1st post, green text. Your 2.4GHz is congested or full of intereference. Others might be okay. Why do you keep asking? Get your own router already, and go on the 5GHz AC band. Get something good and stop asking.
I would recommend the TP-Link C9. Get it from OOKAS, and you will get the latest version, which is V5.
I have been switching channels but can't get above 100mbps

What if I get new router , new cables, new usb Wi-Fi adapter, and can't event hit pass 100 Mbps? rclxub.gif
StuartLee2015
post Sep 13 2018, 01:57 PM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Sep 13 2018, 01:32 PM)
Sigh, start with your DIR-878 purchase.

Then speedtest 5Ghz 802.11AC with your J7 Pro. If speed is satisfactory and reach 200Mbps with your phone, then you can begin cable and adapter purchase.
Haha, right away ..

11 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.2014sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:18 AM