69 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

StashAway MY, New instrument for Malaysian?

honsiong
post Jan 4 2019, 04:13 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Jan 4 2019, 04:01 PM)
normal stock like buying apple or facebook etc.

newbie to investment, hope u guys dont mind  smile.gif
Index ETFs are much much safer. 1 company go down will impact your portfolio much much less when you indirectly own 500s of them.

In a way, you are not betting on just a company, you are investing in the economy at large.
TS[Ancient]-XinG-
post Jan 4 2019, 09:22 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Jan 4 2019, 11:29 AM)
-1% currency impact

Not really significant

What's your % ?
-0.5 MYR
+0.8 USD

doh.gif
honsiong
post Jan 4 2019, 11:13 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 4 2019, 09:22 PM)
-0.5 MYR
+0.8 USD

doh.gif
Ringgit very the strong under Tun M. rclxms.gif
TS[Ancient]-XinG-
post Jan 5 2019, 05:03 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jan 4 2019, 11:13 PM)
Ringgit very the strong under Tun M.  rclxms.gif
today

-0.1 MYR
+1.4 USD

LOLLLL
SwarmTroll
post Jan 6 2019, 12:01 AM

1,401 posts

The bond portion that Stashaway invests in is subject to US tax correct?
ViktorJ
post Jan 6 2019, 12:26 AM

Dancy Drinky Doggo
1,004 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Jan 6 2019, 12:01 AM)
The bond portion that Stashaway invests in is subject to US tax correct?
iinm not just the bonds, but any dividends from all categories are subject to it.
SwarmTroll
post Jan 6 2019, 12:48 AM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(ViktorJ @ Jan 6 2019, 12:26 AM)
iinm not just the bonds, but any dividends from all categories are subject to it.
Taxed on dividends and bond coupons, but not taxed on capital gains, if I didnt read wrongly.
honsiong
post Jan 6 2019, 12:52 AM

3,182 posts

Except CWB, All treasury bonds you will have your taxes returned, I posted this a few pages ago with my own FY2017 data.

Dividends are not taxed bcoz corporate level taxed ady.

SwarmTroll
post Jan 6 2019, 01:07 AM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jan 6 2019, 12:52 AM)
Except CWB, All treasury bonds you will have your taxes returned, I posted this a few pages ago with my own FY2017 data.

Dividends are not taxed bcoz corporate level taxed ady.
I see that risk of 30% and above has no fixed income (bonds) in it.

Wait so the withholding tax doesnt impact dividends then? As in already taxed in corp level?
honsiong
post Jan 6 2019, 10:10 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Jan 6 2019, 01:07 AM)
I see that risk of 30% and above has no fixed income (bonds) in it.

Wait so the withholding tax doesnt impact dividends then? As in already taxed in corp level?
IIRC yeap, except CWB. Check with customer support.
TS[Ancient]-XinG-
post Jan 6 2019, 10:15 AM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jan 6 2019, 10:10 AM)
IIRC yeap, except CWB. Check with customer support.
boss. I little bit confused with the 30% withholding tax.

meaning the dividend we received, and reinvested amount we seen in our account is only 70% of the amount we supposed to have?
Krv23490
post Jan 6 2019, 11:03 AM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 6 2019, 10:15 AM)

meaning the dividend we received, and reinvested amount we seen in our account is only 70% of the amount we supposed to have?
Yes sir

Then you will get back the some remainder like after the year ends like a previous member shared with us few pages ago.

If not mistaken.

Not sure whether remainder is after tax deduction ? Is there any tax deduction ?
honsiong
post Jan 6 2019, 12:10 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 6 2019, 10:15 AM)

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Jan 6 2019, 11:03 AM)
Yes sir

Then you will get back the some remainder like after the year ends like a previous member shared with us few pages ago.

If not mistaken.

Not sure whether remainder is after tax deduction ? Is there any tax deduction ?
Correct, you get 70% of bond interest first, next year they one shot claim back the other 30% withheld tax for you.
TS[Ancient]-XinG-
post Jan 6 2019, 03:50 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Jan 6 2019, 11:03 AM)
Yes sir

If not mistaken.

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jan 6 2019, 12:10 PM)
Correct, you get 70% of bond interest first, next year they one shot claim back the other 30% withheld tax for you.
meaning it will have the effect on our ROI. since 30% is not calculated. ain't it?
Krv23490
post Jan 6 2019, 04:07 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 6 2019, 03:50 PM)
meaning it will have the effect on our ROI. since 30% is not calculated. ain't it?
Yes just delayed few months. US tax law what to do..
TS[Ancient]-XinG-
post Jan 6 2019, 04:20 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Jan 6 2019, 04:07 PM)
Yes just delayed few months. US tax law what to do..
wow..... on top of fees.

this SA also quite hard to earn full.

and not delayed few months...

honsiong said around 1 year.....
SwarmTroll
post Jan 6 2019, 04:23 PM

1,401 posts

So everything else that StashAway invests (i.e. Equities), except CWB and Treasury Bonds (which can be claimed back later), will have no taxes?
Krv23490
post Jan 6 2019, 04:28 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 6 2019, 04:20 PM)
wow..... on top of fees.

this SA also quite hard to earn full.

and not delayed few months...

honsiong said around 1 year.....
Yeah, thats why some like to look for those Irish domiciled funds ? i read before in some other thread.

If only Malaysia has more ETFs. Want to enter KLCI etf also must go US (local 1 by ambank quite low volume and correlation seems to be off abit )

Do you know any other platform with this much ease for 0.8% ?
honsiong
post Jan 6 2019, 04:30 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Jan 6 2019, 04:28 PM)
Yeah, thats why some like to look for those Irish domiciled funds ? i read before in some other thread.

If only Malaysia has more ETFs. Want to enter KLCI etf also must go US (local 1 by ambank quite low volume and correlation seems to be off abit )

Do you know any other platform with this much ease for 0.8% ?
You look at other robos in singapore, dont feel like we will have better access to intl market anytime soon.

Again I havent tried FSMone and other brokers out yet, how good is it?
Krv23490
post Jan 6 2019, 04:35 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jan 6 2019, 04:30 PM)
You look at other robos in singapore, dont feel like we will have better access to intl market anytime soon.

Again I havent tried FSMone and other brokers out yet, how good is it?
I am a user for FSMone and so far quite happy with it. Decent fees for HK and SG stocks. US is abit more pricey and they charge a small amount on dividend.

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/new-to...icing-structure

Customer service by FSMone is top notch for me plus fund transfer quite easy. Opening bank account there i learn from the thread in LYN. Local bank - Instarem - SG bank - FAST transfer to FSMone.
Even their unit trust over there 0% fees.

So far i bought a few ETFs in HK and some shares in US to hold long term.

69 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0250sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:11 PM