QUOTE(ngeo88 @ Aug 29 2018, 01:25 PM)
Ya, mine one already change to this version, haha!! -+♠+-LYN Proton Persona IAFM Owners Club V55-+♠+-, The besi buruk counting it's days.
-+♠+-LYN Proton Persona IAFM Owners Club V55-+♠+-, The besi buruk counting it's days.
Aug 30 2018, 05:44 PM
5 posts Joined: Sep 2016 |
Aug 30 2018, 05:45 PM
QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ Aug 30 2018, 11:17 AM) Btw just to share with u all.. I went shopping for some parts on Lazada.. Combined with some discount codes and managed to get some really good deals all for around RM2k. Nice share. Basically bringing back my nearly 7 years 10 months old car back new. Would recommend e-shops in Lazada such as SM Auto, Vanli, The Spare Parts Shop etc.. Good and secure packing with bubble wraps and very quick delivery. Orders all were processed and shipped within 2 days. I will shop for this in short period after check tires condition. |
Aug 30 2018, 06:19 PM
155 posts Joined: May 2006 |
Sep 3 2018, 09:33 AM
QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ Aug 30 2018, 06:19 PM) Can get Hankook V12 Evo 2. Very good tires and cheap too. It's ultra high performance category. Mine I got cheapest is Rm270/pcs 205/55R16 Seems like very good value. Mine XM2 (195x60xR15) already cost more than that. Long lasting? As I know sporty tire normally the thread easily wear out. |
Sep 3 2018, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(wklow28 @ Sep 3 2018, 09:33 AM) Seems like very good value. I know XM2 last damn long but has uneven wear issues the last time I used it. Its an energy saving tire so I dont expect much performance out of it anyways. Mine XM2 (195x60xR15) already cost more than that. Long lasting? As I know sporty tire normally the thread easily wear out. Hankook V12 Evo2 is much quieter than the evo1, Grip level not sure as tires were brand new (<100km) when i went up genting last sat and it was skidding quite a bit. It was raining otw up so Im not blaming the tire. Personal experience the V12 evo1 grip level were on par with PS3 and T1R. Toyo T1R threadwear 240 (or 220 forgot ady) lasted 19k km, PS3 threadwear 280 lasted 28k km, V12 evo1 threadwear 320/340 lasted 33k km. V12 Evo1 was kinda hard wall and medium compound hence it was noisier than PS3 medium wall, soft compound.. PS4 threadwear 320 but it's way noisier than PS3, but grip level is god like. |
Sep 3 2018, 11:46 AM
198 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
hi guys
last week i went to SC for engine oil change than the mechanics said some oil leakage detected and came from engine top cover as per photos below and recommend to change the seal cam cover and oil filter cap for a new one. ![]() ![]() and they told me that brake pads almost left 10% for front and 30% for rear brake for your info my persona sv from year 2014 edition what do you think? thanks |
Sep 3 2018, 11:55 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
2,800 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL / SGOR |
QUOTE(dinnor @ Sep 3 2018, 11:46 AM) hi guys seal cam cover is normal prob for campro engine..i also experience this before..last week i went to SC for engine oil change than the mechanics said some oil leakage detected and came from engine top cover as per photos below and recommend to change the seal cam cover and oil filter cap for a new one. ![]() ![]() and they told me that brake pads almost left 10% for front and 30% for rear brake for your info my persona sv from year 2014 edition what do you think? thanks for brake pads it is cheaper to change outside such as bendix metal king and so on.. |
Sep 3 2018, 12:56 PM
1,286 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(dinnor @ Sep 3 2018, 11:46 AM) hi guys I change 3rd times already, 7 years car.... last week i went to SC for engine oil change than the mechanics said some oil leakage detected and came from engine top cover as per photos below and recommend to change the seal cam cover and oil filter cap for a new one. ![]() ![]() and they told me that brake pads almost left 10% for front and 30% for rear brake for your info my persona sv from year 2014 edition what do you think? thanks |
Sep 3 2018, 03:41 PM
QUOTE(Asus @ Sep 3 2018, 11:55 AM) seal cam cover is normal prob for campro engine..i also experience this before.. Bendix MKT are some seriously overrated pads. Overheats damn fast and makan disc like mad.. for brake pads it is cheaper to change outside such as bendix metal king and so on.. For a good budget brake pads, I will stick to either Mintye or Bosch Pads. These 2 budget brands are the only ones that didnt overheat too much after spirited drive down genting. https://www.lazada.com.my/products/bosch-ge...1.html?search=1 QUOTE(dannyw @ Sep 3 2018, 12:56 PM) Change Top gasket/seal cam cover? impossible need to change so often.. Mine after change never leaked till now and that was like 3 years ago. |
Sep 3 2018, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ Sep 3 2018, 03:41 PM) Bendix MKT are some seriously overrated pads. Overheats damn fast and makan disc like mad.. How about TRW brake pads ?For a good budget brake pads, I will stick to either Mintye or Bosch Pads. These 2 budget brands are the only ones that didnt overheat too much after spirited drive down genting. https://www.lazada.com.my/products/bosch-ge...1.html?search=1 or speedex sport ceramic brake pad? i'm using Bendix MKT too right now for front almost 3 years already.. rear brake pads still not change before.. thanks |
Sep 3 2018, 03:56 PM
1,286 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ Sep 3 2018, 03:41 PM) Bendix MKT are some seriously overrated pads. Overheats damn fast and makan disc like mad.. Seal Cam Cover (the rubber) 1st change on 3 ~4 years, 2nd not last (out side workshop, but say Ori Proton part) is due to I can see Timing belt cover got oil stain, when check change the Cam Oil Seal then together with this.For a good budget brake pads, I will stick to either Mintye or Bosch Pads. These 2 budget brands are the only ones that didnt overheat too much after spirited drive down genting. https://www.lazada.com.my/products/bosch-ge...1.html?search=1 Change Top gasket/seal cam cover? impossible need to change so often.. Mine after change never leaked till now and that was like 3 years ago. Last week back to Proton change again, hope can last another 3~4 years... or due to my engine oil, I keep using 30? As now lot of Proton carry only 30... |
Sep 3 2018, 03:57 PM
QUOTE(dinnor @ Sep 3 2018, 03:47 PM) How about TRW brake pads ? Never tried TRW or SpeedEx before. or speedex sport ceramic brake pad? i'm using Bendix MKT too right now for front almost 3 years already.. rear brake pads still not change before.. thanks Do u see deep grooves in ur brake disc? I never had that problem until i started using bendix. Racing pads i used before are RS Stop 550C (screeches quite a lot), Project Mu 400C and another 650C pads but forgot the brand. the higher the temp rating, the more u need to heat up the pads before getting optimal braking feel. A 400-450C pads would be more sufficient that enough for normal road use. Rear brake pads normally wears out slower, about 2:1 ratio vs the front pads. But if its Persona Rear brake shoe then it kinda last very long. I just only changed my rear brake shoes after 7 years 10 mth. |
Sep 3 2018, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ Sep 3 2018, 03:57 PM) Never tried TRW or SpeedEx before. Bosch Pads it's oem Proton ?Do u see deep grooves in ur brake disc? I never had that problem until i started using bendix. Racing pads i used before are RS Stop 550C (screeches quite a lot), Project Mu 400C and another 650C pads but forgot the brand. the higher the temp rating, the more u need to heat up the pads before getting optimal braking feel. A 400-450C pads would be more sufficient that enough for normal road use. Rear brake pads normally wears out slower, about 2:1 ratio vs the front pads. But if its Persona Rear brake shoe then it kinda last very long. I just only changed my rear brake shoes after 7 years 10 mth. |
Sep 3 2018, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(dannyw @ Sep 3 2018, 03:56 PM) Seal Cam Cover (the rubber) 1st change on 3 ~4 years, 2nd not last (out side workshop, but say Ori Proton part) is due to I can see Timing belt cover got oil stain, when check change the Cam Oil Seal then together with this. U can actually get silicon cam seals.. Cheap and good.. Mine so far so good, never leak after 3 years. Last week back to Proton change again, hope can last another 3~4 years... or due to my engine oil, I keep using 30? As now lot of Proton carry only 30... Recommend for u to use 40 oil at least.. I tried 30 a few times before, especially when my engine was new and realised my shims were making a lot of noise. So far among the tons of oil I have used, Castrol Edge/Magnatec, Mobil 1 Formula M, Mobil 1 Gold, Liqui Moly are the ones highly recommended. |
Sep 3 2018, 04:41 PM
should i change to mineral oil since my car is more than 300k km already? i always use mobile super 2000 10w40 cause it give me better engine response..
Sep 3 2018, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(Asus @ Sep 3 2018, 04:41 PM) should i change to mineral oil since my car is more than 300k km already? i always use mobile super 2000 10w40 cause it give me better engine response.. If you dont see any oil consumption issues with 10w40 then u can continue sticking to the same grade of oil. Mineral 10w40 and semi sync 10w40 are actually the same.If u want to clean up the debris in ur engine ur restore performance, try changing oil frequently. Just use mineral oil (ideally the same viscosity u are using now and since mineral are cheaper than semi sync by almost 30%), try changing oil every 3k mileage. Buy 3 bottles during the next Lazada 9.9 sale, its around RM52 each for Castrol GTX professional 15w-40 from Owl Station. Then get one or 2 of those LiquiMoly Engine Flush Plus around RM35 each.. Use 1x engine flush, then Castrol GTX, then engine flush again, then 2 rounds of Castrol GTX, then switch back to your regular preferred engine oil after that. U can feel the engine lightens and FC improves since most of the internals are cleaned, especially the gunks accumulated from ur 300k mileage |
Sep 3 2018, 06:32 PM
QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ Sep 3 2018, 05:33 PM) If you dont see any oil consumption issues with 10w40 then u can continue sticking to the same grade of oil. Mineral 10w40 and semi sync 10w40 are actually the same. wow thanks bro..can explain further how to use this engine flush thing..If u want to clean up the debris in ur engine ur restore performance, try changing oil frequently. Just use mineral oil (ideally the same viscosity u are using now and since mineral are cheaper than semi sync by almost 30%), try changing oil every 3k mileage. Buy 3 bottles during the next Lazada 9.9 sale, its around RM52 each for Castrol GTX professional 15w-40 from Owl Station. Then get one or 2 of those LiquiMoly Engine Flush Plus around RM35 each.. Use 1x engine flush, then Castrol GTX, then engine flush again, then 2 rounds of Castrol GTX, then switch back to your regular preferred engine oil after that. U can feel the engine lightens and FC improves since most of the internals are cleaned, especially the gunks accumulated from ur 300k mileage i just put the engine flush at my current engine oil..use it about 200km without over revving the engine..the change to new engine oil..use 3k km then put the engine flush use about 200km then change to new engine oil..use for another 3k km and change again new engine oil..then only i go back and use my normal engine oil back.. since its my second car, i think it will take about 6-9 months to complete the cycle hahaa..i have to use the car more frequently then.. This post has been edited by Asus: Sep 4 2018, 09:07 AM |
Sep 4 2018, 12:29 PM
QUOTE(Asus @ Sep 3 2018, 06:32 PM) wow thanks bro..can explain further how to use this engine flush thing.. For Liqui Moly its different.. Right before changing oil, u pour it in and let it run for 10-15mins. Then change oil straightaway. Dont drive the car.i just put the engine flush at my current engine oil..use it about 200km without over revving the engine..the change to new engine oil..use 3k km then put the engine flush use about 200km then change to new engine oil..use for another 3k km and change again new engine oil..then only i go back and use my normal engine oil back.. since its my second car, i think it will take about 6-9 months to complete the cycle hahaa..i have to use the car more frequently then.. |
Sep 4 2018, 02:19 PM
Sep 4 2018, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ Sep 3 2018, 10:52 AM) I know XM2 last damn long but has uneven wear issues the last time I used it. Its an energy saving tire so I dont expect much performance out of it anyways. That is really a lot of info. sharing.Hankook V12 Evo2 is much quieter than the evo1, Grip level not sure as tires were brand new (<100km) when i went up genting last sat and it was skidding quite a bit. It was raining otw up so Im not blaming the tire. Personal experience the V12 evo1 grip level were on par with PS3 and T1R. Toyo T1R threadwear 240 (or 220 forgot ady) lasted 19k km, PS3 threadwear 280 lasted 28k km, V12 evo1 threadwear 320/340 lasted 33k km. V12 Evo1 was kinda hard wall and medium compound hence it was noisier than PS3 medium wall, soft compound.. PS4 threadwear 320 but it's way noisier than PS3, but grip level is god like. Hankook V12 Evo2 seems interesting. |
| Change to: | 0.0179sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:03 AM |