20 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 >Bottom

-+♠+-LYN Proton Persona IAFM Owners Club V55-+♠+-, The besi buruk counting it's days.

inferno_17_85
post Nov 4 2024, 02:11 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(Mike3 @ Nov 4 2024, 11:44 AM)
Fuel consumption compared to perodua vios/shitty

Im not into 3 cylinder if possible.
With turbo shiok but long term ownership sure sakit.

AAC/AA not available

Too many things is relying on the screen.
somehow prefer the physical buttons.

Spareparts are not so abundance compared to vios/shitty.

i understand cvt famous putus.
Do note that older gen dct gearbox in x50 got issues as well
2/2 friend of mine replace the torque converter during warranty period hehe
Wow that's full of insight.

Yeah long term ownership cost is actually something big for us commoners. I'm not really demanding with active/passive safety features, but longevity and ease of repair is one big factor for me to consider.

Well, until my persona wears itself out then.
inferno_17_85
post Nov 8 2024, 05:45 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(Mike3 @ Nov 8 2024, 08:34 AM)
Got so bad?
Mazda is known in jap manufacturer to be better in terms of handling hahaha

anyway still thinking wan buy vios mou haha
My persona quite new compared to alot ppl here. 2015
It's attractive when heard got 10k discount for year end stock. 😆
inferno_17_85
post Nov 18 2024, 02:25 PM

14 posts

How you guys think of having telescopic steering for Persona Elegance? Anyone done that?
inferno_17_85
post Nov 20 2024, 08:18 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Nov 19 2024, 12:00 AM)
Telescopic steering wheel is outdated, may as well change to yoke type to refresh your persona following the future trending.
Bro don't like this 🤣
Persona only, not Startrek.

I'll get shoulder pain if i adjust my seat to accommodate my leg. Unless i hold steering at 4 and 8 o'clock direction but that's really not good.

This post has been edited by inferno_17_85: Nov 21 2024, 04:34 PM
inferno_17_85
post Dec 17 2024, 03:16 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(wklow28 @ Dec 17 2024, 11:44 AM)
Hi guys is the meter fuel consumption is accurate?
Recently always show 7.5L/100km which previously can shown in between 6.7L to 7.3L/100km.
Anyone facing this issue too?
A lot of things can do this bro. My most common reason for getting higher FC, except being idle engine for long time, or change in driving behaviour, or change in percentage of ciry driving, are:
- Engine oil overfilled (i tend to keep it middle level, but sometimes just filled until max)
- Spark plug going out, still usable but going out.
- Having injector cleaner or catalytic coverter cleaner poured into fuel tank.
- Tire pressure lower than it should be,
- Dirty engine air filter, or
- really hot weather and i blast air cond at low temperature + city driving.

Anything else you really need to continue investigate already.
inferno_17_85
post Dec 27 2024, 10:19 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(Tirek @ Dec 25 2024, 04:44 PM)
My persona ageing
Feel like the engine kurang power
Already change fuel filter, spark plug

If i service oil sump/oil pan and cuci throttle body, can i get the old power back ?

What do you guys did to your persona ?
Mind to share with me ?
Might need more information to understand your context. Year of car, mileage, type of transmission? What have been done?

On a broader terms it's almost impossible for an old stock car to get old power (as like new car) back because sure will have some wear and tear... Most can do is preserve as much output as reasonably possible.
inferno_17_85
post Dec 30 2024, 02:11 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(Mike3 @ Dec 28 2024, 10:13 PM)
To be honest I still feel my car powerful
Regularly change plug, filter.
Service tb twice.
5w30 engine oil
Once in awhile use techron cleaner.
220km
9.5 years ownership
Actually basic maintenance already keeping us busy and our wallet reasonably thin. And you are quite right on the regular maintenance.
inferno_17_85
post Dec 31 2024, 01:06 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(Mike3 @ Dec 31 2024, 08:33 AM)
ATF based on books is 40k.
SC/mechanic recommend 20k
i hover around 20-30k see my mood.
spark plug i not sure tho.

I didnt know oil filter got leak. let me have a look
I didnt see any oil drips on the floor at the moment

Servicing in proton worth to get their fully. rm 189 if not mistaken.

Petronas syntium 3000 also more than rm200 already.
Those days before geely take over proton uses syntium 3000 then 3000se. now own package but by petronas as well.
Do they offer semi now still? I still prefer semi at every 5,000km instead of fully at 10,000km interval.
inferno_17_85
post Dec 31 2024, 03:29 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(Mike3 @ Dec 31 2024, 02:37 PM)
yes they do but could be expensive as u need to pay rm 60++ for labour if not mistaken
might as well do 10,000.

unless u buy change outside
if not mistaken 12x rm
Ohhh very good price already as now API-SP semi synthetic selling RM16X in my regular workshop... I'm currently using semi synthetics from Shopee that i got for about 40 per 4L. Not sure about the impact of using such cheap oil online but so far so goodbfor past one year... I clocked about 5,000km around average 1.5 months.
inferno_17_85
post Jan 5 2025, 01:31 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(Steponlego @ Jan 5 2025, 10:44 AM)
Guys, old car new problem.

Hear metallic grinding noise coming from the right front side when turning left more than 50km/h. It sounds like something is rotating and grinding. So that leaves to parts that rotates. CV joint/drive shaft looks ok, rubber boot intact.

I'm thinking something with the brakes. Any experience?
Check front lower arm ball joints. If knocking sound when go over bump, then check also front suspension link. Another possibility is your tyre rub against daun pisang. Happens when one of the clip loosen.
inferno_17_85
post Jan 6 2025, 02:49 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(Steponlego @ Jan 6 2025, 11:07 AM)
Turns out both front absorber is leaking. Last change probably like 4 years or 5. Any good brand recommendation? Last time it was the mechanic choose for me some japanese sounding brand. Not KYB.
Need to check front absorber mounting also as the ball bearing can worn out and making noise during turning steering.

I'm currently using KYB silver color one. Says heavy duty, i feel stiffer on the ride. So far this one haven't fail me since 188,000km (for front). Rear set just installed for about 10,000km after GAB Super failed at life of 140,000km.

This post has been edited by inferno_17_85: Jan 6 2025, 02:49 PM
inferno_17_85
post Jan 9 2025, 02:22 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(ask_dino @ Jan 7 2025, 11:21 AM)
Anybody know the best place to change exhaust system, from extractor to muffler?
There are shops that does that. Specialise in exhaust. You can pay attention to the shop that has welding activity and various exhaust displayed. Sometimes they do keep original spec exhaust system.

Do know that your catalytic converter worth quite a lot if you decat and sell back to shop.
inferno_17_85
post Jan 9 2025, 04:51 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(Steponlego @ Jan 9 2025, 04:47 PM)
Are the front struts interchangeable left and right? pretty sure i got 2x right here.
Nope. Got left and right spec as there's ABS hose pin bracket.
inferno_17_85
post Jan 10 2025, 02:50 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Jan 10 2025, 09:11 AM)
What is TCA? Never heard of this.
Yeah never heard of TCA brand before. Mounting brand usually RMS or Schmaco. Both ok. KYB one doesn't quite work well for me, maybe my UR bar don't went well with it.

Anyway since buy already then use saja la.. Mounting is wear and tear item.
inferno_17_85
post Jan 13 2025, 09:22 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Jan 11 2025, 03:53 PM)
Recently I see Facebook Gen2 club, Persona club, mentioning abs pump may causes fire hazard, is this true?
No idea bro... Mine is kosong spec.
inferno_17_85
post Jan 13 2025, 04:21 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Jan 13 2025, 11:10 AM)
Ya mine also Gen2 kosong spec.
I see comments saying the abs pump is directly connecting to battery positive terminal, so it was always on even when you switch off the car. The fire can started even if the car was off... Sounds dangerous and design flaw.
By right, i mean by right, most high voltage component of car should be controlled by relay. So even it's directly connected to positive terminal of battery, ABS pump with relay should stay off when it's intended to by relay and deemed off by ECU.

I'm nothing expert in automotive electrical but since we don't have ABS in our car, and others no issue with that, never mind lo hahahhahah...
inferno_17_85
post Jan 13 2025, 08:08 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Jan 13 2025, 05:07 PM)
Ya, but I think most Persona SE, Elegance even SV came with ABS?
Yes. All SVs, https://<link removed>/2013/11/30/proton-perso...sv-launched-rm/
And high line PE https://<link removed>/2010/03/18/proton-perso...ially-launched/

With this much prevalence of Persona with ABS on road, yet none of such case reported in this forum since heyday of Persona, i think it should be fine?
inferno_17_85
post Jan 14 2025, 12:24 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Jan 13 2025, 11:51 PM)
Probably lesser owner active on lyn, instead they active on Facebook group. Been like seeing 2 discussion on Gen2 for past few days, but one of the photo I can recognize it's Persona from the slightly burnt engine bay photo and the tail.
I go see see look look. Most scary is wiring problem. Difficult to detect, difficult to fix also.

Edit: wah really more active compared to here hahahaha... But like some post suspected, wiring got old, or biten by mouse hence short circuit.

A bit sad to see scrapped post also.

This post has been edited by inferno_17_85: Jan 14 2025, 11:12 AM
inferno_17_85
post Jan 24 2025, 10:40 AM

14 posts

My PE is giving off white smoke when revving.

Think it's the time.
inferno_17_85
post Jan 25 2025, 04:00 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(Mike3 @ Jan 24 2025, 12:00 PM)
This is sharing of a shitty incident happened to me.
So i serviced my car 2 weeks back + balancing aligmnent

A week after that i noticed slight undercariage sound.
Go diagonose at mechanic.
he say sound due to drive shaft + wheel bearing (1 biji).
He did jack up the car to check for the issue.
After change sound still ada.
Check and check for another 2 hours next day.
Noticed chamber nut not lock properly after aligment.
HABIS 700 for early maintenance .
Kinda shag for the money spend on wrong parts.... Well human issue tak boleh buat apa...

20 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 >Top

0.0700sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:35 PM