HiMedia Media Player, All about HiMedia V2, New upgrade is out

AVFAN
post Feb 3 2019, 01:29 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Feb 3 2019, 12:39 PM)
Done that as I have mentioned earlier. Didnt work 100%, some functions still not working. Thus asked here for tips.

Please clarify what is meant by "switched"? Thanks.
it works, I already done it.

Do reset at mapping page b4 u try again.

For tv remote, only select, back, home, up, right, down,left keys.ignore home.

Select or ok on remote comes out back or return n vice versa, so u switch places when u press these 2 keys.

Make sure u click or press OK at page to confirm.

Exit, reenter.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 3 2019, 01:33 PM
AVFAN
post Feb 12 2019, 08:27 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 10 2019, 11:27 PM)
hi guys
whats the recommended hdd size n spec for the q10?

replacing my useless htpc with this
if not mistaken, max is 8TB.
2TB and >2TB, different initialization procedure.
consult seller.

QUOTE(ride00 @ Feb 12 2019, 05:48 PM)
Need some help in getting rid of the annoying xylophone.like sound that comes on like some app is updated...
Happens on both the Q5 and Q10Pro everytime upon a few minutes after turning on. Thanks.
had it before. it is coming from an app u installed.

i think it is either redbox or freeflix HQ - remove them and see.

AVFAN
post Feb 13 2019, 12:31 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(tsc77y @ Feb 13 2019, 11:41 AM)
Hi, am user of Q10PRo. Is there any risk of update to the latest firmware?  Am scare to see the phase "THIS FIRMWARE IS FOR EUROPEAN HIMEDIA Q10 PRO ONLY" in the webpage. Seeking your advice and your experience here.
can help if u describe;

.. where did u buy yr box?
.. hv firmware ever been upgraded and from where?
.. what firmware version is it on now?
AVFAN
post Feb 14 2019, 06:58 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Feb 14 2019, 03:03 PM)
hi to all sifus,

bought a Q10pro recently but i found the picture's brightness "adjust automatically" when watching video.It will automatic higher the brightness of the dark area(esp background) when it's in darker scene and adjust back to less brightness when in brighter scene.I might have do something with the display/screen/advance setting,any advices,pls ?

this does not happen while watching astro or other video from other player.

thanks in advance.
Press menu on yr remote, pq settings.

Play with the various options, esp imprex on or off.

See if u find some combination u prefer.

AVFAN
post Feb 14 2019, 07:28 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Feb 14 2019, 07:18 PM)
thank u so much,will try later at home  rclxms.gif
What firmware version r u on?

I remember some users reported this long time ago.

But i hv not encountered it.
AVFAN
post Feb 15 2019, 10:51 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Feb 15 2019, 10:39 AM)
Spot on,after turn off the imprex engine,everything back to normal,u guy are great  rclxms.gif

Just watched Widow 4k last night,found overall brightness a bit high compare to other movies,Q10 set to "Theatre" and lower the brightness a bit.I'm with Pana LED 65",picture mode in "Cinema",colour in "Warm1",the rest set of "off".
one of the features of the imprex engine is contrast adjustment.

however, it is not as subtle as it could be.

so, depending on the video and yr tv settings, u may not like the adjustment.

i quite like it on with std mode and other settings at default - i find it more vibrant for a broad range of videos.

still, as there are so many versions, rip and quality variations in any video, it is very much up to the individual to do own preferred settings.

add the HDR element, the combinations are almost limitless.

AVFAN
post Feb 18 2019, 11:09 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 18 2019, 11:02 AM)
ok, later text nicety

btw, any one of you familiar with FTP ?

Im trying to access my NAS but on a diff network, how should I go about it?

FTP... never tried, can't help.

i only use SMB which works fine up to a certain bit rate due to router wifi limitations.
AVFAN
post Feb 18 2019, 05:40 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Feb 18 2019, 03:52 PM)
Planning to upgrade Pro 5 firmware from 2.0.8 to 2.1.1

Like to know whether the 1 jump upgrade is ok or I need to go from 208 to 209 to 210 and then 211?

u can go direct 208->211.
AVFAN
post Feb 19 2019, 10:32 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 19 2019, 10:12 AM)
weird, was playing a file with DTS-MT
back ground audio was fine, just vocal, was disrupted, badly, any idea why?

both avr and soundbar has the same issue
what is dts mt?
AVFAN
post Feb 19 2019, 11:02 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 19 2019, 10:52 AM)
I have no idea, just the file ends with DTS-MT
only vocals got issue, background music all normal, damn weird
If such a format exist, it is probably an unpopular one.

Best to discard it, find replacement in dts, dtshdma or dtsx.
AVFAN
post Feb 19 2019, 05:19 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 19 2019, 12:21 PM)
weird, google also nothing info about it

I have not really come across dtsx, Atmos a lot though
dtsx is not catching on like atmos although there are some titles with it.

audiowise, best to keep dtshdma, ddtruehd - these have become mainstream hd audio.

AVFAN
post Feb 20 2019, 04:57 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 20 2019, 10:02 AM)
just curious, whats the diff btwn true hd 7.1 and Atmos 7.1, cos I have never seen anything that writes atmos 5.1.2
there is no atmos 7.1, only 5.1.2, 5.1.4, 7.1.2, 7.2.2, etc.

atmos requires use of additional speakers to fire downwards from ceiling or upwards to rebound from ceiling.

if u do not hv speakers connected and atmos enabled at the AVR, it won't do atmos, only truehd.

i'm not into atmos, can visit audio section to ask the pros for details.
AVFAN
post Feb 21 2019, 10:57 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 21 2019, 10:22 AM)
no problem, I'm just asking about the file names, normally written there Atmos 7.1

I believe the sound of it is base on true hd , just the concept of upwards/downwards firing, then consider Atmos
think u read wrong...

normally displayed: ddtruehd 7.1 atmos, not atmos 7.1.

yes, i believe atmos is an extension to core ddtruehd.
AVFAN
post Mar 1 2019, 11:00 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Mar 1 2019, 10:57 AM)
may i know what subtitle format Q10pro can support,i foound *srt and Txt cant display .... also,can we save the setting of custom display ? i found i set it to 4k 60Hz but sometimes it automatically display at 1080p ....

thanks in advance. biggrin.gif
what firmware version r u on?
AVFAN
post Mar 1 2019, 04:45 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Mar 1 2019, 01:34 PM)
aiya,forgot to check ..... should be 2.1 ? need to confirm later, rearch home baru can check tongue.gif
there were certain issues with srt for previous firmwares but 2.1.1 fixed it, i believe.

personally, i have not observed subs not playing or skipping anymore.

yr example - try renaming the sub to xxx.srt without en or cn.

once u set to 2160p 60hz and yr tv and AVR accepted it, it stays.

however, if the video is not 60hz but 25, 30 or 50, it will auto framerate change when playing.
AVFAN
post Mar 1 2019, 05:49 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Mar 1 2019, 05:30 PM)
opss.... ok,i tot tat eng/cn is fine cos my pc showing sub with no problem .... ok,will rename and try again later  rclxms.gif
oh...ok,so meaning i cant save the 4k 60Hz setting ?
it is saved.

only that when a video is not 60hz, it will auto change so that u dun get the jerks.

it will revert to yr setting when u stop playing that video.
AVFAN
post Mar 2 2019, 12:59 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Mar 2 2019, 12:46 PM)
Oh .... ok,thanks AVFAN  rclxms.gif

another thing, mine is version 2.1.0 and it does support *srt and *embeded TXT,i accidently set the font to small and subtitle's position below the screen ( 3 if not mistaken),therefore cant see the subtitle,my bad  laugh.gif
Yes, that is one explanation... few users realize that until much later. biggrin.gif

AVFAN
post Mar 5 2019, 06:34 PM

24,452 posts

q10pro... i just discovered...

like astrogo, unifi playtv app now can be installed direct from playstore, and they will auto update.

it wasn't the case before... must be the newer versions.

astrgo now 8.2.6, playtv 7.9.5.

both have good hd quality streams now.

with these 2, u get plenty to watch... much less necessity to hunt/update for other free live tv apps.

AVFAN
post Mar 15 2019, 07:13 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(ikhwan4616 @ Mar 15 2019, 05:24 PM)
Looking for used q5pro or q10 pro...
Please www.wasap.my/60173286547. Thank you
U saiid u sold already in anotner thread.

U hv another one?
AVFAN
post Mar 16 2019, 10:04 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(vickno @ Mar 16 2019, 02:44 AM)
Hi guys, need a help.

I have a Q10pro, it seems to me that the himedia's default player cannot recognize a video_TS (DVD file) hence need to use Kodi. I have a lot of DVD collections. While it does play on Kodi, issue is I'm unable to passthrough DTS to my amp via HDMI, it goes to PCM. I've set as "expert" under audio setup in Kodi, and have enabled passthrough, dolby receiver ON. Issue is I'm not able to see enable DTS capable receiver. It seems to be missing in Kodi. I've tried everything. Any clue guys?

thanks.
i hope u r on latest firmware 2.1.1.

native player can read/play DVD video_ts folder.
u use media center, not file manager.
when it plays, u use menu button of remote to change chapters, playlist, subs, audio tracks, etc.
next/previous video, rewind/forward works too.
however, there is no full menu like playing with DVD player.
himedia has put in good work to do full menus for BDMV but has dropped that for DVDs.

use of kodi is not as good.
it does not read the video_ts folder; u need to go inside to select/play the individual VOB track.
the same happens when u use mx/mx pro player.

kodi player is not optimal with q10pro.
local playback or online streams, the best audio u can get is DD (AC3) and DD+ (EAC3).
dts and others can be transcoded to DD only.
to do that, u go to system and turn on all 4 options under audio passthru.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 16 2019, 10:16 AM

17 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:04 AM