7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Prepaid Cards BigPay - Prepaid MasterCard (with Mobile Apps) V2, CashBack, BigPoint & Remittance

msa9696
post Aug 6 2018, 09:58 PM

1,593 posts

Anyone pay at http://payonline.com.my before? Made a payment there, think it said payment was successful but it didn't show in the "past transactions" record. Also not deducted from my BigPay account too. So the payment is not immediate?

After reading so many glitches on BigPay, really have low confidence using it. So far using Boost without any problem. Fave is equally good. WeChat probably the worst.
msa9696
post Aug 7 2018, 01:44 AM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(hurtedheart @ Aug 6 2018, 10:09 PM)
It was my first time using bigpay at payonline.com.my too. I made 2 DBKL assessment, 1 maxis yesterday morning around 11am. The deduction was not immediate. Received confirmation email from payonline today around 2pm, followed by deduction from BP. No confirmation email & deduction from BP on the 2 DBKL assessment. Am wondering if it goes through...
It's so uncertain and delayed payment, guess I'm not going to use online pmt until they improve this

QUOTE(knwong @ Aug 6 2018, 10:12 PM)
Never use WeChat. But why is it worse?
I don't see any benefit from WeChat, all other e-wallet have a key selling point, but WeChat really limited
msa9696
post Aug 7 2018, 01:41 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(fairylord @ Aug 7 2018, 10:44 AM)
Hi, I assume you are both new users of BP and UOB Payonline. UOB pay online does have delay in sending notification email on payment approval status. I guess not the BP problem.
Oh glad to hear that, yes I'm new to both. Today received e-mail confirmation from payonline, amount also deducted from BigPay but when I click on the transaction on BigPay, it showed "pending". Anyway will check bill statement later see if it went through.
msa9696
post Aug 7 2018, 11:36 PM

1,593 posts

Seriously do you guys feel safe with so many reported bugs? We're not talking about loyalty card here, it concerns our money, in fact when we use it frequently with lots of transactions, we might not even spot any errors (i.e deducted extra money, balance wrong, etc). I do not check every detail of my credit card, but really feel insecure with this card now.

msa9696
post Aug 8 2018, 10:15 AM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Aug 7 2018, 11:42 PM)
I worry if we have transfer a big chunk of money into the card n then suddenly over night the card cannot use n money cannot refund as company tutup kedai. A similar case happened to Obike in Singapore where the users money n deposit in the account now cannot get bavk after Obike bungkus.
QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Aug 7 2018, 11:52 PM)
agree. so usually I only topup when I want to buy something just to be safe for now. not giving us any confidence
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Aug 8 2018, 08:01 AM)
buggy apps does not mean our money is "buggy".

the money is still there, just how to access it realiably by the app is the issue.

all bigpay's wallet fund doesnt sit in *someone*'s personal bank account. there is a separate operating account to hold all the funds, all the wallet activities goes thru this account and wallet provider HAS to report to BNM on the account status.

separately, there is an escrow account, committed by the provider, in this case, bigpay. this escrow account is somewhere like 1:1 ratio against the balance in operating account.

e.g. if all the bigpay wallet balances = RM10mil (sits inside operating account), there is a similar equivalent 1:1 fund size in a separate escrow account. think of this is a "guarantor account".

these operating/escrow accounts are governed by the respective (actual) banks where bigpay/provider made agreement with. dont know what are the jargons here, something like both parties are mutually responsible and both accounts are auditable.

imagine the commitment set by AA/bigpay. 1 user = max RM10k wallet size, the amount of total fund size to commit is huge.
there are also reasons why wallet providers are set a certain limit of RM200 (small purse) and RM1500 (large purse) wallet size. only bigpay has a wallet size of RM10k. BNM didnt approve bigpay's this wallet size for no reasons or justifications and commitment by bigpay itself.
not everyone accepts ewallet, let alone see their money on the phone. some would just rather see/touch physical $$ notes or bank booklets as assurance  laugh.gif
QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Aug 8 2018, 08:32 AM)
I feel safe but a bit insecure, inconvenient, troublesome.
It is a prepaid card, not a credit card.
Worse case I lose the credit balance in BP account, max RM10,000 only, not a big issue.
Actually my concern is not so much of whether they will shut down or we lose all our money. My main concern is the confidence that all our transactions are properly recorded or accounted for, and no dubious transactions which we didn't spend appear or being deducted from our wallet. Of course, if a few small transactions "accidently" deducted from us will not cost us a fortune, but that is enough will make me feel very insecure.

Just for your info, it happened to me twice before on bank account and credit card, so if big banks can happen, any e-wallet too can happen.

Not really complaining here, later some will ask me don't use if so kiasi. I'll still use, but just saying, being governed by BNM etc, they should be better than this. Many said by Air Asia, big mah, so if so big, get better IT guys to deliver a better product.
msa9696
post Aug 9 2018, 04:04 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(BigPayJonathan @ Aug 9 2018, 02:29 PM)
Failed top ups are rare, but they happen. Whenever that happens, our team pulls the data out of our accounts and manually reflects the amount in our users' account. It usually takes less than 24h, unless there's been an usual amount!
Need to do something, too many bugs already for an e-wallet, user experience seriously affected. People will eventually get fed up if keep having problems when try to top up or make payment
msa9696
post Aug 12 2018, 05:07 PM

1,593 posts

Paid 4 different bills at UOB Payonline, 2 showed in my BigPay, the rest not shown. So no idea at all if they went through.

Same as the rest, didn't receive any Big Points since last week for all sort of transactions

This post has been edited by msa9696: Aug 12 2018, 05:07 PM
msa9696
post Aug 12 2018, 10:01 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Aug 12 2018, 06:12 PM)
Me too, all settled status but no points since 6th aug txn
Have u receive email from Uob Payonline on ur payment status?
I received e-mail for those reflected in BigPay app, those not reflected, no e-mail. That's my concern, I worry if I pay again, suddenly it appear twice, then I will double pay for nothing. Amount not small. What if I pay last minute, worst, if last minute but suddenly failed, then kena penalty already for gov bills

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 12 2018, 06:38 PM)
Somebody cannot take the fact and report my post.
Great job!

If your app is so reliable and the CS is so responsive, there won't be so many complaints in this thread.

A fintech company is expecting to be work like AA model is not workable because it involves money!
It's quite funny that there are still some who're defending that it's so acceptable for app like BigPay to have issues, and even downplay those very "few" complaints highlighted in this forum. So call those issues highlighted here are just minority. I see all the issues here very serious and worrying, while I like BigPay so much as they have lots of potential, they can't keep having all these critical bugs.

If these don't raise red flags, I don't know what else will"-
- transfer of money without knowledge to 3rd party account
- huge dubious amount auto deducted from wallet
- transactions not reflected in app
- negative wallet balance
- amount deducted from wallet despite rejected withdrawal from ATM

Smaller issues:-
- no big points
- app hang
- reload failure
- transactions failure

I guess we should compile a list of bugs or serious issues, so that everyone are well aware of it, and for Jonathan to monitor and ensure all are fixed

This post has been edited by msa9696: Aug 12 2018, 10:03 PM
msa9696
post Aug 15 2018, 01:25 AM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(lilsunflower @ Aug 15 2018, 01:14 AM)
Is it just me or is BP down again?

Same "can't reach you message..." and can't see balance.
QUOTE(Tigerr @ Aug 15 2018, 01:17 AM)
Ok. Me too. Cant login. May be system down
Same here haha
msa9696
post Aug 17 2018, 10:22 AM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(laymank @ Aug 17 2018, 10:08 AM)
Can it be?

usually zero fare is applicable to the ticket price only. one still need to pay for the taxes and fees.
You're right still have to pay taxes lol, cannot be zero la.
Few years back there were so frequent 0 fare, and much easier to secure a seat too.
I once booked 3 destinations during the same 0 fare promo, if I recall correctly to Bali, Bangkok and Phuket. Think taxes were about RM 50 for each destination.
msa9696
post Aug 19 2018, 10:47 PM

1,593 posts

My pre-authorised amount for one transaction still in the app despite more than 1 week, I recalled Jonathan mentioned it should be removed after few days
msa9696
post Aug 19 2018, 10:50 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Aug 19 2018, 10:49 PM)
usually the time frame is 10 working days. if merchant does not accept the transaction, then it will be reversed to you within 10 working days.
Oh ok thanks, then I'll just wait.
msa9696
post Aug 20 2018, 02:28 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(red_scorpion @ Aug 20 2018, 01:24 PM)
Guys, normally the BPcard will send to our mailbox directly or doorstep which require signature? first topup last tuesday, and yet to receive the card, but the app already shown "Delivered! time to active" since yesterday.

I haven't receive the card lo... ;-(
Same here, I helped my family members to apply. More than 10 days already, app also show delivered but card not received.
Sent e-mail to their customer service last week, no reply until now.
msa9696
post Aug 20 2018, 10:18 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(wesleycjh @ Aug 20 2018, 04:48 PM)
I have the same experience with you when i applied the card. The root cause was the stupid courier delivered to the wrong address and finally my neighbour who recieved the card passed it back to me. Hence, check with the courier if confirm is their fault BP will cancelled the lost delivery card and send u the new one.
I don't even have any tracking number, just can send e-mail to them and they've ignored all the mails. Very poor customer service
msa9696
post Aug 21 2018, 10:06 PM

1,593 posts

Cards for my family members yet to arrive, after so many days shown in app as delivered. Application made about 2 weeks ago.

1) Couldn't get them through phone
2) Sent 3 e-mails since about 1 week ago, no reply at all
3) FB messenger, no reply too

I just want to cancel and get them return the RM 20 top up, really wasting my time, but can't even do that

msa9696
post Aug 31 2018, 03:01 AM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Aug 30 2018, 06:55 PM)
Just tried to withdraw from a Maybank ATM, max allowed is RM1500. Can we change the limit?
QUOTE(OKLY @ Aug 30 2018, 07:53 PM)
I believe the limit is with the ATM machine instead, in fact majority of machines are limited to 1.5k per withdrawal.
Someone mentioned before Maybank Genting can withdraw RM 5k (50 pieces x RM 100). I went over today, both RM 100 machines placed outside the bank max 3k. I went to ask the staff, who confidently told me that max dispense is 30 pieces.

msa9696
post Sep 27 2018, 09:17 PM

1,593 posts

Anyone has ever considered that the downside of using BP is that you don't get some of the protection from credit cards, such as travel insurance or travel related stuff, purchase protection, extended purchase warranty, etc.

My card was fraudlently used about 30k while traveling, and the bank compensated all. Also, if not mistaken there are some BNM regulation that bank has to cover a certain amount due to fraud etc.

Don't get me wrong, I'm still using BP and it's still a very good card, but I just wonder if there's any kind of protection, say if kena 10k fraud, how? Will BP ever compensate?

Therefore sometimes, certain transactions I feel it's still better to use Amex, which has excellent cashback/reward and protection
msa9696
post Sep 27 2018, 09:29 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(lilsunflower @ Sep 27 2018, 09:25 PM)
Excellent point, and I hope this is a question I hope BP Jonathan will answer!

The issue of fraud is very real.  When I was in Europe, ALL my transactions went through without PIN. One cashier even joked that it would be a lucky day to anyone who found my card. It doesn't even have our names on it, so we lose it while travelling, its like losing cash with little hope of retrieving the card.  The only upside is that the maximum you can lose is whatever amount is reloaded (max RM10k).
Mine happened in France. I suspected happened at toll, where I passed my card to the person, and the toll booth was so high so I didn't know what they did to my card. Then hours later, I received like 50 sms blasting non-stop within a minute while I was driving, and I knew something was so not right. Stopped the car, the quickly called the bank to block the card. Calling the bank itself cost me like RM 30-50 already

To add on, for credit card, we will receive sms, but if we don't have internet connection, we will not know if the BP card is being used

This post has been edited by msa9696: Sep 27 2018, 09:31 PM
msa9696
post Sep 27 2018, 09:32 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(CloudComputer @ Sep 27 2018, 09:29 PM)
This is when you need the freeze function, immediately freeze your card when you lose your card
Problem is, you don't have to lose your card for someone to duplicate/fraud your card
msa9696
post Oct 4 2018, 01:24 AM

1,593 posts

Honestly, I appreciate Jonathan spending time in this forum and trying his best to answer some of the questions and tried his very best to provide some explanation. Not all will agree though.

I do really want the contactless function too, but then I don't feel so upset with their rules. My only complaint is really the freezing of current card, even I do get the referral, I'm very reluctant to freeze my card, because I've encountered missing cards during delivery for both my family members, for weeks!!!!

Maybe instead of referrals, which they still trying so hard to grow their database, they could have initiated other offers, ie those who have spent at least RM 1k will get the card. At least this way they're rewarding the genuine customers, rather than say those who just apply and keep the card, without using it actively. There's really no point in replacing the cards for these group of customers (including my family members lol)

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0542sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:46 PM