cskean
post Nov 12 2018, 12:02 AM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 11 2018, 10:51 PM)
cskean I bought the GT-AC5300 anyway. Kenot resist laugh.gif

Hahaha, indeed it is hard to resist bro...

The discount is really attempting, and you can almost purchase 2 units of it, if you buy MY Asus set...

Which seller you bought from anyway?

I bought 8 items during the 11.11, 7 items already otw to the forwarder warehouse. Only my GT-AC5300 still pending for shipping out... Gonna pm the seller tomorrow...
cskean
post Nov 12 2018, 01:37 AM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 12 2018, 12:13 AM)
Even after 11.11, this seller still selling their GT-AC5300 at RMB 2199, which is very attractive pricing I would say...

But did you notice there is no review on the GT-AC5300 from this seller? And I remember I didn't see this seller before prior to my purchase hmm.gif
cskean
post Nov 12 2018, 02:46 PM

2,551 posts

My GT-AC5300 still pending to be shipped by seller. According to them the order load is high, so need to wait till latest 20th Nov~
cskean
post Nov 12 2018, 03:46 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 12 2018, 03:03 PM)
Mine shipped d, why you so slow? laugh.gif
I paid at 10PM wor
I paid during 11.11, within the 1st hour of sales. But this seller already mention before, they will face high order and will need more time to ship all the order out. The reason I opt for this seller is because is an official asus store, and prior to 11.11, their CS explained a lot of my queries... So I choose to stick with them even it will take longer time for my item to ship out...

Btw, are you going to buy insurance for your router?

QUOTE(christina1 @ Nov 12 2018, 03:43 PM)
How much did you paid for GT-AC5300?
RMB 1789, exclude shipping fee back to MY~
cskean
post Nov 12 2018, 03:52 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 12 2018, 03:49 PM)
How? blink.gif
Not sure whether taobao/tmall got such service or not.

I got an insurance agent introduced by the forwarder, he is from china insurance company and specialize on shipment insurance. Their premium is about 5% of your insured amount...

But need to communicate with them via QQ messenger, and make payment through Alipay...

cskean
post Nov 12 2018, 04:31 PM

2,551 posts

For those who missed the 11.11 deal for the GT-AC5300, can still grab it at HERE, seller stated RMB 2199 at their page, but when you check out, they will immediately deduct another RMB 200, which make it RMB 1999 ONLY, exclude shipping back to Malaysia...

Don't miss the final boat ya~

cskean
post Nov 12 2018, 04:55 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(KIntos @ Nov 12 2018, 04:45 PM)
Was wondering, why choose gt-ac5300? Please enligthen me. Kind of outdated for 5 years ago when im on ac66u till changed ac86u this year. I grabbed another ac86u for aimesh on 1111 sales.
Spec wise I think is better than AC86U, as you can do a comparison from Asus website.

My main reason are :

- better spec (more ram)
- wider coverage (my personal perspective, cause got more antennas)
- more LAN port, even now I only use it for 1 IPTV, but might include Unifi STB in future.
- not a network expert, so setup 1 router would be easier for me, instead of having few routers...

Are you sure this GT-AC5300 is 5 years old model? Or is it RT-AC5300?
cskean
post Nov 12 2018, 05:14 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(KIntos @ Nov 12 2018, 04:59 PM)
Sorry. My bad. I mean im 5 years outdated from router technology.
Oh, is ok... I'm even longer than you. In fact I'm still using the stock router which TM gave me. TP-Link AC1200, which I got it during my RYE 100 upgrade.

cskean
post Nov 12 2018, 06:20 PM

2,551 posts

Just check my router is ready to be ship out... Luckily no need to wait till 20th Nov~

cskean
post Nov 12 2018, 07:04 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 12 2018, 06:36 PM)
You forgot about the processor

RT-AC86U is dual core 1.8GHz
GT-AC5300 is quad core 1.8GHz
Oh ya, how could I forget about this... tongue.gif

QUOTE(ulala2 @ Nov 12 2018, 06:58 PM)
mine one also shipped out, expected tomorrow reach my warehouse
I'm not sure when will mine arrive at my forwarder warehouse, but I'm happy enough cause no need to wait till 20th Nov...
cskean
post Nov 12 2018, 11:18 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(MEngineer @ Nov 12 2018, 07:43 PM)
AC-86U from the official Asus store is suppose to reach tomorrow. Pretty amazing this shipping time is true. Now hopefully not stopped by custom or Sirim.
Hope you guys get yours soon too.

[attachmentid=10102193]
Wow, this is real fast. Mind to share which seller you bought from and how much? Direct shipping or 3rd party forwarder? And how much is the shipping fee? Which local courier you choose to deliver your router to you?

QUOTE(KIntos @ Nov 12 2018, 08:20 PM)
I was from stock dlink d615 orange color router to asus ac66u till this year ac86u 1st unit from gearbest. 2nd units ac86u still not yet ship out to my warehouse.
I couldn't recall the router model during my Unifi 5MB. The same router serve me from 5MB > 10MB > 30MB > 50MB. Only learn to get a new free router from TM when I upgraded to RYE 100. All the while didn't realise user can request for it...

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 12 2018, 08:31 PM)
I changed my router from the first day I registered with UniFi biggrin.gif

ASUS RT-N16 <-- 1st 3rd party router I've ever bought
ASUS RT-AC68U
ASUS RT-AC88U
ASUS RT-AC86U
ASUS GT-AC5300 (soon when it arrives tongue.gif )

And some crappy TP-Links & D-Links in between
TP-Link TL-WR1043ND
TP-Link TL-WDR4300
TP-Link Archer C5
TP-Link Archer C7
TP-Link Archer C9 <-- Final TP-Link I've ever bought before I give up on TP-Link because of their crappy hardware & crappy firmware. Some of the models are so bad even OpenWRT couldn't save it
D-Link DIR-615
D-Link DIR-850L
Wow bro, you use one router at a time or few? Should I worry about TP Link USB Adapter? Cause I just buy 1 T9UH from shopee for my 5 years old laptop to gain max speed from my Unifi Turbo speed~

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 12 2018, 09:06 PM)
All of them is good. Although the RT-AC88U is a bit tacky, but not as bad as the TP-Link routers

Currently the RT-AC86U is my favourite, hopefully the GT-AC5300 will be my new favorite
Although the lack of Merlin for it is going to be a bit of a downer sad.gif
Actually what are the useful extra features that Merlin firmware has as compare to stock Asus one? I just know there is temperature reading in Merlin~
cskean
post Nov 13 2018, 12:04 AM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 12 2018, 11:39 PM)
I upgraded a lot
I don't know about their USB Wireless Adaptors but their PCI-Express Wireless Adaptors is acceptable
Merlin extra features:
https://asuswrt.lostrealm.ca/features
Ever since switching from streamyx to unifi, I don't remember I bought any router by myself before. This GT-AC5300 could be my 1st router for unifi after so many years...

Btw, did you buy a cooling fan for your GT-AC5300?

cskean
post Nov 13 2018, 02:14 AM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(MEngineer @ Nov 13 2018, 01:52 AM)
I bought from the official Asus Tmall using third party forwarder (ECTbuy). The shipping fee I paid was RMB42 (RM25) not sure if it is expensive or not. Maybe some folks here can share their shipping cost.

I chose Poslaju as the local courier to deliver. Some folks here suggested GDEX but too late for me to change it haha.
If your forwarder only charge you RMB 42 for RT-AC86U (which weight around 1.8kg), then it is kinda cheap.

My forwarder quoted me for the same router, RMB 44 (22 per kg for sensitive item) + RMB 40 (sensitive item fee for 1st 5kg).

Maybe yours doesn't include the sensitive fee, if that is the case, better hope your router will go through kastam smoothly.

But their delivery speed really amazing...
cskean
post Nov 13 2018, 02:33 AM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(MEngineer @ Nov 13 2018, 02:31 AM)
Yeah I didn’t know this item is considered sensitive. I got excited just simply selected one to have it shipped fast haha.

Will know soon if sangkut at customs and Sirim a not. If yes then I pay tax and Sirim approval what to do. I done it before a bit more hassle but it is ok given a lot of cost saved buying from China.

My gut feel is it is only 1 item usually won’t get inspected. Customs will check those more than one item based on my long purchasing history from Aliexpress
What is the process of paying tax & sirim like? Need to go to pickup item personally and pay those money? Or the appointed courier company will pay on behalf 1st?
cskean
post Nov 13 2018, 02:57 AM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(MEngineer @ Nov 13 2018, 02:45 AM)
The process begins when you track the package  it says held up at customs. Then you will receive a call from the courier saying that the package needs approval.

For electronics first is to get Sirim approval done fully online. This is easy and fast as they give E-Permits, same item only need one permit. Sirim will ask for the product brochure and data sheet. Provide it to them and once they approve it is RM30 per permit. Typically if it is common item like router they know what it is already and will give approval. Forward the approval to the courier and your package is release partially.

Then with that permit, I head down to KLIA distribution center, there is a pick up counter next to custom counter. Pick up the item first, then walk to the custom counter to show the purchase receipt. Custom will ask to pay tax based on the final purchase price. Walk to another counter beside to pay the tax, walk back to custom counter take your stuff and go home.

Straight forward process just need to take time to do it. If courier do for you easier just give them the permit and pay them back when they deliver to your door step.
1. Are you saying that if you have few units of same router, just need to pay for 1 permit, and it will apply to all of the units?

2. Purchase receipt as in the payment screenshot from taobao/tmall? Or need official ones from taobao/tmall?

3. Any idea how does the tax calculation like?

4. Touch wood I haven't encounter such incident before, but will the courier handle such cases for buyers? Or it depends on the courier company whether they wanna do for you or not? Any additional service charge for such service if they do help you out?
cskean
post Nov 13 2018, 01:42 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(MEngineer @ Nov 13 2018, 06:40 AM)
1. Yup one permit for the same item.

2. Can be the screenshot from Taobao/Tmall. Basically custom just want to verify the price as sometimes the courier don’t declare.

3. Tax at that time was 6% macam GST. There is a long list I myself never go through because sangkut already pay only the tax.

4.Big courier like DHL/UPS/FEDEX only will assist on paying the tax. Permit you have to do yourself, they will not assist.
Thanks a lot for the knowledge sharing~ Always learn something new in this forum~

Do keep us posted on your router arrival...

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 13 2018, 08:09 AM)
Nope, you?
Yup, I bought one, to prevent the router become hot plate~ tongue.gif

This is the one I get for my router~

QUOTE(kwai_83 @ Nov 13 2018, 08:51 AM)
whos router have been send out from ware house
Mind was packed yesterday, today already otw to my forwarder warehouse~
cskean
post Nov 13 2018, 02:30 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 13 2018, 01:55 PM)
Same as me, mine is still on the way to the warehouse
Just receive update from my taobao app, my router is at the warehouse ady...

Now still left 1 more item to arrive, then it can be ship back to Malaysia...

QUOTE(St. Teh @ Nov 13 2018, 02:28 PM)
China warehouse received my items, currently pending the rest of my order to come, I am very impressed with their speedy courier services for this year 11.11
Yaya, this is my 1st shopping during 11.11 with taobao. Before this I heard a lot of negative feedback during such event. But to my surprise, things went smooth after all...
cskean
post Nov 13 2018, 02:56 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(ulala2 @ Nov 13 2018, 02:40 PM)
If you compared their tracking system on the parcel delivery, our local courier company no way near them.

D't know when Malaysia can have such tracking system.....
Usually I check via website, but since I install the taobao app, whenever there is any update, it will notify me. And the app can show me the location of my item. I find it really nice to know whereabout is my item and how long more it need to be arrive to its destination...

I hope one day our local courier will reach such level of service...

cskean
post Nov 13 2018, 09:21 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(lullerskatez @ Nov 13 2018, 04:38 PM)
Guys the highest chance for error/longest delay for the entire process is actually at the consolidating/collection warehouse. The warehouses will be so full that it could take up to 1 month to clear all the deliveries. As I've mentioned before my orders last year too about 2 months to arrive to me in Malaysia due to warehouse overfilling. This is the risk you all have to be willing to accept when buying during 11.11 or 12.12

Good luck to you all!
I ordered 8 items during the 11.11, 7 out of 8 already arrive at the forwarder warehouse. To my surprise the remain item estimated will arrive on 16.11, which is a piece of cloth for my wife. Hopefully my forwarder won't take too long to ship out all my items once everything have arrive at their place~

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 13 2018, 06:32 PM)
Just tracked my parcel, it's being delivered to the warehouse using lorry and the route seems like 600KM sweat.gif
Do you aware of such features before this? And it really impress me that China really serious about their biz~ Willing to invest and improve in every aspect~

cskean
post Nov 13 2018, 10:54 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 13 2018, 10:02 PM)
Actually this is my first time using the Taobao app, previously I only access Taobao through their website

Also, damn you to racun me. vmad.gif  Bought this:
https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=562837775297

Omg, how you manage to find cheaper one? I thought you dunno chinese words one....?

I search up & down, and the cheapest I got is RMB 97.20.... cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

Mind to share what keywords you use?

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.5543sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:04 PM