5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

canon defective CCD problem, new cam model added

TSdokidoki
post May 23 2007, 09:19 AM, updated 19y ago

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

This Service Notice will update Canon U.S.A., Inc.'s previous CCD Image Sensor Advisory, dated October 6, 2005.

It has come to our attention that the vendor-supplied CCD image sensor used in certain Canon digital cameras and digital video camcorders may cause the following malfunction: When the product is used in recording or playback mode, the LCD screen and/or electronic viewfinder may exhibit either a distorted image or no image at all. While reports of this malfunction have been rare in the United States, we have determined that it may occur if the product is exposed to hot and humid environments.

Notice of Additional Affected Products:
As a result of our continuing investigation of this malfunction, we have determined that the 11 models listed below, in addition to the 16 models listed in our Service Notice concerning this malfunction, dated October 6, 2005, may be affected.

Affected products:

- Camcorders: ZR60, ZR65 MC, ZR70 MC, ZR80, ZR85, ZR90, ELURA 40 MC, ELURA 50
- Digital Cameras A60, A70, A75, A300, A310, S230, SD100, SD110, A40(*), A80(*), A85(*), A95(*), S1 IS(*), S60(*), S200(*), S330(*), S400(*), S410(*), S500(*)

*Models added as of Oct.31, 2006

Malfunction:
It has been confirmed that the connecting parts of the internal wiring of the CCD used in affected products may become disconnected, especially if the affected products are stored or used in high-temperature and high-humidity environments. If this occurs, the signal is not output from the CCD normally in Shooting Mode, which may cause a distorted image or the absence of an image. This malfunction can be confirmed on the LCD monitor screen during shooting. The same malfunction also appears on the recorded image.

Canon's Response:
Effective immediately, and regardless of warranty status, Canon will repair, free of charge, the products listed above exhibiting the above-mentioned malfunction if Canon determines that the malfunction is caused by the CCD image sensor. Canon will also cover the cost of shipping and handling in connection with this repair.

p/s: mine A95 already start showing this problem~...is ur powershot A series also have this problem?...my bro in law got this A70....canon repair the ccd for him FOC but..then after use 6-7 months...problem appear again.. sad.gif

source taken from HERE

This post has been edited by dokidoki: May 23 2007, 09:22 AM
SUSMatrix
post May 23 2007, 09:42 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

This is VERY OLD news. There was a thread previously on this liao.

A lot of user has already fix their camera...including me. smile.gif
inoitu
post May 23 2007, 09:42 AM

1,526 posts

Wet set cannot wor! Repair fee is very high it seems for those not warranteed.
SUSMatrix
post May 23 2007, 09:43 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(inoitu @ May 23 2007, 09:42 AM)
Wet set cannot wor!  Repair fee is very high it seems for those not warranteed.
It doesn't matter if ur warranty expired. This defect problem they'll still fix FOC wan.

Rule of thumb. DO NOT OVERHEAT UR CAMERA!!!

I believe mine having problem after i forgot and left it to cook in the car under the sun....

The problem is actually attributed to a SONY made CCD. You can find similar info at SONY's website and elsewhere.

This post has been edited by Matrix: May 23 2007, 09:45 AM
TSdokidoki
post May 23 2007, 09:45 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ May 23 2007, 09:42 AM)

A lot of user has already fix their camera...including me. smile.gif
i know it's old news...but still got new cam model added..last time only got a70, a80...now even a 85..a95 oso kena...i tot mine dun have warranty cannot claim la....turn out now....i can also go warranty...
SUSMatrix
post May 23 2007, 09:48 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ May 23 2007, 09:45 AM)
i know it's old news...but still got new cam model added..last time only got a70, a80...now even a 85..a95 oso kena...i tot mine dun have warranty cannot claim la....turn out now....i can also go warranty...
Since it's spoilt 2nd time, maybe u can also take back to them..maybe they cahnge new camera for ya....somebody got a free new camera previously if i remember correctly...smile.gif

btw, did u leave it in a very hot environment?? Better take care not to leave it in ur car.
kelvinyam
post May 23 2007, 09:50 AM

May beauty be everywhere around me
1,766 posts

I got mine repaired FOC, not S3 lah, it's the one before.
TSdokidoki
post May 23 2007, 10:21 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ May 23 2007, 09:48 AM)
Since it's spoilt 2nd time, maybe u can also take back to them..maybe they cahnge new camera for ya....somebody got a free new camera previously if i remember correctly...smile.gif

btw, did u leave it in a very hot environment?? Better take care not to leave it in ur car.
erm....didnt leave it in car...but my room is hot...old housing area....wat to do.. sad.gif
vex
post May 23 2007, 10:10 PM

1,984 posts

S410 on the list ???
dunno i can get free repair or not ~

SUSitanium
post May 23 2007, 10:13 PM

I brake very late.
762 posts

send in S1 and you will get a S3 instead, Canon Malaysia do not repair the S1 ccd any longer.
TSdokidoki
post May 23 2007, 10:18 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(itanium @ May 23 2007, 10:13 PM)
send in S1 and you will get a S3 instead, Canon Malaysia do not repair the S1 ccd any longer.
wow.....so my a95 can get another new model? tongue.gif

vex: if you happen to have purple screen or black screen when u shoot pic....mean it's ccd defect and u shd can do rma as well...
SUSitanium
post May 23 2007, 10:58 PM

I brake very late.
762 posts

i know someone got a new ixus 65 from an older ixus smile.gif
vex
post May 24 2007, 12:31 AM

1,984 posts

QUOTE(itanium @ May 23 2007, 10:58 PM)
i know someone got a new ixus 65 from an older ixus smile.gif
wow ... sure boh...
then i have to fast fast send my camera for repair liao.
too bad i delete alot the picture that the camera cause, it only will gila when the camera is getting hot. if in cold evenviroment, no problem 1.
the picture will come out like got purple, green line (very big line).
TSdokidoki
post May 24 2007, 08:21 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(vex @ May 24 2007, 12:31 AM)
wow ... sure boh...
then i have to fast fast send my camera for repair liao.
too bad i delete alot the picture that the camera cause, it only will gila when the camera is getting hot. if in cold evenviroment, no problem 1.
the picture will come out like got purple, green line (very big line).
yup yup...my oso same...then will become more and more worst...now i on saja...then oledi purple color liao~
sotong168
post May 24 2007, 08:26 AM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

mine is already 10K shots, wonder how long could the ccd last...
TSdokidoki
post May 24 2007, 09:04 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ May 24 2007, 08:26 AM)
mine is already 10K shots, wonder how long could the ccd last...
wat model?
vex
post May 24 2007, 02:30 PM

1,984 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ May 23 2007, 09:48 AM)

A lot of user has already fix their camera...including me. 
I get my minolta 7Hi repair for free from SONY service center for previous thread, now I wan repair my S410 for free in this thread ~~ really thanks for the information!!! notworthy.gif
Hopefully they give me a new ixus ~ kakakaka ~

This post has been edited by vex: May 24 2007, 02:31 PM
TSdokidoki
post May 24 2007, 02:39 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(vex @ May 24 2007, 02:30 PM)
I get my minolta 7Hi repair for free from SONY service center for previous thread, now I wan repair my S410 for free in this thread ~~ really thanks for the information!!!  notworthy.gif
Hopefully they give me a new ixus ~ kakakaka ~
dream la dream la~.....me oso dreaming..

tonite goin to do rma~...need to get home early.... sad.gif
SUSitanium
post May 24 2007, 02:52 PM

I brake very late.
762 posts

If you switch on and the display goes purple....thats the ccd problem = free repair or free replacement at Canon's discretion smile.gif
xxx2299
post May 24 2007, 04:08 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(itanium @ May 24 2007, 02:52 PM)
If you switch on and the display goes purple....thats the ccd problem = free repair or free replacement at Canon's discretion smile.gif
my A70 had this problem and I insisted canon to change to A95 (because I was told A95 use different CCD).

Now this problem will hit A95 sooner or later. So should I just sell it off? doh.gif
or wait for it to kaput, then insist to change to a new cam again rclxms.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:20 AM