QUOTE(vex @ May 28 2007, 03:38 PM)
mine no news yet canon defective CCD problem, new cam model added
canon defective CCD problem, new cam model added
May 28 2007, 04:37 PM
4,630 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: PJ somewhere~ |
May 28 2007, 04:53 PM
1,984 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Hell @ Penang |
May 29 2007, 07:59 AM
5,291 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: I Luv Msia |
QUOTE(xxx2299 @ May 25 2007, 11:33 PM) I received a call from canon this 2day, in relation to the email i sent yesterday. omg, so nice compensation frm them, A70 -> A95 -> A640? i was assured that if the A95 CCD did kaput, FYI my A95 was an exchange unit for a previously kaput A70, then canon will repair it FOC, even if the cam is sold to someone else. |
May 29 2007, 08:18 AM
QUOTE(xxx2299 @ May 24 2007, 07:24 PM) but this ccd problem is design problem, and even after warranty expire also they must fix foc , right ? even for a replacement unit that happen to have the same ccd design problem, right ? xxx2299...actually how u manage to ask them from A70 change to A95?....mind to share some tips with us?? |
May 29 2007, 08:23 AM
169 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
May 29 2007, 08:30 AM
6,788 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(xxx2299 @ May 29 2007, 08:23 AM) that was the package offered to me and i took itBUT an even worse problem happened to my new A95 right outside of warranty the damn camera can't on and it was my first day in Bali but somehow or rather i got the camera to on but i can't view anything on the LCD display and had to take pics via viewfinder, so damn paiseh coz its a digicam but can only view through viewfinder. made me look like n00b, using high tech camera but low tech way of taking pics because it was outside of warranty and therefore i had to pay for the repair which cost about 200+ if anything happens to it again, im switching to pana cams This post has been edited by lawsh: May 29 2007, 08:32 AM |
May 29 2007, 08:38 AM
QUOTE(lawsh @ May 29 2007, 08:30 AM) that was the package offered to me and i took it eeee......like that susah a bit BUT an even worse problem happened to my new A95 right outside of warranty the damn camera can't on and it was my first day in Bali but somehow or rather i got the camera to on but i can't view anything on the LCD display and had to take pics via viewfinder, so damn paiseh coz its a digicam but can only view through viewfinder. made me look like n00b, using high tech camera but low tech way of taking pics because it was outside of warranty and therefore i had to pay for the repair which cost about 200+ if anything happens to it again, im switching to pana cams |
May 29 2007, 08:47 AM
QUOTE(dokidoki @ May 29 2007, 08:18 AM) xxx2299...actually how u manage to ask them from A70 change to A95?....mind to share some tips with us?? Glad to share:(btw, Canon did once offer A95 replacement for A70 because they ran out of CCD units, so cannot repair. once CCD stock arrive, they stop the A95 replacement program. By the time my A70 kaput, the A95 replacement program was terminated) my first letter to canon: (at this moment of time, canon refuse to admit it was CCD design problem) [quote] ... ...While waiting for Canon technician to evaluate the cause of problem, I took the trouble to search through Internet for similar problem. To my surprise, I found many owners of Canon PowerShot A70 (made in Malaysia) posted messages describing same problem; mostly due to faulty CCD unit while some due to loose internal parts. Below is one of the many links I found with messages written by owners: "http://www.xxxxxxx.com/canon-powershot-a70-reviews.html" And interestingly enough, most of the owners experienced the problem after 1 to 2 years of ownership; after warranty is over just like my case. I also found a second major problem, that the Canon PowerShot A70 (and similar models) digital camera also have an "E18" zoom lens mechanism problem, that my unit has not experienced, yet. From what my intuition tells me (I was an electronic device design engineer), these two problems are major camera design flaws. ... ... I am very unhappy with the way Canon xxxx Sdn Bhd is handling this issue. For your information, a reputable competitor's brand new 5MP 3xOptical Zoom digital camera is only selling for as low as RM7xx with one-year warranty. Do you seriously think that I will be happy to repair my RM1300 camera for RM2xx, that may need second CCD replacement within a year? ... With these, I like to propose that my camera to be repaired free of charge on good will from Canon that will back their quality products; this issue is a design flaw that will occur to any PSA70 through no fault of the owner even if well taken care for. I would not like to think that Canon is exploiting this issue to earn money (RM299 is more than 20% of new camera price at RM1300). Canon must be dare enough to acknowledge product design weaknesses and take necessary action to rectify the problems. ... [un-quote] few days later, canon offered me free repair, but that was not the end of the story... when I get back the repaired A70, the CCD STILL KAPUT!!!! so, a second letter to canon: (cc to canon CEO) [quote] ... I wish to inform you that I received a phone call to collect my PSA70 after repair today. I immediately checked the camera function before I leave the service center, in front of Canon personal. To my surprise, my camera is still giving me the same blank image problem, verified by Canon personal, Ms XXX, after calling yourself on the phone. ... ...This can only mean 2 possibilities, either the camera was returned WITHOUT repair or the camera failed to operate even after replacement of new CCD. I think chances for the camera to be returned without repair is very slim, thus this makes me believe that the CCD is extremely unreliable. Remember the issue of repeated CCD failure in my previous letter? "If you search through the Internet messages, you will be surprised to find that some owners experienced repeated faulty CCD units within short period of time after repair works, until they finally gave up and bought a new camera" ... ...I understand that some owners of PowerShot A70 in Malaysia experienced the exact same problem with CCD sometime back in April~May 2005. They were given the option to replace the A70 camera with a new A95 by paying RM299. I did not ask for this option initially because I still have good faith in Canon and A70, but now, I am beginning to belief that A70 has indeed a major design flaw. ... ...I am truly disappointed. Thus, I insist that my faulty A70 to be replaced by a new unit of A95 with a payment of RM299, just like other owners of PowerShot A70 that had the same CCD problem. ... [un-quote] Apart from cc to CEO in second letter, I also write a letter direct to CEO: [quote] ... ... Unfortunately, when I insisted on checking the repaired A70 at Canon service center Kuantan, the camera failed to operate once again. The problem was identical to the initial problem I sent the camera for service in the first place. It was as if the camera was returned to me WITHOUT repair. I was shocked and extremely disappointed. Please take note that I did highlight the possibility of repeated CCD failure after repair in my first letter to Camera Service Division, dated 2 Sept 2005, that was experienced by some other A70 owners. It is just that I never imagine it would fail even before I can sign the service job sheet. ... [un-quote] Hope this helps. This post has been edited by xxx2299: May 29 2007, 09:00 AM |
May 29 2007, 09:00 AM
QUOTE(lawsh @ May 29 2007, 08:30 AM) that was the package offered to me and i took it I am already a pana cam user, starting with FX01 now added FZ20. BUT an even worse problem happened to my new A95 right outside of warranty the damn camera can't on and it was my first day in Bali but somehow or rather i got the camera to on but i can't view anything on the LCD display and had to take pics via viewfinder, so damn paiseh coz its a digicam but can only view through viewfinder. made me look like n00b, using high tech camera but low tech way of taking pics because it was outside of warranty and therefore i had to pay for the repair which cost about 200+ if anything happens to it again, im switching to pana cams going to sell off my A95 soon... Added on May 29, 2007, 9:04 amand lawsh, I truly understand your feeling during your bali trip. my A70 failed when I landed in Bangkok with my wife; FIRST TIME WE TRAVEL OVERSEAS TOGETHER!!!!! I was like "beep beep beep ...." all the way This post has been edited by xxx2299: May 29 2007, 09:04 AM |
May 29 2007, 09:25 AM
huh .......have to paid to upgrade 1 hor ... i tot is free upgrade...
sigh, made me happy nia ~ |
May 29 2007, 10:01 AM
xxx2299 really geng~!!erm....wondering if i write letter to complaint...will i get model upgrade replacement...
xxx2299...how u get so many high ranking staff email?... |
May 29 2007, 11:12 AM
I called canon, and ask for the names of the people.
just say politely, "I have a very serious complain to make and i want to write a letter to your CEO, can you please put me to the CEO's secretary please". then when I talk to the sec., "I have a very serious complain to make and i want to write a letter to your CEO, can you give me your CEO's name please, can you also give me the name of the manager for camera service division please. thank you" being polite is the key to opening many doors..... btw, last I know, canon has different service manager for different line of product. |
May 29 2007, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(xxx2299 @ May 29 2007, 11:12 AM) I called canon, and ask for the names of the people. wow...geng...must salute u just say politely, "I have a very serious complain to make and i want to write a letter to your CEO, can you please put me to the CEO's secretary please". then when I talk to the sec., "I have a very serious complain to make and i want to write a letter to your CEO, can you give me your CEO's name please, can you also give me the name of the manager for camera service division please. thank you" being polite is the key to opening many doors..... btw, last I know, canon has different service manager for different line of product. |
Jun 2 2007, 09:10 PM
6,660 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Palace of sexology |
hey my A80 warranty over ledi. Now my cam got no picture. How arh?
will they repair the ccd sensor for free? |
Jun 3 2007, 09:06 PM
1,766 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang Valley |
Jun 4 2007, 07:52 PM
QUOTE(vexus @ Jun 2 2007, 09:10 PM) hey my A80 warranty over ledi. Now my cam got no picture. How arh? is it the purple color screen..if yes...then just bring back to canon no matter wanrranty over or not over..mine oledi expired 2 yrs..and they oso replace the ccd for me f.o.cwill they repair the ccd sensor for free? just collect my camera from canon service center~....still get back the same old camera la...no offer for upgrade...they say they will provide 3 more months warranty...ask me do not keep my camera in cabinet or car or even in pouch woh..say the ccd very sensitive to humidity~...eee |
Jun 4 2007, 09:07 PM
5,291 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: I Luv Msia |
dunno whether other brands got this chronic problem? frankly speaking, i'm really impressed with its picture quality + features offer but the problem kind of scare me off. i already sold my A620, think of get a new model, maybe will go for panasonic or fujifilm
Jun 4 2007, 09:14 PM
QUOTE(sotong168 @ Jun 4 2007, 09:07 PM) dunno whether other brands got this chronic problem? frankly speaking, i'm really impressed with its picture quality + features offer but the problem kind of scare me off. i already sold my A620, think of get a new model, maybe will go for panasonic or fujifilm come join the fuji f31fd family |
Jun 5 2007, 08:16 AM
QUOTE(dokidoki @ Jun 4 2007, 07:52 PM) is it the purple color screen..if yes...then just bring back to canon no matter wanrranty over or not over..mine oledi expired 2 yrs..and they oso replace the ccd for me f.o.c huh ??? cannot keep in car, cabinet and pouch ??just collect my camera from canon service center~....still get back the same old camera la...no offer for upgrade...they say they will provide 3 more months warranty...ask me do not keep my camera in cabinet or car or even in pouch woh..say the ccd very sensitive to humidity~...eee then where should we put ??? wtf man ... i going to send mine this friday, went to cameron last week, the photo i shoot all like shit !! the sky is purple color 1 ~ |
Jun 5 2007, 08:58 AM
QUOTE(sotong168 @ Jun 4 2007, 09:07 PM) dunno whether other brands got this chronic problem? frankly speaking, i'm really impressed with its picture quality + features offer but the problem kind of scare me off. i already sold my A620, think of get a new model, maybe will go for panasonic or fujifilm Sad to say, this is the design flaw of CCD produced by Sony.some other major brand were affected too, such as fujifilm, konica minolta, nikon, olympus, ricoh and of course sony.... http://www.steves-digicams.com/pr/sony_100...cd-prob_pr.html so far, panasonic was not affected, because they used their own ccd. |
| Change to: | 0.0208sec
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 05:58 AM |