124 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Widescreen Thread V2.0, All widescreen discussions here

popopi
post May 22 2007, 10:59 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 22 2007, 10:44 AM)
First of all, not all game are able to utilize widescreen. Therefore, you will need to get a widescreen LCD with a 1:1 ration support or else, the game is going to be stretched. If it is able to perform 1:1 ratio support, then yes, it will be in the middle with 2 black lines on the side.
Thanks bro, this helps alot... thumbup.gif

Thanks. notworthy.gif
jeromeccm
post May 22 2007, 11:07 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 22 2007, 10:44 AM)
First of all, not all game are able to utilize widescreen. Therefore, you will need to get a widescreen LCD with a 1:1 ration support or else, the game is going to be stretched. If it is able to perform 1:1 ratio support, then yes, it will be in the middle with 2 black lines on the side.
i think there are some ways to tweak the registry or certain patch for games so that it can fit to the wide screen mode... check around the net... you might find something... or if worst come, experience the 2 black strip at the side.... ha ha ha... i think some games tend to stretch the pic to wide screen too...

Hyde`fK
post May 22 2007, 11:11 AM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

Westinghouse 30"? Quite popular in [H]ardGayForum over there. Seems to be a very nice monitor, by their say that is.

This post has been edited by Hyde`fK: May 22 2007, 11:11 AM
akachester
post May 22 2007, 11:38 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(jeromeccm @ May 22 2007, 11:07 AM)
i think there are some ways to tweak the registry or certain patch for games so that it can fit to the wide screen mode... check around the net... you might find something... or if worst come, experience the 2 black strip at the side.... ha ha ha... i think some games tend to stretch the pic to wide screen too...
The black stripes is only applicable to LCD that have 1:1ration support as what told by other forummers here. Therefore, if your LCD does not support it, your game will still be displayed but with be stretched to fill up the whole LCD which makes it not nice..lol..

Anyway, not many people wana tweak with registry though..
kmarc
post May 22 2007, 11:41 AM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

Might be thinking of going wide screen.

Does the LCD specs tell you that it supports 1:1 ratio or do we have to find it out ourselves? hmm.gif
akachester
post May 22 2007, 11:46 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 22 2007, 11:41 AM)
Might be thinking of going wide screen.

Does the LCD specs tell you that it supports 1:1 ratio or do we have to find it out ourselves?  hmm.gif
I didnt know as well. I just get to know this when people here tell me that Dell doesnt have 1:1 ratio..Didnt remember seeing this feature at their website as well. So my guess, it should be stated in the specs if supported.
laksamana
post May 22 2007, 11:48 AM

1,356 posts

Most LCDs made in the last 1 year should have the 1:1 aspect function. I bought my 20" wide (Dell Ultrasharp) in late-2005, and it has no problems with 1:1 gaming on software that does not support 1680x1050 resolutions.

This post has been edited by laksamana: May 22 2007, 11:54 AM
kmarc
post May 22 2007, 11:55 AM

14,576 posts

Then I think it would be wise the ensure the widescreen that we're going to buy actually supports 1:1!
Hyde`fK
post May 22 2007, 12:00 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(laksamana @ May 22 2007, 11:48 AM)
Most LCDs made in the last 1 year should have the 1:1 aspect function. I bought my 20" wide (Dell Ultrasharp) in late-2005, and it has no problems with 1:1 gaming on software that does not support 1680x1050 resolutions.
Not quite true in the fact Dell E228WFP is also new, and it doesn't support 1:1 pixel mapping as well.
laksamana
post May 22 2007, 12:04 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ May 22 2007, 12:00 PM)
Not quite true in the fact Dell E228WFP is also new, and it doesn't support 1:1 pixel mapping as well.
I assume it's not Ultrasharp, but Dell's Entry line?
kianwee
post May 22 2007, 12:21 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(laksamana @ May 22 2007, 12:04 PM)
I assume it's not Ultrasharp, but Dell's Entry line?
You are right. Let's just put it this way. Entry line=Please do not demand too much out of your LCD. Don't expect to have all the functions of a high end LCD by paying less than RM1k.

1:1 mapping should be available at most mid-high end LCDs.
SpikeTwo
post May 22 2007, 12:22 PM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

no need to tweak registry. u wont go wrong choosing wide. because nowadays most games support widescreen except some lazy arse developers saying widescreen would actually be a "cheat"..cough* EA*.

so far, the some games that doesn't support WS are from EA. but BF2142 doesnt look so bad stretched a lil. you can actually change ur res using a command. i've been gaming with WS for almost a year. man, those games sure looks beautiful and natural in WS mode. 4:3 square ratio is so yesterday.

your GC might support it quite well, depends on games u play.
btw, my LCD no 1:1, but i dont think i need them now. because the games i play from FPS, RTS to racing games, all supports WS 16:10 ratio.

i forgot to add: playing CSS in WS is a plus. you can see those with the advantage of ur widescreen that those 4:3 users cant see. your view area is wider that way. I've been playing CSS for a long time using WS. and the source engine supports 16:10 no problem. i'm not sure ur GC 1950Pro difference with my card, but i've all settings on highest except HDR cos i dont like the bright surface caused by HDR. brows.gif

This post has been edited by SpikeTwo: May 22 2007, 12:25 PM
kmarc
post May 22 2007, 12:25 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ May 22 2007, 12:22 PM)
no need to tweak registry. u wont go wrong choosing wide. because nowadays most games support widescreen except some lazy arse developers saying widescreen would actually be a "cheat"..cough* EA*.

so far, the some games that doesn't support WS are from EA. but BF2142 doesnt look so bad stretched a lil. you can actually change ur res using a command. i've been gaming with WS for almost a year. man, those games sure looks beautiful and natural in WS mode. 4:3 square ratio is so yesterday.

your GC might support it quite well, depends on games u play.
btw, my LCD no 1:1, but i dont think i need them now. because the games i play from FPS, RTS to racing games, all supports WS 16:10 ratio.
Wei, don't make me drool.gif drool.gif la. Very tempting to go widescreen so that I can game like you!!!

But for now, my 19" is enough la sad.gif
SpikeTwo
post May 22 2007, 12:29 PM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

more gaming on WS can be found here. All your questions will be answered.

www.widescreengamingforum.com

read, and get poisoned. LOL... laugh.gif
yeah...if u already got a monitor is ok edi..unless u wanna experiece WS. haha...if buyiing new, i suggest go WS all the way. cos now 22 incher already RM900+ less than 1k. of course do not expect all functions like kianwee said. i bought mine 20" rm1300 last time. sob sob*

btw, i think this thread should go into WS v2.0.

This post has been edited by SpikeTwo: May 22 2007, 12:33 PM
kianwee
post May 22 2007, 12:30 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(synn @ May 22 2007, 09:28 AM)
got ppl know westinghouse widescreen LCD?
could i find it in malaysia?
Nope, you can't get that here. If you can, let me know I would be the first one to get it.

In fact, there are a lot of good LCDs out there, NEC high end series/EIZO/Mitsubishi/SONY just to name a few, it is not available here, but you have to import it in yourself. Or else just get what we have here locally like Samsung/DELL like majority of the forumers.
Hyde`fK
post May 22 2007, 12:31 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

Well, Dell 22" only have one model. Its not about the product line, but not newer LCD will have 1:1 support, like Samsung 226BW for example. So best to know is to find reviews for models that interested you and see if they get to mention any support for 1:1. I find forums to be more reliable on this, most reviews only cares about the color/quality.

Added on May 22, 2007, 12:34 pmWith WS, gaming are superb. Really satisfied man. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Hyde`fK: May 22 2007, 12:34 PM
kmarc
post May 22 2007, 12:37 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ May 22 2007, 12:29 PM)
more gaming on WS can be found here. All your questions will be answered.

www.widescreengamingforum.com

read, and get poisoned. LOL... laugh.gif
yeah...if u already got a monitor is ok edi..unless u wanna experiece WS. haha...if buyiing new, i suggest go WS all the way. cos now 22 incher already RM900+ less than 1k. of course do not expect all functions like kianwee said. i bought mine 20" rm1300 last time. sob sob*
btw, i think this thread should go into WS v2.0.
If I upgrade, definitely going for WS. But not anytime soon. Guess I have to sell of my 19" then. Anybody interested in a Dell 19" Narrow screen? whistling.gif

Compared to previous prices of computer parts, I guess todays prices are better. Like you said, previous computer parts are damn expensive. My Samsung 17" 172x used to be rm17xx!!! shocking.gif shocking.gif

laksamana
post May 22 2007, 01:10 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ May 22 2007, 12:22 PM)
i've been gaming with WS for almost a year. man, those games sure looks beautiful and natural in WS mode. 4:3 square ratio is so yesterday.
Absolutely agree! Driving and RPG games are absolutely AWESOME on wide mode!

Wide screen is great because it caters to the natural vision perspective of humans, which makes it very comfortable.
akachester
post May 22 2007, 01:40 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Gosh, so tempted to try it soon. But even with it arriving in the next few days, i am still not able to power it up due to lack of GC...lol..

Anyone knows where to get the Versa Wall Mount or anything related to it?I need something that all me to mount the LCD to the wall...
Hyde`fK
post May 22 2007, 01:43 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 22 2007, 01:40 PM)
Gosh, so tempted to try it soon. But even with it arriving in the next few days, i am still not able to power it up due to lack of GC...lol..

Anyone knows where to get the Versa Wall Mount or anything related to it?I need something that all me to mount the LCD to the wall...
There you go.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=349952&hl=

124 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:45 PM