4k tv under RM3k, Sony or Samsung or LG??

AVFAN
post Jun 17 2018, 10:09 PM

24,466 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Jun 17 2018, 10:01 PM)
Kodi and netflix are typical apps , as such they can be installed on any smart TV , specifically the 2 units you mention.
are you sure samsung smart tv's can install kodi, astrogo, terrarium and iflix?

i mean install and run on tv system, not casting or use pc->hdmi->tv.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jun 17 2018, 10:11 PM
AVFAN
post Jun 17 2018, 10:48 PM

24,466 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Jun 17 2018, 10:23 PM)
My bad on that , kodi does not install on non - android OS like Tizen natively .

I am unsure about Astro go , will check later .  I am only aware it was recently added to LG 's webOS
right..

most smart tv's come with and can do youtube, netlfix, browser.

new LG is said to be able to do astrogo.

sony and sharp androidtv tv's can do the most - besides youtube, netlfix, kodi, can sideload astrogo, unifi playtv... just about every android app.

you are probably right to say that the cheap androidtv tv's may be problematic - it's all about good and lousy firmware.

i have use my sharp for 3 years now, all is good.

of course, will need some work and patience to get all the apps working.

much easier for someone who has used android phone, tablet or box.
AVFAN
post Jun 19 2018, 12:56 AM

24,466 posts

QUOTE(danielSinclair @ Jun 19 2018, 12:11 AM)
so far for the 3 years did you found any apps not compatible with your TV? Did your TV required android upgrade like mobile phone?
There are apps that will be rejected by the security of the androidtv system.
Such apps are usually highly suspect, maybe infected, meaning the security works.
The common popular ones are fine.

There are constant minor upgrades done ota or over the air, u dun even notice it.
Major ones, say android5 to android6 or android6 to android7, u will be prompted, need to activate manually.
And that is rare, only once in 3 years, unlikely to happen again.

A last word for u... if u do not know android apps much or hv little interest, androidtv will be of little use to u.
If u r big user, it is as good as any rm500 android box u buy separately.
Minor users use it to watch youtube 4k or bloomberg news.
Major users can watch hd videos with kodi, watch world cup matches live in 1080p - foc, using androidtv.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jun 19 2018, 12:57 AM
AVFAN
post Jun 19 2018, 04:58 PM

24,466 posts

QUOTE(danielSinclair @ Jun 19 2018, 04:45 PM)
If I can consider myself as a major user since I watched movie via Kodi and Terrarium TV 😁😁 however I don't know how to watch WC live in 1080p foc 😢😢 could you please teach me sifu☺️☺️
QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jun 19 2018, 04:48 PM)
Can you recommend add on/apps for Kodi/Android box for world cup live 1080p?
android apps is a major topic on its own, will not discuss much here.

but will just say that simple kodi addons and terrarium won't get u the best stuff alto they are acceptable to many.
there are better apps and methods for high quality HD streams - if u hv the right device, speed and put in the effort.
try reading:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4600175/+140
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3115619/+800#top

AVFAN
post Jul 24 2018, 09:01 PM

24,466 posts

QUOTE(Mart @ Jul 24 2018, 06:04 PM)
Wanted to ask you guys opinion, Im looking at Sharp LC60LE580X at RM2.6K ? Worth to buy.

My requirements:
1) 60 inch
2) android tv
3) at least Full HD
4) budget below RM2.8K
this tv is 1080p, androidtv.

i seriously suggest u consider something better:

lc45ua6800x rm3000 or
lc50ua6800x, lc60ua6800x.. rm3xxx

6800x range has better engine, 4k hdr android 7, more hdmi input.

rm200-500 more... for 5 years... u decide:

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4488602/+580
AVFAN
post Jul 30 2018, 10:14 AM

24,466 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jul 30 2018, 12:46 AM)
I'll research a bit. I'm a bit blur on buying TV to be honest. It's been quite a while since I needed to buy one. Hahaha.
if u hv not bought a tv for a long time, u do need to check a bit more! biggrin.gif

the most impt thing is what u use the tv for.

if u r tight on budget and have no need for "advanced" features, <rm2000 for <50" will be alright.

but if u plan to do more in the near future, it will be better to spend a bit more, future proof it a bit.

hisense is no longer a tiny brand - they are quite popular in north america now.

hdr is necessary if u r watching netflix 4k or playing back 2160p hdr videos.

but if u r just using astro, hypptv, 1080p bluray or common apps, there is no big need for HDR.

AVFAN
post Jul 30 2018, 12:44 PM

24,466 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jul 30 2018, 12:20 PM)
Last one I got was free one 48" Samsung LED Smart TV off an office family day lucky draw. So I did not buy that one. That was the TV that went kaput. My actual plan is getting a TV for now. When current situation betters itself, is to get a better TV for the hall and stick the one I'm buying now in my room.

I was leaning on the N3000 because reading the reviews apparently it has HDR and is also a smart TV. Was initially just planning to get the Haier as that was even cheaper.

On what I use the TV for. I currently have Astro, PS4(not Pro) and my PC connected via the HDMI ports on my TV.
For what u use and plan to get yet another one, i see no need to spend too much.

If u spend too much, get great tv but dun use the key features... wasted.

Better get an inexpensive one now, save a bit for the next n better.

Just walk the shops, see how astro comes out, u have an idea.

About "smart tv"... there r many types, diff brands use diff platforms, quite diff.

Best to know what which smart thing can do what n if u will use it... if not, wasted again...

AVFAN
post Jul 30 2018, 01:32 PM

24,466 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jul 30 2018, 12:54 PM)
On Smart TV, I would say the main intention is to maybe use Netflix and Youtube. That was what put me off the Haier, as it has not smart TV features.
On the usage I mentioned, does these ones looks like it will suffice to you. Am planning to get s PS4 Pro at some point too.
http://www.goshop.com.my/prd/20063230.html
http://www.goshop.com.my/prd/20064714.html
http://www.goshop.com.my/prd/20064719.html
Same model, different sizes.
Or are they different ones more advisable to go for?
yes, same model, diff size.

typically, bigger size ones have 1 more hdmi input, so u gotta decide if 3 is enough or u need 4.
usb... all hv 2.
component input yes, but no rs232 (outdated)
runs on own vidaa smart platform.
(note hisense is also an oem - sell other tv's under hisense brand in some countries... do not confuse the reviews or comments about these ones.)

i have no experience with hisense but i read fair reviews and comments on this model for its price.
https://www.google.com.my/search?ei=nqJeW5v.....0.CcmDML4mHQs
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4009313
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3873180

frankly, u gotta visit the shops and see them physically.
check where in inputs are located, the stand, audio, the dimensions, etc.
if all satisfied, can buy online.

AVFAN
post Jul 30 2018, 06:34 PM

24,466 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jul 30 2018, 04:45 PM)
https://www.hisense.com.my/product/n3000/

This one has pictures of the input. Generally, I would prefer if the inputs are on the right, but I guess I'll make do. Maybe buy a longer HDMI cable or something. Looks like I'm going to take the plunge with this TV. Just a question of which size now. Hahaha.
i still think u shud visit the shops and take a look... maybe u dun like the plastic or the colors or...?!! biggrin.gif

yes, make estimates... how long should the hdmi cables be... 1, 1.5, 2m...

lastly, just like to say... we have so many things to buy new all the time.

tv is just one item... gotta buy handphone, tablet, pc, laptop, android box, home theater, cables, adaptors... @#$%!!

unless u r so dem rich to pay for the best of the best, avantgarde for everything, it's alright to get a low price entry level tv.

more so when u have not bot one in years.

when u r clear what u want in the near future, u can burn a fortune on the next buy. laugh.gif
AVFAN
post Jul 31 2018, 10:32 PM

24,466 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jul 31 2018, 09:06 PM)
Done. Got the 55” M5010 from Desa Home Theater for RM2150. Bought the additional 2 year warrant so has 5 years warranty.
congrats.

don't forget to write a review in the hisense thread when ready.

other buyers will surely like to know!
AVFAN
post Aug 11 2018, 10:52 AM

24,466 posts

QUOTE(eddystorm @ Aug 10 2018, 05:22 PM)
I saw there is Smart TV and Android TV in the market. Which one is actually better?
smart tv = connected to internet.

every brand use their own smart platform.

(note even for 1 brand, the "smart tv" features may be different for diff models.)

all 4k smart tv's have youtube and netflix.

sony, sharp have androidtv.

if u only want youtube and netflix, all will be fine.

if u want astrogo, only new LG, sony and sharp can do.

if u want to sideload other apps incl unifi playtv, only androidtv can do.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 11 2018, 10:56 AM
AVFAN
post Aug 11 2018, 11:03 AM

24,466 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Aug 11 2018, 10:58 AM)
I think smart TV not important. Because most of us have Apple TV 4k or Android TV. Most important is picture quality and ability to support Dolby Vision
like it or not, all good TV's are now smart or very smart.

you can't get the best tv that is dumb.

Androidtv... if u have a good box, u may not want it.

if u have a box that can't do astrogo, unifi playtv and others and u want them, androidtv will do that.

Dolby vision is still very and new - u pay a premium for that feature.

and this thread is "4k tv under rm3k" - where can u find dolby vision for that price?! biggrin.gif

AVFAN
post Aug 19 2018, 11:43 AM

24,466 posts

QUOTE(mygundam @ Aug 19 2018, 10:44 AM)
Sharp LC60UA6800X - IPS panel, RM3k Merdeka deal, 4k upscale
this one is VA panel.

rm3k? i think it is lc60ua6500x (also VA panel), not 6800x.
AVFAN
post Aug 19 2018, 12:24 PM

24,466 posts

QUOTE(mygundam @ Aug 19 2018, 12:06 PM)
typo, you're right should be 60ua6500.
Any recommendations?
Will not and cannot talk about tvs that i have not used...

But if u want know more about ua6800x and 6500x:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4488602/+800
AVFAN
post Nov 2 2018, 10:28 AM

24,466 posts

QUOTE(babloo79 @ Nov 2 2018, 10:17 AM)
Hi All.... Need your kind advice again....my tv will be roughly 11 feet away from my couch and im planning to get a UHD 4k TV.....what would be the ideal size to get?

Thanks in,advance for your kind advice
depends what u watch primarily.

poor quality stuff, big TV will be really bad, u will hate it. even at 11ft.

some might read charts and say 100in.

me, i will suggest u do 55-60in.
AVFAN
post Nov 2 2018, 12:54 PM

24,466 posts

QUOTE(babloo79 @ Nov 2 2018, 12:13 PM)
Thanks AVFAN....... what tv model/ brand would you recommend for a tv of this size.... I would be mainly watching satellite tv and netflix ....Thanks again for your kind advice
there are so many threads on "what tv to buy"... thousands of comments already... just read some of them.

diff people look for diff things... not just picture quality.

e.g. some like androidtv, others dun care.

some need usb playback with dts audio, some dun care.

actually, at this time, 50-60" 4k hdr tv's are pretty affordable.

more so for models 1 yr old or so, not fresh new launch.

for astro/netflix, i think rm3-3.5k can get u something good already.

just read a bit... no shortage of threads and comments on this subject.

AVFAN
post Nov 2 2018, 02:12 PM

24,466 posts

QUOTE(babloo79 @ Nov 2 2018, 01:44 PM)
Thanks..... indeed have gone through he threads...so many options...its making me confused...smile.gif do you know of any good offer that is a great deal in your opinion.....
For me, the best way is to visit a few shops, see yrself, ask questions, get an idea what is available, features, price, warranty, what u want.

Then do reading, reviews, see what users say.

I will not just look at specs... features, warranty, service are impt.

Shortlist 2...then go shopping... look for promotions, fairs, etc.

Sorry, cant and wont suggest specific brands models... u need to shortlist yrself.
AVFAN
post Dec 20 2018, 06:57 PM

24,466 posts

QUOTE(ruzaini88 @ Dec 20 2018, 05:48 PM)
So I will avoid this TV.
My next target is Hisense U7A. Motion is not bad it seems since it is 120Hz native panel.
The cheapest TV with 120Hz panel it seems.
If this one also does not satisfy me, I will go for more high budget X8500F.
Thanks for kind advice bro. smile.gif
u shud not avoid sharp ua6800x just becos someone said so.

go ask the dozens of actual users here, find the truth:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4488602/+1400

AVFAN
post Dec 20 2018, 07:20 PM

24,466 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Dec 20 2018, 07:14 PM)
A dozen of users who know close to nothing about TV technology ?
But constantly complaining about new tech and bitter about users buy more expensive and premium TVs ?
It is well known these Sharp TVs has less than satisfactory motion performance. Do yourself a favor , at least read some reviews from the Chinese audience .
And well done brand ambassador. In fact I have a lot more to say about Sharp TVs , if only you guys are a little more humble about it . I have not even begin talking about the subpixels problem.
If you want to promote your TV , feel free to do it in your own thread . You can spread wrong info and all sort of other things , not that you haven't already , which I have received pm from asking from time to times.  But this is a thread for people who want to get an honest opinion on TV , you want to preach about your brand along it is fine . You have your own thread to do so .

Just don't do it in our thread, tyvm.
we know u... u shud stop telling people what to buy or not what to buy.

u get paid or what?

i ask him to go visit and ask actual owners.

not u, some self declared hero who claims to know all.

pls la... if u r so good, u go sell yr services somewhere else.

after so many already told u, u still dun get it?!!
AVFAN
post Dec 20 2018, 07:27 PM

24,466 posts

QUOTE(ruzaini88 @ Dec 20 2018, 07:24 PM)
So far dozens of reviews from online and offline is bad for UA6800 motion. Sharp is not focus on motion it seems hmmm...
No wonder why Sharp using slow pace video clips in shop front huhu.
if u r convinced, that's fine - yr money, yr decision.

i do not find such issues, be it soccer or 2160p fast n furious.

just giving u something to think about.

0.0741sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:31 PM