124 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Bottom

RTS Starcraft 2, New Units with Video and Explanation.

soggie
post Aug 15 2007, 06:23 PM

Braindead
3,872 posts

QUOTE(Goblinsk8er @ Aug 15 2007, 06:15 PM)
Im sure protoss have some hearing organs. Just that it is not visible, hmm something like the reptiles.
If they can't listen, they could have just died from all kind of stupid scenarios. (Getting run over by a vehicle from behind, coz cant listen to its movement..etc)
Hearing is still a minor issue. How do the freaking protoss eat with no mouth, and most importantly, how do they procreate? Anybody here into protoss pron? tongue.gif
Cheesenium
post Aug 15 2007, 06:33 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Aug 15 2007, 06:23 PM)
Hearing is still a minor issue. How do the freaking protoss eat with no mouth, and most importantly, how do they procreate? Anybody here into protoss pron? tongue.gif
Thats not really important.Eating or mating will not make SC2 a better game so i think they decided not to tell how they do those.

Protoss do have male and female.So the procreate process might be the same as humans. tongue.gif

No thanks,you can keep the protoss pron.
redeye84
post Aug 15 2007, 06:42 PM

177 posts

Protoss porn.. err Oh yeah? If iam Aldaris.. He always so cranky, He need to get laid.

If iam not mistaken Protoss are created like test tube babies or something.. Damm i need me manual.

I am not really sure yet but i assume protoss talks though telephatic. We dont pick their voice though sound, It comes from our minds.

Does anyone have their SC manuals, Please check it out for me
akiraceo
post Aug 15 2007, 07:34 PM

Miao&WafuPafu
929 posts

haha maybe they don't need to eat...
they hv these plugs laying somewhere in their body.. and just plugged into any switch and charge themselves.. laugh.gif
fujkenasai
post Aug 15 2007, 07:50 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(H@H@ @ Aug 15 2007, 02:22 PM)
Can we just stick to talking about how Protoss talk to each other without mouths and whether hydralisks shot acids or needles? Pewpew FTW!
Since when did we talk bout protoss mouth.

QUOTE(soggie @ Aug 15 2007, 02:34 PM)
Protoss communicate psionically, so they don't really need mouth. I just wonder how they eat and err... procreate.
They are enegy beings they replicate them selves like bateria thus does not need a mate, they absorb enegy from surroundings thus does not eat.

QUOTE(hizperion @ Aug 15 2007, 02:42 PM)
but Vikings are ugly

it should be less bulky to win the internets
I loled when the viking said Transform and roll out, such a copy from Toransufoma. I wonder if they get sued for that phrase.

QUOTE(soggie @ Aug 15 2007, 03:35 PM)
The slim wraiths are gone, and the spiny Goliaths replaced with bulky vikings. What else? Ah yes, the reapers. Big arse jumpjets.

I guess that's the new theme for terrans? Bulk.

For the protoss it is much different. Their buildings look more delicate, and sophisticated (artistically). Heck even the colossus exudes style with its archaic built and spidery legs.

Good thing eh?
I kinda liked wraith well toobad their gone.

Bulk is the typical Sci-fi theme of all ages *sigh*

I feel the colossus looks dumb and how come protoss have all the names of warriors/ mythical stuff of Europe? Could they be the forefathers of the European civilisation?
StarGhazzer
post Aug 15 2007, 09:02 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Aug 15 2007, 07:50 PM)
Since when did we talk bout protoss mouth.
They are enegy beings they replicate them selves like bateria thus does not need a mate, they absorb enegy from surroundings thus does not eat.
I loled when the viking said Transform and roll out, such a copy from Toransufoma. I wonder if they get sued for that phrase.

I feel the colossus looks dumb and how come protoss have all the names of warriors/ mythical stuff of Europe? Could they be the forefathers of the European civilisation?
Replicate like bacteria? You sure? tongue.gif laugh.gif

About the Viking... at least they didn't say "AUTOBOTS, TRANSFORM !!"

As for the theme of the names, well... Templars, dragoons... to the new Colossus.. yeah, they are mythical. So are the Terrans with their Wraiths and Goliaths, and now they have Vikings and Thors. Somehow I feel the names are kinda generic and random. CnC's Orca Fighters and Bombers sound more specialised, but then again they had Titans and Wolverines in Tiberian Sun anyway...

Meh... names aren't that important... My personal favourite is still the Battlecrusier Commodore with the Russian accent thumbup.gif
fujkenasai
post Aug 15 2007, 09:50 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Aug 15 2007, 09:02 PM)
Replicate like bacteria? You sure? tongue.gif laugh.gif

About the Viking... at least they didn't say "AUTOBOTS, TRANSFORM !!"

As for the theme of the names, well... Templars, dragoons... to the new Colossus.. yeah, they are mythical. So are the Terrans with their Wraiths and Goliaths, and now they have Vikings and Thors. Somehow I feel the names are kinda generic and random. CnC's Orca Fighters and Bombers sound more specialised, but then again they had Titans and Wolverines in Tiberian Sun anyway...

Meh... names aren't that important... My personal favourite is still the Battlecrusier Commodore with the Russian accent thumbup.gif
Same here BC FTW
soggie
post Aug 15 2007, 11:08 PM

Braindead
3,872 posts

Actually no. They are physical. Protoss used to be a psionic sensitive hunter race, which was taken as a template by the Xel'Naga to create the now Protoss. They are definately not energy beings - the only energy being is the Archon. I'm pretty sure on this because I just re-read the manual tongue.gif

I think test tube babies theory is more plausible. Besides, protoss tend to live very long ages (if not mistaken Raszagal was about 4k years old), so I'm thinking they don't really replicate themselves that fast.

They spoofed it quite well I must say laugh.gif

Protoss are based directly upon the Ancient Rome/Greek civilization, while their social hierarchy is based on the ancient Indian caste system. Praetors ring any bell? The visuals are a mix of egyptian and aryan, I reckon.

If you observe properly, Terran names are more realistic, based on biblical stories (Goliath), and norse races (Viking, Valkerie). Most names are human in nature (vikings are human, and so are valkeries). Protoss on the other hand is based on roman/greek gods, while the zerg got their name from biblical monsters like daggoth, jormungand and tiamat.

Colossus is basically a long legged dragoon that got a huge pen1s head as a cockpit.

Added on August 15, 2007, 11:15 pm
QUOTE(akiraceo @ Aug 15 2007, 07:34 PM)
haha maybe they don't need to eat...
they hv these plugs laying somewhere in their body.. and just plugged into any switch and charge themselves.. laugh.gif
Sorry, can't help double posting laugh.gif

What if protoss have a plug on their ass and need to be recharged every so often?

Aldaris: Zeratul, I feel weak... I need it...
Zeratul: Right away comrade, turn around and bend down!
Aldaris: Yes, Zeratul, shove it in, shove it IN!
Zeratul: NGAHHHH!!!!
Aldaris: YESS!!!!! I... I FEEL.. I FEEL TEH POWDAH!!!!!!!
Zeratul: Good! Let us rise and fight Kerrigan then!
Aldaris: Wait lar, so fast charge finish meh? U think I handphone is it
Zeratul: Kaninia, faster lar. That sui char bor Kerrigan will lari if we dun catch her
Aldaris: Aiya wait lar...
Zeratul: Sheesh...

This post has been edited by soggie: Aug 15 2007, 11:15 PM
hizperion
post Aug 15 2007, 11:20 PM

Average Bitch
913 posts

Blizzard games are full of phrases from movies

SC itself has range of quotes from Aliens, Star Trek, Star Wars etc lol
Quazacolt
post Aug 16 2007, 12:30 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Aug 15 2007, 05:41 PM)
Then,how do they talk to the humans and Zerg?
They should be gone now,just like Firebats.Sniff~
That feature in bold is in the current SC2 now.I saw a screenshot of a Cobra's stats on the UI that says it does more damage against mechanical class unit.

Added on August 15, 2007, 5:43 pm

Dunno,i read somewhere that Viking are also anti-air a few weeks before Blizzcon.Now,they are not again.Robots can only shoot ground and plane mode can only shoot air.

I do hope the final SC2's Viking can shoot air units in robot mode.
protoss uses on screen subtitles to communicate with terran/zerg! biggrin.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on August 16, 2007, 12:33 am
QUOTE(Goblinsk8er @ Aug 15 2007, 06:15 PM)
Im sure protoss have some hearing organs. Just that it is not visible, hmm something like the reptiles.
If they can't listen, they could have just died from all kind of stupid scenarios. (Getting run over by a vehicle from behind, coz cant listen to its movement..etc)
they probably uses sonar... but damn that would be hilarious seein a high and mighty toss suddenly got road killed LOL!

Added on August 16, 2007, 12:33 am
umm. IV tubes like those in hospitals? and... artificial insemination!!!! lolz

Added on August 16, 2007, 12:35 am
QUOTE(redeye84 @ Aug 15 2007, 06:42 PM)
Protoss porn.. err Oh yeah? If iam Aldaris.. He always so cranky, He need to get laid.

If iam not mistaken Protoss are created like test tube babies or something.. Damm i need me manual.

I am not really sure yet but i assume protoss talks though telephatic. We dont pick their voice though sound, It comes from our minds.

Does anyone have their SC manuals, Please check it out for me
xel'naga, but im DAMN SURE that the xel'naga left them with something to make babies! i mean, you have to!

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Aug 16 2007, 12:35 AM
Cheesenium
post Aug 16 2007, 10:01 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(hizperion @ Aug 15 2007, 11:20 PM)
Blizzard games are full of phrases from movies

SC itself has range of quotes from Aliens, Star Trek, Star Wars etc lol
I love that Viking's speech.It fits them very well.

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 16 2007, 12:30 AM)
protoss uses on screen subtitles to communicate with terran/zerg! biggrin.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
Lol. laugh.gif doh.gif

xel'naga, but im DAMN SURE that the xel'naga left them with something to make babies! i mean, you have to!
Duh.
fujkenasai
post Aug 16 2007, 10:25 AM

1,137 posts

No they live long enough so that the xelnaga can come back and see their advancement no babies needed dead toss just gets cloned back or made in to dragoons.
hizperion
post Aug 16 2007, 10:34 AM

Average Bitch
913 posts

i'm reading The Dark Templar Saga:Firstborn now

i wonder if the book is related to SC2 tongue.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 16 2007, 10:34 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Aug 16 2007, 10:25 AM)
No they live long enough so that the xelnaga can come back and see their advancement no babies needed dead toss just gets cloned back or made in to dragoons.
i thought xel'nagas died off or something, anyone found lore that have any mentions about their whereabouts?
fujkenasai
post Aug 16 2007, 10:48 AM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 16 2007, 10:34 AM)
i thought xel'nagas died off or something, anyone found lore that have any mentions about their whereabouts?
Have you seen the blizzcon clips on gamerstrailer? Aparently the xelnaga scientist that created the protoss and zerg are wiped off but not the race and they are comming back to end their experiment.

BTW has anyone checked out the new dark templar graphics and art work the some how look like dinasaur than protoss.

fujkenasai
post Aug 16 2007, 10:49 AM

1,137 posts

And whats with the duo blades make it look so crapy how can energy blades be bent, minimised size of gundam? shakehead.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 16 2007, 10:51 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Aug 16 2007, 10:49 AM)
And whats with the duo blades make it look so crapy how can energy blades be bent, minimised size of gundam?  shakehead.gif
gundam wing deathscythe... lolzwin
soggie
post Aug 16 2007, 11:00 AM

Braindead
3,872 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Aug 16 2007, 10:48 AM)
Have you seen the blizzcon clips on gamerstrailer? Aparently the xelnaga scientist that created the protoss and zerg are wiped off but not the race and they are comming back to end their experiment.
BTW has anyone checked out the new dark templar graphics and art work the some how look like dinasaur than protoss.

Hmm not bad. Actually that's correct how the protoss looks. The skin texture is the same in the game's original box (the protoss face box). And besides, I think it looks more like a crocodile wallet than dino tongue.gif

The Xel'Naga scientists died? Hmm... according to the game manual it said the Zerg wiped out the Xel'Naga. It'd kickassed if the only ones wiped out are the scientists, but come to think of it that's be lame. The Xel'Naga were nomadic, and I'd expect them to travel together in a pack rather than spread out into the universe.
Cheesenium
post Aug 16 2007, 11:06 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Aug 16 2007, 11:00 AM)
Hmm not bad. Actually that's correct how the protoss looks. The skin texture is the same in the game's original box (the protoss face box). And besides, I think it looks more like a crocodile wallet than dino tongue.gif

The Xel'Naga scientists died? Hmm... according to the game manual it said the Zerg wiped out the Xel'Naga. It'd kickassed if the only ones wiped out are the scientists, but come to think of it that's be lame. The Xel'Naga were nomadic, and I'd expect them to travel together in a pack rather than spread out into the universe.
I think only the part of the Xel Nagas got wipe out.There should be some are still kicking and alive.
fujkenasai
post Aug 16 2007, 12:17 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Aug 16 2007, 11:00 AM)

You mean the snake skin? But now the new dark templers do not have any more snake scales but like a whole piece of calcified exoskeliton. =_=

They look like lord dragaunus from The Mighty Ducks Disney Cartoon.

If the Xel'Naga has been anhilated then Zearatul would not have warned Jimmy Ranold that the Xel'Naga is back looking for their artifact to end it all, could it be the toss-zerg hybrid??

124 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0175sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:01 PM