124 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

RTS Starcraft 2, New Units with Video and Explanation.

redeye84
post Aug 15 2007, 01:40 PM

177 posts

Ok THATS IT!!.. I know some of you all are purposely doing this to annoy people. Please stop.. later Mods come and close this thread.

OK. you guys are just biased towards the DotA players.

What a waste of time discussing with you guys..

I am not going to post in this thread anymore....

Unfortunately thats life.. not everyone is taking the dota fad happily. They just hate it cos their fav games are overshadow. nuff said.

Yes please cos you are failing alot.

it is MADE BY EUL, then RIPPED OFF BY WHOEVER AND NOW ICEW/EFROG.

srsly l2properlycreditpplz
damn dotards

=edit=
and just to keep on topic

I BELIEVE MASSING VIKINGS IS THE WAY TO GO FOR TERRAN RUSH KEKEKEKEKEK
For those dotard, I hope u know your own game history also. Dota is created by EUL which later on the creator open his source to public creating many version of it such as Dota chaos, Dota allstars and etc. The current Dota people are playing now is Dota Allstars which created by Icefrog therefore the current Dota is indeed from Icefrog.

Viking massing??.. better do marine mass, Stims + medic ftw. Btw can SCV repair each other and get heal by medic in SC2?

Quazacolt
post Aug 15 2007, 01:51 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Aug 15 2007, 12:25 PM)
Like i care but Eul is not making that damn map now.Now,it's only Icefrog making that crap.

Talking about ripoff,DotA is also a ripoff from a map call AoS in SC.So,now,who is the original creator?
thats calling rip off of a genre of a map (aos style game play)

it could be as easy as calling sc a ripoff off the first ever RTS made lol. (lol inc warhammer fanbois?)

i dont care if eul is still continue'ing the map or not, what i do care (well actually i dont, but i did during my active war3 days) is how that retard, took the exact dota map, add in a buncha retarded heroes and items, and claims it for himself, without awarding any credit or whatsoever.

and dotards being the ignorant bunch as they are, tend to believe its ALL icefrog's work. despite its an exact copy of the original eul's dota, even the name also didnt bother changing, and the fact that its a map/mod based OFF blizzard's warcraft3 in which most dotard believes that either icefrog is a blizz staff or dota is a game by itself.

Added on August 15, 2007, 1:53 pm
QUOTE(redeye84 @ Aug 15 2007, 01:40 PM)
Ok THATS IT!!.. I know some of you all are purposely doing this to annoy people. Please stop.. later Mods come and close this thread.
Unfortunately thats life.. not everyone is taking the dota fad happily. They just hate it cos their fav games are overshadow. nuff said.

Yes please cos you are failing alot.
For those dotard, I hope u know your own game history also. Dota is created by EUL which later on the creator open his source to public creating many version of it such as Dota chaos, Dota allstars and etc. The current Dota people are playing now is Dota Allstars which created by Icefrog therefore the current Dota is indeed from Icefrog.
Viking massing??.. better do marine mass, Stims + medic ftw. Btw can SCV repair each other and get heal by medic in SC2?
dude, they can TRANSFORM! what the hell can beat that? all they need is adding in a hero named optimus prime and thats a total win right there.

VIKINGS FTW! pew epw epwepwepwe

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Aug 15 2007, 01:53 PM
H@H@
post Aug 15 2007, 02:22 PM

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
6,727 posts

Ok guys, you scared off the troll. Can we stop the needless bashing of DotA now?

Anyway, just to add for those blur DotA fans:
Everything (Yes, EVERYTHING) in DotA is based off available assets used in Warcraft 3. Everything from the map objects, heroes, logos and icons are all there in standard Warcraft 3: Frozen Throne. This is the reason why the map is ridiculously small for something that supposedly contains a lot of "content".

The team that made DotA merely changed the stats, abilities and appearances for each and so the game is rather unique in itself despite not having a single original art asset.

Can we just stick to talking about how Protoss talk to each other without mouths and whether hydralisks shot acids or needles? Pewpew FTW!
soggie
post Aug 15 2007, 02:34 PM

Braindead
3,872 posts

QUOTE(H@H@ @ Aug 15 2007, 02:22 PM)
Can we just stick to talking about how Protoss talk to each other without mouths and whether hydralisks shot acids or needles? Pewpew FTW!
Protoss communicate psionically, so they don't really need mouth. I just wonder how they eat and err... procreate.
hizperion
post Aug 15 2007, 02:42 PM

Average Bitch
913 posts

aiyo H@H@ come also explain about dota lol wut

madness!

but Vikings are ugly

it should be less bulky to win the internets
hao
post Aug 15 2007, 02:42 PM

Quills™
5,469 posts

SC pew pew Dota FTW!!!
Quazacolt
post Aug 15 2007, 03:17 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(H@H@ @ Aug 15 2007, 02:22 PM)
Ok guys, you scared off the troll. Can we stop the needless bashing of DotA now?

Anyway, just to add for those blur DotA fans:
Everything (Yes, EVERYTHING) in DotA is based off available assets used in Warcraft 3. Everything from the map objects, heroes, logos and icons are all there in standard Warcraft 3: Frozen Throne. This is the reason why the map is ridiculously small for something that supposedly contains a lot of "content".

The team that made DotA merely changed the stats, abilities and appearances for each and so the game is rather unique in itself despite not having a single original art asset.

omg does that mean we won?! THE BATTLE AGAINST THE DOTARDS HAS PREVAILED!!!!11!!11ONE

and protoss have mouths due to the intelligence level of human beings we are unable to see them. i think that is why they dont have mouths! (lol)

Added on August 15, 2007, 3:23 pm
QUOTE(hizperion @ Aug 15 2007, 02:42 PM)
aiyo H@H@ come also explain about dota lol wut

madness!

but Vikings are ugly

it should be less bulky to win the internets
like gundam wing zero custom less bulky AMIRITE?!?!?!!

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Aug 15 2007, 03:23 PM
soggie
post Aug 15 2007, 03:35 PM

Braindead
3,872 posts

Sigh, after the dotards left, here comes the spammers sleep.gif"

Actually, I noticed that the bulky style exist in every terran unit. Marines for example - even bulkier than their SC1 counterpart. Heck, the siege tank now looks like an artillery platform than an actual tank! Even the buildings gained some fat, but they look great.

The slim wraiths are gone, and the spiny Goliaths replaced with bulky vikings. What else? Ah yes, the reapers. Big arse jumpjets.

I guess that's the new theme for terrans? Bulk.

For the protoss it is much different. Their buildings look more delicate, and sophisticated (artistically). Heck even the colossus exudes style with its archaic built and spidery legs.

Good thing eh?
Quazacolt
post Aug 15 2007, 03:42 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Aug 15 2007, 03:35 PM)
Sigh, after the dotards left, here comes the spammers sleep.gif"

Actually, I noticed that the bulky style exist in every terran unit. Marines for example - even bulkier than their SC1 counterpart. Heck, the siege tank now looks like an artillery platform than an actual tank! Even the buildings gained some fat, but they look great.

The slim wraiths are gone, and the spiny Goliaths replaced with bulky vikings. What else? Ah yes, the reapers. Big arse jumpjets.

I guess that's the new theme for terrans? Bulk.

For the protoss it is much different. Their buildings look more delicate, and sophisticated (artistically). Heck even the colossus exudes style with its archaic built and spidery legs.

Good thing eh?
im ok with bulk so long their "stats" matches. the siege tank isnt any stronger (or maybe even weaker? lol) than their sc1 counter part and being more bulky (which should mean either heavier firepower, or tougher armor platings) just doesnt reflect it, be it stronger on their atk or tougher on their hp/armor.

imho on reapers they dont really look bulky but... the design is just /headinhands imo. they look fat'ish, and twin toy gun laserzpewpew is just doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
soggie
post Aug 15 2007, 03:48 PM

Braindead
3,872 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 15 2007, 03:42 PM)
im ok with bulk so long their "stats" matches. the siege tank isnt any stronger (or maybe even weaker? lol) than their sc1 counter part and being more bulky (which should mean either heavier firepower, or tougher armor platings) just doesnt reflect it, be it stronger on their atk or tougher on their hp/armor.

imho on reapers they dont really look bulky but... the design is just /headinhands imo. they look fat'ish, and twin toy gun laserzpewpew is just  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
Well traditionally Protoss is the more durable race, and terrans coming close to seconds (marines with 40 HP vs technicians with 30 HP... and they dare call it power armor). I think the bulk refers not to their durability but to their inferior technology compared to the protoss. Same thing like overengineering things vs precise engineering.

It can be argued that the Protoss are durable only because of their shields, and it makes sense because with the shields giving them extra durability they wouldn't have needed extra metal to protect them right? Not so for the terrans. No shield means they need thicker armor plates. Hehe.
Quazacolt
post Aug 15 2007, 04:02 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Aug 15 2007, 03:48 PM)
Well traditionally Protoss is the more durable race, and terrans coming close to seconds (marines with 40 HP vs technicians with 30 HP... and they dare call it power armor). I think the bulk refers not to their durability but to their inferior technology compared to the protoss. Same thing like overengineering things vs precise engineering.

It can be argued that the Protoss are durable only because of their shields, and it makes sense because with the shields giving them extra durability they wouldn't have needed extra metal to protect them right? Not so for the terrans. No shield means they need thicker armor plates. Hehe.
problem is that the siege tanks (the most noticeble bulkiest change from sc1 to 2) still seem to die just as fast as they did in sc1, and their firepower doesnt seem to be improved. not that i know if the stats is being changed/scaled to sc2 etc etc, just from the viewpoint of watching the gameplay videos etc.
soggie
post Aug 15 2007, 04:10 PM

Braindead
3,872 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 15 2007, 04:02 PM)
problem is that the siege tanks (the most noticeble bulkiest change from sc1 to 2) still seem to die just as fast as they did in sc1, and their firepower doesnt seem to be improved. not that i know if the stats is being changed/scaled to sc2 etc etc, just from the viewpoint of watching the gameplay videos etc.
Well it is still in its early stages now, we still don't know the various damage types vs armor types stats yet. In the first gameplay demo, the siege tanks were annihilated because the Immortals have anti-siege tank shields. This gives some indication to what Blizzard intends to do - to make SC a more varied game in which unlike SC1 where siege tank's firepower pwns all type of ground armor, now there are units that are unafraid of the siege tanks's archlite cannons.

I think an ideal way of portraying the siege tank would be to make it vulnerable to melee, strong against small arms and average against heavy weapons. Extra damage from air would be even better tongue.gif. All in all, I would like to see the siege tanks turned into more dedicated artillery units, needing protection from other ground skirmish units like the grounded vikings and thor.
khelben
post Aug 15 2007, 05:12 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

So.. what the hell happen to the Goliaths? sad.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 15 2007, 05:18 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Aug 15 2007, 04:10 PM)
Well it is still in its early stages now, we still don't know the various damage types vs armor types stats yet. In the first gameplay demo, the siege tanks were annihilated because the Immortals have anti-siege tank shields. This gives some indication to what Blizzard intends to do - to make SC a more varied game in which unlike SC1 where siege tank's firepower pwns all type of ground armor, now there are units that are unafraid of the siege tanks's archlite cannons.

I think an ideal way of portraying the siege tank would be to make it vulnerable to melee, strong against small arms and average against heavy weapons. Extra damage from air would be even better tongue.gif. All in all, I would like to see the siege tanks turned into more dedicated artillery units, needing protection from other ground skirmish units like the grounded vikings and thor.
yea that is true, just have to wait for a more indepth stats insights on the terran units to see if the actual stats reflect the bulkiness of their new units or ugprades/different varriants from the old units.

and yea i agree, siege tanks should be more of an actual SIEGE tanks. and not lolturtlingmassdefense tanks. extra dmg to small units to counter masses and decent? or normal dmg to medium units and reduced dmg? to larger combatant units. but due to the nature of its sieging capabilities, EXTRA dmg to buildings!! drool.gif

Added on August 15, 2007, 5:19 pm
QUOTE(khelben @ Aug 15 2007, 05:12 PM)
they are now called viking, with the ability to transform into planes.

autocannons changed to gatling guns, and their rockets changed to air to air missles in plane mode.

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Aug 15 2007, 05:19 PM
khelben
post Aug 15 2007, 05:36 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 15 2007, 05:18 PM)
they are now called viking, with the ability to transform into planes.

autocannons changed to gatling guns, and their rockets changed to air to air missles in plane mode.
Ya saw that, pretty cute the way they walk but.. no more ground-to-air missiles? sad.gif
Cheesenium
post Aug 15 2007, 05:41 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Aug 15 2007, 02:34 PM)
Protoss communicate psionically, so they don't really need mouth. I just wonder how they eat and err... procreate.
Then,how do they talk to the humans and Zerg?

QUOTE(khelben @ Aug 15 2007, 05:12 PM)
They should be gone now,just like Firebats.Sniff~

and yea i agree, siege tanks should be more of an actual SIEGE tanks. and not lolturtlingmassdefense tanks. extra dmg to small units to counter masses and decent? or normal dmg to medium units and reduced dmg? to larger combatant units. but due to the nature of its sieging capabilities, EXTRA dmg to buildings!!  drool.gif

That feature in bold is in the current SC2 now.I saw a screenshot of a Cobra's stats on the UI that says it does more damage against mechanical class unit.

Added on August 15, 2007, 5:43 pm
QUOTE(khelben @ Aug 15 2007, 05:36 PM)
Ya saw that, pretty cute the way they walk but.. no more ground-to-air missiles? sad.gif
Dunno,i read somewhere that Viking are also anti-air a few weeks before Blizzcon.Now,they are not again.Robots can only shoot ground and plane mode can only shoot air.

I do hope the final SC2's Viking can shoot air units in robot mode.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Aug 15 2007, 05:43 PM
StarGhazzer
post Aug 15 2007, 05:49 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(TeckPeow @ Aug 14 2007, 08:48 PM)
come on... its his fault for not mentioning its the new starcraft

i noticed your signature "say no to dota"...

Dota is a great game, ok?

DotA is the reason why i am interested in this game...there are many similarities between DotA and stacraft, the units, the heroes and the terrain...etc..

Also..you don't have to behave that way...
LOL notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

sweat.gif

and yea i agree, siege tanks should be more of an actual SIEGE tanks. and not lolturtlingmassdefense tanks. extra dmg to small units to counter masses and decent? or normal dmg to medium units and reduced dmg? to larger combatant units. but due to the nature of its sieging capabilities, EXTRA dmg to buildings!!  drool.gif
We still don't know much about what the units can do at the moment, the only reliable source we have are the various video clips from Blizzcon. But if they do the same damage like you've mentioned, they will become the Prism Tank equivalent of SC2. tongue.gif At the moment, Siege Tanks are fine, and they will be easier to kill than before with the arrival of the Immortals. The hardened shields of the Immortal is kinda unbalanced (at the moment) since the maximum damage they receive from any unit is 10. In the end you'll need swarms of Marines/Zerglings/Hydras to whack it.
soggie
post Aug 15 2007, 05:50 PM

Braindead
3,872 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Aug 15 2007, 05:41 PM)
Then,how do they talk to the humans and Zerg?
Humans have brains, and psionics communicate directly into your brain. So it's like "hearing" a voice in your head. Think telepathy. As for the Zerg, they don't communicate - the Overmind does all the talking and thinking, and the Overmind's a big eyeball without mouths too. It communicates via psionics too. The thing I can't understand is how Raynor can talk to Zeratul, because obviously the latter don't have ears. Unless the psionics also work on soundwaves... haha

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Aug 15 2007, 05:41 PM)
Dunno,i read somewhere that Viking are also anti-air a few weeks before Blizzcon.Now,they are not again.Robots can only shoot ground and plane mode can only shoot air.

I do hope the final SC2's Viking can shoot air units in robot mode.
I don't. It limits the effectiveness of the Vikings, which is a good thing. Make the player micro it to send it into the air to face aerial threats. C'mon, dun be lazy! mad.gif
Cheesenium
post Aug 15 2007, 05:56 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Aug 15 2007, 05:49 PM)
LOL notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Teak Phew is a idiotic dotard.Just ignore whatever he post.

QUOTE(soggie @ Aug 15 2007, 05:50 PM)
I don't. It limits the effectiveness of the Vikings, which is a good thing. Make the player micro it to send it into the air to face aerial threats. C'mon, dun be lazy!  mad.gif
Haha,i still want similar to Goliath in SC2.Not a crippled version that only can shoot ground.

Im trying to find those Blizzcon screenshots that show exaggerated damage to certain armor.
Goblinsk8er
post Aug 15 2007, 06:15 PM

306 posts

The thing I can't understand is how Raynor can talk to Zeratul, because obviously the latter don't have ears. Unless the psionics also work on soundwaves... haha
Im sure protoss have some hearing organs. Just that it is not visible, hmm something like the reptiles.
If they can't listen, they could have just died from all kind of stupid scenarios. (Getting run over by a vehicle from behind, coz cant listen to its movement..etc)

124 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:03 PM