11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

LYN PROTON IRIZ OWNER THREAD V9, Fun, meet feisty.

Jescon
post Sep 10 2019, 04:56 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Sep 10 2019, 03:44 PM)
sifu no help ???

or should i just stick to SC but already after 3year???S  cry.gif  cry.gif
I'm not a sifu for Iriz or manual transmission. Here's some advice:

For (1), I don't know the cost for manual transmission oil or what's the best, but I think sticking to Ori shouldn't be a problem. I've changed auto gearbox oils before on my gen2, barely felt any difference between them. Some say gear change more smoother with better oil, but I didn't really feel an improvement. Changed from Ori to Liqui Moly, but had to sell my car before could try the famous toyota oil.

For (2), could be a few things actually. If knocking sound and really uncomfortable driving experience, then it's absorbers. Could also be other parts like mounting, etc. I haven't really had a proper look at the torsion beam yet. Not sure what shock absorbers are Proton using now - but aftermarket absorbers can be cheap or really expensive, depends on what you are looking for. Kayabas are cheap (~RM100 each for rear), but it was not reliable for me - I had oil leaks in just 6 months of use for front, and 1 year for rear. Honestly, keep stocks - best of both worlds (comfort + handling).

For (3), If you're going for stock, I would just go to SC actually, because it's really difficult to find a good shop that won't sell you junk. Just don't do alignment and balancing at Proton...

I used to go to Doris (Shah Alam). Some have recommended Zordaq (Shah Alam) as well. Nice guys who knows a lot about Proton, and they give reliable advice.

Jescon
post Sep 10 2019, 05:07 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Sep 10 2019, 05:01 PM)
later c c when steam got discount can consider  rclxms.gif my daily driver in a game..  biggrin.gif
I read somewhere it was Epic store exclusive, though. Hopefully, it will come to Steam as well. Damn Epic...
Jescon
post Sep 11 2019, 09:50 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Sep 11 2019, 09:17 AM)
thanks for sharing bro

1) coz SC said time is due for change per their maitennace record so reluctant to change for 700buck when all is working  well for now .
What exactly is RM700?? For gear oil, you must follow service maintenance, if not the gearbox no more warranty.

Note: Zordaq has many outlets actually - didn't know before. haha
Jescon
post Sep 12 2019, 11:42 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(crayzee @ Sep 5 2019, 09:45 AM)
No prob  icon_idea.gif
My car almost 5yrs old now, almost no rattling after i've fixed all these in the 1st/2nd year hunting for tikus.
Crayzee, how did you remove the steering horn/airbag cover? I see two screws behind the steering, anything else? This won't affect the airbag right? haha

There's definitely something loose inside.
Jescon
post Sep 12 2019, 11:55 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Sep 12 2019, 10:31 AM)
Anyone knows how to fix spoiler rattle issue?

The rubber padding is kinda dry and thinning, I'm not sure if Proton CS offer to replace it for free.
You sure you want to go back SC again? hahaha

Those guys follow SOP, and will not do anything if it's not in the book. Some might help, some might not. You can just remove the spoiler and add more rubber/tape so that it doesn't rattle. Or, just send to accessory shop... If they're not busy, they will help.
Jescon
post Sep 12 2019, 02:29 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(crayzee @ Sep 12 2019, 12:10 PM)
Remove battery terminal 1st before you do that, i am not responsible if the airbag explode in your face XD
This is definitely important. grin.gif Ok, I'll give it a try this coming long weekend. Remove battery terminal, wait 15 minutes, then I'll poke it. Lol

Thank you thumbsup.gif
Jescon
post Sep 13 2019, 09:13 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Sep 12 2019, 05:27 PM)
lol. My car is still with them btw. I was told my car will be done by today evening, now it's already 5pm, still no call from them.  thumbsup.gif  thumbsup.gif

WELL DONE AGAIN PROTON EDAR!
Managed to get back your car already?
Jescon
post Sep 14 2019, 09:41 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Sep 13 2019, 11:00 AM)
Nope.

Update: they finally answered my call just now and told me my car is not ready yet(supposedly be done yesterday), and again they told me the SA will call me back later, which they never will.

I guess my car will never get fix for another week.  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif
Who do we complain to for cases like this? Complain to Proton, and it will most probably fall on deaf ears. NCCC.org.my is for mainly legal means (e.g. warranty). The best to just make your case go viral. Ever tried complaining to their FB page?
Jescon
post Sep 14 2019, 10:00 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Sep 13 2019, 07:43 PM)
Omg
350 to replace both side rear absorbers ..

Is that for real ???
This is from the MyProton App. Isn't the price difference a little too much? Even if it includes Labor, >RM150 for labor charge is too much.

This post has been edited by Jescon: Sep 14 2019, 10:01 AM
Jescon
post Sep 15 2019, 12:38 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Sep 15 2019, 10:43 AM)
my proton app ???

i did mine out side of SC

so its 2  kayaba rear absorbers  = 350 ...
There's an app for android.

Rear KYBs do not cost RM350 for a pair. Did they change other parts?

QUOTE(voscar @ Sep 15 2019, 11:00 AM)
s***, these few days i went a few alignment places, 2 of the shop inform me my rear absorber kaput, bouncing feels. just replaced ori proton absorber all 4 pcs 2.5 years ago. the front absorber i already replaced 3-4 times due to oil leak, either proton ori or kyb all doesn't lasts more than 3 years... mad.gif
My KYBs only lasted a year on my previous Gen2, but the road conditions around outskirts of KL is really bad anyway thanks to MRT2 and SUKE highway. Nonetheless, it should last at least 3 years. Inb4 anybody says I drive fast over potholes - there is no way to drive fast during rush hour traffic. I asked a foreman before and he told me KYBs QC dropped, and many people are complaining. I couldn't find monroe anymore.

I was recommended a shop that does their own absorbers in seri kembangan, they can set soft or stiff for their absorbers according to your needs. To repair their own absorbers, they charge minimum RM30 only since they can open the whole unit and change the faulty parts within the absorber. The name of the shop is PRS Sport Service. I have not been there myself, so I personally can't recommend.
Jescon
post Sep 15 2019, 11:56 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Sep 15 2019, 12:57 PM)
Actually yesterday I found out Monroe is back when I Google this brand. Got Monroe SEA new webpage, haha. Can found Monroe part number for Proton there...
A few famous spare parts shop inside their distributor list.
Noice. I just checked it out. Finally, they're back thumbup.gif
Jescon
post Sep 17 2019, 07:43 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Sep 17 2019, 05:04 PM)
Guys, do you able to turn your steering wheel like this with minimum effort?

I think my steering wheel still has the same problem, my steering wheel is heavy to turn, it is impossible to turn my wheel with 1 hand.
If the car is moving, yes. Stationary, no.

I agree that the steering is a little heavier than most cars, actually.
Jescon
post Sep 18 2019, 12:45 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(cse2k @ Sep 18 2019, 11:59 AM)
Guys got a question, when I let the car roll on it's own on downhill, I realise the RPM is very high, around 1.5-2k, and you can hear noise coming from engine/CVT (not sure), do you guys encounter this issue?
This is normal. It's called engine braking, helps with braking when going down hill. Pressing the accelerator a little would disengage it.

Further reading about Punch CVT: http://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/index....cvt-q-a.439802/
Jescon
post Sep 18 2019, 07:24 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Sep 18 2019, 06:42 PM)
Already bumped the psi from 30 to 34, still the same.
When I first got my car from Proton, it was 34 PSI, and it was very light. If you're feeling heavy at 34 PSI, then it's best to go to SC again.

Why not try the non-Edar SC? Sometimes the uncle foreman in there better than Edar. I've only been to World Car Care (Sri Petaling) - fixed old perdana brake sensor problem, and Pesona Mahir (Cheras) - fixed my AC Switch/Knob panel rattling. For the AC panel rattling, if I continued with Edar, I would have needed the leave my car there for 3 days.
Jescon
post Sep 21 2019, 09:46 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(EatFriesEggs @ Sep 20 2019, 11:39 PM)
Will go test drive this car one day... Thinking of trading in my 8 yrs old 1.5myvi SE... to get this

How's the 2019 iriz update? Any issue, there seem to be some when reading a few pages back, or are these the prefacelift version
If the posts that you read states "Iriz 2019", there's a 99% chance they are talking about the facelifted version.

I'll tell you this: the facelift is only exterior. Interior, it's the same with older versions - meaning almost the same rattles. But the rattles are fixable, since it's basically just adding cloth tape between any plastic-to-plastic contact. Campro engine is not EEV, but the CVT GB has been tuned to provide better FC and performance. Even though Punch CVT claims that their clutch CVT saves petrol while stopping (it basically goes into neutral by itself when you stop while pressing the brake), but in real world, this does not seem to be the case. If you're going through a lot of traffic jam daily - this is not the car for you. If not, go ahead, it's great car to drive around with minor traffic jams. If you go through a lot of bumpy roads like me, at times the Myvi's softer suspensions seems better.

Have you test drive the new (gen3) myvi?
Jescon
post Sep 21 2019, 09:58 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Sep 20 2019, 06:00 PM)
Yup, I was a firm believer that coasting down hill with or without engine braking does not consume fuel.

But topping up before descending Genting and seeing that I lost 1 bar of fuel changed my mind.

Same thing happens @ menora but you can argue that the climb actually consumed the fuel and when the car heading downhill affects the meter reading...

#inb4 some one come say difference in pressure up hill and down hill caused the bar of fuel to be lost
That's weird. From my experience (2019 Iriz), I poured full tank petrol at Wangsa Maju Caltex, then drove to GPO. Parked there. Evening came down, and drove to McD Shah Alam. Only first bar dropped. It was during Merdeka day, so not much cars on the road, and I may have overfilled the fuel tank a little.

I even got my 3.8L/100KM picture during this trip by driving 70-80km/h on Duke. Lel. Once joined a minor traffic jam (the moment I took this picture, that's why 20km/h), then it started jumping up to 5-6L/100KM. Normal days on MRR2 is still 7.5L/100KM on average la.

Jescon
post Sep 21 2019, 01:01 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(EatFriesEggs @ Sep 21 2019, 11:01 AM)
it would be more of a day to day to office kind of car.. looks like can't buy proton yet then, my gripe of it has always been its engine and gearbox
Nonetheless, just test drive the car. When the SA with you while test drive, ask him/her questions about rattling, EEV, and its SC being incompetent. icon_idea.gif

Honestly though, Proton parts barely fail, I give them that (following proper maintenance). I've heard of few parts issues with the new Myvi (don't know true or not). End of the day, pray to get a good car out of the factory from any manufacture - we have crap QC here. If you get lemon car... tongue.gif

Sell First, Solve Problem Later, or don't solve at all (since Malaysians very kind people)... more and more manufacturers are like this, hiding under the name of "disruptive marketing".
Jescon
post Sep 21 2019, 01:03 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Sep 21 2019, 10:55 AM)
iriz 2015 1.3MT, mix highway and city, shell RON95, yep, 90+km start losing bars, total around 410+- I get full tank.
Iriz 2019 1.6CVT, 34 litres = 380KM, I would say 40%-50% slow-moving traffic.
Jescon
post Sep 25 2019, 06:55 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(WTFisLYN @ Sep 25 2019, 06:08 PM)
I MOLEST MOLEST GLOVEBOX STILL NO SPONGEY FEELING. Where is the cabin air filter you guys?
Found this on some guy's facebook selling cabin air filters: https://www.facebook.com/JalanTengkuMohdMaa...?type=3&theater

Jescon
post Sep 26 2019, 09:22 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(garlicpesto @ Sep 25 2019, 11:57 PM)
so excited to get my first car and have set my eyes on iriz 2019 <3 BUt really what is the difference like between 1.3 and 1.6? So far im driving the family Honda Jazz 2014, am a normal driver that maintain 60-80 on normal roads and 110/120 on highways.. Is the fuel efficiency gonna be a big difference coming from a hybrid car?

Thanks!
The Campro engine is not EEV certified, but the new 2019 Iriz can be considered as "fuel efficient", especially on long journeys, less traffic - though it is highly debatable. I drive in 20-30 minutes traffic everyday, to and from work (Ampang) ~50km. I also travel to other parts of KL/Selangor, but basically: 34 litres = 380km, which is about 8.9L/100KM or 11KM/L. I think the new (gen3) Myvi would be able to do this at 12-13KM/L. On long distance journeys, I'm able to get much better than this - check out Proton's 1-tank challenge; but they're not driving at 110/120 even on highway. I think about 6L/100KM or 16-17KM/L is definitely achievable while driving 110/120.
The RPM of the Iriz is about 3k at 110km/h, which is kinda terrible compared to today's standards - more work done by the engine = more FC.

Of course there's going to be a big difference between an Internal Combustion Engine (ICE) and a Hybrid car. A hybrid will always be at least twice as fuel efficient as compared to ICE vehicles.

This post has been edited by Jescon: Sep 26 2019, 09:31 AM

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1315sec    1.07    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:04 PM