837 posts

Hmm… why close the Discovery Science, the ancient alien 👽 is nice
Feliex
post Sep 4 2021, 05:59 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(BlackGold @ Sep 4 2021, 05:30 PM)
hi,im currently being offered with astro starter pack with ulti box for rm33.20 including sst..just want to know if its the cheapest offer around..
With this price range, What are you still waiting for?

This post has been edited by Feliex: Sep 4 2021, 06:00 PM
Feliex
post Sep 4 2021, 09:39 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(BlackGold @ Sep 4 2021, 06:32 PM)
so good deal?.but i must use autodebit in order to get the price..
whats the max rebate yang you pernah tgk astro bagi?
I only get the advertised rebate for Super Pack, which is 120.80.
I also didn't get any extra rebate although I use auto debit

This post has been edited by Feliex: Sep 4 2021, 09:41 PM
Feliex
post Sep 10 2021, 12:46 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Sep 10 2021, 12:18 PM)
https://www.astro.com.my/mediaroom/articled...tvbanywhere-app
Next app on Astro OTT menu TVB anywhere+ starting 13 September 3pm.free for dynasty pack subscribers
Again,, no standardised the Naming,, Is SuperPack 3A count as Dynastic Pack?
Feliex
post Sep 14 2021, 11:07 AM

837 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Sep 13 2021, 10:51 AM)
No no. Like, when you click on a channel,

old ui -> press -> channel open.
New ui -> Press -> Start from beginning or live -> press -> channel open

so already there two extra presses.

And another thing. Old UI you can set for a channel to automatically change to an upcoming program. With the new UI, it will only alert you, but you have to manually change the channel. Usually if there is football in the middle of the night, I will set Astro to change the channel to football, so that even if I nod off, when I wake up the channel is already opened for me even if I was watching some other channel previously
With the new UI, it will only alert you, but you have to manually change the channel. Usually if there is football in the middle of the night, I will set Astro to change the channel to football, so that even if I nod off, when I wake up the channel is already opened for me even if I was watching some other channel previously

Hi Boss, how to do this on ultra boss ?
Feliex
post Sep 15 2021, 11:21 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Sep 15 2021, 10:55 PM)
I presume SPOTV 2 will have overlaps with what Astro already offers, hence why Astro only picking up one channel. My only concern will be for sports that are licensed solely by SpoTV and are shown at the same time, for example some MotoGP races and WSBK races happens at the same weekend, and both are licensed to SpoTV by Dorna
I just hope SPOTV can provide baseball cast to Astro ^.^
Feliex
post Sep 19 2021, 07:07 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(Mr Loh A+ @ Sep 19 2021, 03:36 PM)
There are 4 feeds for Celestial Movies, including Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia and the Philippines (which is known as Celestial Movies Pinoy). Celestial Movies Malaysia is the main feed out of 4. Malaysia feed premieres movies distributed by Media Asia Distribution, Emperor Motion Pictures, Filmko Pictures, Golden Harvest Entertainment, CJ Entertainment, Toho and more. In Singapore, 80-90% of movies that premiere on Celestial Movies Malaysia will not premiere on Celestial Movies Singapore as Star Chinese Movies (Singapore feed) has the first-run broadcasting right. So, Celestial Movies Singapore will usually air some old movies like what Star Chinese Movies Malaysia does. As for Celestial Movies Indonesia mirrors Celestial Movies Malaysia most of the time; however, it will replace some of its movies if the broadcasting rights of those movies are being held by other TV networks or can't acquire broadcasting right in the country. Lastly, Celestial Movies Pinoy broadcasts all of their movies dubbed in a mixture of Tagalog and English.

For more info, you may visit http://www.celestialmovies.com/schedule.php?lang=en to see the difference between Malaysia, Singapore and Indonesia feed. As for Celestial Movies Pinoy, you can visit this website - https://www.clickthecity.com/tv/network/cel...l-movies-pinoy/
Thanks for the information ℹ️ I just know it. By the way, do u know National Geographic I compare before la, Taiwan is different with Malaysia, Taiwan seem more contain thn Malaysia, their flight investigation is air on Wednesday and we air on Friday.
Feliex
post Sep 20 2021, 09:48 AM

837 posts

QUOTE(twice1020 @ Sep 19 2021, 11:03 PM)
There are 2 different feed of National Geographic in Taiwan.
The main Taiwan feed of National Geographic contain local commercial ads and available in most cable TV.
The Asian feed of National Geographic (the same feed with MY, SG) available in CHT MOD and selected cable TV.

Not sure about the program but it appear that program in Taiwan feed more newer compared to Asian feed.
This mean, the Nat Geo Malaysia is the same feed as SG?

This post has been edited by Feliex: Sep 20 2021, 10:05 AM
Feliex
post Sep 20 2021, 01:32 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(weareblahs @ Sep 20 2021, 10:32 AM)
Yes.

Asia all shares the same feed.

EDIT: Just found out that Astro has a 5 / 10-minute delay for Nat Geo People comparing to the Indonesian NGP feed. Wonder that does this applies to other Nat Geo channels?
I dont mine the delay, just the Nat Geo content really not much compare to Taiwan. & Now I mostly watch BBC Earth lol

This post has been edited by Feliex: Sep 20 2021, 01:32 PM
Feliex
post Sep 30 2021, 10:51 AM

837 posts

QUOTE(weareblahs @ Sep 30 2021, 08:33 AM)
Giving you some technical information about why the Astro GO subtitles are like that (subtitle aspect ratio):

Astro's STB defaultly decodes all the subtitles into 16:9, even the subtitle's metadata stated the subtitle is 4:3. Your Astro decoder just "stretches" the subtitle into 16:9, so subtitles on some channels might look stretchy, such as:
- "Chinese" subtitle option in Astro AEC (306), Astro Shuang Xing HD (307) and Astro Quan Jia HD (308)
- "Multiple" subtitle option on Celestial Classic Movies (321) and Celestial Movies HD (309)

Example:
(compare these two channels on your Astro decoder, then on Astro GO)

However, on Astro GO, they were shown as the given subtitle's aspect ratio, so some channel's subtitles should look normal, but in this case, some Malay / English subtitles on HD channels just looks too "thin" on Astro GO.

Subtitles of channels that is natively 16:9 but not properly decoded as 16:9 on Astro GO:
- National Geographic Channel (551)
- Nat Geo People (710)
- HBO Channels

Examples of HD Channels that are still using a 4:3 format for their subtitles, but on your Astro decoder, it looks "stretchy", but it just looked normal on Astro GO:
- AXN (701)
- ONE (392)
- ANIMAX (719)
- Astro's in-house channels (see Chinese subtitles), for example, Astro Quan Jia HD, Astro AOD
- Paramount Network (713)

Example of subtitles of channels that is natively encoded in 16:9 but it's properly decoded as 16:9 by Astro GO:
- HGTV (715)
- K-PLUS (396)
- TVB Jade (310)

VOD contents are using text-based subtitles, so it should appear normally.

EDIT: Added something
Regarding this I ady notice long time, I wonder why astro cant makes it in standard. bangwall.gif
Feliex
post Sep 30 2021, 06:13 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Sep 30 2021, 06:05 PM)
Ah fucuk 2 minute delay on Astro. Hopefully no delay on Unifitv
Ultra Box Plug & play delay 1 minutes, so total delay 3 minutes rclxms.gif
Feliex
post Oct 1 2021, 09:29 AM

837 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Oct 1 2021, 08:36 AM)
Hmm, maybe it's just me, but SpoTV does not look as sharp as Fox Sports was. The image looks much more compressed.
The quality same as the Eurosport channel damn bangwall.gif

Do you realize, during BBC inhouse ads, for example BBC Earth, all those picture quality is very sharp & nice contrast.
But the channel show quality does not look like the advertising.

Yesterday the AEC Evening Edition, got interview the product and software manager, they say will focus on voice searching technologies in year 2022 (i was like MEHHHHH<_< even simple things also cant do KEMAS & standard it, & you talk about new implement technologies)

1. Viewing experience is not great enough (resolution, subtitle & sound volume problem)

2. MyAstro should enable the cloud recording function directly on the timeline schedule. (Not open MyAstro & back to Astro Go, click recording. Since My Astro app is base on a login account). And I believe this is an advantage to increase your cloud selling point.

3. Searching function is a nightmare, even pirate box is doing a better job than you this listed company (ASTRO).

4. UIUX in content view on the Ultra Box is a disaster, you can't even manage well to show/display the content to the end-user.
- Sometimes the show's thumbnails are default channels wallpaper instead of the programs.
- You have to disable/clear those channels to show on Home, Catch Up, Boxsets base on the language category that I set on the box. (For example, Box language is Chinese but you mix all those shows/channels that I do not subscribe to it such as Malay & India channel show.) Come on you just waste the end-user time on the searching show/program on your interface. Instead "find and click" NOT SKIP!

5. Another detail Astro miss is, for example, I just found out Amazing Race s31 on AXN, but it already air episode 6, when I searching, it is only available on the TV show by need enable for recording, but the library is empty. So when users enable the cloud recording whole s13, and you just starting "record episode 6 - episode end". SO WTF for the missing episode between "1-5"? Is the function "tag id" on storage is hard enough to implement? I NOT BELIEVE end-users are buying physical storage on your end, mostly is a lump sum physical storage and divided base on the "account id"!

6. 4K category show library is just a mesh on your library different tab show different contents. Your SORT function didn't utilize well, believe me!

Lastly, Astro content is a lot & nice, but you MISSING ON how to guide the user do not miss the content & also lack emphasis to the end-user/customers for the NEW Content & Show, and your failure is always advertising the NEW/HOT show on the social media! Attached Image For exmaple this information, So you as a manager cant even figure out how to manage to show it on your ultra box?

Imagine, when you are just back from home from work, and just want to sit down & relax with the entertainment., the UIUX is just a DISASTER!

Maybe ASTRO is hired intern/fresh grade more than experience guys. Do not forget you are creating a product for customer/end-user using.
IS NOT TO COMPLETE the job task to your manager/boss! REALLY ASTRO MANAGEMENT IS DOING SYOK SENDIRI PRODUCT to PUSH to END-USERS!!!! PLS LA 1 YEAR ONLY 1 SOFTWARE UPDATE ON ULTRA BOX,, IF WANT TO PUSH YOUR REVENUE SHARE & ATTRACT CUTOMER LA, REALLY FOUNDATION PLS BE GOOD/GREAT FIRST!

This post has been edited by Feliex: Oct 1 2021, 12:15 PM
Feliex
post Oct 1 2021, 12:03 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(weareblahs @ Oct 1 2021, 11:28 AM)
Actually, I personally think that the old PVR UI is much better and easy to control than the new Ultraview one.
Easy-to-use interface, faster animations and more (I can't say all of it because there's many stuffs better than the Ultraview UI). Even TiviMate has a better experience on the EPG and customization than the Ultraview UI.

(Fun fact: If you force Astro GO's android app into landscape mode it just almostly looked like the Ultraview UI)
Im not sure the astro old tv box, im just new to the astro. why im subscribe astro is because i really lazy make decision on what i want watching on NETFLIX I prefer u air and I watching. And also pirate download really make me headache about the storage on NAS and also I need to keep update my self on new incoming hot show/channel. In order to download the content.
I seldom on Astro Go because the screen is too small and the picture quality is worst thn Youtube HD.

This post has been edited by Feliex: Oct 1 2021, 12:05 PM
Feliex
post Oct 5 2021, 02:07 PM

837 posts

Just Found out HBO Go content on Ultrabox (AOD) got CUT Scene, but HBO Go APP is available.

Title: Reminiscence

This post has been edited by Feliex: Oct 5 2021, 02:44 PM
Feliex
post Oct 5 2021, 04:28 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Oct 5 2021, 03:30 PM)
You mean that movie version you see on Astro Go / On Demand is censored, while the one you see on HBO GO is uncensored?

Any examples?
Yes Boss, start with 00:22:50 before the next establishing shot (City Scene from top)。

This post has been edited by Feliex: Oct 5 2021, 11:40 PM
Feliex
post Oct 6 2021, 08:05 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(NimalKumar @ Oct 6 2021, 07:48 PM)
Aaah i see .. I'm on 21.1.4.24 ... Any way to kickstart the update process for Ultra? So far only PVR boxes only got manual online on how to initiate the process.
What I’m doing is
1. off the ultra box
2. Unplug ultra box
3. Wait few sec, plug back
4. Turn on

Feliex
post Oct 11 2021, 03:30 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Oct 9 2021, 08:59 PM)
No offense, but could you tell us where you get this info from? Is it from Wikipedia?  sweat.gif
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CTi_International
Actually CTi Channel LIVE Feeds all is FREE on Youtube ... hmm
I hope Astro can get "CBC 東森新聞" since Astro Taiwan broadcast feed all is "Blue" site no have "Green" site.

This post has been edited by Feliex: Oct 11 2021, 03:35 PM
Feliex
post Oct 11 2021, 04:04 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(DValentine @ Oct 11 2021, 03:43 PM)
no need la

better get PTS taiwan, the political stand more neutral,
summore got critical acclaimed drama series
no need as well,, PTS also broadcast free same receive as DaaiTV

This post has been edited by Feliex: Oct 11 2021, 04:07 PM
Feliex
post Oct 11 2021, 09:40 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Oct 11 2021, 05:50 PM)
How about TVBS News channel? Do you think Astro made the right decision to bring in that Taiwan news channel?
TVBS is site “Blue” as well blue almost “wash brain to keep closer to China”

For me at least got “Green & Blue” to balance not one side news only.

This post has been edited by Feliex: Oct 11 2021, 09:45 PM
Feliex
post Oct 11 2021, 09:43 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(DValentine @ Oct 11 2021, 06:44 PM)
every channel has its owner and political stand

except PTS more neutral
PTS big stake holders is “Green” site.
For my view, there is no neutral NEWS in this world.
All is “Antagonism”, this is why independent thinking is important. Watch both side thn think yourself decision is on hand, not spoon feed like entertainment.

This post has been edited by Feliex: Oct 11 2021, 09:47 PM

15 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0487sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:18 AM