Astro Version 13A, All about Astro Malaysia offerings

linkinstreet
post Oct 4 2023, 05:31 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Oct 3 2023, 09:25 PM)
Only free channel like 101, 102, 103 are works. But if I reset back box to Plug & Play installation method, all subscribed channel is working back.
Its like Astro not allow me to change to satelite for plug & play box.
IIRC after you change to Satellite mode, you need to go to Astro's self care website and refresh your smartcard
https://help.astro.com.my/question/can-i-re...ard-in-my-astro

QUOTE(joshhd @ Oct 3 2023, 09:32 PM)
Your Ultra Box that you're referring to, is it originally in satellite mode?
No, mine was Plug n PLay. I need to reset my card afterwards in the website to make it work. I presume he didn't do the same thing.

This post has been edited by linkinstreet: Oct 4 2023, 05:32 AM
linkinstreet
post Oct 4 2023, 10:16 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Oct 4 2023, 08:28 AM)
minimize said that he already did a smart card refresh on My Astro, and still getting Subscription Required message on almost all channels.

minimize Or maybe you wanna try refresh your smart card one more time and see if you're still getting Subscription Required message for the rest of the channels? Although I doubt that it'll solve the issue la sweat.gif

Note: You can only refresh once in every 30 minutes
He did say that if he changed back to PnP, all the channels came back, which makes me wonder if the refresh process did suceed. If it succeeded, then changing back to PnP should not work.
linkinstreet
post Oct 4 2023, 03:29 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(Low Li Hao @ Oct 4 2023, 02:08 PM)
Not just on Astro, myFreeview also too due to report from MCMC.
RIP no fact checking news
linkinstreet
post Oct 4 2023, 07:30 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 4 2023, 06:14 PM)
so basically only astro platform cease...

myFreeView still got right?

if that the case. lower viewership then.... because part of the channel existence @ survival because can watch in astro too...
There's a post earlier up that says it's also ceasing from Myfreeview.

I presume likely due to it's multiple cases with MCMC? 🤔
linkinstreet
post Oct 6 2023, 07:21 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(Feliex @ Oct 6 2023, 06:07 PM)
Astro didn’t disclose any of this details
Only this stupid company own RND the tvbox, even HK & Taiwan is using Android kernel … is good to see ASTRO SHARE PRICE DROP! I wanna see still how much RND can SPEND!

Even AV1 also didn’t utilised! Where you can save your server & consumer bandwidth which is win-win situation! Come on la pirate tv box also using AV1 decode nowadays!

THIS IS WHY ASTRO CLOSE SHOP IS HAPPENING SOON!
Your rage aside, there is yet an official service provider that has used AV1 yet.

1. It's still new.
2. Yes, you now have devices that able to decode AV1, but you do realise for you to decode AV1, the medium needs to be encoded into AV1 first?
3. Encoding AV1 on the fly takes a lot of processing power compared to x264 and even HEVC, both wich already have cheap and decent conaumer grade encoders. This is why right now, most people are only using AV1 for storage purposes, or if their streaming, only for on demand and not live.
4. For backward compatibility wise, a lot of provider are still using x264 because it is supported by just about everything, from your simple web browser, to most smart devices. So instead of doing multiple encodes of AV1 and x264 to make sure that it's playable on every device the customer has, it's easier to just encode to x264. This means even the cheapskate of customer that has a very basic phone can install, use and stream from AstroGo. And more importantly, YOU ARE SAVING SPACE BY NOT ENCODING TWICE.

Yeah, there are new technology. But just because they are, does not mean it will be immediately picked up and be used. Even HEVC took nearly a decade before it's widely used. And that does not include those "future" codecs that's are widely touted to be the future, but ended up not even been used. Remember VP9? It was said to be the future since it's royalty free, but nobody ended up using it.

This post has been edited by linkinstreet: Oct 6 2023, 07:23 PM
linkinstreet
post Oct 7 2023, 01:52 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Oct 7 2023, 12:26 AM)
Btw, YouTube did generalise the use of VP9 video codec in the past though... But of course in recent years, they've mainly uses AV1 now.
Yeah, but that's also because they were the one of the creator of that coded, and was trying to push it's usage, but nobody else bothered.
FWIW, the current industry standard right now is
- Anything 1080p and below: x264
- Anything 4K and above: HEVC.

Astro is unlikely going to differ from the industry standard since most of the devices for their use, as well the devices for our (customer) use are still based on this, so it's cheaper to follow the standard.
Once 8K becomes the norm, we might see the addition of AV1 as an industry standard. But that unlikely be for a while, since 8K TVs are not really cheap.
linkinstreet
post Oct 13 2023, 01:12 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

Seems that W-Sport has picked up Malaysia's Super League Netball

linkinstreet
post Oct 13 2023, 10:31 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Oct 13 2023, 10:23 PM)
And also Astro Arena Bola channel, in 1080p50 quality  nod.gif
https://fallback.sooka.my/player.html?play=ARENA%20BOLA%20HD
Also this is basically the same feed you will get via Plug and Play if you're using the Ultra and Ulti box. 1080p50 @ 3.8mbps
linkinstreet
post Oct 16 2023, 08:04 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 16 2023, 05:18 AM)
astro down down but monthly bill they remain the same , no price cut  sweat.gif

during the campaign before election , this going down and this also going down , after nothing much but again up up up  laugh.gif
Astro: Itu PMX/Fahmi janji, bukan kami.
linkinstreet
post Oct 16 2023, 06:55 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Oct 16 2023, 05:47 PM)
Some say it will stay, some say it will be gone. We’ll see in the next two days then, on Oct 18.
Eh it's no more listed on Astro Go
linkinstreet
post Oct 16 2023, 07:54 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Oct 16 2023, 07:00 PM)
Awesome is still on channel 123 on my tv.
But we are not talking about MyTV
linkinstreet
post Oct 17 2023, 12:35 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Oct 16 2023, 09:27 PM)
Awesome TV isn't available for live streaming via Astro GO since its launch on Astro in 2021. The same thing also occurs in MYTV's Mana-Mana app.

So it's watchable via STB only.
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Oct 16 2023, 08:29 PM)
I don't remember it being on astroGo since launched. hmm.gif
Tak pernah perasan 😅
linkinstreet
post Oct 17 2023, 08:09 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Oct 17 2023, 07:48 PM)
Logically speaking, it should be who wants the channel to be on Astro platform...
Whoever wants it, shall pay for it. And now apparently Astro made a last minute U-turn.
So it's safe to guess that the party that wants the channel to be on Astro, has reached to an agreement to remain the channel as it is.
someone found extra money they finally can pay kot. whistling.gif
linkinstreet
post Oct 17 2023, 10:04 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Oct 17 2023, 09:44 PM)
didn't scale out in-time whistling.gif

they use unicast, is it? not multi-cast?
They are using AWS's CDN for the HLS.

https://d1fk7kbmz4il3.cloudfront.net

Name:
CODE
Legal Department
Organization:
Amazon.com, Inc.

Name Servers:
ns-1306.awsdns-35.org
ns-1597.awsdns-07.co.uk
ns-418.awsdns-52.com
ns-666.awsdns-19.net

Even the main page is hosted on AWS
CODE
Whois Record for SoOka.my

Domain Profile
Registrar Status taken
Name Servers NS-1000.AWSDNS-61.NET (has 58,002 domains)
NS-1367.AWSDNS-42.ORG (has 52,681 domains)
NS-2039.AWSDNS-62.CO.UK (has 283 domains)
NS-225.AWSDNS-28.COM (has 1,491 domains)

IP Address 3.163.24.7 - 6,374 other sites hosted on this server

IP Location United States - Oregon - Portland - Amazon.com Inc.
ASN United States AS16509 AMAZON-02, US (registered May 04, 2000)
IP History 15 changes on 15 unique IP addresses over 0 years Hosting History  
Hosting History 3 changes on 3 unique name servers over 8 years

Likely there is a flurry on the auth server when people are trying to login at the same time, and overwhelmed it. I usually experience the same thing with Formula1.com's login page whenever a practice session start since people are logging in for the live timing.

This post has been edited by linkinstreet: Oct 17 2023, 10:07 PM
linkinstreet
post Oct 21 2023, 06:35 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

Astro has picked up the A-League Men rights. Previously it was carried by Bein Sports, but I presume they dropped it after they got the rights to Bundesliga this season

linkinstreet
post Nov 20 2023, 04:03 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Nov 16 2023, 12:38 PM)
SPOTV Asia will be the official broadcaster of EURO 2024 in Malaysia & Singapore. Likely Astro will also broadcast in 4K using the SPOTV brand logo.

[attachmentid=11484805]
Likely similar to Rugby World Cup by BEIN, where there will be dedicated channels for terrestrial broadcasters (who are willing to pay *cough*), and for normal fans, they can subscribe directly from SPOTV paying a one time fee to watch via their app.

This post has been edited by linkinstreet: Nov 20 2023, 04:03 PM
linkinstreet
post Nov 21 2023, 08:57 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

https://torrentfreak.com/disney-pulls-tv-ch...un-riot-231113/

Apparently there has yet to be a replacement for Disney's affiliated channels (Fox/Nat Geo) in Vietnam after their pullout from this region, and Disney Hotstar is not even launched there yet. So the Vietnamese govt are blaming this for piracy over there.
linkinstreet
post Nov 30 2023, 06:48 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Nov 30 2023, 04:56 PM)
Penang state government is following your aftermath...
Apparently many are subscribing to sooka now.
Duit masuk Astro gak in the end.

QUOTE(Zot @ Nov 28 2023, 08:24 AM)
The seller can bring in Android box legally and has Sirim approval. Normally buyers would ask if the box can receive Astro, Netflix, etc. They will say can and give additional cost to add either in form of monthly subscription or one time payment. Then an apps package will be installed. Then you can have all the service you wanted.

It is hard to control because the service is streamed online through IP address set on the box. This is something known probably more than 10 years ago but still operating. Even I think they sell service in online shopping. They will guide you where to download apps and teach you how to install and setup. It is just an apps and can be installed on and Android box.
A number of countries are taking this direct to the source, and not only yhr box itself. IIRC some entertainment companies in the US are now targeting SVI (of the SVI Cloud fame). And there are a tonne of infos uncovered, such as the company is based in Hong Kong, but is registered to an address in Penang.
linkinstreet
post Dec 1 2023, 06:11 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(Feliex @ Dec 1 2023, 12:13 AM)
Bro are this sounds very serious (SVI Cloud)! got source?  someone registered to an address in Penang??
https://torrentfreak.com/ace-applauds-svicl...topping-231006/
devices was confiscated by Taiwan anti piracy raid earlier this year
linkinstreet
post Dec 1 2023, 11:12 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Dec 1 2023, 10:46 AM)
It is like free opium for 2 days.. after you addicted to it.. you are at sooka mercy left and right.
Thing is, there is no contract. So it's not like Astro where you need to pay contract if you cancel early. For Sooka you can cancel it without penalty

On other news, the Piala Malaysia finals will be broadcasted in 4K UHD on channel 806. I think this will be the first time that a Malaysian football match is broadcasted in 4K?

This post has been edited by linkinstreet: Dec 1 2023, 11:17 AM

35 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0602sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:30 PM