joshhd
post May 1 2023, 09:03 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 1 2023, 06:42 PM)
wah...
needed to pay to them??? not FOC....
tak boleh ini mcm lorh.... take box also cost involved....

services center very arrogant staff... always act very busy...

best just keep collecting dust  laugh.gif

I mean the Astro company will need to pay wages to the installer to do the equipment collection job.
Astro installers are paid according to job order, and they don't have basic salary also.
Each time they assign installer to customer house for whatever reason, the company need to pay money to the installer already.
Just because on customer's end is FOC, it doesn't always means that the company don't pay money to the Astro installer to do the job.
I know all these, cuz I got to know some Astro installers, and I've been digging information from them. tongue.gif

Still remember I shared before about "Choose either FREE or pay RM65" one?
If you choose the remain active for 12 months option (customer FOC), Astro company will pay RM40 wages to the Astro installer, per job, with 12 months warranty.

But let's say if customer don't want to remain active for 12 months and insist to pay RM65 service technical fee directly to the installer...
You might think that Astro installer earns RM65 all by himself, right? Nope, it's not. The Astro company will collect RM15 commission from the installer.
So end up, it's still the same thing, the installer's pay is RM40.
The only difference is, customer will be get only 3 months warranty instead of 12 months.

If the same technical issue reoccur again on that customer within the 3 or 12 months warranty period, that same installer will need to go back to the customer's house and fixed it without getting paid.
Cuz from the company's point of view, if it's same problem happen again within warranty period, then it would considered as potentially "bad job quality" by the installer, that's why Astro company won't be paying another RM40 to the installer just for revisiting.
So yeah, for this, it will be considered as a "charity work" FOC job to the installer.

If it's different technical issue, then it's different story.

This post has been edited by joshhd: May 1 2023, 11:40 PM
joshhd
post May 1 2023, 09:15 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ May 1 2023, 09:01 PM)
Legally no.
Hush hush one, register at same house, than re-install at 2nd house.
I always thought you can just keep the old one, so that if you want to re-register as njoi, you can just re-use it.

According to Astro website:
For existing Ultra Box or Ulti Box user, call 03-9543 3838 to schedule our courier partner to come pick up the box or drop them off at the closest Astro Service Centre or Exclusive Partner near you.

For any unreturned Ultra Box or Ulti Box, a box fee of RM100 may be charged to your account.

For all other boxes, please recycle your box at a registered collection center that will properly manage the boxes in an environmentally friendly way.
Source: https://support.astro.com.my/question/what-...t-card-sim-card

As what I know, as of point of writing, they don't allow Ulti or Ultra Box to be used for NJOI.
Now they say no need to return, but they have the right to change this rule anytime they like in the future, so they can decide whether they want to let you keep or not.
So to be safe, when they ask you why you want to terminate Astro, don't give them encouraging reasons to make them want to collect the Astro box from you lor... (unless if you're already using Ulti/Ultra Box, then it's different story)

What I know is, usually for box upgrades/swap, the installer are required to collect your existing Astro box from you.

This post has been edited by joshhd: May 1 2023, 09:17 PM
joshhd
post May 1 2023, 11:36 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(moto-moto @ May 1 2023, 09:43 PM)
So multiroom service will provide another ultra box?
I was thinking using Samsung TV app to connect multiroom.
Any minimum tenure for multiroom service?

In case you don't know, Astro has 2 types of Multiroom now.
First is Multiroom (Astro Box) where you'll get another Ulti or Ultra Box by adding RM49.99/month. The box itself will come with 24 months non-auto-renewal contract.
Another is Multiroom (Smart TV) where you can just install Astro TV app and watch Astro channels/content right on your Samsung TV by adding RM29.99/month (current promo price is RM19.99/month, and by the time you're reading this, the promo price might be different again dry.gif ). For the Smart TV app, it doesn't have contract, so you can cancel this Multiroom Smart TV anytime.

More info: https://product.astro.com.my/multiroom
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ May 1 2023, 09:56 PM)
I requested an ultrabox for my multiroom.
IIRC according to my account, when you request multi room, you are tied to another 2 years (shock  shocking.gif )

That's if you opt for Multiroom (Astro Box), yes.
If you subscribe the Smart TV app one, then it's no contract.

This post has been edited by joshhd: May 1 2023, 11:37 PM
joshhd
post May 3 2023, 01:42 AM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(moto-moto @ May 2 2023, 10:22 PM)
Thanks for the reply. In order to use multiroom smart TV must change to new astro pack?

Yes correct.

More details on new Astro packs here: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...#entry106573636
joshhd
post May 3 2023, 12:55 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(muscaa @ May 3 2023, 11:30 AM)
No need to do anything.
They are smart and desperate, this morning they called me and offered me free upgrade to the new ultra box with platinum package discounted price of RM150/month for two years (original price RM195).
Very attractive offer and I might change my mind to unsubscribe it on 30 June.

Before this, did you contacted them? What are the questions you asked them? You ask them when is your contract ends, or you ask them to downgrade pack, or how?

There must be something triggered them that they would to propose you such offer... No such thing as "no need to do anything" and then they offer you RM45 rebate for 24 months out of nowhere one.
joshhd
post May 6 2023, 11:01 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(muscaa @ May 6 2023, 10:58 PM)
How do I terminate my Astro subscription?

We are sorry you are thinking of leaving us.

If you wish to cancel your Astro subscription, kindly do take note of the information below if your account is still within contract period,

- Termination Request must be completed by the account holder.
- You need to settle the outstanding balance and penalty (if any).
- All Termination Request require a 30-day notice period.

Need assistance?

Get in touch with an Astro Representative at +603 9543 3838 and click on option “4” when you hear ‘Account Disconnection’ over the call

What can Astro do to convince you to stay with Astro service?
joshhd
post May 7 2023, 03:30 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(deanitro @ May 7 2023, 02:12 PM)
Can we subscribe astro multiroom smart tv eventhough different house from the main account?
Because the 2nd house just need an internet connection right? 🤔

Technically, as long it is the officially supported smart TV models, then it will still work, even if the TV is located at different house. Of course, must be within Malaysia la..
joshhd
post May 7 2023, 07:19 PM

7,803 posts

Err. whut? 🤨
Source: https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=777976...286723202911814
joshhd
post May 7 2023, 11:37 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(brandonkl @ May 7 2023, 10:58 PM)
Has anyone experience this pink screen when you turn on your Ultra Box?

I experience it 1 to 3x a month. When I turn on and off the main power to reboot it, then back to normal .

For me, whenever I see this "pink screen" issue on my Ultra Box, I'll unplug the HDMI cable on the TV, wait for few seconds, and then plug it back in. Then issue resolved.
No need to reboot the box or TV.

If issue persists, try different HDMI cable.
joshhd
post May 8 2023, 03:57 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(axoloke @ May 8 2023, 02:52 PM)
I am on the legacy Super Pack 3a package and the discount period is over. Tried changing to Premium Pack 1 online but it gives an error saying it's not possible. Hence only way is to call the CS to do so? Thanks.

Anyone else changed to a Premium Pack package before?

What does the error message say? Screenshot see...
joshhd
post May 8 2023, 04:43 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(axoloke @ May 8 2023, 04:31 PM)

That's what it looks like...

In that case, try WhatsApp Astro and talk to live agent, tell them you insist of having Premium Pack 1 rather than Platinum Pack.
Type SWITCH and then send to +60395433838 via WhatsApp.

Source: https://support.astro.com.my/question/how-d...o-the-new-packs

Here's a few things you'll need to know before switching to the new Astro packs: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=105798856

This post has been edited by joshhd: May 8 2023, 04:49 PM
joshhd
post May 8 2023, 05:25 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 8 2023, 04:50 PM)
axoloke

more like astro system rejecting your change to "downgrade" of package...

I mean.. the new pack u intended to pick is "lower level" than the current legacy pack u have....

Yes it is correct.

I'm not surprised that Astro would do that 🤷
Why would they make it easier for customers to pay them lesser money every month? It should be made it discouraging to customer by making the process harder/troublesome, so that at least it could cushion their financial impact in the long run sweat.gif
QUOTE(axoloke @ May 8 2023, 05:07 PM)
Thanks Joshhd and nexona88, I'll have a look at the links first.  notworthy.gif

Ah, looks like I will lose the Documentaries and Variety at the minimum...grrrr.  vmad.gif

Hmmmm, you better do your research thoroughly on the channels you'll get and lose...
Once you switched to new packs, you won't be able to go back to legacy packs. So it's a one-way ticket ya.

Do refer to the latest Astro subscription rate card here (as of Feb 2023): https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...#entry106573636
joshhd
post May 8 2023, 10:26 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ May 8 2023, 08:46 PM)
I don't have Astro but just for my general knowledge

With the new Ultra / Ulti box the reception signal change from satelite dish signal to fibre internet signal

1. Does Astro set a minimum requirement that your Unifi or fibre internet must be minimum x Mbps?
2. Since it is internet bandwidth does the video get laggy / buffering at times? And does the box get dedicated bandwidth something like Unifi TV VLAN 600?
3. Since it is no longer using outdoor satelite signal, does the reception still get cut off due to certain conditions?

Just kepo and thanks if you're so generous to share with me tongue.gif

With the new Ultra / Ulti box the reception signal change from satelite dish signal to fibre internet signal
If your Ultra/Ulti Box operates under satellite mode:
Whenever the Ultra/Ulti Box experiences no satellite signal (e.g. heavy rain) but it is still connected to the Internet, you will be prompted to temporarily switch to Internet streaming to continue watching Astro channels, like this:
However, this feature (Continuous Viewing) is not made available for 4K UHD channels and radio channels.

1. Does Astro set a minimum requirement that your Unifi or fibre internet must be minimum x Mbps?
Officially, they advise a minimum 10Mbps for HD channel/content.
If you opt for Ultra Box Plug & Play, they recommend 30Mbps to watch 4K UHD channel/content.

2. Since it is internet bandwidth does the video get laggy / buffering at times?
Short answer is, it depends. But if you experience buffering issue, Astro will put the blame on your WiFi first.

And does the box get dedicated bandwidth something like Unifi TV VLAN 600?
Nope. Astro used to have a dedicated bandwidth VLAN 823 for its Astro IPTV service (under TM USBB areas), but they have discontinued it nationwide on December 2022.
More info: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=106195716

3. Since it is no longer using outdoor satelite signal, does the reception still get cut off due to certain conditions?
Both Ultra and Ulti Box supports either satellite or Plug & Play mode. Plug & Play means fully rely on Internet connection to watch Astro, and won't be using satellite dish at all.

If you subscribe to Astro, you will be given 2 options whether you want it to be under Plug & Play or satellite.
By default, Plug & Play option will be selected automatically for you.

What else you want to know about Astro?
joshhd
post May 9 2023, 09:35 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(deanitro @ May 9 2023, 12:14 AM)
Boss, pertaining to this, did u successfully subscribe to multiroom smart tv with main account subscription less than RM100?
Or astro insist us to upgrade package >RM100?
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ May 9 2023, 06:50 AM)
I think it's because they lumped both multirooms (decoder or smart tv) under one category, which is why both needs to be RM100 or more to qualify.
Sucks, but I feel they will be updating their wording on their website after this, because right now the wording sounds like only the decoder multiroom needs to be over RM100.

According to their FAQ, as long you are on the new packs, you can subscribe to Multiroom Smart TV.
Source: https://acm-cms-assets.eco.astro.com.my/acm...nt/smtv-faq.pdf

Your Astro main subscription must be RM100 and above (excl SST) to qualify for Multiroom (Box).
And now they no longer allow legacy packs customers to add any kinds of new Multiroom onto the account anymore, until you switch to the new packs.
QUOTE(ronnie @ May 9 2023, 11:05 AM)
Finally called up +60395433838 to TERMINATE my >15 years long term subscription.
Request to pack up the UltraBox for their courier to pick it up after termination date (based on billing date)
QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 9 2023, 06:19 PM)
how long u waiting before u actually talk to their CS  tongue.gif
QUOTE(ronnie @ May 9 2023, 09:06 PM)
Was fast less than 10min since I call at 10AM

Good for you. Their website says 10am is within the customer service's off-peak hours thumbup.gif
Source: https://support.astro.com.my/question/how-d...ro-subscription
joshhd
post May 9 2023, 09:38 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(The.Lucas.DaY @ May 9 2023, 08:32 PM)
Got software update in UltraBox today morning, found that now can turn off profile selection on startup. (Not sure if previously has this setting cos didn't check)

Turned off for parent's brows.gif

Lol, finally they implement this. rclxub.gif
They want to become like Netflix, but ended up piss off people like me and also the elderly. dry.gif

This post has been edited by joshhd: May 9 2023, 09:38 PM
joshhd
post May 10 2023, 12:14 AM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(The.Lucas.DaY @ May 9 2023, 10:32 PM)
Also, added Streaming quality selection in setting of Astro Go- web version & App (In addition, Profile Selection also available in Astro Go app)

QUOTE(Qash-M @ May 9 2023, 11:05 PM)
but still 720p cap. laugh.gif
QUOTE(The.Lucas.DaY @ May 9 2023, 11:14 PM)
Yes, no difference but giving option to stream lower quality  sweat.gif

"Higher" means allows it to stream up to 720p.
If you set it to either "Standard" or "Lower" setting means preventing it from streaming 720p quality. That way, you can save mobile data quota usage, while Astro can save their streaming server costs 🤣
joshhd
post May 12 2023, 10:31 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(kupang @ May 12 2023, 10:16 AM)
hi guys, is it normal for the Ultra Box remote's batteries to run out after about 3 months ? the remote is the version without Netflix button

No for me... Have you tried other batteries?
joshhd
post May 12 2023, 10:57 PM

7,803 posts

As I was surfing around Astro website today, I came across this "money back guarantee" offer... sweat.gif
https://products.astro.com.my/subscribe-wat...-back-guarantee
https://acm-cms-assets.eco.astro.com.my/acm...k-guarantee.pdf
TL;DR
  • New customer only. Online sign up only. Installation method must be Plug & Play. The normal satellite one are not eligible.
  • Choose either Primary, Entertainment, Sports, Movies or Premium Pack 1 only. Other than these packs, not eligible.
  • Since it's a Plug & Play, so the Astro box will be courier/shipped to your house as a parcel. No installer will be come over.
  • You'll receive SMS reminder 7 days before your 30 days guarantee period ends.
  • As usual, you can only call customer service to terminate within the 30 days. Then, the courier will come over and collect equipment.
  • Full refund upon termination within the 30 days, including setup fees, deposits, and no penalty.
Sounds quite straightforward to me hmm.gif
joshhd
post May 13 2023, 10:50 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(feed2doorsmhbm @ May 13 2023, 12:06 PM)
Source: James Le Movies Plus (YouTube)
BREAKING: All 14 channels of Warner Bros Discovery Company Asia Pacific are no longer available on MNC Vision (Indonesia).

The list of 14 discontinued Warner Bros Discovery channels includes:
Movies:
- HBO
- HBO Family
- HBO Hits
- HBO Signature
- Cinemax
- WarnerTV

Science, Lifestyle and Food:
- Discovery
- Animal Planet
- TLC
- HGTV
- Asian Food Network

Kids:
- Cartoon Network
- Boomerang

News:
- CNN

Currently, if you check the broadcast schedule on MNC Vision's website, you will see that the above channels are no longer available.

R.I.P 14 Channels of Warner Bros Discovery Company Asia Pacific in MNC Vision (Indonesia) after 14 Channels of Disney Network Group Asia Pacific.

These will be the channels that replace this group of Warner Bros Discovery Channels on the MNC Vision (Indonesia) service:
New Cinemachi Network remaining HBO Networks:
- Cinemachi
- Cinemachi X-tra
- Cinemachi Action
- Cinemachi Max
- Cinemachi Kids

Rock Entertainment Network Channels remaining channels:
- Rock Entertainment
- Rock Action
- ZooMoo
- Love Nature
- Global Trekker

My Cinema Networks:
- MyCinema
- MyCinema Action
- MyFamilyChannel
- MyKidz

Reason: Continue streaming on HBO Go.

Seems like they're doing this because those new channel replacements is cheaper compared to channels from Warner Bros Discovery... sweat.gif
joshhd
post May 14 2023, 07:12 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(bananalow @ May 14 2023, 11:12 AM)
My PVR today start acting weird. The TV show having flickering issue whereby it goes black screen and back every few seconds. Sometimes it will just stay black screen but the audio still there. Have restart the PVR, still the same. Dunno is the PVR is "dying" soon... sad.gif
QUOTE(muscaa @ May 14 2023, 01:04 PM)
Yes same thing happened to my PVR and eventually black out but the subtitles still on

I don't think it's related to a "dying" PVR box?
My best guess is either HDMI cable issue or the satellite dish connection issue.
Press home>Settings>STB Diagnostics
What's the Strength % readings for Tuner 1 and Tuner 2? Observe that. Does it go 0% when the "black screen" issue occur?

224 Pages « < 163 164 165 166 167 > » Top

0.0466sec    1.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:26 AM