Astro Version 13A, All about Astro Malaysia offerings

doubleM2
post Aug 12 2024, 07:25 PM

1,026 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Aug 12 2024, 05:30 PM)
Astro Olympics channels CH787 until CH795 has been removed from the channel list. CH780 and CH786 still remains, showing all the highlights and repeats.

It's a once in every 4 years opportunity get to see Astro creates tens of dedicated channels, and first time ever, I get to see their "additional content" like slow-mo, backstage, scenary, and also the pretty unexpected standby slides and countdown timer from OBS itself. 😂

It's been a great experience tbh...
Goodbye Olympics, see you in 2028. biggrin.gif
It was made for Astro GO streaming in the end, with no commercial interruptions; unlike 10 linear channels on satellite decoders.
Iptvfan
post Aug 12 2024, 07:26 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Aug 12 2024, 02:13 PM)
Assthrow will still claim credits to give all 7 channels foc for this National and Malaysia Day 2024 celebration.

Meanwhile, StarHub TV subscribers enjoy free preview of over 85 TV channels from 7 – 14 Aug 2024.

https://www.starhub.com/personal/support/ar...7Fi01d9TQ4qCnf7
Uneeepai tv seems will open cenels up as well. They do this every year. Uneepai always give free cenels. Maybe they rich.
pokemon
post Aug 12 2024, 07:32 PM

2,717 posts

QUOTE(Iptvfan @ Aug 12 2024, 07:26 PM)
Uneeepai tv seems will open cenels up as well. They do this every year. Uneepai always give free cenels. Maybe they rich.
No news on unifi yet.

pokemon
post Aug 12 2024, 07:33 PM

2,717 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Aug 12 2024, 07:25 PM)
It was made for Astro GO streaming in the end, with no commercial interruptions; unlike 10 linear channels on satellite decoders.
Advertisers won't throw money into the seas to buy commercial slots for those channels @ assthrow go.
doubleM2
post Aug 12 2024, 09:23 PM

1,026 posts

No difference, I’m already enjoying all channels on Ultimate Max.
Iptvfan
post Aug 12 2024, 10:18 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Aug 12 2024, 09:23 PM)
True for me oso. Sad many peep still dunno uneepai tv exist and only think azzxterooo. Good for azzteroo
TSnexona88
post Aug 12 2024, 10:26 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,540 posts

QUOTE(Iptvfan @ Aug 12 2024, 10:18 PM)
True for me oso. Sad many peep still dunno uneepai tv exist and only think azzxterooo. Good for azzteroo
Because No Fiber Unfi available in their areas...

Always lack of port or stay in jungle... Unifi don't bother...

So astro only choice 😋
joshhd
post Aug 13 2024, 12:20 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Aug 12 2024, 07:25 PM)

Not exactly all 10.
I notice CH780 until CH784 is being "actively managed" to cut to commercials, as well as arranging programming schedule for highlights and repeats, while CH785 until CH794 is "almost unattended" and commercial-free (this one I like thumbup.gif )

They made the 10 channels (CH780-789) to available across all Astro boxes (regardless of satellite or Plug & Play) as well as Multiroom Smart TV. So yeah, you can only watch CH790-794 live on Astro GO.

QUOTE(pokemon @ Aug 12 2024, 07:33 PM)
Advertisers won't throw money into the seas to buy commercial slots for those channels @ assthrow go.

The most prominent advertisers who booked their commercial spots throughout this Olympics is the Shopee 8.8 and Apple (Safari browser) ads. It's like almost every single commercial break will have this 2 ads, while Shopee is obviously the biggest sponsor this time (I can see the brand placement on Astro Arena in-studio set up, as well as keep repeating the same ad within the same commercial break).

This post has been edited by joshhd: Aug 13 2024, 12:24 AM
joshhd
post Aug 13 2024, 12:33 AM

7,799 posts

Not because they're rich. It's because they want to make customers happy, and also a way to self-advertise too.
QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Aug 12 2024, 09:23 PM)

I remember they previously offered free movie redemption from U PICK, especially to those already on Ultimate related packs, right?

Maybe Astro should do that someday, to make those high paying customers happy too... hmm.gif
doubleM2
post Aug 13 2024, 01:01 AM

1,026 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Aug 13 2024, 12:33 AM)
Not because they're rich. It's because they want to make customers happy, and also a way to self-advertise too.
I remember they previously offered free movie redemption from U PICK, especially to those already on Ultimate related packs, right?

Maybe Astro should do that someday, to make those high paying customers happy too... hmm.gif
Astro already did recently with some selected customers applied a survey on My Astro and rewarded one Astro First's RM15 rental film for free.
joshhd
post Aug 13 2024, 01:15 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Aug 13 2024, 01:01 AM)
Astro already did recently with some selected customers applied a survey on My Astro and rewarded one Astro First's RM15 rental film for free.

That survey is selected to some of the customers only.
What I meant is, make it conjunction with this upcoming free channel preview...
izwanikhsan
post Aug 13 2024, 07:29 PM

1,217 posts

Astro is planning to rejig their currently 15 confusing packages, according to analysts - https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.nst.com.my/node/1090785/amp
TSnexona88
post Aug 13 2024, 08:24 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,540 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ Aug 13 2024, 07:29 PM)
Astro is planning to rejig their currently 15 confusing packages, according to analysts - https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.nst.com.my/node/1090785/amp
The old package is just nice

1 Malay, 1 Chinese, 1 Indian...

Then got add Indo, Korea, Movie & Sports if you want

Simple & clear cut...

Sorry to say... Malaysia always based on Race....

Even for Pay TV subscription
doubleM2
post Aug 13 2024, 10:52 PM

1,026 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Aug 13 2024, 08:24 PM)
The old package is just nice

1 Malay, 1 Chinese, 1 Indian...

Then got add Indo, Korea, Movie & Sports if you want

Simple & clear cut...

Sorry to say... Malaysia always based on Race....

Even for Pay TV subscription
True that. Take Unifi TV for example: its current offerings divided into three ethnic packs — Aneka+, Ruby+, Varnam+.
TSnexona88
post Aug 13 2024, 11:33 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,540 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Aug 13 2024, 10:52 PM)
True that. Take Unifi TV for example: its current offerings divided into three ethnic packs — Aneka+, Ruby+, Varnam+.
I think they might change to the old offering style

The latest one is kinda complicated.... Want to follow trend but instead create more problem....

Let's see how...moving forward 😉
joshhd
post Aug 14 2024, 12:11 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ Aug 13 2024, 07:29 PM)

What? So they're planning to introduce all new packs again soon?

At this juncture, Astro has more than 15 package offerings, which have worked to confuse customers and hamper customer acquisition.

Moving forward, the group is looking to rejig its package offering to three different options with the lowest tier package to come on par with the most over-the-top (OTT) offerings at RM40-50.
HAHAHAHAHA... 🤣🤣🤣🤣 I like that they use the word "confuse customers" in the news article, which is brutally honest in my opinion. biggrin.gif

So, it seems to suggest that moving forward there will only be 3 packs? And the lowest price one is around RM40-50?
If yes, then Malay, Chinese, Indian? Then which race will get the around RM40-50 price? 🤨
I don't think the 3 packs will be based by ethnic...

Or Basic, Sports, Movies?
Or what if I want both Sports and Movies? What If I only want Entertainment but don't want Sports or Movies?
Or, they will just make almost everything as add-ons, similar to Kids, Korean, News & Documentaries, where you just add it up separately according to your liking? How about streaming apps?
Hmmm ok... I wonder how are they going to repackage everything sweat.gif

I remember back then when they introduced the new packs in 2021, there were no such thing "Plus Packs" like Movies Plus Pack, Sports Plus Pack, and then later on, they quietly introduced Premium Pack 4, Premium Pack 5 and Platinum Lite out of nowhere.
I doubt that they will stick with their "3 packs" for long... Sooner or later they might introduce a few number of new packs again, similar like what they did back then, in the name of "strategic business decision".
Imagine now is 3 packs, then few months later, another X number of new packs, and then another X number of new packs few months later....
Why add new packs, you ask? Then they would say because the current packs "isn't performing well" so they introduce new packs to "cater those audience"...
And then few years later, they will have almost 15 packs like what we get today, in the name of confuse customers 🤣🤣🤣🤣 Deja vu?
And then they announce, oh, we're going to introduce all new refreshed packs again, and then discontinue all the old ones.
Then the cycle repeats itself. If they're happy doing this, then.... sweat.gif sweat.gif
If this really happens, then I feel like they seriously lost direction already.

Anyway, I think it's going to be "interesting" moving forward... Will see... hmm.gif
Hong Leong Investment Bank Bhd (HLIB) said while simper package offerings could increase customer's traction, it thinks it will also reduce the group's average revenue per user (ARPU).
If their ARPU is the concern, they could also push more customers to subscribe to Astro Fibre, then that could ramp up the ARPU numbers already.
Also, combine all revenue collected from NJOI and Sooka... I believe this is what they've been doing today.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Aug 14 2024, 12:20 AM
Iptvfan
post Aug 14 2024, 12:25 AM

239 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Aug 14 2024, 12:11 AM)

HAHAHAHAHA... 🤣🤣🤣🤣 I like that they use the word "confuse customers" in the news article, which is brutally honest in my opinion. biggrin.gif

So, it seems to suggest that moving forward there will only be 3 packs? And the lowest price one is around RM40-50?
If yes, then Malay, Chinese, Indian? Then which race will get the around RM40-50 price? 🤨

Or what if I want both Sports and Movies? What If I only want Entertainment but don't want Sports or Movies?
Or, they will just make almost everything as add-ons, similar to Kids, Korean, News & Documentaries, where you just add it up separately according to your liking? How about streaming apps?

I remember back then when they introduced the new packs in 2021, there were no such thing "Plus Packs" like Movies Plus Pack, Sports Plus Pack, and then later on, they quietly introduced Premium Pack 4, Premium Pack 5 and Platinum Lite out of nowhere.
I doubt that they will stick with their "3 packs" for long... Sooner or later they might introduce a few number of new packs again, similar like what they did back then, in the name of "strategic business decision".
Imagine now is 3 packs, then few months later, another X number of new packs, and then another X number of new packs few months later....
Why add new packs, you ask? Then they would say because the current packs "isn't performing well" so they introduce new packs to "cater those audience"...
And then few years later, they will have almost 15 packs like what we get today, in the name of confuse customers 🤣🤣🤣🤣 Deja vu?
And then they announce, oh, we're going to introduce all new refreshed packs again, and then discontinue all the old ones.
Then the cycle repeats itself. If they're happy doing this, then....  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Anyway, I think it's going to be "interesting" moving forward... Will see... hmm.gif
If their ARPU is the concern, they could also push more customers to subscribe to Astro Fibre, then that could ramp up the ARPU numbers already.
Also, combine all revenue collected from NJOI and Sooka... I believe this is what they've been doing today.

Maybe they can take some cue from uneepai tv how they pack and bundle apps.

Low Li Hao
post Aug 14 2024, 08:53 AM

293 posts

Let's just hoping Astro get the broadcast rights of Hong Kong Horse Racing and broadcast on Astro Arena and Astro AEC.

pokemon
post Aug 14 2024, 08:56 AM

2,717 posts

QUOTE(Low Li Hao @ Aug 14 2024, 08:53 AM)
Let's just hoping Astro get the broadcast rights of Hong Kong Horse Racing and broadcast on Astro Arena and Astro AEC.

Just hope but won't happen for this to happen.
pokemon
post Aug 14 2024, 09:14 AM

2,717 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Aug 14 2024, 12:11 AM)

Then the cycle repeats itself. If they're happy doing this, then....  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Assthrow has already shown the lowest price for its primary pack to attract more customers to sign up.
The last card is its sport pack that can push up the ARPU but cannot improve the current one.
That's why research house dares to say assthrow share to sell and at a lower target price.
Bear in mind assthrow needs to find funds to pay RM700M+ additional tax that will impact negatively the company prospect.

1082 Pages « < 979 980 981 982 983 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:57 AM