11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V33, Enjoy Your UniFi

SilentVampire
post Jun 6 2018, 07:02 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Jun 6 2018, 06:31 PM)
Tm ceo has resigned
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...ting-group-ceo/

Hoping something will change in TM for the better?
SilentVampire
post Jun 6 2018, 08:22 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jun 6 2018, 08:06 PM)
802.11ax - there's pretty much no consumer device that supports this right now  hmm.gif

For me, gaming routers are overpriced and gimmicky - for the same price I'd rather build a Mikrotik/enterprise network setup and it will eat that ASUS for breakfast in terms of performance, reliability and security icon_idea.gif

Of course, a traditional Ethernet connection will be much more reliable, provided that the router itself is not of rubbish grade icon_idea.gif
Can’t agree with you more.
SilentVampire
post Jun 7 2018, 08:37 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(ahpek26 @ Jun 7 2018, 02:33 AM)
So i'm hoping a few networking og can help a newbie out. I'm looking for a new router to replace my super duper old asus rt-n16 running tomato toastman. It's working fine even after 6 plus years in service from streamyx (1Mbps, good old days) to unifi 50Mbps but the wifi performance is crap, unable to reach 50Mbps (about 35-40Mbps). So long story short, need a new router.

I'm looking at asus but holy cow local distributor markup like mad. Got a few "reasonably price" aka not mark up to hell router like RT-AC1300UHP which is fine but i'm looking for something a wee bit oomph. So, i'm eyeing this Mikrotik hAP ac (RB962UiGS-5HacT2HnT). It's a bit more expensive than the RT-AC1300UHP but since it's my first mikrotik I thought i'd splurge abit.

Is this Mikrotik hAP ac a good router in terms of wifi coverage since it uses internal antenna only? Also, is it setup first time and leave it alone forever kind of router like a mainstream Asus router or do I need to constantly tinker with it. I know a wee bit about tagging vlan (I think that's what its called...?) and this guide is pretty handy and straight forward so I can do this myself. What worries me if I need to do some funky networking stuff which let's face it I don't know anything and would not do it since I don't want to brick my internet. I'm familiar with flashing firmware, reset vram and all those funky things since I have flash dd-wrt and later tomato for the rn-n16 but that's about the extent of my amazing networking skills, lulz.

tl;dr
1) Need a new router, Asus RT-AC1300UHP (plug & play, ezpz setup once leave it alone forever) or Mikrotik hAP ac (RB962UiGS-5HacT2Hn)?
2) Ease of use (setup once & leave it alone) and wireless range (internal vs external antenna).

Thanks sifus! smile.gif
Mikrotik is good and stable, but if you ar not confident in your skills, I would recommend the Asus RT-AC1300UHP. It is easy to configure, and very stable, plus the coverage is really good. You are right about the terrible markup for Asus routers though.
SilentVampire
post Jun 10 2018, 12:16 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(tryingtolearn @ Jun 9 2018, 11:56 PM)
I'm leaving home for a few days. Previously using streamyx, so I unplug all power plugs and phone wires. Now that I'm using Unifi, do I/can I unplug the wire [The optic wire I think.] going into the BTU? or just leave it as it is?
Leave it. It won’t affect anything at all.
SilentVampire
post Jun 11 2018, 10:44 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Epix @ Jun 11 2018, 10:39 PM)
Hey guys, anyone using RGX4400 router here? Wifi on 2.4ghz seems to be very slow while 5ghz isn't even working. First few months it was working fine but now wifi seems sluggish. Anyone who has experienced this and can help? Thanks in advance.
Check the wireless coverage in your area using a WiFi analyzer, and change your WiFi channels. Comisdee switching your router to the Asus RT-AC1300UHP.
SilentVampire
post Jun 15 2018, 01:29 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Jun 15 2018, 12:06 AM)
cibai kia unifi in my area sek u10 shah alam last couple of weeks speed drops to less than 10mbps after 1030pm consistently... have to message their CS to complaint

knnccb today after 15 min still no one answer

spoil my world cup moods
Wireless or wired and what router are you using?
SilentVampire
post Jun 16 2018, 01:04 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(majorarmstrong @ Jun 16 2018, 01:01 PM)
I cannot access Maybank cimb bank standard chartered Bank shopee Lazada

Anyone has similar issue?
Issues with MYNIC: https://www.lowyat.net/2018/164585/mynic-se...names-affected/

Switch to OpenDNS for now, 208.67.222.222 or 208.67.220.220.
SilentVampire
post Jun 16 2018, 02:14 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ Jun 16 2018, 01:57 PM)
Lucky there is an update at the end of the article about the issue. Because it was not true that all .my domains not accessible around the world etc as the article started off with. Its just Google DNS and a couple of others that were not resolving .my due to problem on Mynic side. As the update says, its DNSSEC issue at Mynic side. If DNSSEC was not in use by resolvers, .my domains were being resolved properly by Mynic side all this while. Just like when using 1.9.1.9 or OpenDNS etc, there was no problem.  Nothing sinister about the issue. I guess only problem is due to holidays, the response for fixing this from Mynic is a bit slow.
Thank you for that. At least it is nothing sinister.

QUOTE(oxpigb00 @ Jun 16 2018, 02:02 PM)
how do I change my wireless ID and password? currently using the netis wireless modem router supplied by unifi.

I tried doing the changes myself but I think I screwed up somewhere so now I can't use the internet. pls help.
What do you eat your wireless ID and password? Log into your router and just see the wireless settings and configure accordingly.

This post has been edited by SilentVampire: Jun 16 2018, 02:14 PM
SilentVampire
post Jun 18 2018, 02:28 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(xiong91 @ Jun 18 2018, 02:24 PM)
One last question. I saw an even cheaper promo price at unifi.online . 30mbps for rm139 only Is this legit? Officially web is rm179 30mbps with option of adding rm20 for 50mbps and full unifitv packages
Yes, this is legit. I am under this plan, but only for 2 years, then it will be back to normal.
SilentVampire
post Jun 20 2018, 06:42 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(go626201 @ Jun 19 2018, 10:50 PM)
Network issue happening again tonight...
Download speed only have about 10mbps...
I am using 147.158.X.X IP Range
Don't know why yesterday night and tonight facing download speed issue...
[attachmentid=9867191]

[attachmentid=9867192]
Did you check your system log? Did you check list of connected devices? What router are you using? Could be a router isssue, line issue, or your WiFi got compromised.
SilentVampire
post Jun 20 2018, 10:30 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Tokio_Hot @ Jun 20 2018, 09:42 PM)
So, I have this kind of problem with my UniFi and well... here is the story.

First of all, I cannot connect to League of Legends (Garena) at all unless I login for the first time since a new update goes live. After that, I cannot connect at all despite uninstall and reinstall the game and the launcher again and again.

Worse, I can only connect to Ubisoft games for the first time when my pc is switch on. If I quit and attempt to play the games for the second time, I have to restart my pc which is very frustrating.

I have tried to disable both Kaspersky and integrated firewalls but still no luck. I have contacted Garena about it (Ubisoft still doesn't reply until now) and they seem to blame my UniFi about it. I connected to other wifi and the games work just fine like it supposed to.

Help, I guess?

I heard about this 'reset port-forwarding' thingy but I'm not sure how it works.
Nothing to do with ‘reset port-forwarding thingy’, and you must have confused port forwarding with your Unifi port. It sounds like something to do with your computer settings and not Unifi settings. I would think firewall settings.
SilentVampire
post Jun 21 2018, 08:40 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Jun 21 2018, 08:11 PM)
Guys, been updated to 100mbps recently but it’s been pretty unstable compared to the old 50mbps. They came to change the router but the modem remained the same. Can I ask for a replacement?
Shouldn’t be your modem issue, but your router issue.
SilentVampire
post Jun 21 2018, 11:35 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Jun 21 2018, 08:54 PM)

Your router is the main problem. Change it and your problem will be solved.
SilentVampire
post Jun 23 2018, 11:29 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Jun 23 2018, 09:18 AM)
Lan is super good. But wifi can never go pass 50mbps.
Change your router as we say, and go on 5GHz, AC, to enjoy full speed. 2.4GHz at the moment is too congested and full of interference if you live in a residential or high-rise place.
SilentVampire
post Jun 23 2018, 12:32 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(amirudin920927 @ Jun 23 2018, 12:18 PM)
Unifi TV down here, I'm from seremban.. Anyone face the same problem? Got satellite icon with X popup at TV. Call them, 10mins no answer from tech. Live chat keep stay in queue. haihhh
QUOTE(gamemacho @ Jun 23 2018, 12:27 PM)
you're not alone bro,i am about to ask the same question here sad.gif
HyppTV server is down. Channels are not synchronizing so should be something wrong there.
SilentVampire
post Jun 23 2018, 06:09 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Jun 23 2018, 06:00 PM)
How much is it? Locally here in kb it’s rm528.
You can get it cheaper online on Shopee: https://shopee.com.my/search/?keyword=asus%...=0&sortBy=sales
SilentVampire
post Jun 24 2018, 05:29 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(zarchrykl @ Jun 24 2018, 05:25 PM)
Hypptv somtimes lagging la how?
How is it connected? Wired connection directly through the router or wireless? What router? Old or new hypptv decoder?
SilentVampire
post Jun 24 2018, 07:07 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(zarchrykl @ Jun 24 2018, 05:34 PM)
Wired and new  decoder and asus ac58u. The picture ok but fewtime lag
Should be okay if you are using all of that good equipment.
SilentVampire
post Jun 26 2018, 02:01 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Ben Ling @ Jun 26 2018, 11:44 AM)
Guys sorry for off topic but I wanna ask if anyone has any recommendations of Dual Band wifi adapter which is good and affordable ? My laptop supports only 2.4GHz wifi so basically I can only get 50Mbps wifi connection on my Unifi Pro 100Mbps, thanks !
TP Link Archer T2U is very good, and I would recommend that. See this link here for a reliable seller to get the Archer T2U v2: https://shopee.com.my/product/180984/73186213/

I just received mine today and it is very good.
SilentVampire
post Jun 27 2018, 10:15 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(go626201 @ Jun 27 2018, 10:06 PM)
I already know the reason why when speed drop issue drop at night,netflix and youtube still can run in full hd. (just now i try to run a youtube 8k video for checking loading speed can get more than 60mbps) (I am usinfg 100mbps,but with speed drop issue only can get about 20mbps at night)
The root cause:those service transmit on ipv6,so tm repair on network ipv4(i think only 147.158 is affected),so ipv6 service still can run in full speed.
Anyone having speed drop issue,can just try any ipv6 service on night for this week..haha
But i still need Twitch...(WT* twitch only support ipv4,and don't have plan to implement ipv6...)
I don’t think they repair on IPv4, as you say. Most likely reason is that there are too many users on IPv4 at night, and the NAT process is straining the routers on TM side and/or using the allocated bandwidth, which leaves IPv6 which doesn’t need NAT as there is an abundance of IPv6 addresses that can be used exclusively, and/or IPv6 addresses are probably handled differently, using different routers, which is segmented from the IPv4 addresses.

11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0260sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:37 AM