Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V33, Enjoy Your UniFi

Max2006
post Jul 6 2018, 01:13 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Seannnn @ Jul 6 2018, 01:05 PM)
I'm currently subscribed 100mbps pro plan and just did a live chat with TM online support, operator told me that their maximum speed are 100mbps package, no more upgrade.  confused.gif
Once again, as I mentioned earlier. Those staff sure don't have the real answer in their heads. Some said it's 300Mbps, while their twitter said it's 10X faster, and now this one said 100Mbps is the maximum speed, no further upgrade. Macam macam ada.

IMO, no point to keep bothering the staff. It's a waste of time. Just relax and wait for their announcement.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jul 6 2018, 01:16 PM
Max2006
post Jul 7 2018, 10:46 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 7 2018, 10:40 PM)
Read my edited post above.
Anyway, if you plan to get 100Mbps or above, both BTU and Router must be replaced by TM.
If the x10 speed news is true, then no matter you want it or not, TM sure will have to replace all the BTU & Routers for the current 30 Mbps & 50 Mbps users. Probably there will be another round of chaos for this equipment swapping since most of the users are in these 2 categories.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jul 7 2018, 10:48 PM
Max2006
post Jul 9 2018, 11:25 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Jul 9 2018, 09:12 AM)
60GB quota is only for unifi 30 less than RM100 only.

Other plans still no quota.
300/500/800 Mbps will go out first. 1Gbps will follow later.
I think I understand why they postpone the 1Gbps. So far, most of decent mid-range routers still can support up to 800 to 900 Mbps. But for 1Gbps, it's a total different league. In order to achieve such speed, you would need a high end router with may cost near to rm 900-1000, if you want a decent one. TM probably still scratching their heads figuring which high end router they should provide for the future 1Gbps users. Not to mention that some users may see it as a burden (need to buy high end router) since not everyone need such a high speed.
Max2006
post Jul 11 2018, 10:30 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(prettyhunnyeo @ Jul 11 2018, 09:10 AM)
y did tm delay the turbo announcement?  i thought they said tomorrow then today i ask they say on sunday the announcement for turbo.
12 or 15 July , they are no difference. We still need to wait until 15 August before it starts to roll out. Be patient sikit ya. What will come will come eventually.
Max2006
post Jul 14 2018, 01:21 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Zi-Tech @ Jul 14 2018, 12:48 AM)
500/800mbps only applicable with wired only...

wireless, MIMO 2x2 spatial can get 425mbps (my laptop computer using killer card 1435)

want to max? need to buy 3x3 or 4x4 router and external adapter...not an cheaper option...

but quite happy if can get 400mbps(4x more from 100mbps)

so far only wondering are midstream and lower are supporting 2x2 spatial card?

here is the interesting and good article to read... https://www.duckware.com/tech/wifi-in-the-us.html
Nice sharing bro! This should be pinned! notworthy.gif

Now I know which router I should change to. No need to buy the highest end router because not all the wifi clients (phone,smart TV,game console) can support such high end speed. For example, one's current phone is using Mimo 2x2. So even if one buy a 3x3 or 4x4 router which are much more expensive, one's phone still can only reach about 400Mbps. So Mimo 2x2 router is good enough for one's usage.

QUOTE(biloxee @ Jul 14 2018, 01:13 AM)
2x2 Wifi cards are still the norm.

Even the new Dell XPS 15still comes with it, so theoretically 867Mbps max on 5Ghz Wifi AC...

All my iDevices are also still 2x2 spatial streams only...
It's all about the cost, my friend. Imagine if the new devices comes with 3x3 or 4x4 spatial streams, it can be much more expensive.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jul 14 2018, 01:37 AM
Max2006
post Jul 14 2018, 02:09 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Ben Ling @ Jul 14 2018, 12:39 PM)
So we should be able to check the eligibility for upgrade on 18 July through Unifi website..
Can you provide source for this?
Max2006
post Jul 14 2018, 02:18 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Ben Ling @ Jul 14 2018, 02:12 PM)
live chat with TM and they will give you this answer as I did.  smile.gif
I see. Thanks.

However, I couldn't wait until 18 July. So I bought a new AC router for myself just now. Asus RT-AC1300UHP. The one that everybody recommended in this thread. rclxms.gif

Bought it at Viewnet Plaza lowyat. RM469 (Original price is RM539). It's good bargain! Not sure when that price will last. Since everyone gonna upgrade their routers very soon, who knows, the price may go back to RM539 soon. So if anyone prefer to buy the router in retail stores, you can go there and buy it now before it's too late! thumbup.gif
Max2006
post Jul 14 2018, 02:26 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jul 14 2018, 02:18 PM)
if we lucky enough to get upgraded on 15th August 2018, most of us also need to wait for TM staff to help us change the BTU modem laugh.gif
Frankly speaking, one thing I don't like is that we need to wait for the technician to come , check, replace, then they only execute the upgrade. They have to do it one by one. It would be great if they upgrade our speed prior to that. Afterall, some of us already eligilble for the upgrade without the need ot changing BTU. Heck, some of us even already changed the router instead of waiting for their TM router. tongue.gif
Max2006
post Jul 14 2018, 03:58 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(babycry123 @ Jul 14 2018, 03:52 PM)
Hi, I am still paying RM179 for 30mbps. Where’s my free upgrade to 50mbps?
Do you mean that you haven't received the 2017 Thank you surprise upgrade yet? If that's the case, then I am afraid that they will skip it and just upgrade your speed to 300Mbps. I may be wrong about this though. You better check with TM support and see what they will say about it.
Max2006
post Jul 14 2018, 07:40 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jul 14 2018, 07:20 PM)

Also I'm pretty sure people will just complain to TM about their new UniFi turbo plan cannot give them the advertised speed, notwithstanding the fact that they are using some old-ish equipment rclxub.gif
If TM follows the way on how they did to those 50Mbps->100Mbps Thank you surprise upgrade last year, most likely, they will come to your house to check first. If the equipments are old, they will change it on the spot before upgrading. So people won't have reason to blame the old equipments.

Now we only need to know whether TM will do the same thing as well on this Unifi turbo plan. And they also need to consider the amount of available stocks, and the choices of router that can support those 800Mbps users.
Max2006
post Jul 15 2018, 12:59 AM

4,099 posts

https://unifi.com.my/broadband-improvement-plan/index.html

Based on that pic, if I am not mistaken, they are saying that started from 18 July, we can go to their website and go through all those verification process. Once it's done, the upgrade will be done asap (may be on the same day). That's why they said "upgraded gradually starting 18 July 2018 onwards". Of course, it will still be rolling out in stages. If you are lucky enough, you may be the very first person who will be upgraded on the first day, provided that you have finished the verification on 18 July. It's possible since some 10Mbps users already upgraded today. This means TM is ready now and they can execute the process anytime.

Correct me if I am wrong.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jul 15 2018, 01:17 AM
Max2006
post Jul 15 2018, 01:07 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jul 15 2018, 01:04 AM)
I hope you're right. That means on 00:00am 18th July, the registration server will probably crash as ppl flock to give their consent. LOL.
Then let's the war begin! LOL.

Or if you are not in hurry.............

Max2006
post Jul 15 2018, 01:14 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(wilson1stop @ Jul 15 2018, 01:09 AM)
TM preparing it, only after 18 Jul...
1. Mostly likely is IF you stay in Commercial Lots/Building, then you need some photos to proofs you staying there.
2. Need to settle all your owned amounts.
3. TM need check is that Streamyx users can upgrade to Unifi if ports available/VDSL Unifier might not getting more than 200-300Mbps depend ur DSLAM.
4. Lastly, ensure you are REAL PERSON who leasing the line, because last time can steal identity and sewa for others.
I hope they will provide an option for the advance users, to let us tick where we confirmed our equipments are already eligible for the upgrade. No need any replacement. Just bring it on! rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jul 15 2018, 01:15 AM
Max2006
post Jul 15 2018, 11:04 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(prokiller1199 @ Jul 15 2018, 10:54 AM)
now they silently removed the link...
The FAQ and term and condition section are not yet completed. Better complete the presentation before showing it to the public. Not to mention that bro xefron did say that the presentation has error on the starting date.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jul 15 2018, 11:05 AM
Max2006
post Jul 15 2018, 05:17 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Mazda9 @ Jul 15 2018, 05:05 PM)
Does the hypptv box supports wireless connectivity?
Yes. it does support.

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Jul 15 2018, 03:18 PM)
Nice article!

After reading your article, now I baru tau that my old Innatech router that provided by TM, which I already ditched few years ago, is actually a Gigabit router?

Time to dig it out for back up purpose. biggrin.gif

PS: Btw bro, you seems forgot to add in the popular Asus router (RT-AC1300UHP) which been already being recommended many times in this thread, into your list. icon_idea.gif

Also, these 2 routers, RT-AC1200G+ & RT-AC58U can support up to 800Mbps in LAN connection, and their wireless connection should be able support up to at least 300Mbps (Maximum 400Mbps).

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jul 15 2018, 05:35 PM
Max2006
post Jul 15 2018, 07:34 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 15 2018, 07:05 PM)
I gonna wake you up from the dream.  console.gif

No. Innatech doesn't produce VDSL router. That Innatech = streamyx adsl.

I assume you mean RG4332?  blink.gif
Ya. With all due respect bro, I already put a pic of it in my post, so eveybody should have knew which router i was taking about. How can you be mistaken on that ah? sweat.gif
Max2006
post Jul 15 2018, 07:38 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 15 2018, 07:37 PM)
can the ac68u 5ghz hit 500 mbps for wireless? does anyone know.
You could just go to their official website to check instead of asking. wink.gif

https://www.asus.com/my/Networking/RTAC68U/

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jul 15 2018, 07:39 PM
Max2006
post Jul 15 2018, 07:48 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 15 2018, 07:39 PM)
Err....your picture resolution is too small. Can't see the model number. You will be surprised with those innatech adsl router similarity
My bad. Sorry about that. blush.gif

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jul 15 2018, 07:38 PM)
That's the RGX4400 right? Your pic cannot see the model number and the Innacomm/Innatech ones all look the same.

Damn good router though. Probably the best of the 3 freebies that TM gives IMHO.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3994248
Nope. Mine was RG4332. Ya. Innacomm/Innatech all look the same. sweat.gif

Since you are asking, may I know whether this RG4332 is Gigabit router? Although Jjuggler mentioned it in his article and he did say it's a Gigabit router. I just want a double confirmation since you seems like an expert in this area. Not that I want to use it, since I already ditched it long time ago. Just want to figure out what's the spec since I couldn't find any of it. Thanks in advance bro.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jul 15 2018, 07:50 PM
Max2006
post Jul 15 2018, 08:31 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jul 15 2018, 08:06 PM)
Me expert? Nah, I just google a lot, that's all

RG4332 is quite old already. I think it's probably 100Mbps ethernet only. The MyNews in Bandar Mahkota Cheras Stitchie is using an RG4332. Let me check and see if it shows ethernet status on the router.

Update:
Router has no status for ethernet link speeds. It uses the RTL8196C which has an embedded 5-port FE switch. So unless it has a separate switch chip, which I'm sure it doesn't, the ethernet ports are Fast Ethernet (FE) or 100Mbps only. Not gigabit.
Ok. Thanks for the help. I guess I can throw it into dustbin now. nod.gif
Max2006
post Jul 16 2018, 01:48 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Jul 16 2018, 01:30 PM)
I am on very old BTU Huawei 850a. I think the port is 100mbps ethernet only. not enough for 300mbps package lol

Anyone know how does TM replace their BTU? They just take mine and replace with new one? (I also got a spare 850a from my tenant who abandon their unifi lolz, I wonder if I am use this one to exchange with TM)
Yup. The technician will come and change it for you. After testing it, then only proceed the upgrade. That's the procedure.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0366sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:34 PM