just rec'd new unifi bill - no gst, nice!
Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V33, Enjoy Your UniFi
Jun 7 2018, 02:12 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,454 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
just rec'd new unifi bill - no gst, nice!
Jun 7 2018, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 7 2018, 12:52 PM) I'm sibeh confused now... Last week I got a call from TM upgrading me from VIP10 (RM149) to Unifi 30 + Ruby for 10 bucks extra (RM159), this is at my old house. WITHOUT contract. Today my wife got a call from TM wanna upgrade from Unifi Lite (RM129) to Unifi 30 with free HyppTV installation for 10 bucks extra (RM139), this is at my new house. Since my Unifi Lite baru less than a year, this upgrade sure comes WITH contract. Then last year my in-laws kena upgrade from VIP10 (RM149) to Unifi 30 for extra 30 bucks (RM 179). WITH contract. So now I have 3x Unifi 30 packages ranged from RM139, RM159, and RM179 respectively... Why TM so inconsistent one...? QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 7 2018, 02:31 PM) Somehow I got the feeling TM is trying to recoup from the GST losses with an upgrade excuse. Hence all those 10 bucks extra for speed upgrade... u must be new to this thread.those who have been around for 1 year or more will know... the price-deal variations of unifi are very very wide. you can just about pluck any price rm139-329 and apply it to any speed 10-100mbps, that deal exist, i.e. it is real, some people are paying for it. all kinds of prices, all kinds of playtv packs, all kinds of deals, all kinds of discounts, all kinds of exemptions. the main variables seem to be location, own TMpoint vs dealer TMpoint, promotions, agents, time of the year... and maybe which little napoleon is on duty. even between calling, livechat and TMpoint, u may get diff offers on diff days. we do not know why this is the case and why they can keep doing it this way without anyone stopping them. as for the "+RM10" upgrade, there has been "RM0", RM20", "RM30" as well - depending on existing deal and time of the year. on-going. This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jun 7 2018, 03:05 PM |
Jun 11 2018, 08:16 PM
QUOTE(adrixxx @ Jun 11 2018, 06:09 PM) RM0 unifi TV: We wish to notify that the 2018 FIFA World Cup matches on RTM channels will not be aired on unifi TV due to broadcast rights. Thank you. ok, that conforms it, as expected.$%^&*() fret not... many other ways to watch it: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4591134 |
Jun 12 2018, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(AnsonKC @ Jun 12 2018, 10:43 AM) I'm on ruby pack and contacted unifi cs. they told me i will only be able to view premium channels for 1 month free, then after that only can view ruby channels and free channels new account?so according to the cs, under ruby pack there are premium channels, ruby channels and free channels? i only see premium and free channels under ruby pack on unifi tv website. or just another cs that provides wrong info? ruby pack? not ruby plus? am surprised i they still sell ruby and not ruby plus. the plus has some of the premium channels. now, u get all the premium but some will go away after 1 month free. if u want it all, top up to get ultimate pack. |
Jun 12 2018, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(AnsonKC @ Jun 12 2018, 10:52 AM) yes, new account and ruby plus actually. how do i know what premium channels will go away after 1 month free? it's been 1 month free for ALL channels for new accounts since years ago.their website doesnt have the info and cs always provide wrong info how to know? after 1 month, u will notice many channels have "disappeared" from yr box! |
Jun 19 2018, 10:56 PM
Jun 21 2018, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jun 21 2018, 11:32 AM) Might be, but I am still not satisfied with the pricing. i think this will depend on how much one is paying... since Unifi pricing variation is huge.Other Southeast Asian countries has cheaper broadband compared to Malaysia if we exclude singapore. 30mbps rm169 or 100mbps rm329... unlimited.. price is rather high. but many are getting 100mbps rm179, 189... that's not bad as it incl std20 and unifitv. i doubt u can get much cheaper in $ terms in that many countries. |
Jun 21 2018, 10:49 PM
Jun 21 2018, 10:53 PM
Jun 23 2018, 02:39 PM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jun 23 2018, 01:40 PM) QUOTE(iguana_dude_619 @ Jun 23 2018, 02:14 PM) im quite envy if there is a person/group from RM139 - 30Mbps upgrade to 50Mbps for RM149/159 can go 100Mbps RM159/179 wor i am one of those paying rm179 for 100mbps.BUT... u need to know the full story - i was paying rm199 for 10mbps for 1st 3 years. so, i paid my dues!! it was only when i changed during promo to 30mbps rm169 that it got better and then better again. moral of the story - be alert to promos and take it fast, don't hesitate. |
Jun 23 2018, 07:20 PM
Jun 30 2018, 04:33 PM
QUOTE(Ben Ling @ Jun 30 2018, 08:22 AM) 1more question here, do you know why does my internet speed doesn't get over 95Mbps on LAN ? As I said, I'm using Cat5E Lan cable, or should I get a Cat6 LAN cable ? Thanks cat5e is not the problem.more to do with your stock router, seen it twice. change to a better router, both ethernet and wifi 5ghz can get u 103-105mbps. |
Jul 2 2018, 11:01 AM
Jul 2 2018, 05:58 PM
QUOTE(Ashren @ Jul 2 2018, 05:34 PM) I get 42.xx or 210.xx if I repeatedly reconnect. Seldom 175.xx since I switch to 100mbps only sometimes. No point talking to their CS... like this is not the first time. Second time this month. i usually get 118.x... good.some sites were temp unaccessible last night but came back fast. wc live streaming 1080p also good as usual. QUOTE(wkc @ Jul 2 2018, 05:37 PM) Can i actually remove the hyppTV package that comes wehn sign up? that time sign up because it's compulsary. any idea they allow to cancel it? no, it is bundled with unifi broadband as a package. |
Jul 3 2018, 04:49 PM
QUOTE(GamaX320 @ Jul 3 2018, 04:14 PM) quite true for most homes.esp smaller homes, not so many gadgets, not doing 4k much. 200, 500mbps good for bigger homes (cover wifi losses over longer distances). and multiple users/devices doing heavylifting 1080p/4k. |
Jul 3 2018, 06:47 PM
QUOTE(jian5481 @ Jul 3 2018, 04:57 PM) I signed the package RM179 for 30Mbps few years back. your case is not unique.Previously when Najib announced the internet speed thing during one of the budget tabling, TM offered free speed upgrade. My area not qualified due to the building cable. All I got was the free 1 year Jumbo pack for HyppTV. Then they offered + RM10, free upgrade speed. Not qualified too. Now the same thing, upgrade speed...and cheaper 30Mbps for B40. I'm not qualified for both again. Seriously, WTF? the problem is the building u live in - can't do more than 30mbps. assuming no more contract, u need to complain hard at tmpoint. others in same situation have successfully got price reduced. with the frenzy rm139 30mbps now, u should have much better chance. |
Jul 4 2018, 01:42 PM
Jul 5 2018, 01:23 AM
Jul 5 2018, 11:24 PM
QUOTE M'sian broadband too costly, industry lacks competition - World Bank Published on Today 5:04 pm | Modified on Today 5:26 pm A+ A- A lack of competition among Malaysian internet service providers had led to higher prices and lower speeds for broadband in the country, said the World Bank's Malaysia Economic Monitor June 2018 report. "In terms of price per Mbps, Malaysia ranks 74 out of 167 countries for fixed broadband services and 64 out of 118 for fibre broadband services. "This places it behind regional competitors such as Vietnam and countries at a similar level of economic development such as Mexico and Turkey," read the report. The report attributed this outcome to a lack of competition citing how Telekom Malaysia held 92.2 percent of the market share as of June 2017 – a significantly larger share than other leading firms in other countries. TM, said the World Bank, charged a fee for other ISPs to use its cable landing stations which led to higher cost for broadband rollout. TM also had exclusive rights to government contracts to deploy high-speed broadband and sub-urban broadband plans. "This eventually eliminates the possibility of attracting private investment for network rollout operations," he said. In terms of services, the World Bank said Malaysia's average download speed (22.56 Mbps) was significantly lower than regional peers such as Singapore which ranked No 1 (161.53 Mbps) and S Korea (129.64 Mbps). "Countries at similar levels of economic development as Malaysia also had significantly faster download speeds. For example, Hungary has an average download speed of 90.94 Mbps, while Thailand has an average speed of 41.35 Mbps," revealed the report. ![]() Average digital adoption The report recommended that Malaysia double its internet speed and aspire to achieve gigabit-level connectivity, pointing to how S Korea plans to commercialise 10 Gbps broadband service by 2020 while Sweden aimed to provide a minimum 1 Gbps broadband access by 2025. Meanwhile, the report said Malaysia scored well on the World Bank's Digital Adoption Index (DAI) in terms of digital adoption by its people and government though not businesses. The report said only 62 percent of businesses were connected to the Internet while only 28 percent had some form of web presence. In comparison, 96 percent of businesses in the EU had access to broadband services while 75 percent had a web presence. "In general, in terms of the level of digital adoption by businesses, Malaysia's performance is roughly average for a lower middle-income country," read the report. https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/432877 |
Jul 6 2018, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(Max2006 @ Jul 6 2018, 01:13 PM) Once again, as I mentioned earlier. Those staff sure don't have the real answer in their heads. Some said it's 300Mbps, while their twitter said it's 10X faster, and now this one said 100Mbps is the maximum speed, no further upgrade. Macam macam ada. right... everyone's just speculating, incl tm staff. IMO, no point to keep bothering the staff. It's a waste of time. Just relax and wait for their announcement. seriously, i am quite sure they have capacity to go much higher than 100mbps for normal customer use. the thing about tm/unifi is whether senior or junior staff, they dun speak clearly or they dun know the facts which is so shameful. even at press conference or news release, it is not clear if they mean ""double or 10x" or "double or 10x up to max 100mbps". so, better stop speculating and just wait... |
| Change to: | 0.2233sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:52 AM |