QUOTE(GRexer @ Apr 15 2018, 01:31 PM)
Saw these 2 bottles of WD-40 while shopping for some other stuff at the local hardware store. Was wondering if any of them are safe to be used as switch lube? 
not recommended.[V31] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club
Apr 15 2018, 04:07 PM
1,453 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
Apr 15 2018, 05:40 PM
3,815 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(horns @ Apr 15 2018, 02:20 PM) from the specs, the one with ptfe should be ok to use. however, these are spray cans. imo it might not be optimal, because you might not be able to control the amount you use in switches or stabs. it will spread everywhere, which you might not want. Thanks for your insights, finally something more usable compared to the FB group. I don't plan to spray the lubricants on, but more like, wondering if it's suitable. My technique, if they are suitable, would be something I learn from Spray Painting spray cans, that is, to spray them into a container, then use a brush or applicator to apply them onto the areas needed instead. Just worried that they ain't exactly plastic safe, coz they aren't cheap, around RM30/can.in general the better method to lube is still brush + oil for switches. (much easier to control the amount to apply; you only need a thin layer at contact points only). for stabs, use thick lubes. if you're in acehardware, you can look for Super Lube 21030 for stabs. Super Lube grease is less thicker than krytox 205, so it's relatively easier to spread with brush. (i used this for switches also; this is not recommended by many sifus so do it at your own risks) QUOTE(G_KeN @ Apr 15 2018, 04:07 PM) How so? Just because of the name "WD40"? It's NOT the regular Mineral Oil ones, the thing that raised my curiosity was the "PTFE" |
Apr 15 2018, 05:52 PM
3,038 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
QUOTE(GRexer @ Apr 15 2018, 05:40 PM) Thanks for your insights, finally something more usable compared to the FB group. I don't plan to spray the lubricants on, but more like, wondering if it's suitable. My technique, if they are suitable, would be something I learn from Spray Painting spray cans, that is, to spray them into a container, then use a brush or applicator to apply them onto the areas needed instead. Just worried that they ain't exactly plastic safe, coz they aren't cheap, around RM30/can. the sprays dry quite quickly (in seconds), and it's said to be plastic-safe, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yatZaMrjzkQHow so? Just because of the name "WD40"? It's NOT the regular Mineral Oil ones, the thing that raised my curiosity was the "PTFE" it's relatively cheaper tbh, compared to those recommended lubes like krytox mixtures. |
Apr 15 2018, 06:15 PM
1,453 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(GRexer @ Apr 15 2018, 05:40 PM) Thanks for your insights, finally something more usable compared to the FB group. I don't plan to spray the lubricants on, but more like, wondering if it's suitable. My technique, if they are suitable, would be something I learn from Spray Painting spray cans, that is, to spray them into a container, then use a brush or applicator to apply them onto the areas needed instead. Just worried that they ain't exactly plastic safe, coz they aren't cheap, around RM30/can. https://imgur.com/a/lhLqoHow so? Just because of the name "WD40"? It's NOT the regular Mineral Oil ones, the thing that raised my curiosity was the "PTFE" you can go thru this album. Might be useful. I'd rather go for something a bit more expensive like Krytox mix or one of those prepackaged mech keyboard switches lubes rather than putting something that can potentially damage expensive switches. Some dry up quicker, some leaves unwanted residue, some damages the plastic housing/metal leafs/springs. This post has been edited by G_KeN: Apr 15 2018, 06:21 PM |
Apr 15 2018, 07:24 PM
QUOTE(G_KeN @ Apr 15 2018, 06:15 PM) https://imgur.com/a/lhLqo agreed. for permanent builds, it's better to use better lubes, oil or grease, that have much better service life, and are safe for expensive switches and parts. you can go thru this album. Might be useful. I'd rather go for something a bit more expensive like Krytox mix or one of those prepackaged mech keyboard switches lubes rather than putting something that can potentially damage expensive switches. Some dry up quicker, some leaves unwanted residue, some damages the plastic housing/metal leafs/springs. practically, cheap lubes do work. however they are usually considered as less optimal. i already have krytox oil and grease (105 and 205) |
Apr 15 2018, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Apr 15 2018, 05:52 PM) the sprays dry quite quickly (in seconds), and it's said to be plastic-safe, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yatZaMrjzkQ It is supposed to dry quickly, and leave behind a film of PTFE. Yes, it's cheaper than the Krytox, but more importantly, easily obtainable, if it works, that is.it's relatively cheaper tbh, compared to those recommended lubes like krytox mixtures. QUOTE(G_KeN @ Apr 15 2018, 06:15 PM) https://imgur.com/a/lhLqo Thanks for the link. Had gone thru the album, but just feel that none of the items are any easily obtained in Malaysia, which is why I'm searching for alternatives as I can't really wait for the lub to arrive before assembling my set. Which is why the search for alternatives.you can go thru this album. Might be useful. I'd rather go for something a bit more expensive like Krytox mix or one of those prepackaged mech keyboard switches lubes rather than putting something that can potentially damage expensive switches. Some dry up quicker, some leaves unwanted residue, some damages the plastic housing/metal leafs/springs. QUOTE(horns @ Apr 15 2018, 07:24 PM) agreed. for permanent builds, it's better to use better lubes, oil or grease, that have much better service life, and are safe for expensive switches and parts. Mind if I ask where did you get the Krytox 105 from? Online order I suppose? I agree the part where you said "cheap lubes do work, but less optimal (and might need re-application)"practically, cheap lubes do work. however they are usually considered as less optimal. i already have krytox oil and grease (105 and 205) |
Apr 15 2018, 10:25 PM
QUOTE(GRexer @ Apr 15 2018, 09:09 PM) It is supposed to dry quickly, and leave behind a film of PTFE. Yes, it's cheaper than the Krytox, but more importantly, easily obtainable, if it works, that is. it does leave a film. however it's really not easy to apply because it really dry up quickly. i have spoiled switches so just now i went to acehardware, got a can of wd-ptfe spray for simple experiments. (i use it for other purposes also)Thanks for the link. Had gone thru the album, but just feel that none of the items are any easily obtained in Malaysia, which is why I'm searching for alternatives as I can't really wait for the lub to arrive before assembling my set. Which is why the search for alternatives. Mind if I ask where did you get the Krytox 105 from? Online order I suppose? I agree the part where you said "cheap lubes do work, but less optimal (and might need re-application)" i got my krytox lubes from taobao. yes, re-application if and when necessary. |
Apr 15 2018, 10:27 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Apr 15 2018, 10:25 PM) it does leave a film. however it's really not easy to apply because it really dry up quickly. i have spoiled switches so just now i went to acehardware, got a can of wd-ptfe spray for simple experiments. (i use it for other purposes also) Oh.. So you went to try it out at Ace Hardware just now? Thanks for letting me know. It seems that further reading does indicate that dry lube does wear out over time and hence needing to re-applying.i got my krytox lubes from taobao. yes, re-application if and when necessary. Care to link me on those Taobao Krytox? Gonna get some stuff anything, might as well ship it along. |
Apr 15 2018, 10:31 PM
QUOTE(GRexer @ Apr 15 2018, 10:27 PM) Oh.. So you went to try it out at Ace Hardware just now? Thanks for letting me know. It seems that further reading does indicate that dry lube does wear out over time and hence needing to re-applying. yes they will eventually wear out. i think it's the same for krytox, but it just take longer time to wear them out.Care to link me on those Taobao Krytox? Gonna get some stuff anything, might as well ship it along. |
Apr 16 2018, 02:01 AM
firmware downloads for iKBC keyboards
https://www.ikbckeyboard.com/downloads just updated my ikbc f87 rgb to the latest 1.1.18. not sure what's changed, because there are no release notes. use it at your own risks. if you're unsure, DO NOT attempt it, as it might brick your board (and i'm not sure how to recover from bricked boards) |
Apr 16 2018, 02:38 PM
123 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Anybody knows where i can get some plate mounted cherry stabs?
Just ordered a GMMK and heard that the stabs are pretty rattly. |
Apr 16 2018, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(philynn @ Apr 16 2018, 02:38 PM) Anybody knows where i can get some plate mounted cherry stabs? you can find genuine plate-mount cherry stabs at ebay.Just ordered a GMMK and heard that the stabs are pretty rattly. edit: forgot to mention this - for genuine cherry stabs, imo it's better to source from ebay (relatively cheaper; from sellers like doyu studio; i got few sets from them too) This post has been edited by horns: Apr 16 2018, 04:34 PM |
Apr 17 2018, 05:53 PM
279 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: Kota Kinabalu, Sabah |
After using OEM keycaps onto my Vortex Race 3 in hopes that I type better, even I find something was wrong with my typing after a week of typing. Mind you, I type a lot on my Ducky One, and Pok3r. So it really felt off to me. I decided to put back my original DSA caps on them and started reevaluating and I found out that the keyboard height was too low for me. Then it hit me! I decided to put raise the board by wedging a phone casing at the back at the board to increase the angle and I found out I was right. So my question is. Where on earth can I find a higher screw-able feet for this? |
Apr 17 2018, 10:08 PM
QUOTE(locksng12 @ Apr 17 2018, 05:53 PM) After using OEM keycaps onto my Vortex Race 3 in hopes that I type better, even I find something was wrong with my typing after a week of typing. Mind you, I type a lot on my Ducky One, and Pok3r. So it really felt off to me. I decided to put back my original DSA caps on them and started reevaluating and I found out that the keyboard height was too low for me. Then it hit me! I decided to put raise the board by wedging a phone casing at the back at the board to increase the angle and I found out I was right. So my question is. Where on earth can I find a higher screw-able feet for this? |
Apr 18 2018, 06:58 PM
* this is a revised version of the brief walk-through that i have posted before. i cannot edit that post anymore due to thread locking so i put all the updates in this post.
* i do use others' posts for better illustrations. all credits to the original content owners. change logs » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « this is the brief walk-through on how to build your own 60% custom CIY/modular boards with arrow keys from scratch, based on a gk64 pcb. the final build of mine is like this: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « in general, the main advantages of a CIY/modular board are that it makes custom board building very convenient to anyone (i.e. you can enhance the board further with switches and stabs of your choice, applying mods, etc., with minimal efforts). it provides on-the-fly switch hot swapping, so it's very convenient to replace faulty switches, or try out lubed and mixed switches, or swap all switches with other sets. 60% is a custom option that has the most diversified choices of parts, including switches, cases, plates, and stabilizers, compared to other form factors. here is the best part: one of the more common and affordable pcbs for 60% customs is the dz60 pcb. with this pcb, you can basically build a permanently soldered custom, with gk64 layout. however there are things that are available on gk64 pcb, but not on dz60, e.g. dz60 has no per-key smd leds (you can install led on each switch), while it has smd leds at the bottom side (for under-glow effects). note that i'm not comparing this to custom boards with soldered switches. imo soldered builds are still the best option for custom boards, because soldered switches provides additionally solid reinforcement of physical structure to a board in the long run. however, i think a modular board is much better than key switch testers, so as to give a better idea to individuals on the actual typing experience (with a functional board), before you decided to use the combos in permanent builds, with higher-end and more expensive parts. for assembly of this custom build with gk64 pcb, you just need three tools: 1. keycap puller 2. switch puller, https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=542535561635 3. a philips-head screw driver (a cheap box set found in computer shops will also do the jobs fine) base parts that you need (sources: taobao, kbdfans, kprepublic; you should source for possible cheaper parts from elsewhere also) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « just like any other soldered custom builds, you can get these parts at your own pace. once the parts are complete, you can go ahead and complete the assembly. the assembly process is simple, and very straight forward (with some basic mods to make it relatively better) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « that's about it actually. usually you can complete all the above in under 15 minutes, or less. (if you minus time-consuming tasks like switch lubing and mods. you can always apply them later, if you want) -- additional notes 1. lubes » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « 2. switches » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « 3. stabilizers » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « 4. compatible top plates and cases » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « 5. proprietary driver/software and firmware » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « 6. some shots, based on the custom version, in comparison with stock/prebuilt gk64 » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by horns: Sep 22 2019, 12:44 PM |
Apr 18 2018, 11:26 PM
321 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Klang | Shah Alam |
QUOTE(philynn @ Apr 16 2018, 02:38 PM) Anybody knows where i can get some plate mounted cherry stabs? sennin32 on ebay (doyustudio) sells genuine cherry stabs, ive gotten a couple from him and he's super friendly, free intl shipping is a huge plus as well Just ordered a GMMK and heard that the stabs are pretty rattly. and yeah GMMK is notorious for the rattly stabs, but tbh get some thick lube and lube the stabs properly and you will enjoy a world of difference, I personally use Permatex Dielectric Grease over Super Lube but you can find Super Lube at Ace Hardware THERE IS NO END GAME |
Apr 19 2018, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(pizzaboyj @ Apr 18 2018, 11:26 PM) sennin32 on ebay (doyustudio) sells genuine cherry stabs, ive gotten a couple from him and he's super friendly, free intl shipping is a huge plus as well nice haha yeah there will never be an end game loland yeah GMMK is notorious for the rattly stabs, but tbh get some thick lube and lube the stabs properly and you will enjoy a world of difference, I personally use Permatex Dielectric Grease over Super Lube but you can find Super Lube at Ace Hardware THERE IS NO END GAME |
Apr 19 2018, 10:59 AM
196 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(horns @ Apr 18 2018, 06:58 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This is very good information! Thanks again for this write up! |
Apr 19 2018, 02:41 PM
QUOTE(antaras @ Apr 19 2018, 10:59 AM) haha you're very welcome bro. i have found out some other stuff during my tests; will add them in whenever i can recall the findings.all this while parts that i used are readily available, and are relatively affordable. however, the outcomes are relatively solid to me. some parts are costly because those are what i want. e.g. 5-degree case (you can use generic cases), switches (you can use gateron), and key caps (you can use other caps). the case is the most expensive among the essential parts. as a bonus, you can learn most basics about mkbs in one-go. this one money cannot buy edit: varmilo with cherry mx black is here. as i suspected, black in varmilo va87m is also smooth af; better than my ikbc f87 with the same switches. the best thing is still the space bar and modifiers. zero rattles, as always » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « btw antaras your videos are getting popular if we searched for gk64 at youtube lol! one of the replies have a nice tip: spraying plastidip into the space bar cap. (taping off all the holes first) i have plastidip, so.. later i will test lol This post has been edited by horns: Apr 19 2018, 04:09 PM |
Apr 19 2018, 04:57 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
2,882 posts Joined: Oct 2009 From: Land of Denial |
Motivation Post: Topre|Leopold 10 Years Anniversary (Blue-Grey) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by quovadis123: Apr 19 2018, 04:57 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0399sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:17 AM |