[V31] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

GRexer
post Apr 15 2018, 01:31 PM

3,815 posts

Saw these 2 bottles of WD-40 while shopping for some other stuff at the local hardware store. Was wondering if any of them are safe to be used as switch lube? unsure.gif

GRexer
post Apr 15 2018, 05:40 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 15 2018, 02:20 PM)
from the specs, the one with ptfe should be ok to use. however, these are spray cans. imo it might not be optimal, because you might not be able to control the amount you use in switches or stabs. it will spread everywhere, which you might not want.

in general the better method to lube is still brush + oil for switches. (much easier to control the amount to apply; you only need a thin layer at contact points only). for stabs, use thick lubes.

if you're in acehardware, you can look for Super Lube 21030 for stabs. Super Lube grease is less thicker than krytox 205, so it's relatively easier to spread with brush. (i used this for switches also; this is not recommended by many sifus so do it at your own risks)
Thanks for your insights, finally something more usable compared to the FB group. I don't plan to spray the lubricants on, but more like, wondering if it's suitable. My technique, if they are suitable, would be something I learn from Spray Painting spray cans, that is, to spray them into a container, then use a brush or applicator to apply them onto the areas needed instead. Just worried that they ain't exactly plastic safe, coz they aren't cheap, around RM30/can.

QUOTE(G_KeN @ Apr 15 2018, 04:07 PM)
not recommended.
How so? Just because of the name "WD40"? It's NOT the regular Mineral Oil ones, the thing that raised my curiosity was the "PTFE"
GRexer
post Apr 15 2018, 09:09 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 15 2018, 05:52 PM)
the sprays dry quite quickly (in seconds), and it's said to be plastic-safe, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yatZaMrjzkQ

it's relatively cheaper tbh, compared to those recommended lubes like krytox mixtures.
It is supposed to dry quickly, and leave behind a film of PTFE. Yes, it's cheaper than the Krytox, but more importantly, easily obtainable, if it works, that is.

QUOTE(G_KeN @ Apr 15 2018, 06:15 PM)
https://imgur.com/a/lhLqo

you can go thru this album. Might be useful.

I'd rather go for something a bit more expensive like Krytox mix or one of those prepackaged mech keyboard switches lubes rather than putting something that can potentially damage expensive switches. Some dry up quicker, some leaves unwanted residue, some damages the plastic housing/metal leafs/springs.
Thanks for the link. Had gone thru the album, but just feel that none of the items are any easily obtained in Malaysia, which is why I'm searching for alternatives as I can't really wait for the lub to arrive before assembling my set. Which is why the search for alternatives.

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 15 2018, 07:24 PM)
agreed. for permanent builds, it's better to use better lubes, oil or grease, that have much better service life, and are safe for expensive switches and parts.

practically, cheap lubes do work. however they are usually considered as less optimal. i already have krytox oil and grease (105 and 205)
Mind if I ask where did you get the Krytox 105 from? Online order I suppose? I agree the part where you said "cheap lubes do work, but less optimal (and might need re-application)"

GRexer
post Apr 15 2018, 10:27 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 15 2018, 10:25 PM)
it does leave a film. however it's really not easy to apply because it really dry up quickly. i have spoiled switches so just now i went to acehardware, got a can of wd-ptfe spray for simple experiments. (i use it for other purposes also)

i got my krytox lubes from taobao. yes, re-application if and when necessary.
Oh.. So you went to try it out at Ace Hardware just now? Thanks for letting me know. It seems that further reading does indicate that dry lube does wear out over time and hence needing to re-applying.

Care to link me on those Taobao Krytox? Gonna get some stuff anything, might as well ship it along.
GRexer
post May 2 2018, 01:23 AM

3,815 posts

iKBC C87's keycaps are not double-shot. They are laser-etched, but, considering the price of RM229(TKL) and RM249(Full 104 keys), I think it's pretty difficult to find anything else that gives equal value if you don't mind the lack of lighting.

As for Ducky, stay away from the "Zero" series. At the very least get the "One".
GRexer
post May 5 2018, 03:05 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(horns @ May 5 2018, 12:38 PM)
imo relatively better ones that i know are ikbc f87 rgb (led), or ikbc c87 (non-led).
The iKBC C87 is super value buy at the moment at RM229. brows.gif
GRexer
post May 13 2018, 05:47 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(Macnair @ May 13 2018, 07:59 AM)
Anyone here tried other switches in a Tecware Phantom? I really want to try Box Switches but I'm not sure if it will fit.
Tecware Phantom's "Hot Swappable" design is only meant for Outemu switches if you're looking for a direct fit. Outemu switches have thinner pins and those "hot swap" sockets do not fit the slightly larger pin diameter shared by Cherry, Kailh, and Gateron. If you plan to use other brands' stem and spring, you'll have to re-use the Outemu switch housings.

Only those recent "hot swap" keyboards that uses the Kailh hot-swap PCB mount sockets can fit all range of switches as those come with spring-clamp sockets.
GRexer
post May 14 2018, 03:04 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(kraziekd @ May 14 2018, 10:02 AM)
another question.. the soldering kit on lazada I provided above, will the solder sucker comes with the set would do its job desoldering switches without any problem?
Shouldn't be an issue, but I would recommend getting some old broken electronics to practice on first if this is the first time you're actually doing any soldering.

For the price, I'm not sure if you can get a similar kit from Jalan Pasar(if you live around KL and surrounding areas) instead of ordering online.
GRexer
post May 14 2018, 06:17 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(kraziekd @ May 14 2018, 03:17 PM)
how much are the kits sell in jalan pasar? i live in kepong.. might go there to look if i'm free
Been a while since I've been there. While I won't spend much on a soldering iron, I still believe that a decent one with a lasting heater core and replaceable tips is a good one to go. Personally am using Hakko for the normal soldering irons but I've since upgraded to a TS-100 microchip controlled one.

Really depends on what your want out of the set. As for desoldering pump, try to get one with a flexible tip (soft yet doesn't get burnt) and also big sized yet still manageable single handedly. Unless you get something like the Engineer SS-02 which costs around RM100+, most basic desoldering pump has the concept of "bigger size, bigger suction volume", the flexible tip also helps in making sure the suction on the desoldering area is good and manages to suck it all out in one go.

GRexer
post May 15 2018, 10:32 AM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ May 14 2018, 11:25 PM)
however, try not to buy/use those "high power" sucker. if you are inexperienced with it, you might even suck out the whole pad, which might render your PCB useless laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Oh yeah, kinda reminded me that with inexperience, overheating the area plus high power sucker will damage the pad. sweat.gif
GRexer
post May 15 2018, 02:24 PM

3,815 posts

Nah.. I mean, I had forgotten about this point to take note off, granted, I'm now using a desoldering station to do all these desoldering work.
GRexer
post May 17 2018, 11:25 AM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ May 16 2018, 10:11 PM)
Ikbc c87. Rm229 from ultimatezone. Definitely worth it for the price.
Already swapping out the keycaps so soon? laugh.gif

QUOTE(qaa7705d @ May 17 2018, 05:32 AM)
ohmy.gif got backlit?
Nope, non-backlit but comes with PBT keycaps.
GRexer
post Jun 8 2018, 04:13 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(boboke @ Jun 8 2018, 02:16 PM)
Guys, can recommend any shop or people to repair my keyboard. Using CM Storm Rapid-i, MX blue switch. The switch at spacebar suddenly like broken, to replace the switch need to open the case and desolder I think. I don't have solder gun.

Living in Nilai, any places around here or Klang valley?
I do offer switch replacement service. Am located in Puchong.
GRexer
post Jun 11 2018, 02:24 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Jun 11 2018, 02:14 PM)
Noob question!

What is the easiest way to get a keyboard with Zealios switches?

Thanks ya biggrin.gif
The "easiest" way, is to buy one where someone built and moved on (to other switches), but, I don't seem to see that happening, not in the Malaysian market. So, in Malaysia, the easiest way, is still, to build one of your own.
GRexer
post Aug 20 2018, 10:35 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(Rhythem @ Aug 16 2018, 03:36 PM)
Hi, how is ikbc c104 compare with Tecware Phantom ?

I see the price is quite close (Ultimate.Zone is having promo for ikbc at RM249, Tecware Phantom seems to be like RM219?)

I have seen ppl strongly recommend either of these as beginner mkb
Tecware Phantom (full 104 keys) can be bought for less than RM219. If you have the budget, the iKBC is definitely a worthy buy. While the Tecware Phantom is cheaper and might seemed to be dissed upon by some people, with some minor tweaks, it can be quite a decent keyboard. Tweaks including lubing the switches (only for the brown and red models, that's the wonders of a "modular" board where you can remove the switches without any soldering/desoldering required), clipping and lubing the stabilisers (for less noise as well as less mushy feeling stabilised keys) and also adding some foam into the casing to make the keyboard sound less hollow when typing.

Basically:
- Lube switches
- Clip, lube and band aid stabilisers
- Adding foam to casing

Budgeting around RM20-50 depending on what kind of lube you use.

I have exactly that, a "ghetto modded" Tecware Phantom I bought as scrap to use in the office.
GRexer
post Sep 28 2018, 01:53 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(Longicollis @ Sep 27 2018, 03:50 PM)
@horns So tailo do you want to swap FC660C keycaps with the black × black that I have currently?

I can't type for nuts with these ninja keycaps bro.
I wouldn't mind swapping the black x black caps if I have a FC660C since I don't look at the keyboard while typing, but I don't have one! laugh.gif
GRexer
post Jan 21 2019, 11:20 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(emiya_shin @ Jan 21 2019, 08:07 PM)
Yo, is there any recommended keycaps for Ducky Zero (DK2108)? I have been using it for nearly 4 years and the keycaps became quite shiny to the point it feels oily under constant use  sweat.gif

Preferably budget ones since it's just an entry level keyboard plus I'm not planning to bust out for stuffs like GMK keycaps, just need usability only.

Thanks!
I do have a set of thick (1.3mm) Dye-sub PBT keycaps (however, they aren't "shine-thru" if you have a backlit keyboard) on sale here if you're interested: https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/159039388312777

Am asking for RM125, but if you do meet me in Puchong, I might be able to offer a slightly better pricing.

This post has been edited by GRexer: Jan 21 2019, 11:21 PM

GRexer
post Jan 22 2019, 05:41 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Jan 22 2019, 12:51 AM)
if cod at ur workplace? more discount?  whistling.gif
Haha.. No longer working in town. Full time in Puchong for now. Offering repair/assembly services for keyboard and mouse nowadays to stay afloat.

QUOTE(emiya_shin @ Jan 22 2019, 02:57 AM)
Wow, is that from kbdfans? That looks very nice! Sadly I stay in Seri Kembangan  wacko.gif Considering your offer as well since dye-sub PBT rclxub.gif
I think kbdfans do offer a similar colour scheme but this set is not from them. Seri Kembangan is kinda a stone's throw from my side of Puchong and I do occasionally head over on weekends. Could still work out something if you're seriously interested.
GRexer
post Mar 24 2019, 12:04 AM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Mar 23 2019, 03:56 PM)
There is 60%, tkl and full sized kibod (major variants)
is there any tht is combination of 60% + numpad in a single kibod?
Can only think of the Vortex ViBE if you are referring to EXACTLY 60% + numpad configuration. However, the Zer0 key is divided into 00 and 0.

Personally though, I use a custom built 60% with a separate wireless numpad (the latest Magicforce 21 has a wireless option but no backlit, obviously).

This post has been edited by GRexer: Mar 24 2019, 12:07 AM
GRexer
post Mar 24 2019, 06:29 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Mar 24 2019, 12:28 AM)
wireless mech numpad??
how much is tht? available locally?
Yes, it's an updated Magicforce Smart 21(which used to be a wired option). Uses it's own proprietary 2.4GHz and runs on 2 x AAA batteries. Not sure about local availability, got it off Taobao, all in cost should be around RM100+ (below RM150) for Gateron switch model, there's also a Cherry switch offering. The numlock runs independently/separately from your main keyboard too. I do have an extra Gateron Red with ABS caps one if you're interested.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:59 AM