~^ Silky Terrier ^~

babymiki
post Aug 21 2008, 11:04 AM

❤ ZR
4,105 posts

ck spaceboy

yala sometimes when she's not happy she totally ignore what i say.

what kibbles are u feeding them? some certain brand might not be suitable for ur dog as it will cause tear stain.

ck_spaceboy
post Aug 21 2008, 11:12 AM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

Hi babymiki,

long time I havent post in this forum d, dunno u guys still remember me bo..hehe. I've switched from Eukanuba to Orijen, the kibbles are great but April start skipping meals and refuse to eat nowadays. Furthermore, the Eukanuba kibbles caused her to sustain some skin rashes which almost made her bald..she lost her hairs tremendously. Luckily now she's getting a lot better..

So now I'm buying Eagle Pack Lamb Meal (wet food) and mix with her kibbles, and she loves it..cleans up the bowl everytime! Hehe.

I've been thinking of switching next to Solid Gold Lamb Kibbles, seems highly recommended on the Internet and www.dogfoodanalysis.com (great site for reviews of dog food). And I notice quite a lot of silkies are allergic to chicken...hmmm. Many had adviced me to feed April lamb instead of chicken. Its just too bad Orijen & Innova EVO only have chicken.

What kibbles u'r feeding your silky?
babymiki
post Aug 21 2008, 11:47 AM

❤ ZR
4,105 posts

ya of course i remember you.

orijen have salmon one wor.

previously i fed Orijen but too heaty and caused tear stain I changed to natural balance already.

solid gold i think not easy to find in kl right?
ck_spaceboy
post Aug 21 2008, 11:57 AM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

Isit? Didnt know Orijen got salmon de..but ppl say lamb is good for skin..

How's natural balance..is it good? U'r feeding lamb as well?

I saw Solid Gold been sold in Ikano..not mistaken its same price as Orijen too..
babymiki
post Aug 21 2008, 12:00 PM

❤ ZR
4,105 posts

nope im feeding fish.

so far they dun have skin prob..touch wood.

have tried eagle pack fish flavor but not ngam my silky lor. shed so much fur. scary.

how many % of protein is in solid gold? wut flavor they have? ikano qutie far for me tsk.
ck_spaceboy
post Aug 21 2008, 12:26 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

you can check this review:

http://www.dogfoodanalysis.com/dog_food_re...oduct=893&cat=3

The protein content is 28%, much lower than Orijen's 42%. They have quite a few types, including lamb, fish, bison, holistic etc. The review shows that its quite good, so feel like trying out.

babymiki
post Aug 21 2008, 12:28 PM

❤ ZR
4,105 posts

but not available widely so if suddenly one shop out of stock then susahlor.

pottery
post Aug 21 2008, 01:58 PM

27 posts

Thank you babymiki, addedon, sh3ryl86, desireeang and joanalooidog, ck_spaceboy for
the warm welcome laugh.gif
Siu Pao and I are very happy to have joined this thread biggrin.gif I can imagine him smiling already smile.gif

To Desireeang,

The clothes, they are kinda pricey depending on where you buy. Sometimes if Pet Safari is on
sale, you can get it okay priced or if you go to Petaling Street those pet shops that sells clothes,
you can bargain with the shop owner. Some of it are given by my sister and friends. Just be sure
you know the size. I always carry around 1 piece of his clothing with me so that when I want to buy
new ones, I have something to measure against tongue.gif I love to dress him up but only if got air-cond and
when cold. When hot, I leave him naked. I still have some new doggie clothes sitting around that may suit
your Silky if your interested depending on the size. I bought extras but is willing to let some go to Yorkie
and Silky owners tongue.gif . They are new and definitely cheaper than pet supply stores in KL. I can send you
pictures but you need to self-collect them if you want them. Let me know your email and Silky's size and
I can check what I have got.

To ck_spaceboy,

Pao Pao he is 10 pounds in weight. About 4.45kg I think? His length is 39cm. He is not a standard Yorkie but is a purebred Yorkie
with Silky fur so maybe that makes him look like a Silky. Yorkies are divided into 4 types of fur..cottony, silky, woolly and wiry.
Your girl looks very cute and is still young at 7 months old. The coat may fill in a bit more when older. You can try feeding supplemental
food to help the coat grow like small pieces of salmon and egg for their coat. Use good conditioner may help.

Silky, Yorkie, Biewers, Westies, Maltese, Australian Terrier probably in some point in history, are all related according to some dog
books. Just that Westies are pure white so they are separated out. Biewers are Yorkies but different colouring, so are Party Yorkies.

To ck_spaceboy,

Tear stains..no secret wor..but I think a few factors help. First, it may be medical problem either a clogged tear duct or yeast infecton. Then vets usually recommend flushing tear duct. Look for a respectable vet to do this coz its done under anesthesia. If yeast, probably need medication.

Second, don't use any chemical lotion meant for tear stain. I seriously think it doesn't help and makes things worse and a waste of money. What I use is a little distilled water+cotton pad, enough to soften the eye gunk and then when its soft comb it away with small flea comb and then wipe again with a dry piece of soft cotton pad to dry the fur up. I just clean his eyes twice a day that way.

Third, I never let groomer touch/cut the fur around his eyes. I let them grow long. This is personal preference though some thinks short is better for their dog. From my experience, it is better for it to be long and then comb it down with a little Vaseline (be careful don't apply too near the eyes) then to cut and cut..it irritates the eyes more but once you have cut already, to grow it long it takes patience and will poke into eye for a while..if you have someone at home all day, can help by patting down the fur around the eye so won't poke into eye but once its long already, you don't have to deal with so much tear stain anymore. Just beware of some stubborn groomers that will cut it eventhough you asked them not to. I groom him myself coz the last time I sent him to a groomer, he was bleeding so I don't send him to groomers anymore.

Fourth, very important factor-food/treats related. Any treats with colouring or too much preservatives in it will create tear stain. I stay away from treats that has colouring in its ingredient. Usually I look for homemade treats with no colouring/preservative for him or I make myself when I feel like it or I just feed him healthy things like pieces of boiled chicken breast, yogurt (1-2 tsp/day for his size) or cut some baby carrots. Some kibbles brand contains colourings too. Last time, when I had more time I used to homecook for him. Maybe getting fresh food helps? Don't know. It is very common practice in western countries to feed homecook because fresh is always better but of course you have to do alot of nutritional research through reading books. These days, he is on one meal kibble (Canidae & Orijen), one meal homecook. He does eat good food strictly no colourings and no artificial preservatives. Be careful of cheap soft toys with strong colour dye from China too since they are always mouthing it. I now only buy natural organic cotton toy. Just buy 2 and rotate it tongue.gif

Fifth, keep their teeth clean. Somehow I think it is related. If your dog is teething, will have more tear stains not to mention bad breath.

Sixth, don't let them cry. Seriously, some dogs have more tear stains when they cry.

Seventh, some say mineral in water can cause tear stain and they feed distilled water. Personally, I don't as I prefer he gets some mineral from his drinking water.

Eigth, be careful with harsh chemicals you use for cleaning house. Some dogs have allergy to these products hence more tear stain.. For me, I use good old white vinegar.

I hope this helps....its a lot of work but again having a dog is like having half a human baby.

This post has been edited by pottery: Aug 21 2008, 02:05 PM
ck_spaceboy
post Aug 21 2008, 04:51 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

babymiki,

Yalor, that's one of my concerns too. Last time I kinda refuse to buy Orijen for the same reason, then saw that I can get them online frm a forumer and from some pet shops, so much more assured. Perhaps I'll try the Orijen fish next time? hmm.gif Or maybe Natural Balance ...

pottery,

One word... WOW!! notworthy.gif
You're really knowledgeable and dedicated lar..How I wish I can be half as good as you..mayb 25% enough already..haha tongue.gif
My April should weigh slightly more than 1kg only..but I dont mind and I love her that way..like puppy forever, haha. Your comments on tear stains are absolutely fascinating, and I'll definitely try my best to follow your advice. I seriously have to agree with you that cutting the fur around her eyes short will cause tear stains. They grow slowly and always tend to get into their eyes. I'll make sure they dun cut the fur around the eyes during her next grooming session.

I rarely buy toys from pet shops for April..coz they're of low quality and my April easily get fade up with her toys. Instead I tend to buy kid's toys for April (like frm Toys 'R Us)..like soft toys that has sounds and bells...she loves them...and they last longer, washable, durable.

Speaking of feeding eggs, some says that feeding raw egg yolk to silkies can make silkies have more hair and shinier. Is this actually true? Effective? Hem.. hmm.gif

I'm feeding her supplement from Natural Pet Skin & Coat Supplement, and it is amazingly effective. April has been losing a lot of fur since she kena skin rashes 2 months ago, and after feeding her this supplement for just two weeks, her fur is growing back and skin rashes are getting lesser...this product is totally recommended. If anyone wants to try, can let me know coz I kinda know the dealer for Msia, can help get cheaper price. Its around RM45 and can last for 2 months, market price is RM55~60. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by ck_spaceboy: Aug 21 2008, 05:06 PM
pottery
post Aug 21 2008, 06:24 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(ck_spaceboy @ Aug 21 2008, 04:51 PM)

pottery,

One word... WOW!!  notworthy.gif
You're really knowledgeable and dedicated lar..How I wish I can be half as good as you..mayb 25% enough already..haha tongue.gif
My April should weigh slightly more than 1kg only..but I dont mind and I love her that way..like puppy forever, haha. Your comments on tear stains are absolutely fascinating, and I'll definitely try my best to follow your advice. I seriously have to agree with you that cutting the fur around her eyes short will cause tear stains. They grow slowly and always tend to get into their eyes. I'll make sure they dun cut the fur around the eyes during her next grooming session.

I rarely buy toys from pet shops for April..coz they're of low quality and my April easily get fade up with her toys. Instead I tend to buy kid's toys for April (like frm Toys 'R Us)..like soft toys that has sounds and bells...she loves them...and they last longer, washable, durable.

Speaking of feeding eggs, some says that feeding raw egg yolk to silkies can make silkies have more hair and shinier. Is this actually true? Effective? Hem.. hmm.gif

I'm feeding her supplement from Natural Pet Skin & Coat Supplement, and it is amazingly effective. April has been losing a lot of fur since she kena skin rashes 2 months ago, and after feeding her this supplement for just two weeks, her fur is growing back and skin rashes are getting lesser...this product is totally recommended. If anyone wants to try, can let me know coz I kinda know the dealer for Msia, can help get cheaper price. Its around RM45 and can last for 2 months, market price is RM55~60.  icon_rolleyes.gif
ck_spaceboy,

I am humble to get a chance to share smile.gif Knowledge if a lot don't share is no use also. Just hope all our doggies live happy and healthy.

I dream of having my own dog for the longest time and now I can have my own dog for sure I will love love love him and pamper and spoil him icon_rolleyes.gif He is really like my own family, my kiddo..really love him la wub.gif I feel I am "mou tak gao" (cannot be helped anymore laugh.gif).

Buying from Toys R Us good idea also wor..Will go and check it out next time laugh.gif

Eggs...NEVER feed raw. I know some people feed raw..its a big no for me..raw egg contains lots of bacteria and small breed dogs tummy can be sensitive. Just boil the egg, nutrition the same minus all the harmful bacteria. Salmon can be good..usually I just steam but the type of Salmon is important and have to wash properly. I don't remember there is a type of Salmon don't know from where is not suitable for dogs..I have to check the book first. Don't have it with me right now. Natural yogurt is very good for dogs because it contains the Acidobasilus (sorry don't remember spelling) bacteria good for their digestive tract..just not too much like everything else. Cottage cheese is very good also. If I am not mistaken, cottage cheese is best low fat and yogurt normal is fine no need low fat. Stay away from avocado yogurt if there is any tongue.gif

The supplement price sounds okay wor. If I feed Pao Pao supplement I will buy also...I everything use fresh ingedients including his supplement. He allergic to certain food and will suddenly itch this that so have to really take care. For me, is more reliable coz I know what goes inside just have to know what to mix and buy. If anyone wants the recipe for the DIY supplement, PM me. I will share. Better stop here since I am starting to feel I am very cheong hei tongue.gif

Doraemon11
post Aug 21 2008, 07:59 PM

530 posts

Hi all.. here my girl with her latest dress..nice? tongue.gif
However.. is my yorkie reli look like yorkie or not..?? sweat.gif ahaha..

Hey pottery... no cheong hei~definite NO cheong hei~~Thanks for sharing thumbup.gif
Can pm me ur recipe? Actually i'm now feeding my girl BARF

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

sh3ryl86
post Aug 21 2008, 10:02 PM

♡ ♡ ♡ I LoVe My WiLLiE♡ ♡ ♡
919 posts

bebe dress so nice orh..
become a pretty girl liao hehe..
where u bought the dress?
Doraemon11
post Aug 22 2008, 12:17 AM

530 posts

Pretty ar?? I bf said like a boy wear skirt... OMG doh.gif
I get it from puggy at LYN garage sale
sh3ryl86
post Aug 22 2008, 12:40 AM

♡ ♡ ♡ I LoVe My WiLLiE♡ ♡ ♡
919 posts

haha...i think u should tie her hair n put the ribbon..so the look more girl girl lor..hehe..
ck_spaceboy
post Aug 22 2008, 09:34 AM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

pottery,

PM me the DIY recipe as well wo..I also wan. Hem, maybe this weekend have to go supermarket shopping d..yogurt and cheese will be first on my list. Hehe..

doraemon11,
What a cutie! Totally agree with sh3ryl86..tie the hair with a ribbon..then sure leaves all the other male dogs howling d drool.gif ..haha. ArghhWoooo... wink.gif
ck_spaceboy
post Aug 22 2008, 09:35 AM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

Too bad I can hardly dress up April..anything that I put on her, she'll surely bite and play with it..dress oso bite, shirt oso bite, collar oso bite..haha. So can only dress her up when taking her outside..at house memang totally naked.
pottery
post Aug 22 2008, 11:50 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(Doraemon11 @ Aug 21 2008, 07:59 PM)
Hi all.. here my girl with her latest dress..nice?  tongue.gif
However.. is my yorkie reli look like yorkie or not..?? sweat.gif  ahaha..

Hey pottery... no cheong hei~definite NO cheong hei~~Thanks for sharing thumbup.gif
Can pm me ur recipe? Actually i'm now feeding my girl BARF

Very cute o thumbup.gif drool.gif If only I have a female dog would be nice to dress her up in dresses.
The dress is beautiful..don't look like male la..look like a girly female..if add a ribbon topknot
will be a princess liao biggrin.gif

Doraemon11, ck_spaceboy,

Let me go check the recipe. Will PM today. The yogurt they usually like a lot just don't overfeed.
1-2tsp/day is good. My boy banyak-banyak not enough one but I only give him that amount every day.
Cottage cheese I don't remember how much to feed a day..google will get the info. Test with a bit first just
like any other food make sure your dog got no allergy towards the food.

This post has been edited by pottery: Aug 22 2008, 11:58 AM
Doraemon11
post Aug 22 2008, 11:58 AM

530 posts

Thanks ya.. wub.gif
I'll surely tie up her hair wit ribbon later..
Actually i bought the dress for her wear on my brother wedding event de.. on nov tongue.gif
I think tat time her hair lenght will be enough nice to tie up oh!!

Hey ck_spaceboy..
At beginning 1st 2nd time my girl oso naughty while i put cloth on her..
But now she allow me to dress her up.. she lazy to move tim..!
chrisoys
post Aug 22 2008, 12:01 PM

321 posts

Hi All Silky Lovers!!! How is everyone here?
ck_spaceboy
post Aug 22 2008, 04:52 PM

**Apocalypto**
551 posts

hey chrisoys..havent seen u posting here for quite some time..how's ur silkiesss doing? your comment on my silky's size reali true..haha. She's 7 mths now d..still small size..like dwarf silky..almost like yorkie size onli. Hehe..

doraemon11,

My silky only when going out wont play with her clothes..if at home, everything oso play and bite..newspapers, clothes etc..anything he can see n touch sure habis. Haha..

108 Pages « < 81 82 83 84 85 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:55 AM