EPF SELF-CONTRIBUTION

ScooterBoi
post Mar 6 2022, 05:37 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(c64 @ Mar 6 2022, 05:12 PM)
I don't buy this. It's too simplicistic. Unker can already ask anyone to drop dead.
Try saying to your boss!

The drop dead amount, which you see as 'gold standard' is in USD, hardly changes over time.

$2million is about rm6million. This is the amount for luxurious travel, and making a fuss over little things... telling them idiots to drop dead or fuck off! LoL smile.gif

Edit: it should be 8 million.... still living in dream land when the conversion rate was about 3. hahahahaha

This post has been edited by ScooterBoi: Mar 6 2022, 05:41 PM
c64
post Mar 6 2022, 05:39 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(ScooterBoi @ Mar 6 2022, 05:37 PM)
Try saying to your boss!

The drop dead amount, which you see as 'gold standard' is in USD, hardly changes over time.

$2million is about rm6million. This is the amount for luxurious travel, and making a fuss over little things... telling them idiots to drop dead or fuck off! LoL smile.gif
US standard doesn't apply to Malaysia. Many average ang mohs can live like King in Thais and they don't have millions.

PS: Ayam fired Boss liao.

This post has been edited by c64: Mar 6 2022, 05:40 PM
ScooterBoi
post Mar 6 2022, 05:49 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(c64 @ Mar 6 2022, 05:39 PM)
US standard doesn't apply to Malaysia. Many average ang mohs can live like King in Thais and they don't have millions.

PS: Ayam fired Boss liao.
In that case, 1 million in cash and no more debts and housing loan and car loan all paid up is more than enough.

But no annual holidays in the swiss alps and telling anyone there to go die la you over small small things. LoL.

c64
post Mar 6 2022, 05:53 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(ScooterBoi @ Mar 6 2022, 05:49 PM)
In that case, 1 million in cash and no more debts and housing loan and car loan all paid up is more than enough.

But no annual holidays in the swiss alps and telling anyone there to go die la you over small small things. LoL.
Unker wanna go Japan also kennot. Got money also no chat use now.
Chrono-Trigger
post Mar 6 2022, 06:56 PM

BY SELF ONE IS DEFILED AND PURIFIED
4,308 posts

Yea 1 million is enough to live a financially independent live, but there won't be any new cars, oversea trip, iphones/ laptop need to think few times.

But if requirement of life is low, or rather minimalist lifestyle and a person can be happy about it , yea it's enough cool2.gif

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Mar 6 2022, 07:01 PM
KIP21
post Mar 6 2022, 08:34 PM

90 posts

So, how much mil ( in EPF + cash + investment ) can go Swiss apps and tell there to go die la you over small things? Say no debt and. already got house and car ... Ehh, also include wife ( same not working ) ok?

This post has been edited by KIP21: Mar 6 2022, 08:35 PM
c64
post Mar 6 2022, 08:40 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(KIP21 @ Mar 6 2022, 08:34 PM)
So, how much mil ( in EPF + cash + investment ) can go Swiss apps and tell there to go die la you over small things? Say no debt and. already got house and car ... Ehh, also include wife ( same not working ) ok?

Nobody can answer for you but yourself. You need to draw out a retirement plan, how much you need to spend post retirement and figure it out.
KIP21
post Mar 6 2022, 08:58 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(c64 @ Mar 6 2022, 08:40 PM)
Nobody can answer for you but yourself. You need to draw out a retirement plan, how much you need to spend post retirement and figure it out.
"3 million, technically a "rich" retiree. Can get iphone/ laptop/ etc without much hesitation." ...

I think this a good estimate. Wouldn't spend much when old and eat less too. A meal with a soup, fish and vegetables sound pretty good already. House got Lio, car got Lio..so just small trip here there look see and enjoy will do ... lots of money also when the day comes, ..wouldnt be bringing the money with me anyway
soul78
post Mar 6 2022, 09:05 PM

929 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Feb 17 2018, 08:48 AM)
During my earning years i deposited whatever additional cash i had into EPF. My plan was to retire with a handsome sum & live comfortably off the devidant.

Now at 69, live well,travel, even bought a new car a few years ago. EPF will stop devidants on my account when i reach 75,which is not too far away.

Will decide what to do when i come to that bridge!
Did they change their stance since this news?

c64
post Mar 6 2022, 09:15 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(KIP21 @ Mar 6 2022, 08:58 PM)
"3 million, technically a "rich" retiree. Can get iphone/ laptop/ etc without much hesitation." ...

I think this a good estimate. Wouldn't spend much when old and eat less too. A meal with a soup, fish and vegetables sound pretty good already. House got Lio, car got Lio..so just small trip here there look see and enjoy will do ... lots of money also when the day comes, ..wouldnt be bringing the money with me anyway
Ask your lawyer to cash out and convert all to Hell's Money and burn for you. laugh.gif
c64
post Mar 6 2022, 09:16 PM

711 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Mar 6 2022, 09:05 PM)
Did they change their stance since this news?

No. That is old 2018 comment lah. User also lari liao.
ScooterBoi
post Mar 6 2022, 09:48 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(KIP21 @ Mar 6 2022, 08:34 PM)

The drop dead money was USD 2 million in the James Clavell's Noble House (published 1981, 40 years ago)... still good today.

(I still remember the drop dead figure after so many years reading the book.)

Just need to covert it into ringgit using today's exchange rate.

ScooterBoi
post Mar 6 2022, 09:51 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Mar 6 2022, 06:56 PM)
Yea 1 million is enough to live a financially independent live, but there won't be any new cars, oversea trip, iphones/ laptop need to think few times.

But if requirement of life is low, or rather minimalist lifestyle and a person can be happy about it , yea it's enough  cool2.gif
1 million... new car need to downgrade to proton 1.3, no more 200-250k continental.

sg8989
post Mar 7 2022, 01:12 AM

510 posts

QUOTE(c64 @ Mar 4 2022, 04:36 PM)
Isn't PRsmS just like typical.unit trust fund? Purpose of PRS mainly to lari some Cukai only.
PRS got charge management fees leh
sweetpea123
post Mar 7 2022, 03:42 AM

800 posts

My target upon retirement was RM5m couple of years back when FD rates were > 4%. Imagine having 16K a month to splurge monthly, with NO debts.

Now since rates are 2% averagely, I guess having 8K monthly is still pretty good.

Anyway, just wishful thinking at the moment. Still working towards my target. tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

Relaxing work 2
post Mar 7 2022, 05:37 AM

76 posts

Parking here, for retirement planning wisdom.

N9484640
post Mar 7 2022, 10:04 AM

Chasing Electric
1,282 posts

Lets say once you are retired, no more income. Not doing any investment etc. Would you still continue putting money in EPF via Self Contribution? Its either FD or EPF.
MGM
post Mar 7 2022, 10:07 AM

18,410 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Mar 7 2022, 10:04 AM)
Lets say once you are retired, no more income. Not doing any investment etc. Would you still continue putting money in EPF via Self Contribution? Its either FD or EPF.
How much money? Rm100 or rm 1million?
N9484640
post Mar 7 2022, 10:10 AM

Chasing Electric
1,282 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Mar 7 2022, 10:07 AM)
How much money? Rm100 or rm 1million?
how much money what? put in EPF? 60k every year
c64
post Mar 7 2022, 10:22 AM

711 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Mar 7 2022, 10:04 AM)
Depends on the situation. If the tier dividend shit comes to fruitation, No. If it's still like current, then depends on what you need.

Say if you want RM5k/mth, then you need 60k a year. Assuming 5%, you need RM 1.2mil to generate this. So u top up till this figure lah.

Top up sikit get Fellali... laugh.gif

38 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:08 AM