5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Let's Talk Salary v8, Sharing Thread

PrincZe
post Jan 10 2019, 10:09 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(icebryanchan @ Jan 10 2019, 08:28 PM)
When you shifted from IT to mobile developer, what was the difficulty faced, apart from different programming language?
And also, how is pay (increment or stays the same) when you shifted into a new field?

I am thinking to go from backend software to frontend software engineering but afraid to be underappreciated because of lack of related knowledge to the new job scope.  sad.gif

New company can just use the reason "oh hey you are experienced but since you are still new to the field, I am going to give you fresh graduate pay"  sad.gif
depends how u sell yourself. although i am fresh grad, i posseses soft skill which you cant find in fresh grad.

and try to link how your current experience can help you in the new field
PrincZe
post Jan 17 2019, 11:13 AM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(55665566 @ Jan 17 2019, 08:15 AM)
since we are at this topic, how does malaysia mnc look at master?
the last i heard the fresh grad salary diffs just mere 300-500?
may topup u 200-500 . but depends on negotiations
PrincZe
post Jan 21 2019, 01:20 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(Berus Wine @ Jan 19 2019, 07:50 PM)
I feel like posting my salary here just to get advise if im underpaid, but im scared HR will take action against me.

Salary is supposed to be confidential right? I know it's anonymous but someone can do a little bit digging and expose me.
confidential? lmao, that's what HR wants you to think. they have to protect the rice bowl.

u can't have your own colleague that does same job same scope but gets less than u. then HR will have to handle lots of complain.

so go ahead and post. then the one in the same industry will know if he's under or overpaid. we are here in a forum to help each other out smile.gif
PrincZe
post Jan 23 2019, 09:21 AM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(Berus Wine @ Jan 23 2019, 01:46 AM)

Since you guys say so, I'm gonna post but have to hide a lot of details so as not to be traced back to me lol

Job Title : CS oficer
Job Desciption : Pick up phone and get scold from angry customer
Years spent in company : 3
Industry : Banking
Employment Level : Exec
Experience before joining (years) : 1 year unrelated experience
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Bachelor's Degree
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 45 hours (1 hour unpaid, 30 minutes paid break everyday)

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 3100
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : If work on night shift can get extra 300 allowance, average bonus for last 2 years 2.5 month.

Health Benefits : Medical card, dental, vision
Transport Benefits : Company sponsor bus

It's one of the easiest job, you just have to be able to handle the stress dealing with demanding overseas customer. But after finish work dont' have to think about work anymore. Thinking to jump ship but no better offer yet.
seems fine. try to send more applications. i think there will be more jobs available during march, where alot people will tender after bonus
PrincZe
post Jan 26 2019, 03:20 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(HAoCHa @ Jan 25 2019, 06:12 PM)
Please jump, no good shakehead.gif
How important is your role to the company?

On a side note, please jump. Your salary is what I receive 6 years back when I'm a fresh grad. Though different fields, would expect your working experience compensate your salary as well
PrincZe
post Mar 31 2019, 06:19 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Mar 31 2019, 02:16 PM)
How come you cannot live with anything below RM4K? I used to live under RM1k, even in the third year of my working (though granted I lived with my parents at the time).

Even say you have car installment RM600 and rent a good place at RM1.5k....that still comes up to RM3k only!
I suppose there are alot of factors that we are not in shoes to comment. He probably have alot commitments so let's not get there
PrincZe
post Apr 4 2019, 06:31 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(lzerol @ Apr 4 2019, 02:15 PM)
Job Title: channel manager
Job Description: Recruit partner, product training/demo/presentation, partner management, close deals & etc (As instructed by superior)
Years spent in company: 2 years 7 months
Company: A very small Sdn Bhd, less than 10 staff
Industry: IT, software distribution
Tenure: Permanent
Employment Level: Senior, i guess
Experience before joining (years): 4 and half years in IT field, hardware sales, and project management
Highest paper qualification/ education background: Bachelor's Degree
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 9am to 6pm, mostly depend on the appointments/meetings

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance: RM 5130
Contractual Bonus (months): I'll explain later
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : Monthly commission payout, highest commission is RM 10,099.73

Benefits (where relevant) :
Health Benefits: Annual RM 700 claim
Transport Benefits: Claimable if outstation
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : N/A
Flexi Working Hours: Yes
Other Benefits: N/A

Problem:
Only 1 month bonus were given on Jan 2018, and a 2K angpow on Jan 2019.
No increment up til today, and I've reach the end of the career development.
No technical training given, all self learn, and sell on your own #allthebest

I guess is time to move on to another IT distribution company.
Once u reached the stagnant period, it's time to refresh and look out. Or ask your boss change department
PrincZe
post Apr 9 2019, 10:56 AM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(john_unai @ Apr 8 2019, 12:15 PM)
Job Title : Senior Assistant Manager
Job Description : Forest Plantation
Years spent in company : 3 month
Company : Local Company
Industry : Forestry / Plantation
Employment Level : AM
Experience before joining : 10 years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Bach Degree
Salary : RM 5.1k, Company car & House
Bonus : Dunno since i just join
Average working hours : 7am to 4pm.
This industry salary is not as good as other but stress level is quite low. Thinking to go back to my previous company due to some personal issues but felt shy since I reject their 3 times counter offer before I join this company. The previous company is wood product manufacturing industry.  Any advice on returning back there?
Don't need to be shy
Be professional then u are good to go
PrincZe
post Apr 9 2019, 11:27 AM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(john_unai @ Apr 9 2019, 11:15 AM)
I rejected their offer 3 times when the COO personally invite me to his room and request me to stay. I hope he did not get pissed of with me after that incident which make me a bit worry to return there. How bad is it returning to your former company? Anyone have experience here? Hope you guys can give me a professional advice.
Ouch. Hahah, there's many companies out there. U sure u wanna go back then? They might give u hard time, might not.

Put the face away, man up and try asking. But be aware if u get accepted, might give u some hard time

If not, then it's the best case
PrincZe
post Apr 12 2019, 01:33 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(party @ Apr 11 2019, 11:22 PM)
If you ever go back, don't ever think about getting any new offer outside in the future. Why? Because HR will definitely ask you why you work only 3mths in new company before jumping back to your previous company. And you will have to answer the second question from them which is "How can we be sure that you will not do the same thing again after we hired you?"
ooii..mana urs?  biggrin.gif
hi unker party. where's what mine? my salary post?

dont want la. shy. i am kecik miao only... unsure.gif
PrincZe
post Apr 12 2019, 02:37 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(budang @ Apr 12 2019, 02:22 PM)
Hmm I don't get it when you quoted "don't ever think about getting any new offer outside in the future".

Let's say he went from A -> B (3 months) -> A (for a few years maybe) -> C

How is C going to know the existence of B if you don't say anything at all?
of course, possible to check with EPF if they want to be stringent in checking.

actually other than that, i don't think it's possible to check. unless you submit those documents.
PrincZe
post Apr 21 2019, 10:57 AM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(kira001 @ Apr 18 2019, 02:51 PM)
2 years passed since my last update. managed to secure an offer from consulting firm after completed my mba.

Job Title : consultant
Job Desciption : advise c-suite clients in business strategy
Years spent in company :just started recently
Industry : management consulting
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : exec
Experience before joining : 5 years but unrelated
salary : Basic Salary rmb 850k per annum, bonus range from 200 to 300k depends on your performance
qualification: mba

the firm has up or out policy. if you can't promote within 2 to 3 years then have to leave the organization. very stress working environment with ~80 working hours / week.
Which part of china
PrincZe
post Apr 25 2019, 01:30 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(CandyCandy123 @ Apr 25 2019, 11:06 AM)
Car loan RM 550
Others RM300
I roughly calculated my living cost and commitments, I may save SGD 400 monthly.  But if i stay at Malaysia, I only can save RM500 without any entertainment and shopping. I also worry I leave my parents alone after I go singapore and I think I wouldnt work at Singapore til retire.
if u can earn sgd at early stage, go for it.

earn money, then come back.
PrincZe
post Apr 25 2019, 02:29 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(55665566 @ Apr 25 2019, 01:45 PM)
what is the suggested age cutoff to come back?
this is too subjective. like TS said, want to take care of parents. have to see what are their age. are they working? when they retire?

and who knows over the time u work in sg, u found someone there. singaporean. may not consider to come back
PrincZe
post May 14 2019, 12:48 AM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(WinkyJr @ May 11 2019, 06:31 AM)
want to ask for opinion here
should i sacrifice my permanent job for better pay but contract job
current job -

salary: 4k - GLC - (5% increment/y)
status: permanent, almost impossible to get retrench unless commit crime
benefit: family medical coverage, phone allowance, parking allowance, house loan subsidy
bonus: 0 ~ 3 month
workload: relax
career growth: hard, due to strong political practice & group is losing money

offered job -

salary: 6 ~ 6.5k - MNC, O&G based (1 ~ 8% increment/y)
status: contract - project based, but they say always renew, never end contract (maybe sweet talk)
benefit: family medical coverage, phone allowance, parking allowance
bonus: not sure
workload: probably hectic
career growth: not sure
To me, yes. How old are u? If u are young and don't have to worry, go ahead.
PrincZe
post May 16 2019, 10:11 AM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(ventolin @ May 15 2019, 02:22 PM)
August 2017 - June 2019
Just accepted a new offer...

Job Title : Account Manager
Years spent in company : Just joined
Company : Global tech start-up
Industry : Data & tech
Tenure : Permanent hire
Employment Level : Manager
Experience before joining (years) : 3 years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Master's degree
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 35 hours
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM11,000 / month
this is very well done. just numbers alone, 6 to 11 deserves a round of applause rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
PrincZe
post Jun 9 2019, 07:58 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(FG123 @ Jun 8 2019, 10:43 PM)
Job Title : jack in all trades. Job scope really wide.
Years spent in company : 2
Employment Level : no level. Boss and staff only.
Experience before joining (years) :0
Highest paper qualification/ education background : degree
Salary:2.5k.
Maybe depend on location. Salary really low.

Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 50
what industry? 30 , jack of all trades, can consider own business
PrincZe
post Jun 26 2019, 10:06 AM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(stanum @ Jun 25 2019, 07:47 PM)
It's time to update my salary adjustment this year.

Old one:
New one
7 months later u get salary adjustment? actually not too bad. additional 1.2k.
PrincZe
post Jul 1 2019, 03:05 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(beng970804 @ Jun 30 2019, 04:46 PM)
Job Title : Full Stack Web Developer
Job Description : Develop web page, mobile app for client (mcd etc)
Years spent in company : Start to work next week
Industry : Solution Provider (Digital Marketing)
Tenure : Permanent
Experience before joining (years) : 0
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree in Computer Science major Software Engineering
Basic Salary : RM 3200...

Do you guys think worth it for fresh graduate? BTW, i need to rent room also, i am from melaka..
Good for fresh grad.

I'd say keep it up. Pick up as much as u can, the world of apps is very bright. We need more app developers

Don't worry about rental, it's affordable at where u staying
PrincZe
post Jul 5 2019, 10:57 AM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(party @ Jul 5 2019, 10:02 AM)
No. My new co hr never ask during the interview stages. They only ask after agreed on my new compensation packages n ask me submit my old salary n payslip n fill up form so they can pay the correct pcb amount for me.
good for u boss party.

i did call up LHDN actually and ask, if you filled up wrong information of PCB, what will happen?

Nothing will happen. Work carries on. Only when u file during march, then will know whether u have to pay more or less.

when i joined new company during nov, they didnt bother to minus pcb. ( i think i paid enough annually or they didnt want to calculate) lol

of course, paying tax is compulsary and doing our responsiblity as a citizen rclxms.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.1571sec    0.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:22 AM