5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Let's Talk Salary v8, Sharing Thread

PrincZe
post Feb 17 2020, 10:00 AM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(LukeMjstc @ Feb 16 2020, 12:20 AM)
Getting a out of the world bump after promotion, I have to say I am very lucky.  tongue.gif
but how? have to pass the HR justification of increasing so much cool2.gif

i guess your boss had to approve many many levels
PrincZe
post Feb 17 2020, 02:08 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(Failed JJ @ Feb 17 2020, 12:40 PM)
Job Title : IT Enginner
Job Desciption : configure & troubleshoot PC/network related issues, either remote or onsite
Years spent in company : 1
Company :
Industry : vendor for medical field
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level :
Experience before joining (years) : 1
Highest paper qualification/ education background : degree in IT
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 45

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 3350
Contractual Bonus (months): 13mths salary
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 1 or 2 months bonus depends company performance

Benefits (where relevant) :
Health Benefits : outpatient claim, medical card for inpatient upto 20k, dental, vision
Transport Benefits : petrol card
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : company line RM80 monthly + RM500 phone purchase allowance (every 2yrs)
Flexi Working Hours :
Other Benefits : daily meals claim, toll claim & accommodation claim for outstation not within Klang Valley
Not as high achiever as some of the sifus in this thread, but anything is better than working in a call center  whistling.gif
The office being less than 10minutes away from my home + free parking outside office saves me a lot of money and time for commuting
But sometimes when outstation it can get a bit tiring, as company has sites in pretty much every state and travelling to far flung place like east coast of Sabah (Tawau, Sandakan etc.) gets tedious very fast  sweat.gif But lucky not that often need travel that far, usually within Peninsular only

Hopefully lah can be like some of the taikors in this thread raking in 5-figure salary in future  notworthy.gif
take each baby step and you can achieve it flex.gif

pay attention when you think you have learnt enough from the company. then start to think what area can you improve on.
PrincZe
post Feb 19 2020, 11:06 AM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(LukeMjstc @ Feb 18 2020, 10:47 PM)
Yup.. that's why i say i am lucky
it's kind of like applying internal transfer to another team within the same dept...
i guess i just have to say all the stars somehow aligned at the right time for me (both my boss and my boss's boss are very happy with my performance to the extent that they are willing to go thru the arduous process of getting things thru).
very good bro. prove your worth and i think u can stay for quite long time. probably not every company willing to pay for your experience unless u been sitting there for long long time bruce.gif
PrincZe
post Feb 21 2020, 11:27 AM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(piggy2008 @ Feb 21 2020, 11:02 AM)
Job Title : Audit Senior
Job Desciption : Audit, Tax, Financial advisory, IPO assessment
Years spent in company : 5 years
Company :Small firm
Industry :Audit assurance
Employment Level : Senior
Experience before joining (years) : 2 years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 50 to 55

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary : RM 3,940 + 360 (allowance) No OT
Contractual Bonus (months): - None
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : Trend is at least 5mths bonus every year

Education benefits : Claimable for study and professional exam purposes
Health Benefits : None
Transport Benefits : Claimable for work purposes
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : None
Promotion: Supervisor in Jan 2021 (Verbal confirmation)
I know I am underpaid and my career is experiencing a stagnant growth. Attempted to resign twice (most recently last week) but eventually gave in to my employers' persuasion. I couldn't help but succumb to emotional decision making EVERY single time. Idk what I am doing with my life anymore...
what did they offer you with? more money? not even alot if u asked me.

find a good company that can pay you, stick with your heart. and leave. dont let them tempt u to stay. talk to few good kolik that will always remind and support you.

move forward, not blackward
PrincZe
post Feb 21 2020, 11:54 AM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(piggy2008 @ Feb 21 2020, 11:36 AM)
Promised me a promotion next year. Telling me that they are expanding and needed me to guide my juniors so the firm able to grow and soon, they will hand their business to me. Sweet talks. doh.gif
ah well, they can do that, but you need some sort of black and white.

btw i think as usual, only resign if you have an job offer in hand ya icon_rolleyes.gif
PrincZe
post Feb 21 2020, 02:03 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(piggy2008 @ Feb 21 2020, 12:01 PM)
1. The working environment in this Company is great, compared to my ex-Company.
2. My employers are kind and I can see that they appreciate my talents, they just don't have the resources to remunerate me for it.
3. They promised me a promotion.
4. I figure that if I look for new jobs now, without any management experience (on paper), what position would they offer me? So I think the promotion may help build up my resume.
5. I've acquired hard earned skills and knowledge that may not be useful in commercial firms or larger firms. I don't want them to go to waste, although they're sunk cost..but I've worked really hard for them, thinking that it will eventually pay off.
u looking for management position? u can always start somewhere if u get a new job offer.

it depends on how u phrase it. being in a team of few members and coordinating them can be a team management as well.

QUOTE(piggy2008 @ Feb 21 2020, 01:58 PM)
Ok. I guess I'll apply for interview during my 2mths leave starting next mth. Thx.
Yeah. The supervisor promotion I think can request black and white but takeover the business, hmm...
its really hard. unless u very friend and outside opis hour, ask them honestly. will i be getting promotion?

if yes when?

u just want to know the answer instead of being pulled around
PrincZe
post Feb 21 2020, 03:22 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(piggy2008 @ Feb 21 2020, 02:23 PM)
Yes. I looking for management position and I do lead my group in my audit engagements.
The promotion they've mentioned couple months ago but the promotion date, Jan 2021 was verbally confirmed to me 2 weeks ago. They explained reason for the delay is because they wanted to train me on my management skills, which I admit, I've sidelined during my employment in favor of technical aspects of the job. My mentality was to focus and specialize on what I am hired to do and not prioritizing overhead tasks (administrative & management). Now, my strategy backfired...so..have to wait another year.
how old are you? well if that's what you want AND the salary is comfortable for u, by all means go ahead.

i'm just thinking, why not perform / train on management skill with HIGHER salary ?

and what do you expect to learn when JAN 2021 comes? is it something you cant learn/ not learning now?
PrincZe
post Feb 26 2020, 02:03 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(year2020 @ Feb 25 2020, 01:20 PM)
Job Title : Technical Helpdesk
Job Desciption : Technical Helpdesk
Years spent in company : Will start in March 2020
Company :
Industry : IT Solutions?
Tenure : Renewable Contract (1 year)
Employment Level :
Experience before joining (years) : 4
Highest paper qualification/ education background : SPM
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours):

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 3600 + RM 200 min (shift)
Contractual Bonus (months): NA
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : NA

Health Benefits : NA
Transport Benefits : NA
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : NA
Flexi Working Hours : NA
Other Benefits : 14 AL

Would love to get any feedback from you guys

I have been working since 2010 but not related. i.e from sales to contact center to marketing then back to the contact center. Previously was working as tech support in BPO for close to 4 years, good boss, okay increment (5%), work-life balance also great since it was Monday – Friday. However, there’s no career progression as the next level is to become Team Manager which have to handle agent which I don’t like at all. I resigned to be a property agent but sadly I don’t even earn as much as I did with my tech support job hence why I started to apply for a job again and got the above job.

It was really hard to get job as my highest qualification was SPM (I did do a degree but drop out in 2nd year - in 2007). I applied for close to 100 positions in Jobstreet. This let me to realize that I need to further study as potential employer don't even look at my resume since there's tons more applicant with at least Diploma. So I decided to take a diploma in IT part-time starting Jan 2020. Will try to finish in 3 years. My plan is to do Master’s instead of Degree after Diploma through APEL A entry.

As for career-wise, I don’t really have a specific field in IT to go for like you know software engineer or cloud engineer, etc. Anything goes as long as it’s good career progression. However, I’m concern that by the time I finish my Diploma I will be 36. I don’t mind to start from below again however will any company even give me a chance at my age at that time. If you guys have any advice like what I should do in between now like side project etc please give more details as sadly I don’t have any close friends working in IT, all in BPO like me.

By the way, I’m married with 2 kids.
at this age, i suggest to focus on certification instead of master. can take, but part time degree or master that wont consume too much of your time.

certification comes first. ur selling points is the niche skills you obtained during these times and not your degree/master.

my humble opinion only
PrincZe
post Feb 27 2020, 08:21 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(year2020 @ Feb 27 2020, 05:04 PM)
Thanks. I've had laid back years for the past 5 years where I just want to go home and spend time with my family. A few of my friends suggested to further study at that time but I brushed it off. But definitely going to push myself harder from this year onward.
Thank you for your feedback.
I was under impression that for SKM and DKM I have to do like full time study? Not much info in the internet. Will try to research on this over the weekend and might PM you later.
It seems certifications quite expensive unless company sponsor me. I've tried to ask during letter offer signing with HR and they said perhaps after I work there 3 years I can ask to go for IT training. Previously they did do this. However, the staff left afterwards. My position also 12 months renewable so I'm not sure I will want/can stay there for the whole 3 years. In any case, from company perspective, as I'm just technical support/service desk role, there's not much to grow unless become manager which I don't want to as well.
U can always try to study on own, then pay for own examination and obtain certification.
PrincZe
post Mar 6 2020, 02:28 PM

3,050 posts

if u ask me, under. but hey, everyone progress at different pace. ask yourself if u are doing well, learning well and earning enough?

if answer yes to all, i think it's good. can be better, but move on your comfortable pace. btw, contract 2 years? if u plan to jump after 1 year u may need to pay back?

associate to me is small potato position. example, senior manager > manager > associate manager. senior pm > pm > associate pm.

but maybe im wrong, varies on the company

QUOTE(tysaw @ Mar 6 2020, 11:29 AM)
Job Title : Tax Supervisor
Job Desciption : Specialised in corporate tax compliance and advisory
Years spent in company : 2 years
Company : You know I know - BIG (  )
Industry : Tax
Tenure : 2 years
Employment Level : Senior
Experience before joining (years) : 3 years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : ACCA and degree in finance and accounting
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): minimum 40 hours, peak 55 hours

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 5,500 + RM200
Contractual Bonus (months):  - mths
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 2 mths

Health Benefits : Medical card, dental and specs claim
Transport Benefits : -
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : -
Flexi Working Hours : 8.30am - 5.30pm (can come in early/late, provided work 8 hours per day)
Other Benefits : -

Guys, I am in a dilemma now whether to quit my current job. Felt that I am currently underpaid and lost interest in my job after almost 5 years in the same environment. What do you guys think? Appreciate all sifus advice.
change of department? explore other department of the company ? or even change of environment/company/country may do the trick.

if u are not learning at your position, u could stay stagnant and slowly u dont want to move on. (comfort zone)

PrincZe
post Mar 8 2020, 02:32 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(year2020 @ Mar 7 2020, 11:46 PM)
Started my diploma and now in dilemma for which certification to study for. Going to do what some of the forumer here suggested. Study on my own and just pay for the exam. Not going to do a lot just perhaps 1 or 2 only for this year.

I'm thinking of doing Microsoft certification (perhaps related to cloud or 365). Another certification I'm eyeing for is Cisco. What would you guys suggest? Any feedback is good. My short term within 3 years is to get 5k salary.
That's good that u have a goal set.

I would say, cloud iot block chain are the highlights.

Can look into this certification
PrincZe
post Mar 16 2020, 09:39 AM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(Frank3 @ Mar 15 2020, 03:00 PM)
After a year of working in technical (software testing automation), i receive another job offer, hopefully still able to catch up people in Singapore:

Job Title : QA Engineer
Job Desciption : Ensure the successful execution of automated test cases in all products on the platform and thus ensure the quality of the software (E-commerce)
Years spent in company : 0 (haven't join)
Company : Germany automotive company
Industry : Automotive
Tenure : Contract until Dec 2020 and will convert to permanent on Jan 2021
Experience before joining: 9 yrs
Experience in Singapore: 6 yrs
Highest paper qualification/ education background : B. Degree (IT)
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 45 +-

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : SGD 7000
Allowance: SGD 800 (Mobility)
Contractual Bonus (months): 0
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 20% of annual salary

Health Benefits : Medical Insurance
Transport Benefits : NA
Flexi Working Hours : Yes.
Leave: AL + Cultural Leave
very well done i'd say. im looking forward to be able to climb the ladder as well.

are u a PR already?
PrincZe
post Mar 23 2020, 08:50 AM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(Bethmoody @ Mar 21 2020, 04:39 PM)
I realised not many people here are from the legal industry. It seems to me people from marketing, customer engagement or sales are earning more than professionals. Maybe other professionals like doctors, accountants (I note a few have shared their salary details), dentists can share your details too?

Job Title : Lawyer
Job Desciption : Corporate lawyer
Years spent in company : 0
Company : Malaysian law firm (mid-sized)
Industry : Legal
Experience before joining (years) : 3.5 years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Certificate in Legal Practice
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 60

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM7,250
Contractual Bonus (months): Not applicable
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : standard 2 months, unlikely to exceed this figure.

Benefits (where relevant)
Health Benefits : Outpatient medical claims
Transport Benefits : Claimable from office RM0.75/km
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : Handphone bill paid by the company (Around RM50 a month)
Flexi Working Hours : Not applicable
Other Benefits : Gym, parking

I am now in my 4th year as a full fledged lawyer. A point to note is that prior to that, I had to undergo a 9 months pupillage as a pupil with RM2,500 pay per month. I was really young back then (24) so I thought the pay was quite good. Unlike bigger corporations, we normally can't bang on the benefits provided by law firms. However, I am quite contented with what I am receiving from this law firm. Some other firms even limit the medical claims entitlement (like those clinic consultation by your family/regular doctors) to RM150 cap per year. Further, while the increment may be higher than other industries (ie. yearly 500-1000), unfortunately the bonus payout is not as handsome as outsiders think. Long hours is also expected by the law firms.

Some very reputable firms do pay pupils at RM5,000-RM5,500 and a first year lawyer at RM7,000 (with this, 4th year pay would be at a minimum of RM9,000). This includes upfront bonuses which are not reflected as your basic salary. I joined such a firm for a year, realised that the working hours (75-80 hours/week) doesn't justify the salary and it was severely impacting my health (irregular routines, lack of sleep etc). Weekends were also hardly mine.

I believe everyone has different views on what's best for his/her own career path/progression as a lawyer! Just pick the one that fits you the best. Also, newly grads from law schools, feel free to ask me anything! smile.gif
so how did you get from 2500 to 7250? every year they increase by so much ?
PrincZe
post Mar 23 2020, 08:51 AM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(NGV22 @ Mar 22 2020, 01:56 PM)
Job Title : IT Exec
Job Desciption : IT for end user
Years spent in company : 1
Company : start up
Industry : Tech
Tenure :
Employment Level : Exec
Experience before joining (years) : 3
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree in comp sc
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 45-55

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM5920
Contractual Bonus (months): -
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : depends on company's and individual performance

Health Benefits : medical card
Transport Benefits : parking allowance
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : mobile allowance
Flexi Working Hours : -
Other Benefits : -
Am i doing good at my age? I feel I cant go far with IT for end user. Need advice from IT pros
hi, you have to elaborate more on what does IT for end user do? support? consultant?
PrincZe
post Jun 1 2020, 11:33 AM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(yenlaytan123 @ Jun 1 2020, 10:06 AM)
Job Title :Project Manager
Job Desciption : Execute contract (project)
Years spent in company : Arnd 7 years
Company :
Industry : T&D
Employment Level : Manager
Experience before joining (years) : 0
Highest paper qualification/ education background : UEC/STPM
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 8 Hours, 5 days per week

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM9000
Contractual Bonus (months): none
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : Commissions: rm90k-200k per year

Health Benefits : Medical Card and Dental
Transport Benefits : Company sponsor on car instalment
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : none
Flexi Working Hours : None
Other Benefits : none
wow in constructions. the bonus is tempting tho. good job rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
PrincZe
post Jun 4 2020, 12:40 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 4 2020, 11:13 AM)
Job Title : Consultant Medical Specialist
Job Desciption : Doctor
Years spent in company : approx 15
Company :
Industry : Medical
Employment Level : Principal Practice Owner
Experience before joining (years) : approx 10
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Post Grad Masters/Fellowship
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 6 Hours, 5 days per week

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : Ranges from $10,000 - $20,000 per day
Contractual Bonus (months): none
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : Dividends from Pte Ltd (Sdn Bhd) company

Health Benefits : Nil
Transport Benefits : Nil
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : Nil
Flexi Working Hours : Nil
Other Benefits : Can declare holiday as needed

Additional income: Contracted as Academic Staff/Teaching Faculty of the 3 medical schools in Singapore: NUS, DUKE-NUS & Imperial College-NTU - I am paid a stipend monthly (not a lot, only about $2,500/month) and on top of that, I get to claim honorarium payments whenever I am tasked to examine the students (on top of the normal tutorials/lectures that I am expected to conduct, as part of the appointment).

Edited to add the above.
hi hksgmy, can visit u as a patient ?
PrincZe
post Jun 4 2020, 08:16 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 4 2020, 07:39 PM)
I’m impressed... and pleasantly surprised at the civility demonstrated by the participants in this thread! I mean, earlier when I posted my comments, I felt obliged to attach proof of what I said - in fact, I attached my daily income from 2 June and 3 June to back up what I said.

But then I saw that no one else was doing it and I felt it was unnecessary - so I took it down.

This is so different from /kopitiam and such a breath of fresh air.
No trolling here, only decent chat among civilized human beings.

Haha, anyways good for u. Haven't answer me if can visit u as patient tongue.gif
PrincZe
post Jul 2 2020, 12:00 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(ytle2010 @ Jul 2 2020, 10:25 AM)
Job Title: Test Lead
Job Description: Building a test test team, implementing test strategy for the company
Years spent in company: 3 months
Industry: Networking - security
Tenure: Permanent
Experience before joining (years): 14
Highest paper qualification/ education background: Bachelor Degree
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 40

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 14k
Contractual Bonus (months): None
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : Not sure

Benefits (where relevant):
Health Benefits: -
Transport Benefits: -
Flexi Working Hours: -
Other Benefits :
looking good. security is always a good industry to be in bruce.gif
PrincZe
post Jul 21 2020, 11:41 AM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(safe118 @ Jul 21 2020, 09:51 AM)
Amazing. You guys are earning a lot at such young age. By the way, do you guys always job hopping to seek for better increment?  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
yes for sure. and best if you are head hunted. mean they see a value in you and they willing to pay.

and negotiations plays alot as well blush.gif
PrincZe
post Jul 22 2020, 02:08 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(icebryanchan @ Jul 21 2020, 10:09 PM)
Question: Should I wait for the so-called "promised" promotion before I jump? Or I can straight seek for a higher position in job hunting? Which one has a better chance or better increment? Getting sick of my current working environment already  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif
how long more to promised promotion? if not long, then wait, then jump. better salary and title.

else, its just talk if no black and white

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0252sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:01 AM