International Medical University, IMU @ Bukit Jalil, Seremban, & Johor
zstan
Sep 27 2010, 09:22 AM
IMU-PMS students and IMU local students are taunting each other now? wonder whether these doctors will compare with each other how many patients, how many surgeries they managed to cure in the future. and laugh at those who didn't get similiar chances.
zstan
Sep 27 2010, 09:36 AM
true to that..
even at prestigious medical schools..there will always be straight 4.0 students and near pass students..
zstan
Sep 27 2010, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(tqeh @ Sep 27 2010, 11:36 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I find ur comments taunting.
I'm not good, and some of my seremban counterparts are better, and I feel it is unjustified for them to be stuck in Malaysia. If there's a way for them to get to SG, i'm really happy.
Bear in mind : Most singaporeans studying in OZ/UK are NUS rejects, and they made it anyway to graduation. Many IMU seremban students get straight As in A levels, or a high TER in SAM. Many IMU-PMS students are below parr ( of coz many of them are A students - like what limeuu said- a mixed bag)
And i know how hard they work to get through the exams, and hospitals, and it is not as crussie as the PMS.
Oh yea, what's about the established facts and statistics? I dont think i'm good or highly intelligent, i'm definitely not, but SingHealth begs us to work for them, ironic isnt it?
I have no idea what do u know about medicine, but somehow it sounds like ur not from IMU or else you wont be saying such stuffs. Ur judging a medschool solely based on its "name".
Added on September 27, 2010, 11:42 am
I take it as a sarcasm, seriously. I'm sorry but i cant help but feel offended. I dont think ur an IMU student, so be it.
I'm not talking about other "unrecognised med schools", u know all about them. If u are directed towards all "unrecognised med school" yea ur right, 90% of them will not make it for NUS final exam. Quite impossible lol. But as far as how i'm trained in the PMS, i'd say IMU seremban graduates are far more competent. And they are more likely to pass NUS exam than us.
Ur being to judgmental about some medschools. And yes i'm biased to IMU.
Added on September 27, 2010, 11:45 am
I think yeye and me both are PMS ppl, but we both feel unjustified for our counterparts back home. And we feel that they are much better than us, but they dont share a common pathway with us anymore (eventhough we studied in the lecture hall together).
Hence when there's such news as passing the NUS MBBS thingie, of course i'm delighted. I'm happy! can you please enlighten me on what's so bad to stay in Malaysia? from YOUR OWN POINT OF VIEW.
zstan
Sep 27 2010, 01:40 PM
QUOTE(Yeyechan @ Sep 27 2010, 01:25 PM) so, whether australasia or uk is the more likely one for us to get a PR ler??? And a last reply to that somebody who wants me to call by his name which, I just simply don wan.... I'm going to graduate with my MBChB or MBBS or what so ever anyway . We will one day and always be and definitely be regarded as highly intellectual human beings as what you think you are. And last, we........ like............ ba... Bac... Back.... Backkdooorsssss....... both are equally almost to impossible with a medical degree.
zstan
Sep 27 2010, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(tqeh @ Sep 27 2010, 01:52 PM) i have no idea where did u get ur information from, but obviously u din study in oz. OZ allows u to apply for a PR once u are registered with AMC, using ENS =). Added on September 27, 2010, 1:53 pm.... wordless. Malaysia boleh! erm...applying and getting a PR is two different things right? as far as i know...you only get the PR if you are willing to serve in the rural region.. and no..i'm not financially capable to study in australia.
zstan
Sep 27 2010, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(tqeh @ Sep 27 2010, 03:03 PM) unless u screw up somewhere, applying = get. And ur information is wrong. good luck to you getting a PR then.
zstan
Sep 30 2010, 09:41 AM
QUOTE(KKLOO @ Sep 30 2010, 12:54 AM) lol ok thanks oh ya another thing. how is the class divided? how many students in a class? how many class are there? they divide you students will divide themselves into 2 groups, during big group lectures. one group sits on the left side of the auditorium, one groups sit at the right side of the auditorium. lecturer will be in middle. for PBL...about 5 students per session..
zstan
Sep 30 2010, 01:19 PM
QUOTE(junyong5155 @ Sep 30 2010, 12:55 PM) nope~we all sit at one side of audtitorium~ each side can accomodate roughly 300 students so we just need one side. for pbl, it's 8 to 12 student per session guided by one facilitator. We got other stuffs like dry lab practical, wet lab practical and medical musuem session (mms) as well. 8-12? that's quite a lot.
zstan
Sep 30 2010, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(KKLOO @ Sep 30 2010, 02:27 PM) lol. i'm surprised medical student also behave that way. why are you surprised? you think all medical students are angels committed to contribute to the betterment of mankind and wants to serve to public with all their heart and soul while putting their own interests behind?
zstan
Oct 1 2010, 12:47 AM
QUOTE(law_yew_wooi @ Oct 1 2010, 12:24 AM) i would like to ask if imu offer any scholarships for dentistry courses? i have a friend who is facing financial problem but he is a bright student. Currently studying a levels. Any alternatives for him? i heard ptptn only give out very little loan. if he can afford to study a levels, he is certainly not poor enough. study at manipal instead? This post has been edited by zstan: Oct 1 2010, 12:47 AM
zstan
Oct 1 2010, 03:34 PM
QUOTE(law_yew_wooi @ Oct 1 2010, 01:47 PM) Well, he is under taylor's scholarship. So, the fees kinda subsidised already. Anyway, no other choice to go IMU?? any scholarships for dentistry? my classification of poor would be: i cannot afford study a levels. my only choice is form 6. even IF i can afford a levels, it would be at TAR college, and get subsidised as well. the cost of living at taylors for one month can feed a student study at TAR C for maybe 1.5-2 months. so if your friend is not classified under that category,i think IMU would deem that you are not poor enough.
zstan
Oct 1 2010, 04:50 PM
i think there's a big difference between 11k and 30k for A-levels? and almost free for STPM? This post has been edited by zstan: Oct 1 2010, 04:52 PM
zstan
Oct 1 2010, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(tqeh @ Oct 1 2010, 04:52 PM) but eventhough he has 10 times 30k, he's still not financially capable of studying dentistry in IMU, why criticize him? and i have no idea why zstan said that too, ppl cannot afford only ask for help ma, he can afford 30k doesnt mean he can afford 500k. i was not critising him. i am just stating the fact that, he's friend is not poor enough for IMU's scholarship.
zstan
Oct 1 2010, 05:23 PM
QUOTE(tqeh @ Oct 1 2010, 05:14 PM) am not sure whether ur stating it based on facts, or based on ur gut feelings. Do u know what is the criteria for IMU scholarship, or does IMU even offer a dentistry scholarship? urgh and btw the difference between 30k and 11k is 19k, and the difference between 30k and 500k is 470k. U cant judge ppl just because they go to taylors. Period. ok i just checked the website. no dentistry scholarship at all. case close. ...its already a public perspective that if you go taylors, you are no where 'poor'.
zstan
Oct 2 2010, 10:05 PM
IMU doesn't even have a dentistry scholarship to begin with.
nor does Manipal, or PIDC.
cheapest option left would be indonesia or russia.
zstan
Oct 3 2010, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(C-Note @ Oct 3 2010, 11:48 AM) Hey guys, Is dentistry in IMU less popular than Medicine? Or is it tougher to enter as compared to Med? I was surprised to see only 2 person from my college got in for Dentistry but 10 odd something for medicine this year because people think medicine leads to better and brighter future compared to dentistry. nothing wrong with IMU's dentistry.
zstan
Oct 5 2010, 05:40 PM
manipal dentistry is still relatively new..this year is only the 2nd batch..
zstan
Oct 5 2010, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(Yeyechan @ Oct 5 2010, 05:41 PM) good question..... What i can say about this is, if you're doing the local program of dentistry in imu, I'm sure it's not worth it at all..... if u do pds, then different story lo... It's just not worth paying that much and its price is almost the price of doing pms.... 420k for a local degree.... Imu must be mad..... To be honest... The reason why they charge so expensive is because they do not have enough facilities to teach.... Students need to pair up because imu does not have... Err... I don't know what is that called... The ''chair''???... to learn individually.... You know the big machine u sit on when u visit a dentist?? One chair cost about a c-class benz...... That's why.... They have to charge the cost of buying the new ''chair'' into your fees..... Remember, imu's final aim is just to make huge profit... Manipal doesn't charge that much because they already have the facilities there... So if I were you, I will not come for imu dentistry local program.. And would opt for manipal or aimst instead.... not enough facilities? have u, as an IMU student, been to the dental faculty before? there are at least 20-30 chairs there, all very well equipped. the ratio at IMU would be 2-3 students per chair. and each chair cost about RM150000 plus minus, not a C-class benz. they don't need to buy new chairs actually, there is already a quota. why manipal maybe cheaper? its 2+3. currency of india still weaker than RM. its at melaka. rental cost is still cheaper than KL. and you might have 4-5 students sharing a chair. and a dental degree is almost equivalent to a medical degree. of course the fees are about the same.
zstan
Oct 6 2010, 09:04 AM
during the first year dental students and medical students study almost the same thing ma..just only they slowly branch down to the teeth, neck etc.
cost wise...can consider PIDC as well..
zstan
Oct 6 2010, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Oct 6 2010, 12:33 PM) AFAIK, by the 2nd year, dental student are already paying the more expensive Clinical fees whereas medicine only get to pay Clinical fees in their 3rd years, hence total price for dentistry is more expensive than medicine. wa..where can say like that one.. if i didn't read the brochure wrong they are almost the same price..rm400k ++..