International Medical University, IMU @ Bukit Jalil, Seremban, & Johor

Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Jul 5 2009, 04:37 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(cygoh9 @ Jul 4 2009, 09:52 PM)
batch from m206 for EOS3 : 6 failed their first attempt, 0 failed on resit, = ALL PASS.

ECG ----> get the made easy, you should be fine after that, during my time it was TIM SONG that taught us ECG and it was er... **** and we have to rely on ourselves, damn. Not sure about your batch.

GI is the hardest system for me in EOS3, i hate it more than the others lol thanks to parasitology inside.
hmm thats something i'm very glad to hear. hopefully it'll be the same for my batch! but of course wanting to pass on first attempt!! thanks for informing me on the statistic

ECG is taught my nyunt wai. alot of lectures from him this sem. when i went for my ECG class i was just baffled. couldn't they gotten some one like hla yee yee or even nilesh kumar would have been better.

hmm. i guess parasitology is straight forward. more a memorizing thing right? life cycle, treatment , reservoir host, identification right? or there's more shocking.gif

and to the guy above complaining about IMU. yes its a money sucking uni, i dont really enjoy the system, and i'm satisfied with only a handful of lecturers. there are some of them in which i dont even bother turning up, cause my brain just wont work during their class! but to me this uni is the only chance i'll get to do my clinical overseas esp in aust or even uk. i dont think any other uni offers it so i'm forced to put up with all the shit imu gives me, but i hope at the end its all worth it. 1 and half more years for me!
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Jul 6 2009, 08:14 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(chika138 @ Jul 5 2009, 10:46 PM)
my batch around 17 failed EOS3, and 7-8 failed resit in the end
dun really remember the figure already, but no 1 failed OSCE la
welcome to vista C  smile.gif
oooohhhh noooo! 17? and 7-8 fail resit. thats bad!!

i got the stats from my eos 3. 61 ppl got B and above. out of 221 i think. i got a b- !!

cygoh, i dont know why, but i feel like i'm a bad student. I dont study anywhere near as much as my peers though. but its cause i'm studying exam based. i mean, would this affect my performance in clinical years? or would i pick up anything that i've lost out on during my clinical years?

and the lecture notes this semester aint enough : ( its a first for me.
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Jul 8 2009, 07:23 PM

1,396 posts

*eos 2.

okay thanks for the advice. last two weeks been slacking like mad. still in the holiday mood. time to come down to earth. its time to study
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Jul 9 2009, 08:27 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(herbalifemalaysia @ Jul 9 2009, 03:06 PM)
lecture notes aint enough?? *gulps* so where do you study from apart from marieb's for the first sem for medicine?
first sem just stick to notes. second sem as well. you'll warrant at least a B. and if you really paid attention to whats gonna come out during lects then you should be well into getting an A.

Bpharm no clue on lecturers.

nope didn't make it in time and i didnt sign up for his talk. kinda regret though.
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Jul 18 2009, 01:33 PM

1,396 posts

This is my take on the PMS program. The real system by which you rank your uni's 1-10, and the university will rank all the twinning students on 1-1XX. take the two sums (your ranking X 7) + (university ranking)= Y

the lowest Y will be the university you will twin to.

but there are so many factors that will be considered before hand. first of all are the places each university allocates for IMU. As mentioned by chika, 25 to 8 places. Another was for Dundee, from 10 to 2X places. So it varies each year.

Second of all, JPA scholars are rumored to be given priority over private students as JPA has allocated only sufficient amount of money for each JPA-IMU Batch, and must meet their budget. So its its X number going to UK it must be X number going to UK.
I'm not too sure about this, but it seems logical.

Third of all, some universities like uni of adelaide, will not admit students who have failed their EOS. And each university wants different traits and attributes from the students they rank.

My conclusion to PMS matching is that, just try to do your best in your exams, that is the number one determining factor. But dont be bummed if you dont get your university of choice, be open and consider a few different uni. its almost like a lucky draw.

But if you're opting for UK, your chances are better than those aiming for a spot in australia!!
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Jul 25 2009, 03:51 PM

1,396 posts

take it from me. just tie your hair during PBL and CSU or anything with a facilitator in front of your face. s when they see you out and around imu they couldnt care less even if you had pink hair.

their whole professionalism conduct thing is a little too much in my opinion. on days where there aint no hospital visits or CSU just relax and let the students do their thing.
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Jul 29 2009, 09:21 PM

1,396 posts

malaysia does recognize the imu-pms. bout pharmacy no clue. basically when you finish any of the degree's at IMU, you have to take an external paper to go off to other countries. like uslme for seremban grads to go to the us.

Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Aug 2 2009, 06:33 PM

1,396 posts

its the same dilema over here again shane. its a widely discussed topic in the medical students thread. just refer there for more info (if you have the time to skim through, just search russia or something like that)

in my opinion. dont go to russia, ukraine, indon and indian universities (esp if they are way too cheap and the entry requirements are way to low). our local medical association might just suddenly drop the accreditation and you're stuck with an MBBS in which even your own home country wont accept. Unless you know you're going to a prestigious university in those countries, at least you know it'll be safe. as far as im concerned, russia and ukraine will have cases uncommon to our asia pacific region, so in terms of experience you might loose out in that sense. and there are also cases in which the universities have low standards of teaching. there was a blog explaining bout the system in russia, plus its extremely racist and cold. Not too sure how much clinical exposure one might get, but the hassle of learning hindi/tamil or russia is added workload itself!!

For US. you need to sit for all the USMLE papers. there are a few IMU-Seremban graduates whom passed it and have secured places in the US. imu seremban costs only about (330K, fees) and at the same time the job security from the local goverement and it seems sri lanka accredits the degree. plus the benefits of doing alot of clinical work in seremban. alot of the students there (might not be the smartest around) but they are prepared to face HO and MO life cause of the cases they handle. good stuff from the Seremban side in my opinion.
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Aug 11 2009, 11:50 AM

1,396 posts

i haven't done my muet. but i've done my ielts.

the admin dept hasn't come after me!
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Aug 13 2009, 12:30 AM

1,396 posts

hahaha i think this forum is more popular than the imu forum itself.

go look for a guy in this thread called chika, pm him and he'll have some details for you
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Aug 13 2009, 09:26 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(chika138 @ Aug 13 2009, 07:13 PM)
no vista komanwel signed contract with time
and why go for a worse ISP?
netlynx is far better than streamyx
constantly FULL 2mbps (mine never dropped below 1.5mbps) for rm99 a month only
don't trust other ISPs, especially those wireless ones

edited: for those who are not really sure what 2Mbps means, it simply means when u download u see about 250kb/s (1kilobyte=8kilobits) download speed
and mine seldom drops under 200kb/s unless limited by the download sources servers' speed
yawn.gif:O:O that good?!?! crazy, gaming and downloading movies+music+tv shows must be awesome. yawn.gif

sorry but you're the only other senior around from vista. other people in this thread are mostly like "i'm joining in august"
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Aug 19 2009, 06:42 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(D_s_X @ Aug 14 2009, 02:18 AM)
I guess lot's of people are having problems with the well, let me put it... unclear way of the PMS route. I included =(

For example, if we get paired to an Australian university, are the certificates recognized automatically there? Are you able to do your housemanship there then later on practice there?
based on the current stats they are still in demand for doctors. and apparently i've read an article that they still need doctors well in 2015. so it depends on when you start, or wether they are filling up quickly by doctors from india, nz or even the uk. so things can change even within a year.

so far what i've heard those who were final year students last year, i've heard of them securing a job there. and yes your degree is the same as if you started year 1 there.

UK is out of the question for now, until they change their immigration laws and eu nonsense.

US, if you have time and the determination during your 2nd year at IMU to own up to the USMLE!
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Aug 21 2009, 12:33 AM

1,396 posts

wow didnt know it was so expensive. crap chika, i just want a room in vista to download stuff now hahahaah. 15 gigs a day. amazing. torrent or rapidshare though?

any word of advice for respi and cvs summative?
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Aug 24 2009, 04:54 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(chika138 @ Aug 21 2009, 04:59 PM)
megaupload mostly, cuz i'm using jdownloader so it's actually auto-downloading with full speed after i enter all the links
well from what i heard torrent will go with full speed too (200-250kb/s) if u find those with good seedings
ok for MEQ always remember to read your PBL, it's better if u can find the pbl faci guide and read on the exact learning outcomes (questions are based on the exact outcomes/issues, not the random learning issues u all come out with)
about half of the questions would be from PBL
OBA, no comment
EMQ 1 pharmacology question quite sure to be coming out since u all have so many pharmacology lectures in CVS right? Then maybe 1 physiology question. EMQ is the easiest of all so please don't screw up
OSPE ar just try finish it on time
A is a big no no. it seems near if u look from vista B or IMU. But actually the entrance is at the another far end.
B holds the biggest advantage -- being nearest to IMU.
C is when you are searching for rooms in better condition with better (relatively cheaper than B) prices.
This i'm not sure. Y dun u call students services (SSD) to find out more bout it?
how important is anatomy and embryology this time around. will they be saving it up for ospe for EOS?
like blood vessles etc, hmm in dilema if i should squeeze as much as i can from that, currently just banging on pathology like mad!!
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Aug 25 2009, 12:30 AM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(chika138 @ Aug 24 2009, 09:50 PM)
i dun think anatomy and embryology play big role in ICA
if u got not enough time then.....
but then anything can happen
still IMO worth to take the risk
er any1 has any idea how to free myself from answering this question again and again?  shakehead.gif
u can either call yvonne the agent 0122871844 or email SSD for accomodation list
yeah , i think they wont ask, esp blood vessles, it hink they will ask application question in objective, so i'll do the minimum reading, some times just way too much.

Embryology i think surely will be objective unless my ass luck kena.

Amiodarone seems to be the drug of choice for most of the arrhytmia's. and the other Na channel blockers except flecanide like not even mentioned in my management notes at the end. shocking.gif

oh yeah is it true, some times i bantai SOB, or even chest pain depending on the system involved for MEQ they have to accept it right? haha, now finding ways to con the system tongue.gif !! whistling.gif

Added on August 28, 2009, 7:05 pmWOAH! to all you incoming batches. the jump from EOS 2 to SUmmative 3 is a big one. dont neglect it, had a pretty tough time today!!

This post has been edited by Cristiano-Ronaldo-7: Aug 28 2009, 07:05 PM
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Sep 1 2009, 01:58 AM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(chika138 @ Aug 30 2009, 11:49 PM)
and don't expect it to be as easy as summative 1 and 2
no more easy A or A-
B will be the mean from CVS+Respi onwards
am anxiously waiting for jpa grouping for my PMS matching coming this week
all the best chika. tell us where will you be placed!!

yeah can tell after the paper , everyone felt the heat as well. it was quite tough. for me at least.
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Sep 3 2009, 05:58 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(monkeygirl @ Sep 3 2009, 02:28 PM)
i know. but i really can't make up my mind. maybe flipping a coin will do. ahahaha
adelaide seems to be the best option but there's a lot of competition for it.
queensland, ANU and the USyd (but usyd gotta do alot of stuff) is a good option. saves alot of money. double degree. research opportunity.

adelaide is a boring city though. UNSW would be a good one. Melbourne's out otherwise that would equally be as good. the two most vibrant cities
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Sep 7 2009, 08:39 PM

1,396 posts

haha uk also same. 2 years and you get kicked out. seems like America or Canada are the only countries left.

wonder whats the situation in NZ!
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Sep 9 2009, 07:43 PM

1,396 posts

cygoh how's the general situation in NZ. have heard from seniors in seremban that some people claim the racism there is very bad and have come back home to finish phase 2.

and more over NZ is one of the most expensive PMS's to choose from.

haha today's wednesday, hope you get your whole PMS situation sorted out and you're able to study up for EOS5.

Yeah the USMLE will be referenced back during residency. passing it on the dot will kinda ensure yourself family medicine in the future. hence you gotta do outstandingly well on it. maybe after graduating from another country one can consider US.

chika what i meant was, by studying some where else and going over to canada to work. dont know what system they employ there, wether its USMLE sort of system or not.
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Sep 14 2009, 10:35 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 11 2009, 04:39 PM)
good for you.......

there is a very wide spectrum of students at imu.......many are very brilliant students, and will no doubt have gotten direct entry if they have tried.........just as there there are very mediocre students who just scrape in past the cut off.......

but the vast majority of students who got in direct into uk/oz/nz will be high fliers........

my question is one for each student to ask himself/herself........in private, you don't have to answer here....... smile.gif

Added on September 11, 2009, 4:42 pm
say this in the open med student thread, and expect to get a lot of flax from some med students.......i did........ biggrin.gif
you've gotta blame our government and alot of the nonsense going on in this country for most students to not bother applying local, and hence want an overseas education.

what i realize alot of IMU students who do pms, want to save a whole load of cash like me ! If it were up to me, i would be in UK now and i'm sure it would have been the same with the lot of people in IMU.

I also realized IMU does alot of pathology as opposed to anatomy. we have Patho upon patho upon patho. but anatomy wise we're quite weak.

how do we fare up to the PMS students?

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0407sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:45 PM