Jun 20 2008, 09:17 AM
2,524 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Beneath the starry night |
QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 20 2008, 08:51 AM) Not a big fan of him, so i didn't do a proper search of info on him.Btw, if you are really a doctor, why not share with us some of your experience working with graduates from various Us instead of bashing them without any basis. Let's start with IMU graduates since this thread is dedicated to IMU. |
Jun 20 2008, 11:00 AM
385 posts Joined: May 2008 |
are the degrees in IMU recognised internaltionally? May i ask, and other than semester fee are there any extra charges when i started schooling...? it worries me
Jun 20 2008, 12:02 PM
432 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
QUOTE(n_n @ Jun 20 2008, 11:00 AM) are the degrees in IMU recognised internaltionally? May i ask, and other than semester fee are there any extra charges when i started schooling...? it worries me hey have you got yourself a hostel room in imu? for your information the hostel is fully booked for sem starting in july... if you haven't get one yet, you better start looking for rooms now. |
Jun 20 2008, 12:06 PM
2 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
i get rooms already. btw i am the same person. thans for the info anyway
Jun 20 2008, 12:07 PM
432 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
Jun 20 2008, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(n_n @ Jun 20 2008, 11:00 AM) are the degrees in IMU recognised internaltionally? May i ask, and other than semester fee are there any extra charges when i started schooling...? it worries me IMU is recognized by Sri Lanka. Other than that not sure.This post has been edited by hypermax: Jun 20 2008, 02:08 PM |
Jun 21 2008, 03:30 AM
1,299 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
It doesn't really matter if the university is automatically recognised by other countries. You can always sit for an examination and get the license. It beats me why do many people actually think that this is a hassle (I mean, if it's already your passion to heal, then just make do with whatever obstacles you have to meet)
The same applies to Malaysia. As long as you have graduated from any foreign university, you will have to sit for an examination before you can practice locally. *btw AIMST University is recognised by LAN. |
Jun 21 2008, 09:01 AM
12,290 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(edge85 @ Jun 21 2008, 03:30 AM) It doesn't really matter if the university is automatically recognised by other countries. You can always sit for an examination and get the license. It beats me why do many people actually think that this is a hassle (I mean, if it's already your passion to heal, then just make do with whatever obstacles you have to meet) wrong........The same applies to Malaysia. As long as you have graduated from any foreign university, you will have to sit for an examination before you can practice locally. *btw AIMST University is recognised by LAN. for the case of msia, if you graduate from a 'scheduled' (recognised) uni, you can register with the mmc WITHOUT any further exams........only those from unscheduled universities will then need to sit for the qualification exams....... they are given 3 attempts........many of these unscheduled graduates cannot pass......this is why the gov now allows them to 're-enrol' into a local meed school to redo the last 3 years (recently reduced to 1 1/2) years to get 'retrained'.........go form your own opinions about why they have so much difficulty passing......unis are 'unscheduled' for good reasons.......msia is the only country which goes to great lengths to try to retrain these doctors....other countries, if you fail, go do something else lah..... as for sitting for an exam to qualify to practice, yes it is VERY difficult and expensive and troublesome and takes a long time.........and IS a hassle.....see the example of unscheduled uni graduates above...another eg, to sit for the oz amc exams, in 2 parts, will cost you about a$10,000 in fees along, and the part 2 you have to travel there to sit......and there is a waiting list of 18 months for the exams...... YES please ensure your degree is recognised in the country you intend to eventually practice...... it is best, if you don't know, NOT to make comments...... This post has been edited by limeuu: Jun 21 2008, 09:16 AM |
Jun 23 2008, 12:34 PM
853 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Hulu Selangor |
QUOTE(edge85 @ Jun 21 2008, 03:30 AM) It doesn't really matter if the university is automatically recognised by other countries. You can always sit for an examination and get the license. It beats me why do many people actually think that this is a hassle (I mean, if it's already your passion to heal, then just make do with whatever obstacles you have to meet) i heard of an example of an imu seremban graduate passed the exam and working in US nowThe same applies to Malaysia. As long as you have graduated from any foreign university, you will have to sit for an examination before you can practice locally. *btw AIMST University is recognised by LAN. but that shudn't be easy i think |
Jun 23 2008, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(chika138 @ Jun 23 2008, 12:34 PM) i heard of an example of an imu seremban graduate passed the exam and working in US now to be eligible to practice in the states, you need umsle step 1 and 2.........some medical schools, especially new ones, routinely make their students sit, as it is a good benchmarking test to see if the students are up to standard......and most med students in medical schools in canada/central america/carribeans will sit for, as it is licence to go to the states for training and maybe migration......it is easiest to sit for when you are in the final stages of med school, or in the first few years after graduation, when knowledge is fresh in you mind.....but that shudn't be easy i think it is not easy, and is expensive and a hassle...... |
Jun 23 2008, 03:30 PM
1,299 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Sorry, but I'm pretty sure medical graduates from foreign countries, including UK/NZ/Aust/India/Indonesia/Russia etc (graduation year: 2012 onwards) will have to sit for that exam. It was in the local newspapers. Not sure when was it announced though.
This post has been edited by edge85: Jun 23 2008, 08:09 PM |
Jun 23 2008, 08:11 PM
9 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
hi everyone, i just went to imu today just for some enquiries regarding the admission. Can anyone tell me is there any free parking lot for students. Usually where do the imu students park their cars? The staff told me that there are parking on the hill but what i saw was there is no one parking there... Pls give some comments regarding the parking in imu. Thanks...
Jun 23 2008, 08:19 PM
QUOTE(edge85 @ Jun 23 2008, 03:30 PM) Sorry, but I'm pretty sure medical graduates from foreign countries, including UK/NZ/Aust/India/Indonesia/Russia etc (graduation year: 2012 onwards) will have to sit for that exam. It was in the local newspapers. Not sure when was it announced though. what are you referring to here? the us umsle, or a proposed msian qualifying exam?for the former, ALL med graduates need that to practice (actually including their own graduates, as they sit for umsle too)...... if the later, it was proposed........but i can tell you it is NOT gonna happen......not in the next 10-15 years anyway.........probably never.......you can trust me on that........it will be political suicide...... |
Jun 23 2008, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(nightwind @ Jun 23 2008, 08:11 PM) hi everyone, i just went to imu today just for some enquiries regarding the admission. Can anyone tell me is there any free parking lot for students. Usually where do the imu students park their cars? The staff told me that there are parking on the hill but what i saw was there is no one parking there... Pls give some comments regarding the parking in imu. Thanks... u can always park ur cars beside the roads but beware u may get saman lawhen did u go imu today? usually i can see quite many cars parking there from my house in Vista C |
Jun 24 2008, 10:10 AM
9 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(chika138 @ Jun 23 2008, 09:40 PM) u can always park ur cars beside the roads but beware u may get saman la i went there in the morning. Do u mean that those students prefer to park at the road side rather than to park at the hill?when did u go imu today? usually i can see quite many cars parking there from my house in Vista C |
Jun 24 2008, 12:49 PM
Jun 24 2008, 03:40 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 23 2008, 03:07 PM) to be eligible to practice in the states, you need umsle step 1 and 2.........some medical schools, especially new ones, routinely make their students sit, as it is a good benchmarking test to see if the students are up to standard......and most med students in medical schools in canada/central america/carribeans will sit for, as it is licence to go to the states for training and maybe migration......it is easiest to sit for when you are in the final stages of med school, or in the first few years after graduation, when knowledge is fresh in you mind..... Yup, in fact syllabus in many indian medical schools is tuned towards USMLE.it is not easy, and is expensive and a hassle...... |
Jun 29 2008, 11:43 AM
52 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE(nightwind @ Jun 24 2008, 10:10 AM) i went there in the morning. Do u mean that those students prefer to park at the road side rather than to park at the hill? My friends, they opt to park at the road side. a)because you don't need to pay parking fee. and b)because the hill top parking is actually quite far, have to go up and down the stairs.. haha.. Last time, IMU used to let students park in their building, but not anymore. Cos more cars, so they reserve those parking lots for staff only. Students have to suffer... |
Jun 29 2008, 12:35 PM
1,655 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Just stay in Vista Komanwel then walk to school everyday
| Change to: | 0.0206sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:22 AM |