International Medical University, IMU @ Bukit Jalil, Seremban, & Johor

hypermax
post Jun 18 2008, 05:36 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(indyariya @ Jun 7 2008, 11:26 AM)
*** they have to be strict with the quality of students going to pms....the standards are set by the respective pms, not imu........and generally, standards are lower in local med schools than the 1st world..
I am a graduate of IMU and I think the above statement is definitely incorrect and offensive.

IMHO, the only thing different of those going PMS and local is the financial status after they completed their study.

I strongly advise those interest to study at IMU, pls visit the website and visit the schools.
Hah, dun bother. He's just a jobless guy who claims to be a doctor/health director. Last time when i asked him where he graduated, he didn't even have the guts to answer. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Jun 18 2008, 05:42 PM
hypermax
post Jun 19 2008, 10:03 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 19 2008, 08:41 AM)
you should know if you are a medical student........
Uttering some medical terms here doesn't prove you are a doc/medical student. rolleyes.gif
Just be bold and tell us where you graduated from.

hypermax
post Jun 19 2008, 12:32 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Jun 19 2008, 11:29 AM)
I am not a medical student, but I know:

Patello= knee/kneecap
spino= spine
quadratus = square in shape

I can make a educated guess.  whistling.gif
This coming from someone who is a 5th(?) year medical student fromMelaka-Manipal, "which was the cheapest local school recognized by Malaysia".

And who once said that "Sechenov Moscow Medical Academy is indeed ranked as 2nd best medical school in the world".

After haunting the "CALLING MEDICAL STUDENTS" thread, you come here.
Oh man, Someone is stalking me. biggrin.gif
Anyway, let me clear things up.
Melaka-Manipal was the cheapest local private medical school recognized by LAN back in 2004. AIMST was cheaper but wasn't recognized by LAN. ( I forgot to add the word 'private' back then. But most would know what i was talking about smile.gif)

As for the Sechenov Moscow Medical Academy, i made that statement with reference to it's own web site here.

I was only giving my opinion in the CALLING MEDICAL STUDENTS thread. i was only stating that SPM result isn't important for determining the capability of a student but pre-u result is. That's haunting for you?? rolleyes.gif

The great limeuu has been bashing local private Us and Russian Us for sometime. SO i think it's only appropriate for him to tell from which prestigious school he graduated from that gives him all the rights to bash the others.

As for you, who is neither a medical student nor a doctor, had posted numerous nonconstructive criticism and opinion in all the threads meant for medical students and docs. Now, who's haunting the thread?

This post has been edited by hypermax: Jun 19 2008, 12:55 PM
hypermax
post Jun 19 2008, 07:12 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Jun 19 2008, 05:14 PM)
Not stalking. All information very publicly available in the internet. Just because someone links them together makes one a stalker. Amazing logic you have.
Well, you actually go all the way to find my posts. Do you have to go so far just to counter someone who you think is not worthy to debate with?
Also, to dig up something which i have posted many moons ago.... dude, why now? You should have countered me back then.

Medical and cheap do not go hand in hand. The fact still remains, the intake of Melaka-Manipal and AIMST is dubious. You, as a Manipal student, may think it is good, and indeed, some will be good, but you cannot use an outlier to justify the trend.

Intake of Melaka-Manipal and AIMST is dubious?? May i know where's the basis to this statement? In the end, you are just another superficial idiot who likes to bash others without any basis.
Also, i din say Manipal is the best. I did SAM, so the only option for me back then was to join a private medical school. You expect me to join local public U with SAM? Amazing logic you have.

And in the same thread I said I did not find anything about UNESCO ever ranking universities, nor is UNESCO in the business of ranking universities. That's like me giving my ranking of universities; no basis whatsoever.

Well, i didn't say you were wrong. I was simply pointing out what is written on the web site. Pls, dun be so sensitive. rolleyes.gif
If you are not happy with what i had said back then, why didn't you counter me? Why now?? biggrin.gif
Btw, i can't seem to find your post anywhere in that thread. However, it was limeuu who said he can't find anything about UNESCO ranking. Proof here. Are you limeuu's duplicate account or altered ego?

In the same thread you said:
How do you come to the conclusion that SAM TER 93 = A level 3As =  Canadian Pre U >95? Or is this "what you think"? In anycase, the fact remains, the last playing LEVEL field for students is SPM, as most of them will go on to do the endless number of alternative pre-u qualifications out there. I agree that one should not take SPM has an indicator of one's academic ability, but it should be seen TOGETHER with the SAM/CPU/A level results.

Dude, come on, you should have posted this in the thread back then, not here. This thread is meant for IMU for heaven's sake. Oh man, that is a seriously delayed patello-spino-quadratus reaction. biggrin.gif
Btw, the marking scheme of SPM is dubious. This is a well known fact.

Frankly, I don't care where Limeuu, or anyone else for that matter, graduated from. The fact remains, he did some have some valid points, and you didn't have a counter argument, so instead of responding with facts, you keep shouting "where did [limeuu] graduate from?", as if graduating from a "prestigious school" gives anyone the right to "bashing local private Us and Russian Us".

So what if he is a Russian graduate and was disillusioned by what he saw? Does that give more weight to his words? If he is a medical graduate from Stanford University that is meaningless, as medical schools are not in the process of making one "the best" doctors, but as many competent doctors as they can.

So, let me ask, how can someone who is neither a medical student nor a doc judge whether a medical school produces competent doctors? It takes a panel of medical experts to do that. So, i was only asking whether he's qualified enough to judge.
Same logic applies, can a doctor judge whether a particular IT school produces competent software engineers?

Also:

How do we know you are truly from Manipal? For all we know you could be a casing seller who just happens to know something medical, since "Anyone can be a master at anything just by gathering info from the net."
I rest my case.

OMG, you even know i am into casing modding?? Wow, isn't that a stalker or what? biggrin.gif
Haha, well well well. You seriously are an idiot, aren't you? If i wanna fake, why dun i say i am from UM, Harvard or some other Western Us? After all, Manipal is still not as pretigious as those mentioned. doh.gif

After a brief reading through all your posts, you seem to be an old timer who likes bashing others just to make yourself look good. This is not the attitude for intelligent discussion in the forum. rolleyes.gif

Also, pls Quit being so emo dude. It's bad for health. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Jun 19 2008, 11:12 PM
hypermax
post Jun 19 2008, 10:30 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 19 2008, 07:57 PM)
i thought haya is a student in oz?........
Not sure about that. But from what he posted, he sounded like an old timer. biggrin.gif

here
here

Opps, now i have become a stalker. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Glyyde @ Jun 19 2008, 09:42 PM)
geez.... can't someone just let this discussion go already? It doesn't matter where a doctor graduate from. It doesn't matter how they choose their medical student. At the end of the day, what I, and everyone, would like to see is safe, competent doctors doing their jobs....

Medical school teach one how to pass and become a doctor. House officer learnt how to be an office boy in the hospital. One start to learn to be a doctor after their house job tongue.gif
Finally, someone understands what i am trying to convey all this while.

To haya,
I actually find it funny for you to counter my statement now which i made few months ago. Dude, why now? Why not back then? It took you so long to cook up a proper argument?

This post has been edited by hypermax: Jun 19 2008, 11:11 PM
hypermax
post Jun 20 2008, 09:17 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 20 2008, 08:51 AM)
Not a big fan of him, so i didn't do a proper search of info on him.

Btw, if you are really a doctor, why not share with us some of your experience working with graduates from various Us instead of bashing them without any basis. Let's start with IMU graduates since this thread is dedicated to IMU.
hypermax
post Jun 20 2008, 02:07 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(n_n @ Jun 20 2008, 11:00 AM)
are the degrees in IMU recognised internaltionally? May i ask, and other than semester fee are there any extra charges when i started schooling...? it worries me
IMU is recognized by Sri Lanka. Other than that not sure.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Jun 20 2008, 02:08 PM
hypermax
post Jun 24 2008, 03:40 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 23 2008, 03:07 PM)
to be eligible to practice in the states, you need umsle step 1 and 2.........some medical schools, especially new ones, routinely make their students sit, as it is a good benchmarking test to see if the students are up to standard......and most med students in medical schools in canada/central america/carribeans will sit for, as it is licence to go to the states for training and maybe migration......it is easiest to sit for when you are in the final stages of med school, or in the first few years after graduation, when knowledge is fresh in you mind.....

it is not easy, and is expensive and a hassle......
Yup, in fact syllabus in many indian medical schools is tuned towards USMLE.
hypermax
post Aug 1 2008, 04:52 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(zltan @ Jul 28 2008, 08:24 PM)
Don't aim for IMU....aim for Manipal
Insulting Manipal again kid?
Kid, pls grow up.
Seriously, did you bribe your way into Melbourne U or are you even in medical course in Melbourne U? Your behavior is freaking childish. I seriously doubt that Melbourne U will take in people like you. doh.gif
Have you been to Manipal? Any evidence from your side to support your claim? You should know what's evidence based medicine right? shakehead.gif Pls apply this concept before making any claim or statement.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 1 2008, 06:09 PM
hypermax
post Aug 1 2008, 06:12 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Aug 1 2008, 05:19 PM)
Hahaa. Talking about Evidence Based Medicine, freaking hate biostatistics and epidemiology. Any idea why should we start on this in year one itself? Headache.
Yeah, i hate the subject too. However, in my college, these subjects are only taught in 3rd and 4th years. However, they are considered as main subjects and play a big part in our assessment. sweat.gif
I heard in IMU, only one week is allocated to these subjects. Heard from my friends. Pls correct me if i am wrong.
hypermax
post Aug 4 2008, 05:02 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(zltan @ Aug 4 2008, 12:01 PM)
They did, so deal with it.

I base my argument on the degree of recognition of a university. The more globally recognized it is, the better it is.
Take the Malaysian Matriculation for example, will you agree with me that it is shit compared to something like STPM or A-levels?
Well, both IMU and Manipal degrees are only recognized in Msia, and Sri Lanka. So tell me, how valid is your claim? shakehead.gif

QUOTE(linkeong @ Aug 4 2008, 12:48 PM)
I think he didnt mean to insult manipal. He just trying to say at manipal, the lecturers teach you more(longer lecture hours and I heard from my friend in manipal that they teach them how to pass the exam and etc, not saying its easy to pass the exam)  where else in IMU you have to fend for yourself (even though not totally as lecture notes are given). If the style has changed please update me. I am from UCSI and the style is about the same as IMU but there is no lecture notes given.
Well, this boy here clearly holds grudge against me as we had a disagreement on WIKi in the "CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS" thread. In fact, he bashed both UM and Manipal just because another forummer (from UM) and I disagreed with his opinion. Also, as he has stated, he based his claim on the 'degree of recognition of a university', which is not valid as i have stated above.
hypermax
post Aug 6 2008, 10:41 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 6 2008, 06:04 PM)
postgraduate medical training usually is a hands-on work based programme, with both supervised work and exam components........and means actually treating patients.....

if you cannot register as a medical practitioner in a country, you cannot treat patients.....

therefore, in general, if your degree is not recognised, you cannot work and train in that country.......

exceptions would be exam-only qualifications, eg mrcp(uk).......or special limited registration for fellowships on a gov-gov or uni-uni basis which is usually for sub-specialty training......

alternatively, you can get yourself recognised, usually through exams, eg umsle (us), amc(oz), plab (uk)........before starting on the lowest rung and try work you way up, and hopefully get a training job (yes, working there does NOT mean you are training, you need to be in a recognised training job for that)...........

Added on August 6, 2008, 6:06 pmp/s, latest news from uk, international medical graduates (ie people who did NOT graduate from UK or eu countries) are now barred from training jobs......
Seriously, what's wrong with UK nowadays?
hypermax
post Aug 6 2008, 10:56 PM

2,524 posts

IC. Thanks for the explaination.
Btw, a friend of mine is about to choose his twinning schools in IMU. He wants to know what are the chances of getting into foundation year training in UK if he graduates from a UK school? Also, in order to get full registration with GMC, one has to at least complete FY1 and FY2 right?

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 6 2008, 10:58 PM
hypermax
post Aug 6 2008, 11:10 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 6 2008, 11:04 PM)
all international students graduates of british med school will be allowed to stay for the 2 foundation years........beyond that, it gets hazy.......the rules are being litigated at the moment.......

a likely outcome is that these students will be considered 'home' students, and allowed to compete for work beyond the 2 fy's.......and probably also considered 'home' doctors, allowed to undertake numbered (ie training) jobs.......but don't take my word for it........i can't foresee the future.........
According to a doctor who graduated from Nottingham currently working in Melaka GH, he was unable to secure FY after he graduated. But according to a friend of mine in Aberdeen, one has to leave UK after FY, if he/she is able to secure a place in FY.

So if that's true, what's the point of studying medicine in UK? In addition, the tuition fee is shocking.gif
hypermax
post Aug 6 2008, 11:57 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 6 2008, 11:47 PM)
there was a lot of confusion when the new policy was announced in april 2006........and i guess your friend from notts got caught in the confusion......it is now clear that all be allowed to stay at least for the 2 fy's........beyond that, like i said, it's at the appeal courts at the moment..........so yes, there is much uncertainty......

breaking news.......uk trained doctors with the full 2 fy's and gmc registered are now allowed to apply for work in oz, and need NOT sit for the amc exams.....how long this window of opportunity will remain open, time will tell.....my guess, another 3-4 years, when increased oz med school intake will graduate and a slowing economy will result in surplus again, and the door will close again......
I guess this is a vicious cycle huh?
The OZ thing is actually not new. They have it since 2007. A few bloggers graduated from UK school actually went there already, ever since the new ruling is announced. Apparently, the ruling also affects those who have already secured a post.
hypermax
post Aug 7 2008, 12:04 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 7 2008, 12:02 AM)
announced august 2007.......

people getting into uk med schools now will likely miss the boat......
So i guess the best/cheapest route to study medicine is to stay back in Msia, then get MRCP later, although not easy.
Btw, is the local master program good?
hypermax
post Aug 15 2008, 07:42 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(Evyn @ Aug 15 2008, 06:48 PM)
I am trying to decide between IMU twinning and Moscow Medical Academy(MMA) in Russia. I'm now very confused as some are throwing insults at Russian graduates and yet some are saying how MMA is the one of the best medical schools in the world. As for IMU, a few said that IMU is a crappy university and should not study medicine in IMU. On the other hand, some people seem to think that IMU twinning is the best choice one can ever make. Some help please?? cry.gif
Trust me. If you have the money, go for IMU twinning. The degree conferred will be full degree from the partner schools. Also, people will think highly of you if you get degree from 1st world medical schools.

However, once in IMU, it means that you'll have a lot of self learning to do. Anyway, it'll be a good practice for you as you will need a lot of self studies in the later part of your medical studies.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 15 2008, 07:43 PM
hypermax
post Aug 16 2008, 10:37 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(Evyn @ Aug 16 2008, 09:50 AM)
A-Level.

I've met several doctors who discourage me to go to Russia. But I'm not sure if it's really because they're qualification is not up to standard or because the doctors are discriminating Russian medical graduates. That's why I'm trying to look for Russian graduates who can tell me whether they are discriminated because their degree is from Russia.

Know anybody who regret going to Russia? Or anyone who does not?
Just curious. Why you wanna go to Russia so much if you have offer from IMU? Can you afford IMU's fee? If can, by all means, pls go.
hypermax
post Aug 16 2008, 11:05 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(hhkonghh @ Aug 16 2008, 10:45 AM)
I have a son wanting to do medicine and here are my thought on IMU-PMS.

1. By having the clinical year done in '1st World", it's recognized by Singapore. By the same token, because Penang MC's clinical isn't being done in Ireland, it's not recognized. Based on definition posted on official Singapore website.

2. While IMU-PMS route is still cheaper than having the entire course done in UK, the cost is not as great as you might expect. Reasons being
a) You do 2.5 yrs Pre-Clinical in IMU whereas it's only 2 yrs overseas. The extra 1/2 yr negates part of the IMU saving.
b) All the really expensive part of the course aka Clinical are all done in UK anyway.
c) Doing part time work in KL pays you peanut. Doing the same part time work in UK can have significant contribution towards your cost.

Roughly speaking, the differences between doing the entire cost in UK (cheaper place like Leeds ) vs IMU-PMS is about RM 90K spread over 5 years. And part of that can be covered by working part time in UK. The pay in UK is about £5/hr or RM6.3. Do your own math.

Of course, if you wanted to study at Imperial (fees are ~ RM70K/yr more expensive than other UK med school) and staying in London, the above calculation fly out of the window.
Problems:
1. You cannot choose your PMS. They choose you instead. So you dunnoe where you will end up at.
2. I don't think a med student will have time to do part time work.
3. Depends on the schools, some want students to spend 3 years in clinical, while others only 2.5 years.

However, if one can afford, by all means, pls go. Don't hesitate.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 16 2008, 11:12 AM
hypermax
post Aug 16 2008, 02:11 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(hhkonghh @ Aug 16 2008, 01:06 PM)
https://www.smc.gov.sg/html/MungoBlobs/268/...0programmes.pdf

IMO. Not able to work is more of an attitude issue rather than 'no time'. I am sure nobody study solid weekend and Christmas/Easter. Able to work mere average 5 hrs per week can contribute 30% of that extra RM90K.

My friend's kids still doing medicine in UK and he only pays for the tuition fee. But I am sure his kids are truly exceptional rather than the rule.

My calculation puts IMU-PMS UK to be around the RM730K (non London)
Wow, can buy a decent house already. blink.gif

0.0498sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:28 AM