106 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Bottom

Best PSU For Overclocker V2, Which One Is The Best? ^^

irangan
post Nov 20 2007, 12:35 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

As long the 12v rail is at 10% +/-, then it is perfectly alright. Btw, Everest PSU reading is infamous for its inaccuracy. smile.gif
pengster
post Nov 20 2007, 01:14 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

hey irangan.long time no see smile.gif

ooh okay.thanks was slightly worried about the 12v rail.lol i should get a DMM to measure eh? laugh.gif
IcEMoCHa
post Nov 20 2007, 11:21 AM

~本田~
1,988 posts

Is there a better software to monitor voltage?...
lohwenli
post Nov 20 2007, 11:49 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Nov 20 2007, 12:35 AM)
As long the 12v rail is at 10% +/-, then it is perfectly alright. Btw, Everest PSU reading is infamous for its inaccuracy. smile.gif
Actually its +/- 5%. any more than that, PC guarantee hang or KO already. Overclockers typically insist on +/- 1-3% for a bigger safety margin.
Infamous? Apparently you haven't tried AbitEQ or Gigabyte's Easytune.

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Nov 20 2007, 11:21 AM)
Is there a better software to monitor voltage?...
Its not the software, its the monitoring chip on the motherboard. What do you expect from something that probably costs less than 3% of the motherboard's total manufacturing cost? As it is, everest is already one of the better software's as it sort of compensates for the inherent inaccuracy of the moitoring chips, others (especially those supplied with the motherboards, eg Gigabyte Easytune, Abit EQ) are often pretty inaccurate, sometims ludicrously so sweat.gif
IcEMoCHa
post Nov 20 2007, 12:03 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

I see... hahaha... Thanx ..
Jibek
post Nov 20 2007, 02:51 PM

262 posts

Is Silverstone ST400W a good PSU for Oc..
irangan
post Nov 20 2007, 09:39 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Nov 20 2007, 01:14 AM)
hey irangan.long time no see smile.gif

ooh okay.thanks was slightly worried about the 12v rail.lol i should get a DMM to measure eh? laugh.gif
Yeah... Been very lazy to post anything smile.gif

Like u said, DMM is the best way to measure smile.gif

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Nov 20 2007, 11:49 AM)
Actually its +/- 5%. any more than that, PC guarantee hang or KO already. Overclockers typically insist on +/- 1-3% for a bigger safety margin.
Infamous? Apparently you haven't tried AbitEQ or Gigabyte's Easytune.
Its not the software, its the monitoring chip on the motherboard. What do you expect from something that probably costs less than 3% of the motherboard's total manufacturing cost? As it is, everest is already one of the better software's as it sort of compensates for the inherent inaccuracy of the moitoring chips, others (especially those supplied with the motherboards, eg Gigabyte Easytune, Abit EQ) are often pretty inaccurate, sometims ludicrously so  sweat.gif
+/- 10% is still under safe level. Of course the lower the fluctuation or margin, the better it is.

Please read back my post before replying. I am stating the 'infamous' Everest and not implying all PSU monitoring software is bad.
detpo
post Nov 20 2007, 09:41 PM

36 posts

which is better?

silverstone strider 560w _vs_ CM iGreen 500w
gengstapo
post Nov 20 2007, 09:55 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(detpo @ Nov 20 2007, 09:41 PM)
which is better?

silverstone strider 560w _vs_ CM iGreen 500w
the expensive the better.. for sure strider 560w leww doh.gif
detpo
post Nov 20 2007, 09:59 PM

36 posts

but i see the price is the same.......

mind tell me the price now for each of them...
SlayerXT
post Nov 21 2007, 01:22 AM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

QUOTE(Jibek @ Nov 20 2007, 02:51 PM)
Depends on hardware config u use. High end crossfire might not work for overclocking.
lohwenli
post Nov 21 2007, 04:08 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Nov 20 2007, 09:39 PM)
Yeah... Been very lazy to post anything smile.gif

Like u said, DMM is the best way to measure smile.gif
+/- 10% is still under safe level. Of course the lower the fluctuation or margin, the better it is.

Please read back my post before replying. I am stating the 'infamous' Everest and not implying all PSU monitoring software is bad.
Well, 5% is what the official ATX spec lists out. Sorry I got you wrong, its just that 'infamous' naturally implies something is bad.
sang_karim
post Nov 21 2007, 11:57 AM

:: sάής ЌάЯΐм ::
1,557 posts

QUOTE(Jibek @ Nov 20 2007, 02:51 PM)
i'm using that psu and running daily at 3.6Ghz as my siggy ... so i geuss it's gud for oc ... rolleyes.gif
tachlio
post Nov 21 2007, 02:10 PM

de~sign "ing"
3,102 posts

QUOTE(sang_karim @ Nov 21 2007, 11:57 AM)
i'm using that psu and running daily at 3.6Ghz as my siggy ... so i geuss it's gud for oc ...  rolleyes.gif
but if OC the E66 + some gooc GC then this psu will not sufficient le~~

better get other ST56 is a good choice~
gengstapo
post Nov 21 2007, 02:20 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

kinda br0ke currently.. been thinking to mods my pcie 6pin to pcie 8pin such attached

can it support any GFx that needed pcie 8pin?

irenic
post Nov 21 2007, 04:52 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Nov 21 2007, 02:20 PM)
kinda br0ke currently.. been thinking to mods my pcie 6pin to pcie 8pin such attached

can it support any GFx that needed pcie 8pin?
ko ni tak abis2.. ignore je la 8 pin tu.. hardcore kat xs tu aku tgk pakai 6pin je.. relax je oc gile2 haha
syazwanreno
post Nov 21 2007, 05:05 PM

Won (*3*) Chu Kiss Me?
1,269 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Nov 21 2007, 04:52 PM)
ko ni tak abis2.. ignore je la 8 pin tu.. hardcore kat xs tu aku tgk pakai 6pin je.. relax je oc gile2 haha
never saw 8-pin pcie b4.....
irenic
post Nov 21 2007, 05:10 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

well it is used for 2900xt..but the newer 3870 is back to use single 6pin only, due to its low watt consumption.. not sure bout the upcoming 3870 x2 biggrin.gif

Added on November 21, 2007, 5:11 pmwell it is used for 2900xt..but the newer 3870 is back to use single 6pin only, due to its low watt consumption.. not sure bout the upcoming 3870 x2 biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by irenic: Nov 21 2007, 05:11 PM
DaRkSyThE
post Nov 21 2007, 05:57 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Nov 21 2007, 05:10 PM)
well it is used for 2900xt..but the newer 3870 is back to use single 6pin only, due to its low watt consumption.. not sure bout the upcoming 3870 x2  biggrin.gif

Added on November 21, 2007, 5:11 pmwell it is used for 2900xt..but the newer 3870 is back to use single 6pin only, due to its low watt consumption.. not sure bout the upcoming 3870 x2  biggrin.gif
dual 6-pin PCI connectors biggrin.gif
Quazacolt
post Nov 21 2007, 06:20 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

hehe got myself a PC P&C silencer 750W, and omg its noisy sweat.gif sweat.gif

the toughpower is still by far the most quiet psu ive used, though seeing how im running my rig almost 24/7 non stop, i guess it couldnt take the abuse and eventually died (refer to my sales thread on the temporary OP650) though theres prolly other reasons on its failure, and it isnt a complete fail either, just bad voltage ratings that couldnt support my current PC but its able to run on my old p4 1.8ghz rig.

seeing that theres rarely any PC P&C users on LYN im tempted to do a review but im prolly too lazy for it XD
and its a total b**** to fit in my antec p180b despite numerous planning based on the dimension specifications from PC P&C site (its ~30mm longer than my TT TP750/OP650 that ive used previously)

comparison of the silencer vs the OP650 (bear in mind this is based on the lol-inaccurate mobo software/asus pc probe):

pricing: silencer is ~rm200 more expensive than the SS OP

fan noise: silencer is a lot more noisier than the SS OP, mainly due to the 80mm fan as opposed to the 120mm standards most psu are using nowdays, not to mention due to the fan size, the silencer produces a rather annoying buzzing sound. thankfully im on an acoustic casing and it doesnt affect me much, but whenever i open my side panel, its really really annoying.

voltage ratings: the silencer is about 5ish% closer to the voltage ratings compared to the op650, which means its almost near to no difference, to a normal user, this is basically insignificant.

packaging: the silencer's packaging is horrible compared to the OP650 lol... very crude and unattractive, and doesnt provide much form of protection inside (only some bubble wraps and cardboard placement) compared to the OP650 (foam around the psu and a very sturdy looking box)

external cosmetics: like the packaging, the outer appearence is also very crude (simple black painting) compared to the OP650

rushing for this post as im on my way to a work meeting, will post more whenever i could or even a review lol (prolly not gonna happen).

=edit=
killed wall o' text

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Nov 21 2007, 11:32 PM

106 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0213sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:25 PM